Joan Aiken - Hate Begins at Home - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781471916748
    • Publication date:14 Dec 2014

Hate Begins at Home

By Joan Aiken

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'Joan Aiken's triumph with this genre is that she does it so much better than others' New York Times Book Review

'Waiting for her, he was on edge with expectation. He had never planned a murder before ... Only sheer necessity was making him do it now ...'

Coincidence couldn't explain the three accidental deaths. It had to be something more - something sinister? One old lady had fallen and broken her neck; the others had died in hit-and-run accidents. And now beautiful young Caroline Conroy, who has returned to her poisonous family after a mysterious tragedy abroad, must face the enemy: a smiling stranger who is calmly and ruthlessly planning her destruction.

'Terrifyingly enclosed spine-chiller' Sunday Telegraph

Biographical Notes

Joan Aiken, English-born daughter of American poet Conrad Aiken, began her writing career in the 1950s. Working for Argosy magazine as a copy editor but also as the anonymous author of articles and stories to fill up their pages, she was adept at inventing a wealth of characters and fantastic situations, and went on to produce hundreds of stories for Good Housekeeping, Vogue, Vanity Fair and many other magazines. Some of those early stories became novels, such as The Silence of Herondale, first published fifty years ago in 1964. Although her first agent famously told her to stick to short stories, saying she would never be able to sustain a full-length novel, Joan Aiken went on to win the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize for The Whispering Mountain, and the Edgar Alan Poe award for her adult novel Night Fall. Her best known children's novel, The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, was acclaimed by Time magazine as 'a genuine small masterpiece'. In 1999 she was awarded an MBE for her services to children's literature, and although best known as a children's writer, Joan Aiken wrote many adult novels, both modern and historical, with her trademark wit and verve. Many have a similar gothic flavour to her children's writing, and were much admired by readers and critics alike. As she said 'The only difference I can see is that children's books have happier endings than those for adults.' You have been warned . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471916755
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2014
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Gollancz

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

For the first time together in one volume, here is the complete short story collection starring Louisiana's favourite telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse - from #1 Sunday Times bestselling author Charlaine Harris. New fans can fill in the gaps in their Sookie lore, while old friends can revisit some of their favourite moments and characters. From investigating the murder of a local fairy to learning that her cousin was a vampire, from remodelling Tara's house to attending a wedding with her shapeshifting boss Sam, Sookie navigates the perils and pitfalls of the paranormal world.Gather round the bar at Bon Temps' favourite watering hole and hear stories that will make you wish that Sookie never left, including:'Fairy Dust''One Word Answer''Dracula Night''Lucky''Gift Wrap''Two Blondes''If I Had a Hammer''Small Town Wedding''Playing Possum''In the Blue Hereafter'This definitive collection is the perfect binge read for people who like their stories with bite!

Orion

The Only Child

Andrew Pyper
Authors:
Andrew Pyper

'One of the most talented successors to Stephen King' DAILY MAILA psychotic patient with two impossible claims. A leading forensic psychiatrist on the edge. It's not just Dr. Dominick's career that's in danger...Forensic psychiatrist Dr. Lily Dominick has evaluated the mental states of some of the country's most dangerous psychotics. But today's client - a man with no name, accused of the most twisted crime - struck her as different from the others, despite the two impossible claims he made.First, that he is more than two hundred years old and personally inspired Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley and Robert Louis Stevenson in creating the three novels of the nineteenth-century that define the monstrous in the modern imagination. Second, that he's her father.To discover the truth behind her client, Dr. Dominick must embark on a journey that will threaten her career, her sanity, and ultimately her life.Taut, terrifying and impossible to put down, The Only Child is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and Stephen King.Praise for Andrew Pyper:'One of the most talented successors to Stephen King' - DAILY MAIL'A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel' - GILLIAN FLYNN, author of Gone Girl'Pyper is a master architect of dread' - LAUREN BEUKES, author of The Shining Girls'Genuinely terrifying' - SJ WATSON, author of Before I Go To Sleep'Readers will undoubtedly make comparisons to Stephen King' LIBRARY JOURNAL

W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry

'It's like Broadchurch written by Elena Ferrante. I've been telling all my friends to read it - the highest compliment' Claire MessudWhen Nora takes the train from London to visit her sister in the countryside, she expects to find her waiting at the station, or at home cooking dinner. But when she walks into Rachel's familiar house, what she finds is entirely different: her sister has been the victim of a brutal murder. Stunned and adrift, Nora finds she can't return to her former life. An unsolved assault in the past has shaken her faith in the police, and she can't trust them to find her sister's killer. Haunted by the murder and the secrets that surround it, Nora is under the harrow: distressed and in danger. As Nora's fear turns to obsession, she becomes as unrecognizable as the sister her investigation uncovers. A riveting psychological thriller and a haunting exploration of the fierce love between two sisters, the distortions of grief, and the terrifying power of the past, Under the Harrow marks the debut of an extraordinary new writer.

Orion

Rather Be the Devil

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

The Crossing

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Six months ago, Harry Bosch left the LAPD before they could fire him, and then hired maverick Defense Attorney Mickey Haller to sue the department for forcing him out. Although it wasn't the way he wanted to go, Harry has to admit that being out of the game has its benefits. Until Mickey asks him to help on one of his cases, and suddenly Harry is back where he belongs, right in the centre of a particularly puzzling murder mystery. The difference is, this time Harry is working for the defense, aiming to prevent the accused, Da'Quan Foster, from being convicted. And not only does the prosecution seem to have a cast-iron case, but having crossed over to 'the dark side' as his former colleagues would put it, Harry is in danger of betraying the very principles he's lived by his whole career.

Gollancz

13 Minutes

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Orion

Fear the Darkness

Becky Masterman
Authors:
Becky Masterman
The Murder Room

The Silence of Herondale

Joan Aiken
Authors:
Joan Aiken
The Murder Room

The Fortune Hunters

Joan Aiken
Authors:
Joan Aiken

Annette, an increasingly amnesiac magazine editor who has inherited an unexpected fortune, leaves London for a new life in a cottage in the country, but falls prey to a series of strange characters who threaten to deprive her of not just her money, but her sanity too.Set in the picturesque Sussex town where the author was born and spent her early years in a haunted house, this gothic thriller builds to a terrifying climax as the heroine pits her wits against the sinister forces that surround her.

The Murder Room

Trouble With Product X

Joan Aiken
Authors:
Joan Aiken
The Murder Room

The Ribs of Death

Joan Aiken
Authors:
Joan Aiken
The Murder Room

Died on a Rainy Sunday

Joan Aiken
Authors:
Joan Aiken

Married to an ambitious but feckless architect and living in the pretentious show home they can ill afford, Jane is forced to return to work, leaving her children in the care of a less than reassuring childminder. As the weeks pass, her disintegrating marriage and the discovery of her husband's secrets lead Jane into a battle to save both herself and her children from an explosive summer of hatred, jealousy - and murder.This claustrophobic thriller, based on events from the author's own life and her struggles as a young widow, marries the desperate ring of truth with all the added horror of Joan Aiken's gothic imagination.

Orion

The Drop

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Is it the end of the line for Harry Bosch? When evidence links a brutal murder in 1989 to a convicted rapist named Clayton Pell, the case should be watertight. Pell's DNA was found on the victim - but he was only eight years old at the time. This is not the only mystery Harry Bosch has to solve. A man jumped - or was pushed - from a window. The victim's father is Councilman Irving, who's been intent on destroying Harry's career for years. Now Irving wants Harry to head up the investigation. Harry uncovers traces of two of the city's deepest secrets: a killer operating for as many as three decades without being detected, and a conspiracy that goes back into the dark history of the police department . . .

Orion

Trunk Music

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The fifth Harry Bosch novel from the award-winning No. 1 bestselling author. The murder of a Hollywood producer has all the signs of a mob hit but something doesn't add up for Harry Bosch. Featured in Series 2 of BOSCH on Amazon PrimeHarry Bosch is back at the LAPD in Homicide after disciplinary leave. But his first case proves to be one of the most difficult. In the wooded hills overlooking the Hollywood Bowl, he opens the trunk of a white Rolls-Royce and finds a corpse. It looks like a simple case of Trunk Music - the execution style of the Mafia where the victim is shot in his own vehicle - but the victim is LA movie producer Tony Aliso, and the mob weren't the only ones after him. Bosch finds himself up against the FBI - and back in the arms of a beautiful ex-felon. It's starting to look like Harry's first case back in Homicide is in danger of being his last . . .

Orion

Angels Flight

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Concrete Blonde

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Poet

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Switchblade

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Black Box

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Safe Man

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

A dark and disturbing ebook original from the master of the crime genre.A famous writer asks a boxman to open an old safe that comes with the mansion he's just bought. It's not as easy a job as he's used to, but with money being tight and a child on the way, it'll pay to persevere - unless, of course, this is actually the job that will change things and haunt him for ever. Also including an exclusive extract from The Black Box, this collection is a must read for all Connelly fans.