Terry Pratchett - Mort - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Mort

Discworld: The Death Collection

By Terry Pratchett

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Terry Pratchett's hilarious fourth Discworld novel established once and for all that Death really is a laughing matter...

It is known as the Discworld. It is a flat planet, supported on the backs of four elephants, who in turn stand on the back of the great turtle A'Tuin as it swims majestically through space. And it is quite possibly the funniest place in all of creation...

Death comes to us all. When he came to Mort, he offered him a job.

After being assured that being dead was not compulsory, Mort accepted. However, he soon found that romantic longings did not mix easily with the responsibilities of being Death's apprentice.

Terry Pratchett's hilarious fourth Discworld novel established once and for all that Death really is a laughing matter...

Biographical Notes

Sir Terry Pratchett is a publishing phenomenon. Among his many prizes and citations are the World Fantasy Life Achievement Award, the Carnegie Medal, the BSFA Award, eight honorary doctorates and, of course, a knighthood. In 2012, he won a BAFTA for his documentary on the subject of assisted suicide, 'Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die'. He is the author of fifty bestselling books but is best known for the globally renowned Discworld series.

The first Discworld novel, The Colour of Magic, was published in 1983, and the series is still going strong almost three decades later. Four Discworld novels - Hogfather, Going Postal, The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic - have been adapted for television, with more to follow. His books have sold approximately 85 million copies worldwide (but who's counting?), and been translated into thirty-seven languages.

In 2007, Terry Pratchett was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's Disease. He died in 2015.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473200104
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Mort is the book in thich this now great author moved from being simply just a witty writer to one of the premier fantasy authors of our age...now is the time to find out what all the fuss it about while enjoying this spiffy new cover — Starburst
Gollancz

The Furthest Station

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gollancz

White Knight/Black Swan

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Gollancz

The Modern World

Steph Swainston
Authors:
Steph Swainston
Gollancz

The Year of Our War

Steph Swainston
Authors:
Steph Swainston
Gollancz

Slow Bullets

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Orion

Shtum

Jem Lester
Authors:
Jem Lester

The Kindle bestseller by debut author Jem LesterInspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning to get along. Not to be missed by readers who loved Jojo Moyes and David Nicholls. 'Heart-wrenching and thought-provoking' Woman & HomeTen-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.Will make you laugh, make you cry and make you think' Graeme Simsion'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP'Whether you think Shtum is a novel about autism or about marriage (it's both, by the way), you will agree that it is, in the end, a love story infused with wit, charm, and a deep appreciation for the complex beauty of damaged souls.' Jonathan TropperWhat readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list''This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.''I cried my heart out.''A gripping and emotional story.''Brilliant humour.''A must read for everyone.''real and honest with an equal mix of joy and pain.'

Gollancz

Arcanum Unbounded

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

The Terry Pratchett Diary

Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium
Authors:
Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium
Orion

The Twenty-Three

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Gollancz

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Ray Bradbury
Authors:
Ray Bradbury
Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld 2016 Diary

Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium
Authors:
Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium

One part diary, one part guide to the arcane practices of the funniest creation in modern fantasy, 100% Discworld goodness. With their trademark mix of cultural ephemera, background detail and hilarious one-liners, the Discworld diaries are back. And 2016's diary gives a long-awaited insight into the wit and wisdom of some of the Discworld's most-loved characters, the Witches.Or, as Granny Weatherwax puts it:"I don't hold with diaries. If a witch don't know where she's been or where she should be, no amount of writing it down in long and diverse letters will make any difference.There are some who say that making a note of birthdays and the like will mean you get a lot of presents but I think Gytha is wrong.But suit yourself.Personally I can't be doing with it."~ Esme Weatherwax

Gollancz

Lock In

John Scalzi
Authors:
John Scalzi

Fifteen years from now, a new virus sweeps the globe. 95% of those afflicted experience nothing worse than fever and headaches. 4% suffer acute meningitis, creating the largest medical crisis in history. And 1% find themselves 'locked in' - fully awake and aware, but unable to move or respond to stimulus.1% doesn't seem like a lot. But in the US that's 1.7 million people 'locked in' ... including the President's wife and daughter.Spurred by grief and the sheer magnitude of the suffering, America undertakes a massive scientific initiative. Nothing can fully restore the locked in. But then two new technologies emerge. One is a virtual-reality environment, 'The Agora', where the locked-in can interact with other humans, whether locked-in ornot. The other is the discovery that a few rare individuals have brains that are receptive to being controlled by others, allowing those who are locked in to occasionally 'ride' these people and use their bodies as if they were their own.This skill is quickly regulated, licensed, bonded, and controlled. Nothing can go wrong. Certainly nobody would be tempted to misuse it, for murder, for political power, or worse ...

Gollancz

Steelheart

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

The Colour of Magic

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

The Light Fantastic

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

Witches Abroad

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

Lords and Ladies

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

Maskerade

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett

THE SHOW MUST GO ON, AS MURDER, MUSIC AND MAYHEM RUN RIOT IN THE NIGHT...The Opera House, Ankh-Morpork... A huge, rambling building, where innocent young sopranos are lured to their destiny by a strangely familiar evil mastermind in a hideously deformed evening dress...At least, he hopes so. But Granny Weatherwax, Discworld's most famous witch, is in the audience. And she doesn't hold with that sort of thing.So there's going to be trouble (but nevertheless a good evening's entertainment with murders you can really hum...)

Gollancz

The Last Hero

Terry Pratchett, Paul Kidby
Contributors:
Terry Pratchett, Paul Kidby

A short but perfectly formed complete Discworld novel, fully illustrated in lavish colour throughout, THE LAST HERO is an essential part of any Discworld collection.It stars the legendary Cohen the Barbarian, a legend in his own lifetime. Cohen can remember when a hero didn't have to worry about fences and lawyers and civilisation, and when people didn't tell you off for killing dragons. But he can't always remember, these days, where he put his teeth...So now, with his ancient sword and his new walking stick and his old friends - and they're very old friends - Cohen the Barbarian is going on one final quest. He's going to climb the highest mountain in the Discworld and meet his gods. The last hero in the world is going to return what the first hero stole. With a vengeance.That'll mean the end of the world, if no one stops him in time.