Anthony Gilbert - Treason in my Breast - Orion Publishing Group

Treason in my Breast

By Anthony Gilbert

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

'Few murders would go unhung,' said plump, cynical Arthur Crook, 'if people used their eyes more. It's the man selling violets in the gutter, the woman exercising her Pekinese, the chap reading the midday racing news in the Tube who actually have the chance to spot the murderer. They're the people he can't guard aginst.'

Arthur Crook is a delightful nosey-parker, and here his blustering humour and bulldog tenacity face their toughest test yet.

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471909610
  • Publication date: 14 Jan 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

Dark Sky Island

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

DCI Michael Gilbert is called out to Sark - the world's first dark sky island - after bones are found on Derrible Bay. He is followed by journalist Jennifer Dorey, driven by a secret in her own past. The remains are decades old, but after a body is discovered Jennifer and Michael fear there may be a killer on the island. Together they follow a dark trail of bad blood and a conspiracy of silence.Everyone on the island is under suspicion. No one is what they seem. And the murderer could strike again at any time... If you love Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths, you'll love the latest atmospheric thriller from Lara Dearman. Dark Sky Island will keep you guessing until the very last page.

Orion

Denial

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Trapeze

Beautiful Liars

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown

Eighteen years ago Martha said goodbye to best friend Juliet on a moonlit London towpath.The next morning Juliet's bike was found abandoned at the waterside.She was never seen again.Nearly two decades later Martha is a TV celebrity, preparing to host a new crime show... and the first case will be that of missing student Juliet Sherman. After all these years Martha must reach out to old friends and try to piece together the final moments of Juliet's life.But what happens when your perfect friends turn out to be perfect strangers...?

Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Trapeze

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole

DCI EMILY BAXTER FACES HER TOUGHEST CHALLENGE YET... HOW DO YOU CATCH A KILLER WHO IS ALWAYS ONE STEP AHEAD? An action-packed serial killer thriller for fans of Tess Gerritsen, MJ Arlidge and Jo Nesbo. Meet DCI Emily Baxter, a detective whose life is as complicated as the cases she investigates. ************** A body is found hanging from Brooklyn Bridge, the word 'BAIT' carved into the chest. In London a copycat killer strikes, branded with the word 'PUPPET', forcing DCI Emily Baxter into an uneasy partnership with the detectives on the case, Special Agents Rouche and Curtis. Each time they trace a suspect, the killer is one step ahead. With the body count rising on both sides of the Atlantic, can they learn to trust each other and identify who is holding the strings before it is too late? ************** CRIME READERS ARE GRIPPED BY HANGMAN: 'What a thrill! This book grabbed me from the beginning'- Netgalley reviewer 'I could not put down this book' - Netgalley reviewer'A cracking thriller, fast-paced and gripping' - Netgalley reviewer'Baxter was a brilliantly well written character' - Amazon reviewer'I love Baxter's sass!' - Amazon reviewer

Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Orion

The Turning Tide

Brooke Magnanti
Authors:
Brooke Magnanti
The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Marjorie Hyde, a gifted but unsuccessful actress, is happily married. Like many members of her profession she is temperamental, and though not that beautiful has that Titian colouring that is supposed to make men mad. Her husband, Christopher, is insanely jealous, and after learning that she is frequently in the company of Philip Clare, a barrister and Parliamentary candidate, Christopher threatens to instigate divorce proceedings that would ruin his rival's career.The same night, he drinks his usual glass of after-dinner port and dies from hyosin poisoning. And in the unravelling of the mystery surrounding his death, nobody is free from suspicion.

The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Flora Horsley, wife of a MP, is warned by a palmist that she must leave her husband or she will die. Flora, believing that her husband is attempting to murder her, decides to leave him. The haunting fear of death already holds her in a terrifying and remorseless grip, but will she be able to escape its embraces?

The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

The bell of St Ethelburga's had stopped ringing. It had pealed out its customary call to the faithful, its gentle reproach to the sluggards; but somehow that morning it did not seem to ring as long as usual. For Death had been busy in the belfry, where a startled vicar made an appalling discovery.The murder in the church begins another mystery for the inimitable Crook and Parsons, who shine with their trademark ingenuity and impudence.

The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressLaura Verity is an elderly lady with not much money and no past - not someone things happen to. But suddenly her life is plunged into danger, and without lawyer-sleuth Arthur Crook's timely interference, she might have lost it altogether.One thing she will never lose, though, is her head: the police don't believe her - she proves them wrong. The wine might be poisoned - she'll keep it for Crook to test. Does that car belong to the murderer? She'll just get in and see where he takes her. Together, brave Miss Verity and Arthur Crook uncover the truth about a murder.

The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressWhen Alice Hunter's mother dies, after grimly clinging on for eighty-odd years, it is enough for genteel Alice just to be free. But she soon becomes lonely, having few points of contact with the people in the cheap boarding houses which are all she can afford. Then comes news of a legacy, and Alice's soul rises as she travels to the family's lawyers in Bath. Her new life is not what she expects, however, and she is lost in a fog of human misunderstanding, hatred and deceit. A nice cup of tea, stirred by detective Arthur Crook, is what she will need to put things right . . .

The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressWhen Julian Marks, a well-known diamond merchant, is found murdered at the Hotel Fantastique in Monte Carlo, the motive is presumed to be theft. Marks always carried with him an enormous diamond on a steel chain.Guests have noticed a shady character in button boots staying at the hotel. But when the diamond is found in an unexpected place, French sleuth M Dupuy has to rethink his investigation. Could the mystery man now lead him to the culprit?

The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Clock in the Hatbox

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Ring for a Noose

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Fingerprint

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert