John D. MacDonald - Slam the Big Door - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781471911590
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2014

Slam the Big Door

By John D. MacDonald

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'The great entertainer of our age and a mesmerizing storyteller' Stephen King

When Mike Rodenska, a former journalist and recent widower, visits his old friend Troy Jamison in Florida, he's shocked at what he finds. For despite the parties, the shapely women, the devil-may-care air that surrounds Troy and his friends, Mike can see a life slowly coming apart. The only question is: why?

Putting together the pieces of his friend's life - and downfall - turns an ordinary visit into a mystery that Mike Rodenska is compelled to solve ...

Biographical Notes

John D. MacDonald was born in Pennsylvania and married Dorothy Prentiss in 1937, graduating from Syracuse University the following year and receiving an MBA from Harvard in 1939. It was Dorothy who was responsible for the publication of his first work, when she submitted a short story that he had sent home while on military service. It was initially rejected by Esquire but went on to be published by Story magazine - and so began MacDonald's writing career. One of the best-loved and most successful of all the masters of hard-boiled crime and suspense, John D. Macdonald was producing brilliant fiction long after many of his contemporaries had been forgotten, and is still highly regarded today. The Executioners, possibly the best known of his non-series novels, was filmed as Cape Fear in 1962 and 1991, but many of the crime thrillers he produced between 1953 and 1964 are considered masterpieces, and he drew praise from such literary greats as Kurt Vonnegut and Stephen King, who declared him to be 'the great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller'. His novels are often set in his adopted home of Florida, including those featuring his famous series character Travis McGee, which appeared between 1964 and 1985. He served as president of the Mystery Writers of America and in 1972 was elected a Grand Master, an honour granted only to the greatest crime writers of their generation, including Ross MacDonald, John Le Carré and P. D. James. He won many awards throughout his long career, and was the only mystery writer ever to win the National Book Award, for The Green Ripper.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471911606
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott

For better, for worse... marriage can be a dangerous game.A page-turning thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other.Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us, and of TV shows Big Little Lies and The Affair. ******Rebecca didn't know love was possible until she met Paul, a man with a past as dark as her own. Their demons drew them together, but twenty years later, the damage and secrets that ignited their love begin to consume their marriage.When Paul catches the attention of the police after two women go missing, Rebecca discovers his elaborate plot to build a new life without her. And though Rebecca is quickly spiralling out of control, it doesn't stop her from coming up with her own devastating plan for revenge... a plan that could end absolutely everything. With a Shakespearean twist that rivals the best books in the genre, THE WOMAN INSIDE is the unmissable thriller of 2019.

W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Seven Dials

Love as Always, Mum xxx

Mae West
Authors:
Mae West

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

'One of France's most ingenious crime writers' SUNDAY TIMES'Bussi breaks every rule in the book' JOAN SMITHIt is summer 1989 and fifteen-year-old Clotilde is on holiday with her parents in Corsica. On a twisty mountain road, their car comes off at a curve and plunges into a ravine. Only Clotilde survives.Twenty-seven years later, she returns to Corsica with her husband and their sulky teenage daughter. Clotilde wants the trip to do two things - to help exorcise her past, and to build a bridge between her and her daughter. But in the very place where she spent that summer all those years ago, she receives a letter. From her mother. As if she were still alive. As fragments of memory come back, Clotilde begins to question the past. And yet it all seems impossible - she saw the corpses of her mother, her father, her brother. She has lived with their ghosts. But then who sent this letter - and why?'Combines an extraordinarily inventive plot with characters haunted by long ago events' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH

Gollancz

The Death House

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Orion

The Tournament

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly

There are sixteen contestants, but only one will survive.The last thing Jack West Jr remembers is arriving for a meeting at a top-secret military base with his family in tow.Now he awakes to find himself in a hellish scenario. Jack has been selected to take part in the Games, a series of deadly challenges designed to fulfil an ancient ritual. If he chooses not to compete, both he and his daughter will be killed.With the fate of the Earth at stake, Jack will have to traverse diabolical mazes, fight ruthless assassins and face unimaginable horrors that will test him to the limit.In the process, he will discover the mysterious and powerful group of individuals behind it all: the four legendary kingdoms.The thrilling new Jack West adventure from the bestselling author of The Great Zoo of China and The Five Greatest Warriors.

Orion

Jack West Jr and the Hero's Helmet

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
The Murder Room

Border Town Girl

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

Contains the two novellas Border Town Girl and Linda.Border Town GirlOnce, Lane Sanson had been a Somebody - war correspondent and a bestselling author. Now he was a Nobody, bumming around Mexico. Lost, lonely, hungry for hope, he was a pushover for a border town B-girl - the perfect fall guy for a lethal frame up . . .LindaShe was born with the morality gene missing. As beautiful, as inviting, as treacherous as the sea around her, Linda is one of the most compelling women ever created by John D. MacDonald.

The Murder Room

Cry Hard, Cry Fast

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

A gunman on the run, a seventeen-year-old girl on a family vacation, a jaded working girl, a guilt-stricken widower, an abandoned mistress. All heading fast down a route to sudden death. Then for one horrifying instant their lives are frozen in time, when a Cadillac drives at speed into oncoming traffic.Lives are lost, and those that survive must endure a violent sequence of events that ensure life will never be the same again - for any of them.

The Murder Room

The End of the Night

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

Three men and a beautiful girl on a cross-country terror spree - a coast to coast rampage of stealing, kidnapping, rape and killing.Who were they? Where did they come from? Why did they do it?With chilling detail, John D. MacDonald unwraps the grotesque inner world of these four young psychopaths, and brings into terrifying focus the random, violent lusts that lie hidden between mischief and madness ...

The Murder Room

A Key to the Suite

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

On the Run

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

The Good Old Stuff

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

From the author of the world-famous Travis McGee thrillers, thirteen of John D. MacDonald's earliest and best crime and mystery stories brought together in one volume.Written at the beginning of his career and originally published in American magazines only, these stories give us a taste of MacDonald's early achievements and show the range of his skill in the realm of mystery and thriller writing.'Sharp, taut, realistic ... an impressive selection' Times

The Murder Room

More Good Old Stuff

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

Seven

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
The Murder Room

Cape Fear

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald

'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - Stephen KingA dark, psychological thriller, first published in 1957 as The Executioners and filmed by Martin Scorsese, starring Robert De Niro.Max Cady, a brutal rapist, has been in prison for years, nursing his hatred for the man who put him away, attorney Sam Bowden.When Cady gets parole, he begins stalking Bowden's family.As Cady's campaign of terror mounts, the police are powerless to protect the family who must use their wits to survive a psychopath bent on revenge.

The Murder Room

Barrier Island

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald