Helen McCloy - The Long Body - Orion Publishing Group

The Long Body

By Helen McCloy

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'McCloy has always resembled the best writers of the Sayers-Blake-Allingham school' New York Times

A prominent American diplomat falls over a cliff to his death. The death is accepted as an accident, but could it have been suicide - or even murder? His widow finds a locked drawer in his desk and in it a file with a woman's name on it - but the file is empty.

Circumstances lead her to an elderly man bearing the same name, but he has a stroke and can neither speak nor write. And then she sees the car headlights coming at her, fast, at night, through an impenetrable mist ...

Biographical Notes

Helen Worrell Clarkson McCloy (1904-1994)
Born in New York City, Helen McCloy was educated in Brooklyn, at the Quaker Friends' school, and later studied at the Sorbonne in Paris. From 1927-1932 she worked for Hearst's Universal News Service after which she freelanced as an art critic and contributor to various publications, including the London Morning Post. Shortly after her return to the US she published her first novel, Dance of Death, in 1933, featuring her popular series detective-psychologist Basil Willing. The novel Through a Glass Darkly, a puzzle in the supernatural tradition of John Dickson Carr, is the eighth in the Basil Willing series and is generally acknowledged to be her masterpiece. In 1946 McCloy married fellow author Davis Dresser, famed for his Mike Shayne novels. Together they founded Halliday & McCloy literary agency as well as the Torquil Publishing Company. The couple had one daughter, Chloe, and their marriage ended in 1961. In 1950 Helen McCloy became the first woman president of the Mystery Writers of America and in 1953 she was awarded an Edgar by the same organisation for her criticism. In 1987, critic and mystery writer H. R. F. Keating included her Basil Willing title Mr Splitfoot in a list of the 100 best crime and mystery books ever published.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471912528
  • Publication date: 14 Oct 2013
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott

For better, for worse... marriage can be a dangerous game.'From its seize-you-by-throat opening to that jack-in-the-box finale, this slick, sleek thriller held me breathless. Psychological suspense at its brightest and boldest.' - A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOWA page-turning thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other.******Rebecca didn't know love was possible until she met Paul, a man with a past as dark as her own. Their demons drew them together, but twenty years later, the damage and secrets that ignited their love begin to consume their marriage.When Paul catches the attention of the police after two women go missing, Rebecca discovers his elaborate plot to build a new life without her. And though Rebecca is quickly spiralling out of control, it doesn't stop her from coming up with her own devastating plan for revenge... they made a promise to each other, afterall. Til death do us part. ******With a Shakespearean twist that rivals the best books in the genre, THE WOMAN INSIDE is the unmissable thriller of 2019.Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us, and of TV shows Big Little Lies and The Affair.

Orion

Framed

Ronnie O'Sullivan
Authors:
Ronnie O'Sullivan
Orion

The Order of Things

Graham Hurley
Authors:
Graham Hurley

The fourth novel in the Jimmy Suttle series, this is the latest novel from one of the UK's finest crime writers.'There is no-one writing better police procedurals today' Sunday TelegraphD/S Jimmy Suttle is called to a brutal murder in the picturesque Devon village of Lympstone. Harriet Reilly, a local GP, has been found disembowelled in the bedroom of her partner, climate scientist Alois Bentner. Suttle's estranged wife, Lizzie, has abandoned Portsmouth, moved to Exeter and returned to journalism, hearing rumours of a local GP offering mercy killings to patients meeting certain criteria. The name of the GP is Harriet Reilly.So begins two investigations of the same crime. Operation Buzzard, with D/S Suttle at its heart, and Lizzie, piecing together her own version of the events that led to Harriet Reilly's death.The fourth novel in the Jimmy Suttle series is a story of ultimate betrayal, reaching much further and wider than its Devon roots.

Orion

The English Girl

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
Orion

The Samaritan

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

* A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK SPRING 2016 *When the mutilated body of a young woman is discovered, LAPD Detective Jessica Allen knows she's seen this MO before.A sadistic serial killer has been operating undetected for a decade, preying on lone female drivers who have broken down. The press dub the killer 'the Samaritan', but with no leads, the police investigation quickly grinds to a halt.That's when Carter Blake shows up to volunteer his services. He's a skilled manhunter who shares some uncomfortable similarities to the man Allen and her team are tracking. As the slaughter intensifies, Blake must find a way to stop it . . . even if it means bringing his own past crashing down on top of him.From the author of THE KILLING SEASON comes the thrilling new Carter Blake novel.

