Mark Stay - Robot Overlords - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473204874
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409162520
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015

Robot Overlords

A thrilling teen survival adventure in a world invaded by robots

By Mark Stay

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

To find his father, one boy must defy an empire...

Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule:

STAY IN YOUR HOMES

Step outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first.

But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS.

This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.

Biographical Notes

Mark Stay is a screenwriter and co-founder of The Bestseller Experiment podcast. You can find him at @markstay, @Robot­­_Overlords and @BestsellerXP on Twitter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473204867
  • Publication date: 12 Feb 2015
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Gollancz
fun, entertaining read with snappy, realistic dialogue.... a blockbuster pace that will entertain early teens upwards and sci-fi fans alike — Following the Nerd
Robot Overlords is an easy read, but it's not a light tale. Deliciously scary in all the right places, it's a compelling book. Like all good novelisations, it adds an extra dimension to a story already told in another medium. Recommended, especially if you like giant robot-driven dystopias. — Starburst
Enjoyable, entertaining, and sometimes surprisingly dark, Robot Overlords is a great read whether you're a young adult, a young-at-heart adult, or even a miserable old man in an adult's body (like me!) — The Cult Den
Such a cracking story - one which might literally blow your socks off — The Book Plank
His characters come to life instantly, practically jumping off the page, all you need to know to care about them sketched in a few simple but always well-chosen words — Crime Review
The Robot Overlords novel by Mark Stay is more fun than a mongoose rave — David Barnett, author of the Gideon Smith novels
Orion

Commodus

Simon Turney
Authors:
Simon Turney
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

Perfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt. And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'(An) unceasing display of wonders...This third novel honours the accomplishments of and promises of the first two, and serves as a fitting capstone to a unique creation...' Paul Di Filippo, Locus Magazine'The final book in Toner's ridiculously ambitious trilogy will force you to redefine what space opera can do... ' Barnes & Noble'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

W&N

Under the Camelthorn Tree

Kate Nicholls
Authors:
Kate Nicholls

Gollancz

Luna: Moon Rising

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Optioned for TV by CBS in a massive deal, Ian McDonald's Luna trilogy has already been acclaimed as one of the most exciting and important SF series of the decade. This is Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy for a new generation; perfect SF for fans of Gravity and The Martian looking for a wider canvas and large-scale thriller format.Akin to the mafia families of The Godfather, the families of the five Dragons who control the rich resources of the moon are locked in an endless and vicious struggle for supremacy and now the peace that reigned while the moon was colonised is breaking down. Which of the scions of the dragons will gain supremacy? Or will the moon, with its harsh vacuum, it's freezing dark and blazing, irradiated light be the final winner?

W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller
Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn

'Fast-moving and full of surprises...while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings ' Kate ForsythA buried secret... Present day: Anna is focused on growing her new gardening business and renovating her late grandmother's house. But when she discovers a box hidden in a wall cavity, containing water colours of exotic plants, an old diary and a handful of seeds, she finds herself thrust into a centuries-old mystery. One that will send her halfway across the world to Kew Gardens and then onto Cornwall in search of the truth.A lady adventurer...1886: Elizabeth Trebithick is determined to fulfil her father's dying wish and continue his life's work as an adventurer and plant-hunter. So when she embarks on a perilous journey to discover a rare and miraculous flower, she will discover that the ultimate betrayal can be found even across the seas...Two women, separated by centuries. Can one mysterious flower bring them together?

Gateway

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Revenger

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

The galaxy has seen great empires rise and fall. Planets have shattered and been remade. Amongst the ruins of alien civilisations, building our own from the rubble, humanity still thrives.And there are vast fortunes to be made, if you know where to find them . . .Captain Rackamore and his crew do. It's their business to find the tiny, enigmatic worlds which have been hidden away, booby-trapped, surrounded with layers of protection - and to crack them open for the ancient relics and barely-remembered technologies inside. But while they ply their risky trade with integrity, not everyone is so scrupulous.Adrana and Fura Ness are the newest members of Rackamore's crew, signed on to save their family from bankruptcy. Only Rackamore has enemies, and there might be more waiting for them in space than adventure and fortune: the fabled and feared Bosa Sennen in particular.Revenger is a science fiction adventure story set in the rubble of our solar system in the dark, distant future - a tale of space pirates, buried treasure and phantom weapons, of unspeakable hazards and single-minded heroism . . . and of vengeance . . .

Gateway

Return to Eddarta

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Gateway

The Glass of Dyskornis

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

For Ricardo Carillo, taking over the life of the swordsman Markasset on the desert world of Gandalara had its compensations: a strong young body, a beautiful fiancee, and a mighty telepathic warcat named Keeshah, who obeyed his every command. It also had its problems. Markasset had many enemies, and one was out for blood. So Ricardo and Keeshah left Raithskar to join the Sharith - the warrior brotherhood of sha'um cat-riders. But trouble followed, and he soon found himself in the company of a jealous lieutenant and a lovely but treacherous illusionist, on the track of the murderer who had stolen Gandalara's most precious jewel.

Gateway

The Well of Darkness

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

Bearing the Ra'ira, Raithskar's most sacred gem, Rikardon and Tarani flee a ruthless enemy across the burning deserts of Gandalara. Protected by the swordsman's mighty warcat Keeshah, and the mystic bird called Lonna, who obeys the illusionist's commands, the two discover the smoldering passion they have long denied. But Keeshah leaves them to fulfill an ancient mating ritual in the Valley of the Sha'um, Rikardon and Tarani must risk death in the Well of Darkness to fulfill their destiny.

Gateway

The Search for Ka

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Gateway

Dark Benediction

Walter M. Miller Jr
Authors:
Walter M. Miller Jr

Walter M. Miller Jr is best remembered as the author of A Canticle for Leibowitz, universally recognized as one of the greatest novels of modern SF. But as well as writing that deeply felt and eloquent book, he produced many shorter works of fiction of stunning originality and power.His profound interest in religion and his innate literary gifts combined perfectly in the production of such works as The Darfstellar, for which he won a Hugo in 1955, Conditionally Human, I, Dreamer and The Big Hunger, all of which are included in this brilliant and essential collection.

Gollancz

Cleave

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Gateway

Jack Williamson SF Gateway Omnibus

Jack Williamson
Authors:
Jack Williamson
Orion

A Child Called It

Dave Pelzer
Authors:
Dave Pelzer

A harrowing, yet inspiring true story of a young boy's abusive childhood, from internationally bestselling author Dave Pelzer.Dave Pelzer was brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother - a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games. She no longer considered Dave a son, but a slave; no longer a boy, but an 'it'.His bed was an old army cot in the basement, his clothes were torn and unwashed, and when he was allowed the luxury of food it was scraps from the dog's bowl. The outside world knew nothing of the nightmare played out behind closed doors. But throughout Dave kept alive dreams of finding a family to love him. This book covers the early years of his life and is an affecting and inspirational book of the horrors of child abuse and the steadfast determination of one child to survive.

Gateway

No Enemy But Time

Michael Bishop
Authors:
Michael Bishop
Gateway

Way Station

Clifford D. Simak
Authors:
Clifford D. Simak
W&N

Michael Palin's Hemingway Adventure

Michael Palin
Authors:
Michael Palin
Gollancz

Dark Blood

John Meaney
Authors:
John Meaney