Douglas Adams - Life, The Universe And Everything - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473222175
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Life, The Universe And Everything

By Douglas Adams

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The comic science fiction classic with a new introduction by John Lloyd.

Only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of the total annihilation of the universe. They are Arthur Dent, homeless Englishman currently marooned in the deep past; his friend Ford Prefect, temporarily insane to see if he likes it, also marooned; Slartibartfast, once of the planet builders of Magrathea; Zaphod Beeblebrox, ex-confidence trickster and part-time galactic president; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox. In other words: we're doomed.

Biographical Notes

Born in Cambridge, Douglas Adams is best known for the 1970s BBC Radio series (and later novel, TV series and feature film) THE HITCHHIKER'S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY. He also developed the game Starship Titanic, the novel of which was written by Monty Python's Terry Jones, wrote the Dirk Gently series of books, and was a script writer on DOCTOR WHO. A committed environmentalist, Adams campaigned actively on behalf of endangered species and - with naturalist Mark Carwardine - he produced LAST CHANCE TO SEE, a radio series and book highlighting species on the brink of extinction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473200678
  • Publication date: 31 Dec 2013
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Oathbringer

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From the bestselling author who completed Robert Jordan's epic Wheel of Time series comes a new, original creation that matches anything else in modern fantasy for epic scope, thrilling imagination, superb characters and sheer addictiveness.In Oathbringer, the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive series, humanity faces a new Desolation with the return of the Voidbringers, a foe whose numbers are as great as their thirst for vengeance.The Alethi armies commanded by Dalinar Kholin won a fleeting victory at a terrible cost: The enemy Parshendi summoned the violent Everstorm, and now its destruction sweeps the world and its passing awakens the once peaceful and subservient parshmen to the true horror of their millennia-long enslavement by humans. While on a desperate flight to warn his family of the threat, Kaladin Stormblessed must come to grips with the fact that their newly kindled anger may be wholly justified.Nestled in the mountains high above the storms, in the tower city of Urithiru, Shallan Davar investigates the wonders of the ancient stronghold of the Knights Radiant and unearths the dark secrets lurking in its depths. And Dalinar realizes that his holy mission to unite his homeland of Alethkar was too narrow in scope. Unless all the nations of Roshar can put Dalinar's blood-soaked past aside and stand together - and unless Dalinar himself can confront that past - even the restoration of the Knights Radiant will not avert the end of civilization.'I loved this book. What else is there to say?' Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind, on The Way of Kings

Gollancz

A Pocketful of Crows

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Gollancz

The Stealers' War

Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt
Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

'I adored this book!' Ruth Hogan, The Keeper of Lost Things * * * * *AS FEATURED ON THE GUARDIAN - THE HEARTWARMING EBOOK BESTSELLER Forty-something Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his grumpy exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world... for good.* * * * *'An unashamedly feel-good story.' Miranda Dickinson'Sheer joy.' Lucy Diamond'A much-needed antidote for these worrying times.' Julie Cohen'A moving, funny, absorbing hot chocolate of a story.' Daniela Sacerdoti'Exactly what everyone needs right now.' Rachael Lucas'Believable, funny and a proper tear jerker - five stars' Tracy Bloom

Trapeze

The Brexit Survival Activity Book

Wayne Kerr, Wayne Kerr
Contributors:
Wayne Kerr, Wayne Kerr
Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

Barricade

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace
Gollancz

Metro 2034

Dmitry Glukhovsky
Authors:
Dmitry Glukhovsky

The basis of two bestselling computer games Metro 2033 and Metro Last Light, the Metro books have put Dmitry Glukhovsky in the vanguard of Russian speculative fiction alongside the creator of Night Watch, Sergei Lukyanenko. A year after the events of METRO 2033 the last few survivors of the apocalypse, surrounded by mutants and monsters, face a terrifying new danger as they hang on for survival in the tunnels of the Moscow Metro.Featuring blistering action, vivid and tough characters, claustrophobic tension and dark satire the Metro books have become bestsellers across Europe.

W&N

The Sven Hassel Collection

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

From the fight for survival against the ferocious Red Army and the icy, shell-ravaged wastes of the vicious Russian winter, to the bloodiest battles on the Eastern Front, Sven Hassel's gripping novels are based on his own experiences in the German army. Convicted of deserting the German army, Sven Hassel was sent to a punishment regiment on the Russian Front. He and his comrades were regarded as little more than dispensable killing-machines, cannon fodder for Hitler's war. His unflinching narrative takes us to the most extreme outposts of war, where soldiers face an inferno of blood and butchery. THE SVEN HASSEL COLLECTION includes all 14 books in Sven Hassel's series and exclusive extra material.

Gollancz

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

Douglas Adams
Authors:
Douglas Adams

If your planet has been destroyed to make way for a new hyperspace bypass, your best friend turns out to be from a small planet somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse (and not Guilford, as you'd thought), and you find yourself in the company of a two-headed man who also happens to be the president of the galaxy, and a beautiful girl you utterly failed to connect with at a party in a city that no longer exists ... you probably shouldn't be surprised to find yourself having breakfast at Milliways, the Restaurant at the end of the Universe ...

Gollancz

Beauty

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

BEAUTY is a beautifully illustrated re-telling of the BEAUTY AND THE BEAST story which takes all the elements of the classic fairytale that we love (the handsome prince, the ancient curse, the beautiful girl and, of course, the haunting castle) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It's fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN and more.You can learn more about Sarah Pinborough at www.sarahpinborough.com, or by following @SarahPinborough on twitter.

Gollancz

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gateway

Doomsday Book

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis
Gollancz

Turtle Recall

Stephen Briggs, Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Stephen Briggs, Terry Pratchett
Gollancz

The Illustrated Eric

Terry Pratchett, Josh Kirby
Contributors:
Terry Pratchett, Josh Kirby
Gollancz

Grave Sight

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

Harper Connelly had a lucky escape when she was hit by lightning: she didn't die. But sometimes she wishes she had died, because the lightning strike left her with an unusual talent: she can find dead people - and that's not always comfortable. Everyone wants to know how she does it: it's a little like hearing a bee droning inside her head, or maybe the pop of a Geiger counter, a persistent, irregular noise that increases in strength as she gets closer. It's almost electric: a buzzing all through her body, and the fresher the corpse, the more intense the buzz.Harper and her brother Tolliver make their living from finding the dead, for desperate parents, worried friends ... and police departments who have nowhere else to look. They may not believe in her abilities, but sometimes the proof is just too much for even the most sceptical of police chiefs to deny.But it's not always easy for someone like Harper, for the dead *want* to be found - and too often, finding the body doesn't bring closure; it opens a whole new can of worms.

Gollancz

All Clear

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Traveling back in time, from Oxford circa 2060 into the thick of World War II, was a routine excursion for three British historians eager to study firsthand the heroism and horrors of the Dunkirk evacuation and the London Blitz. But getting marooned in war-torn 1940 England has turned Michael Davies, Merope Ward, and Polly Churchill from temporal tourists into besieged citizens struggling to survive Hitler's devastating onslaught. And now there's more to worry about than just getting back home: The impossibility of altering past events has always been a core belief of time-travel theory - but it may be tragically wrong. When discrepancies in the historical record begin cropping up, it suggests that one or all of the future visitors have somehow changed the past - and, ultimately, the outcome of the war.Award-winning author Connie Willis returns with a stunning, enormously entertaining novel of time travel, war, and the deeds - great and small - of ordinary people who shape history.

Gollancz

Eve: Templar One

Tony Gonzales
Authors:
Tony Gonzales
Gollancz

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

Douglas Adams
Authors:
Douglas Adams
Gollancz

The Raven eBook Collection

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

All seven books detailing the legend of the Raven Mercenary band, now collected in one bundleContains seven fantastic novels: DAWNTHIEF, NOONSHADE, NIGHTCHILD, ELFSORROW, SHADOWHEART, DEMONSTORM and RAVENSOUL