W&N

Woman of the Dead

Bernhard Aichner
Authors:
Bernhard Aichner

KILL BILL meets DEXTER via THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, WOMAN OF THE DEAD is a wild ride of a thriller where the first stage of grief is revenge. And revenge is a dish best served bloody.How far would you go to avenge the one you love? Blum has a secret buried deep in her past.She thought she'd left the past behind.But then Mark, the man she loves, dies.His death looks like a hit-and-run. It isn't a hit-and-run. Mark has been killed by the men he was investigating. And then, suddenly, Blum rediscovers what she's capable of...'An ironclad guarantee of sleepless nights' Barry Forshaw, Independent'Fast, edgy and gripping ... full of quirks, with a conflicted heroine as killer at its heart. Do not miss it' Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail

Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
W&N

Your Royal Hostage

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
W&N

Oxford Blood

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

Lord Saffron, one of the young bloods at Oxford University, is heir to a considerable fortune. But while making a documentary about the exotic lifestyles of the university's over-privileged set, Jemima Shore discovers that this handsome young man, with his lavish dances and sumptuous weekend parties, is not quite what he seems. And when a student is murdered and a series of attempts are made on Saffron's life, Jemima realises that she has started a terrible chain of events...

Orion

The Martini Shot and Other Stories

George Pelecanos
Authors:
George Pelecanos

From the writer of the HBO series Treme and The Wire comes a brand new collection of short storiesWhat really goes on beneath the surface of a city?There's the slum kid whose basketball skills earn him loyal friends and bitter rivals. The police informant grappling with his own sick conscience. A helpless young drug dealer watches as violence seeps into the lives of those who he cares about. And a writer on a TV cop show who finds drama and reality are colliding much too close to home. Corruption, revenge, honour, sacrifice and the fight to survive.Dark, fast-paced and crackling with energy, these stories expose the violence and darkness on the streets of any city. Gritty and hard-hitting, THE MARTINI SHOT is Pelecanos at his very best.

W&N

Cool Repentance

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
The Murder Room

The Man in the Moonlight

Helen McCloy
Authors:
Helen McCloy

In the second case featuring psychiatrist-sleuth Basil Willing, he is called to a university campus to help investigate the death of a scientist. It looks like suicide, but with local scandal aplenty, more murders in the mix and a dose of Nazi espionage, all may not be as it appears.

The Murder Room

Cue For Murder

Helen McCloy
Authors:
Helen McCloy
The Murder Room

The One That Got Away

Helen McCloy
Authors:
Helen McCloy

A castle, a deserted village, and murder in the Scottish HighlandsWhen child psychologist and US Naval Intelligence officer Lieutenant Peter Dunbar takes on a secret mission in the Scottish Highlands at the end of World War II, he finds himself drawn into the lives of a troubled boy and his beautiful young cousin.But why does Johnny Stockton refuse to explain why he keeps running away from his comfortable home? And how might the answer be entangled with the mystery of an escaped German prisoner and a dying man's message?

The Murder Room

Through a Glass, Darkly

Helen McCloy
Authors:
Helen McCloy
The Murder Room

Alias Basil Willing

Helen McCloy
Authors:
Helen McCloy

Psychiatrist-sleuth Dr Basil Willing is in a tobacconist's in Manhattan when another customer follows him into the shop, buys cigarettes, and leaves in a hurry. The man hails a taxi to take him to 51st street with the instruction: 'Come back and call for me; I am Dr Basil Willing.'Intrigued, the real Basil Willing hails a second taxi and finds himself at a formal dinner party given by a psychiatrist for his patients, who do not really seem at ease there - and later he discovers the horrifying reason why ...

The Murder Room

She Walks Alone

Helen McCloy
Authors:
Helen McCloy

A woman dies by violence aboard the Santa Cristina. A radio flash from the West Indies brings word of an apparently related death. A man's body turns up, and in his hand is a suicide note written in one woman's handwriting but signed with another woman's name.But what part does the jar of blood play - and why is everyone so interested in the contents of a certain package wrapped in cherub-bedecked paper? That's the puzzle Captain Urizar has to solve in a case with a startling showdown.

W&N

Two Eerie Tales of Suspense

Paul Torday
Authors:
Paul Torday
W&N

Quiet as a Nun

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

One of Lady Antonia Fraser's gripping Jemima Shore mysteries, set in a secluded nunnery.'I lit the candle and began rather gingerly to climb up the ladder. Then I heard a distinct sound above my head. A scrape on the floor, an irregular jarring on the floor above my head, like something rocking . . .'A nun is dead - her emaciated corpse has been discovered locked in the tower of Blessed Eleanor's Convent. The tragic consequence of a neurotic young woman committing to a life of isolation and piety, the inquest concludes. But this young woman held unusual power over the convent - power she was planning to use.Jemima Shore tries to keep her distance from the case, but when her lover cancels their holiday she finds herself reluctantly getting involved. A violent attack in the dead of night and another death convinces her that the convent is not the haven of peace it appears to be. Suspicion and fear hang heavy in the air but how do you solve a murder no-one will admit happened?

Gollancz

The Snow

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts