Douglas Adams - Life, The Universe And Everything - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473222175
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Life, The Universe And Everything

By Douglas Adams

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The comic science fiction classic with a new introduction by John Lloyd.

Only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of the total annihilation of the universe. They are Arthur Dent, homeless Englishman currently marooned in the deep past; his friend Ford Prefect, temporarily insane to see if he likes it, also marooned; Slartibartfast, once of the planet builders of Magrathea; Zaphod Beeblebrox, ex-confidence trickster and part-time galactic president; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox. In other words: we're doomed.

Biographical Notes

Born in Cambridge, Douglas Adams is best known for the 1970s BBC Radio series (and later novel, TV series and feature film) THE HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY. He also developed the game Starship Titanic, the novel of which was written by Monty Python's Terry Jones, wrote the Dirk Gently series of books, and was a script writer on DOCTOR WHO. A committed environmentalist, Adams campaigned actively on behalf of endangered species and - with naturalist Mark Carwardine - he produced LAST CHANCE TO SEE, a radio series and book highlighting species on the brink of extinction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473200678
  • Publication date: 31 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Rejoice

Steven Erikson
Authors:
Steven Erikson

From the bestselling author of the epic Malazan Book of the Fallen, comes a story of mankind's first contact and a warning about our future. An alien AI has been sent to the solar system as representative of three advanced species. Its mission is to save the Earth's ecosystem - and the biggest threat to that is humanity. But we are also part of the system, so the AI must make a choice. Should it save mankind or wipe it out? Are we worth it?The AI is all-powerful, and might as well be a god. So it sets up some conditions. Violence is now impossible. Large-scale destruction of natural resources is impossible. Food and water will be provided for those who really, truly need them. You can't even bully someone on the internet any more. The old way of doing things is gone. But a certain thin-skinned US president, among others, is still wedded to late-stage capitalism. Can we adapt? Can we prove ourselves worthy? And are we prepared to give up free will for a world without violence? And above it all, on a hidden spaceship, one woman watches. A science fiction writer, she was abducted from the middle of the street in broad daylight. She is the only person the AI will talk to. And she must make a decision.

Gollancz

Son of the Night

Mark Alder
Authors:
Mark Alder

Following on from the success of Son of the Morning, which saw him compared to both Bernard Cornwell for the flair of his historical writing and to George RR Martin for his gripping plotting, Mark Alder takes his history of the 100 years war into France as the war between Heaven and Hell swallows up the ambitions of both the French and English crowns.As the armies mass around Crecy the rivalries between Lucifer, Satan and God become ever deeper and more violent. Combining a cast of larger than life (yet real) characters and a truthful, deeply researched take on the religious beliefs of the time Mark Alder is embarked on a truly unique historical fantasy that will ensure you never see the 100 Years War and the history of medieval Europe in the same way again.

W&N

The Ascent of Gravity

Marcus Chown
Authors:
Marcus Chown

The Sunday Times Science Book of the Year 2017'Does Einstein proud . . . Eminently readable' Guardian'No one has covered the topic with such a light touch and joie de vivre . . . a delight' Brian CleggGravity was the first force to be recognised and described yet it is still the least understood. If we can unlock its secrets, the force that keeps our feet on the ground holds the key to understanding the biggest questions in science: what is space? What is time? What is the universe? And where did it all come from?Award-winning writer Marcus Chown takes us on an unforgettable journey from the recognition of the 'force' of gravity in 1666 to the discovery of gravitational waves in the twenty-first century. And, as we stand on the brink of a seismic revolution in our worldview, he brings us up to speed on the greatest challenge ever to confront physics.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Blackwing

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow's Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.

