Anthony Gilbert - Murder is a Waiting Game - Orion Publishing Group

Murder is a Waiting Game

By Anthony Gilbert

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

Margaret Fielding, wife of an eminent QC, was tried for the murder of her first husband ten years ago and, innocent, was acquitted for lack of evidence. Now someone is threatening to produce evidence that could convict her.

Fortunately, Margaret meets Arthur Crook, the detective lawyer to whom the innocent turn, never in vain. When her blackmailer is found murdered, just after she is seen, distraught, leaving the premises, it is to Crook that she tells her tale. But someone knows Crook by reputation, and is anxious that he does not take on Margaret's case.

Biographical Notes

Anthony Gilbert was the pen name of Lucy Beatrice Malleson. Born in London, she spent all her life there, and her affection for the city is clear from the strong sense of character and place in evidence in her work. She published 69 crime novels, 51 of which featured her best known character, Arthur Crook, a vulgar London lawyer totally (and deliberately) unlike the aristocratic detectives, such as Lord Peter Wimsey, who dominated the mystery field at the time. She also wrote more than 25 radio plays, which were broadcast in Great Britain and overseas. Her thriller The Woman in Red (1941) was broadcast in the United States by CBS and made into a film in 1945 under the title My Name is Julia Ross. She was an early member of the British Detection Club, which, along with Dorothy L. Sayers, she prevented from disintegrating during World War II. Malleson published her autobiography, Three-a-Penny, in 1940, and wrote numerous short stories, which were published in several anthologies and in such periodicals as Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Saint. The short story 'You Can't Hang Twice' received a Queens award in 1946. She never married, and evidence of her feminism is elegantly expressed in much of her work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471910395
  • Publication date: 14 Feb 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
W&N

The Minds of Billy Milligan

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Orion

Thirteen

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh
W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

'Michel Bussi is one of France's most ingenious crime writers... has plenty of twists and turns in store in this fast-moving novel about a long-planned act of revenge' Joan Smith, SUNDAY TIMES'Takes the reader on a thrilling ride across the remote isle in the Indian Ocean with plenty of twists and turns to keep them gripped until an epic, unexpected conclusion' Jon Coates, DAILY EXPRESSPicture the scene - an idyllic resort on the island of Réunion. Martial and Liane Bellion are enjoying the perfect moment with their six-year-old daughter. Turquoise skies, clear water, palm trees, a warm breeze...Then Liane Bellion disappears. She went up to her hotel room between 3 and 4pm and never came back. When the room is opened, it is empty, but there is blood everywhere. An employee of the hotel claims to have seen Martial in the corridor during that crucial hour.Then Martial also disappears, along with his daughter. An all-out manhunt is declared across the island. But is Martial really his wife's killer? And if he isn't, why does he appear to be so guilty?'Some writers try carefully calibrated alternations on a winning formula from book to book, but offer few surprises. That can't be said of the French author Michel Bussi... That refusal to repeat himself is evident in Don't Let Go, which is just as accomplished as its predecessors - GUARDIAN'As it draws towards its heart-pounding final pages, it's hard to concentrate on anything other than the outcome of the desperate manhunt - and the startling revelation of the truth. Inventive, original and incredibly entertaining' SUNDAY MIRROR

Gollancz

The House of Binding Thorns

Aliette de Bodard
Authors:
Aliette de Bodard
Gollancz

13 Minutes

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

I was dead for 13 minutes.I don't remember how I ended up in the icy water but I do know this - it wasn't an accident and I wasn't suicidal.They say you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer, but when you're a teenage girl, it's hard to tell them apart. My friends love me, I'm sure of it. But that doesn't mean they didn't try to kill me. Does it?13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough is a gripping psychological thriller about people, fears, manuiplation and the power of the truth. A stunning read, it questions our relationships - and what we really know about the people closest to us . . .

The Murder Room

The Man Who Wasn't There

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Marjorie Hyde, a gifted but unsuccessful actress, is happily married. Like many members of her profession she is temperamental, and though not that beautiful has that Titian colouring that is supposed to make men mad. Her husband, Christopher, is insanely jealous, and after learning that she is frequently in the company of Philip Clare, a barrister and Parliamentary candidate, Christopher threatens to instigate divorce proceedings that would ruin his rival's career.The same night, he drinks his usual glass of after-dinner port and dies from hyosin poisoning. And in the unravelling of the mystery surrounding his death, nobody is free from suspicion.

