Walter M. Miller Jr - Dark Benediction - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473200654
    • Publication date:23 May 2013
Books in this series

Dark Benediction

By Walter M. Miller Jr

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

An essential collection of short fiction from the Hugo Award-winning author of A Canticle For Leibowitz.

Walter M. Miller Jr is best remembered as the author of A Canticle for Leibowitz, universally recognized as one of the greatest novels of modern SF. But as well as writing that deeply felt and eloquent book, he produced many shorter works of fiction of stunning originality and power.

His profound interest in religion and his innate literary gifts combined perfectly in the production of such works as The Darfstellar, for which he won a Hugo in 1955, Conditionally Human, I, Dreamer and The Big Hunger, all of which are included in this brilliant and essential collection.

Biographical Notes

Walter M. Miller Jr (1923- 1996)
Walter Michael Miller Jr grew up in the American south. He enlisted in the Army Air Corps a month after Pearl Harbor and spent most of the war as a radio operator and gunner, participating in fifty-five combat sorties over Italy and the Balkans, including the assault on Monte Cassino. After the war he studied engineering before turning to writing. A Canticle for Leibowitz won a Hugo Award, and his only other novel, Saint Leibowitz and the Wild Horsewoman was published posthumously.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473211940
  • Publication date: 13 Aug 2015
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

By the Pricking of Her Thumb

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Summerland

Hannu Rajaniemi
Authors:
Hannu Rajaniemi
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Gollancz

Elysium Fire

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

Featuring Inspector Dreyfus - one of Alastair Reynolds most popular characters - this is a fast paced SF crime story, combining a futuristic setting with a gripping tale of technology, revolution and revenge.One citizen died a fortnight ago. Two a week ago. Four died yesterday . . . and unless the cause can be found - and stopped - within the next four months, everyone will be dead. For the Prefects, the hunt for a silent, hidden killer is on . . .Alastair Reynolds has returned to the world of The Prefect for this stand-alone SF mystery in which no one is safe. The technological implants which connect every citizen to each other have become murder weapons, and no one knows who or what the killer is - or who the next targets will be. But their reach is spreading, and time is not on the Prefects' side.

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
W&N

Good Morning, Midnight

Lily Brooks-Dalton
Authors:
Lily Brooks-Dalton

'Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships.' Washington PostAugustine, a brilliant, ageing scientist, is consumed by the stars. He has spent his entire life searching for the origins of time itself. He has now been left alone on a remote research base in the Arctic circle, all communication with the outside world broken down. But then he discovers a mysterious child, Iris, who must have hidden herself away when the last of his colleagues departed. Sully is a divorced mother. She is also an astronaut, currently aboard The Aether on a return flight from Jupiter. This is the culmination of her career, the very reason for all the sacrifices she has made - the daughter she left behind, the marriage she couldn't save. But then something goes wrong with the ship's communication system.Marooned in the vast silence of space and the achingly beautiful sweep of the Arctic, both Augustine and Sully must find a way to make peace with the choices they have made and find a path to redemption.

Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

After a five year sabbatical following the tragic death of his wife and fellow agent Alysha, Keon Rause returns to the distant colony world of Magenta to resume service with the Magentan Intelligence Service. With him he brings an artificial recreation of his wife's personality, a simulacrum built from every digital trace she left behind. She has been constructed with one purpose - to discover the truth behind her own death - but Keon's relationship with her has grown into something more, something frighteningly dependent, something that verges on love.Cashing in old favours, Keon uses his return to the Service to take on a series of cases that allow him and the artificial Alysha to piece together his wife's last days. His investigations lead him inexorably along the same paths Alysha followed five years earlier, to a sinister and deadly group with an unhealthy fascination for the unknowable alien Masters; but as the wider world of Magenta is threatened with an imminent crisis, Keon finds himself in a dilemma: do his duty and stand with his team to expose a villainous crime, or sacrifice them all for the truth about his wife?

Gollancz

The Left Hand of Darkness

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
Gollancz

The Book of the New Sun: Volume 2

Gene Wolfe
Authors:
Gene Wolfe
Gollancz

The Thing Itself

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Adam Roberts turns his attention to answering the Fermi Paradox with a taut and claustrophobic tale that echoes John Carpenter's The Thing.Two men while away the days in an Antarctic research station. Tensions between them build as they argue over a love-letter one of them has received. One is practical and open. The other surly, superior and obsessed with reading one book - by the philosopher Kant.As a storm brews and they lose contact with the outside world they debate Kant, reality and the emptiness of the universe. They come to hate each other, and they learn that they are not alone.

Gollancz

The Gradual

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest

In the latest novel from one of the UK's greatest writers we return to the Dream Archipelago, a string of islands that no one can map or explain. Alesandro Sussken is a composer, and we see his life as he grows up in a fascist state constantly at war with another equally faceless opponent. His brother is sent off to fight; his family is destroyed by grief. Occasionally Alesandro catches glimpses of islands in the far distance from the shore, and they feed into his music - music for which he is feted. But all knowledge of the other islands is forbidden by the junta, until he is unexpectedly sent on a cultural tour. And what he discovers on his journey will change his perceptions of his country, his music and the ways of the islands themselves.Playing with the lot of the creative mind, the rigours of living under war and the nature of time itself, this is Christopher Priest at his absolute best.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Empire V

Victor Pelevin
Authors:
Victor Pelevin

Roman thought he'd found the perfect opportunity to rebel. He may have been wrong.He awakens strapped to a set of parallel bars in a richly appointed sitting room, and begins a conversation with a masked man which will change his life. His world has been a facade - one which the mysterious Brahma is about to tear away.A stunning novel about the real world, and about the hidden channels of power behind the scenes, EMPIRE V is a post-modern satirical novel exploring the cults and corruption of politics, banking and power. And not only are these cults difficult to join - it turns out they may be impossible to leave . . .

Gollancz

S.N.U.F.F.

Victor Pelevin
Authors:
Victor Pelevin
Gollancz

Beauty

Sheri S. Tepper
Authors:
Sheri S. Tepper

A magnificent reworking of the Sleeping Beauty story by a master storytellerOn her 16th birthday, the princess Beauty sidesteps the sleeping curse placed upon her by her wicked aunt, the fairy Carabosse - only to be kidnapped by visitors from another time and place, far from the picturesque castle in 14th-century England. She is taken to the world of the future, a savage society where, even amongst the teeming billions, she is utterly alone. And as she travels magically to places both imaginary and real, Beauty eventually comes to understand her special place in humanity's destiny.Captivating, uncompromising and unforgettable, BEAUTY will carve its own unique place in the hearts and minds of readers.

W&N

The Word Exchange

Alena Graedon
Authors:
Alena Graedon
Gollancz

Hot Head

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings

An ambitious SF novel that is at once post-cyberpunk and post-modern. Complex, multi-layered, it combines hard science, tarot and images of late 20th-century Europe to make something utterly original. And introduces a memorable new heroine to the genre ...Malise has a problem. She's come downwell to Earth, but years of space combat have ruined her: her muscles have wasted away, her past is a confused torture of events and her brain is wired to addictive military hardware that's illegal on Earth.But with an AI mining probe returning to Earth, having bred and grown until it is hundreds of miles across, Malise is in the firing line again. The probe is indestructible and it is insatiable for more metals. No one knows how to stop it. Malise doesn't know she has a blueprint for humanity's survival wired into her head.

Gollancz

A Canticle For Leibowitz

Walter M. Miller Jr
Authors:
Walter M. Miller Jr