Gollancz

The Furthest Station

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Gollancz

Luna: Wolf Moon

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gollancz

The Weight of the World

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner
Gollancz

The Stealers' War

Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt

Weyland has been at war. Invaded by a technologically advanced enemy, the cities sacked, and what fragile peace remained torn apart by a civil war.All anyone should want is a return to peace.But Jacob Carneham still wants his revenge; and if he can lure the invaders into the mountain he can have it. He can kill them all. If he does, there may never be peace again.If he doesn't, Weyland will never be free of the threat of invasion.The northern horse lords are planning an attack. A future Empress is fighting to save her daughter. Jacob's son is trying to restore peace and stability to Weyland, alongside the rightful King. And behind it all is a greater struggle, which may spell the end for them all . . .

Gollancz

Princess of Blood

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

There's a new Card in the Mercenary Deck - one Lynx isn't sure if he's happy to see or not. The assassin Toil now wears the Princess of Blood on her jacket and even Lynx would admit she's a woman cloaked in chaos and bloodshed.Their new mission is to escort a dignitary to the pious and ancient city of Jarrazir - beneath which lies a fabled labyrinth. Having barely survived their last underground adventure the mercenaries aren't keen for another, but Toil has other plans. Under threat of siege and horrors rising from the labyrinth, even the Mercenary Deck may have to accept that Jarrazir's prohibition laws aren't their biggest problem.

Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Gollancz

Exodus

Alex Lamb
Authors:
Alex Lamb
Gollancz

Stranger of Tempest

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

Lynx is a mercenary with a sense of honour; a dying breed in the Riven Kingdom. Failed by the nation he served and weary of the skirmishes that plague the continent's principalities, he walks the land in search of purpose. He wants for little so bodyguard work keeps his belly full and his mage-gun loaded. It might never bring a man fame or wealth, but he's not forced to rely on others or kill without cause. Little could compel Lynx to join a mercenary company, but he won't turn his back on a kidnapped girl. At least the job seems simple enough; the mercenaries less stupid and vicious than most he's met over the years. So long as there are no surprises or hidden agendas along the way, it should work out fine.

Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Gollancz

Slow Bullets

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Orion

The Jealous Kind

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The White City

Simon Morden
Authors:
Simon Morden

Award-winning author Simon Morden's stunning quest continues, unravelling magic and uncovering secrets on the way . . .LET'S FACE IT, NONE OF US DESERVE TO BE SAVED.Since escaping London's inferno, Mary and Dalip have fought monsters and won - though in the magical world of Down, the most frightening monsters come from within. Now they hold the greatest of treasures: maps that reveal the way to the White City, where they can find the answers they're looking for, and learn the secrets of Down. But to get there they must rely on Crows, who has already betrayed them at every turn. As they battle their way towards the one place in all of Down without magic, they must ask themselves how far they will go to find their way home. After all, if there's one thing the White City offers those brave enough to enter, it's more than they bargained for. SIMON MORDEN'S DOWN STATION WAS AN EXTRAORDINARY QUEST FOR MEANING AND IDENTITY. NOW HE'S LEADING US TO THE KIND OF TRUTHS THAT LEAVE US CHANGED.

Gollancz

Honour Under Moonlight

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

A new standalone novella set after the traumatic events of STRANGER OF TEMPEST. Lynx and the rest of the mercenary group he has reluctantly tied himself to find themselves with a little time to kill. Luckily, the city they've ended up in is holding a festival. And nothing spells fun more than a group of bored mercs and a lot of booze.But Lynx has his own plans. A quiet evening with Toil, a woman he hasn't quite worked out yet. Nothing difficult or serious. No fights. No trouble.So it's a shame there's a dead body on her floor. And Toil is missing. And the police are on the way up the stairs...Bridging the gap between novels, but entirely stand-alone, this novella throws Lynx and his companions into a plot which threatens them all.

Gollancz

Dead But Not Forgotten

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris' smash-hit Sookie Stackhouse series may have reached its conclusion, but the world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, lives on in this all-new collection of 15 stories. Written by a killer line-up of authors, including:NEW YORK TIMES bestseller Seanan McGuire NEW YORK TIMES bestseller MaryJanice DavidsonAn introduction by Charlaine Harris herself! DEAD BUT NOT FORGOTTEN puts your favourite characters, written by some of your favourite authors, centre stage.