The Murder Room

Murder Has No Tongue

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Flora Horsley, wife of a MP, is warned by a palmist that she must leave her husband or she will die. Flora, believing that her husband is attempting to murder her, decides to leave him. The haunting fear of death already holds her in a terrifying and remorseless grip, but will she be able to escape its embraces?

The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'Few murders would go unhung,' said plump, cynical Arthur Crook, 'if people used their eyes more. It's the man selling violets in the gutter, the woman exercising her Pekinese, the chap reading the midday racing news in the Tube who actually have the chance to spot the murderer. They're the people he can't guard aginst.'Arthur Crook is a delightful nosey-parker, and here his blustering humour and bulldog tenacity face their toughest test yet.

The Murder Room

The Bell of Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

The bell of St Ethelburga's had stopped ringing. It had pealed out its customary call to the faithful, its gentle reproach to the sluggards; but somehow that morning it did not seem to ring as long as usual. For Death had been busy in the belfry, where a startled vicar made an appalling discovery.The murder in the church begins another mystery for the inimitable Crook and Parsons, who shine with their trademark ingenuity and impudence.

Orion

Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

'Unputdownable!' Sir Ranulph FiennesA murder. A mystery that will change everything.Will Jaeger's family are gone, and they're not coming back.But there's one thing he can fix. His best friend has been found dead, and he's going to catch the monsters that killed him.To do it, Jaeger assembles an expert team of ex-SAS soldiers. They must head deep into the Amazon rainforest. It seems his friend was on the trail of an old Nazi bomber.And someone definitely wants it kept secret. As things go wrong, and Jaeger closes the net on his friend's killer, he comes to realise one thing.Everything is connected. And, for one man, the War never ended . . .A modern, edge-of-your-seat thriller, shrouded in the shadows cast by Nazi Germany. Great for fans of Gregg Hurwitz, James Swallow, and I Am Pilgrim.What readers are saying about BEAR GRYLLS: GHOST FLIGHT:'A gripping thriller set in the darkest of days', Jonathan Ross'Men don't come much tougher than daredevil climber and adventurer, Bear Grylls', SUN'A great adventure, superbly written!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'If you want a page-turning, action packed adventure story with hints of WWII then look no further', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'Will resonate with fans of classic spy thrillers', MAIL ON SUNDAY'I loved it from beginning to end, and I can't wait to read what happens next', Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Once I finished this one I went straight back & got the next in the Will Jaeger series!', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

The Murder Room

Third Crime Lucky

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

Mr Cobb is the third elderly invalid to die conveniently, if unexpectedly, in the house of Fred and Bessie Meadows. Yet who could suspect this responsible, honest couple? Nothing is too much trouble, yet wherever they go, death goes too. But their third crime involves them with Arthur Crook, and that's when their luck turns.Fans of the lawyer-sleuth know that his arrival on the scene brings action, and that every sort of cunning will be employed to ensure the innocent are kept safe and the guilty . . . trapped.'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Musical Comedy Crime

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Vanishing Corpse

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday ExpressLaura Verity is an elderly lady with not much money and no past - not someone things happen to. But suddenly her life is plunged into danger, and without lawyer-sleuth Arthur Crook's timely interference, she might have lost it altogether.One thing she will never lose, though, is her head: the police don't believe her - she proves them wrong. The wine might be poisoned - she'll keep it for Crook to test. Does that car belong to the murderer? She'll just get in and see where he takes her. Together, brave Miss Verity and Arthur Crook uncover the truth about a murder.

The Murder Room

A Nice Cup of Tea

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

The Body on the Beam

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert

When Florence Penny's body is found hanging from a beam in the bedsit she has been renting, it looks to Inspector Field like a case of suicide. Soon, though, he realises murder is the motive, and the discovery of a single pink bead among the disordered bedclothes leads him to prime suspect Charles Hobart.It's now up to Scott Egerton, Hobart's prospective brother-in-law, and an astute private inquiry agent named Gordon to establish Hobart's innocence . . .'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express

The Murder Room

The Man in Button Boots

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
The Murder Room

Courtier to Death

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert