Anthony Gilbert - Missing From Her Home - Orion Publishing Group

Missing From Her Home

By Anthony Gilbert

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

Angela Toni, only nine years old, has been missing for several days, and it is Wilfrid Hersey's son Ben who is under suspicion. Hersey meets Detective Arthur Crook, whose blood boils at thought of a child killer.

But as Crook digs deeper he discovers that the night Angela disappeared was also the night an unidentified man was found in Hangman's Alley, a shortcut the child would have taken on her way home. And another murder will take place before Crook finally uncovers the truth.

'Grips steadily, like a conscientious ant's jaws' Observer

'Arthur Crook in rumbustious form' Sunday Telegraph

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471910333
  • Publication date: 21 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

'A snowy Christmas in a country village. Fabulous!' Jill Mansell * * * * * Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder. As featured in the Sunday Times, the first village mystery in a new series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders. * * * * What readers have to say about Murder at the Mill: 'A perfectly cosy little whodunnit. It was perfect for bedtime and kept me turning pages.' Goodreads'This is a cosy book to curl up with on a rainy Sunday afternoon - as I did today, I really enjoyed and recommend.' Amazon

Orion

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.An atmospheric crime series set in the Channel Islands, that will appeal to fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. THE DEVIL'S CLAW introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. Read by Scarlett Mack(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of The Cuckoo's Calling, The Girl Before and Rather Be The Devil. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worringly plausible.' - Mick Herron* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Gollancz

Blood upon the Sand

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu
The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Flora Horsley, wife of a MP, is warned by a palmist that she must leave her husband or she will die. Flora, believing that her husband is attempting to murder her, decides to leave him. The haunting fear of death already holds her in a terrifying and remorseless grip, but will she be able to escape its embraces?

The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'Few murders would go unhung,' said plump, cynical Arthur Crook, 'if people used their eyes more. It's the man selling violets in the gutter, the woman exercising her Pekinese, the chap reading the midday racing news in the Tube who actually have the chance to spot the murderer. They're the people he can't guard aginst.'Arthur Crook is a delightful nosey-parker, and here his blustering humour and bulldog tenacity face their toughest test yet.

The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
Orion

Blood, Salt, Water

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina
The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressMargaret Fielding, wife of an eminent QC, was tried for the murder of her first husband ten years ago and, innocent, was acquitted for lack of evidence. Now someone is threatening to produce evidence that could convict her. Fortunately, Margaret meets Arthur Crook, the detective lawyer to whom the innocent turn, never in vain. When her blackmailer is found murdered, just after she is seen, distraught, leaving the premises, it is to Crook that she tells her tale. But someone knows Crook by reputation, and is anxious that he does not take on Margaret's case.

The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Major John Hillier is found dead in his flat, early one morning, in strange circumstances. Inspector Field traces the dead man's last movements and learns that, after breaking up a dinner party, he visited a remote suburban theatre to see a leading lady he didn't even know by sight.Field traces the Major's history back some years and finds himself entangled in a net of underworld intrigue in England and further afield. Drugs, blackmail and a crime years old all play their part in an affair that starts to attract wide attention.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
Orion

The Dead Hour

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina