Anthony Gilbert - Tenant for the Tomb - Orion Publishing Group

Tenant for the Tomb

By Anthony Gilbert

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

On a quiet country station, Detective Arthur Crook, waiting for the train to London, witnessed a near-fatal accident. Despite the arm of her companion, Miss Imogen Garland slipped and almost fell under the train. No harm was done, and Arthur Crook might not have thought anything more about it had not a newspaper item a few weeks later caught his eye. Miss Garland had once again been involved in an accident, this time fatal. Only it was not Miss Garland who had died . . .

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471910388
  • Publication date: 21 May 2014
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
W&N

Wrecked

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
W&N

The Child Finder

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld

'A darkly luminous story of resilience and the deeply human instinct for survival, for love...The Child Finder is a novel that demands to be consumed and then once inside you - lingers...' A.M. Homes, author of MAY WE BE FORGIVENFor fans of THE LOVELY BONES, ROOM and THE ENCHANTEDNaomi Cottle finds missing children. When the police have given up their search and an investigation stalls, families call her. She possesses a rare, intuitive sense, born out of her own experience, that allows her to succeed when others have failed. Young Madison Culver has been missing for three years. She vanished on a family trip to the mountainous forests of Oregon, where they'd gone to cut down a tree for Christmas. Soon after she disappeared, blizzards swept the region and the authorities presumed she died from exposure.But Naomi knows that Madison isn't dead. As she relentlessly pursues the truth behind Madison's disappearance, shards of a dark dream pierce defences that have protected her for so long. If she finds this child, will Naomi ultimately unlock the secrets of her own life?WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE CHILD FINDER:'A beautifully written, gripping page turner...a book that is worth searching for, bringing home, and welcoming into your family. 5*' Goodreads'This book is dazzling and heartbreaking. 5*' Goodreads'A wonderful, extraordinary book. The author speaks from her heart on every page.' 5* Goodreads'I could not put this book down until the captivating conclusion.' 5* Goodreads'I finished the book in a day, not wanting to put it down.' 5* Goodreads'Wow...a page turner, keeping me in all weekend.' 5* Goodreads'Loved it and will be recommending it to everyone I know.' 5* Goodreads'The Child Finder is one of the most beautiful novels I've ever read.' 5* Goodreads

The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

Murder is a Waiting Game

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressMargaret Fielding, wife of an eminent QC, was tried for the murder of her first husband ten years ago and, innocent, was acquitted for lack of evidence. Now someone is threatening to produce evidence that could convict her. Fortunately, Margaret meets Arthur Crook, the detective lawyer to whom the innocent turn, never in vain. When her blackmailer is found murdered, just after she is seen, distraught, leaving the premises, it is to Crook that she tells her tale. But someone knows Crook by reputation, and is anxious that he does not take on Margaret's case.

The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Major John Hillier is found dead in his flat, early one morning, in strange circumstances. Inspector Field traces the dead man's last movements and learns that, after breaking up a dinner party, he visited a remote suburban theatre to see a leading lady he didn't even know by sight.Field traces the Major's history back some years and finds himself entangled in a net of underworld intrigue in England and further afield. Drugs, blackmail and a crime years old all play their part in an affair that starts to attract wide attention.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressWhen Alice Hunter's mother dies, after grimly clinging on for eighty-odd years, it is enough for genteel Alice just to be free. But she soon becomes lonely, having few points of contact with the people in the cheap boarding houses which are all she can afford. Then comes news of a legacy, and Alice's soul rises as she travels to the family's lawyers in Bath. Her new life is not what she expects, however, and she is lost in a fog of human misunderstanding, hatred and deceit. A nice cup of tea, stirred by detective Arthur Crook, is what she will need to put things right . . .

The Murder Room

The Case Against Andrew Fane

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Andrew Fane is faced with five years in prison for fraud, and a penniless future. When he appeals for help from his uncle his pleas go unanswered, but on visiting him Fane is welcomed by a mysterious and heavily veiled woman.When he finds his uncle's body, murdered in horrible and grotesque circumstances, she suddenly disappears leaving Fane faced with the dilemma of telling the police or covering his tracks . . .'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Body on the Beam

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

An Old Lady Dies

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mrs Wolfe was dying - at last. Nobody seemed very sorry about it. Certainly not her relatives or legatees. Mrs Wolfe was wealthy and domineering and her periodical relapses regularly brought her heirs rushing to her bedside.The old lady derived a grim satisfaction from controlling people, but there's one last thing she is unable to control. For when Mrs Wolfe does die it is not by natural causes, but by treachery . . .

The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressWhen Julian Marks, a well-known diamond merchant, is found murdered at the Hotel Fantastique in Monte Carlo, the motive is presumed to be theft. Marks always carried with him an enormous diamond on a steel chain.Guests have noticed a shady character in button boots staying at the hotel. But when the diamond is found in an unexpected place, French sleuth M Dupuy has to rethink his investigation. Could the mystery man now lead him to the culprit?

The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Eight years ago René Tessier was at the height of his fame. Now the once-celebrated film star frequents less reputable Parisian cafés. That is until young producer Julian Lane plans to star Tessier in his latest production with the promise of millions.Tessier is headed to London. But the washed-up old man spends less than 24 hours in a dingy Soho hotel before he is found dead. Was it suicide or murder? And who could have wanted Tessier dead?'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Clock in the Hatbox

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Ring for a Noose

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressIt is at a local watering hole, the Duck and Daisy, that lawyer-detective Arthur Crook happens upon a party of men and women calling themselves the Peace Brigadiers. Their mission is to aid refugees from Europe.But it isn't long before Crook suspects one of them is using the premises for criminal ends. And when murder strikes Crook becomes entangled in a treacherous plot . . .