Vernor Vinge - A Deepness in the Sky - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575128958
    • Publication date:24 Jan 2013
Books in this series

A Deepness in the Sky

By Vernor Vinge

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The Hugo and John W. Campbell Memorial Award-winning prequel to the magnificent A FIRE UPON THE DEEP.

This is science fiction on the grandest of scales - a cast of thousands set across hundreds of years and in the farthest reaches of Human Space. A prequel to his earlier novel A Fire Upon the Deep, this new novel is epic in scope and a thoroughly riveting read.
A Deepness In the Sky is the story of Pham Nuwen, a small cog in the interstellar trading fleet of the Queng Ho. Both they and the Emergents are orbiting Arachna, a dormant planet which will shortly wake up when its On/Off star relights after decades of darkness. Both groups hope to exploit the coming age of technology and commerce on Arachna. But while the Queng Ho seek only to trade aggressively, the Emergents plans are far more sinister, amounting to little short of genocide . . .

Biographical Notes

Vernor Vinge (1944 - )
Vernor Steffen Vinge was born in Wisconsin in 1944. He is a retired San Diego State University Professor of Mathematics, a computer scientist and science fiction author. He is best known for his two epic space operas A Fire Upon the Deep (1992) and A Deepness in the Sky (1999), both of which won the Hugo Award and were shortlisted for the Nebula. He is the winner of 5 Hugos, 4 Prometheus Awards and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, among many others. In addition to his works of science fiction, Vinge authored the influential 1993 essay 'The Coming Technological Singularity', in which he argued that the creation of superhuman artificial intelligence will mark the point at which 'the human era will be ended', such that no current models of reality are sufficient to predict beyond it.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473211964
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Episodes

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Gateway

The Best of R. A. Lafferty

R. A. Lafferty
Authors:
R. A. Lafferty
Gateway

The Pleasures of a Futuroscope

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

Lord Dunsany, Irish master of fantasy, was the author of more than a dozen novels, hundreds of short stories, poems, and essays, and dozens of plays. In this powerful and moving novel, written in 1955, a futuroscope - a device that allows a viewer to see into the near or distant future - reveals an awful fate for humanity: a nuclear holocaust has destroyed nearly all human life on the planet. The great city of London is now merely an immense crater, filled in with water from the Thames. The pitiful remnants of humanity have been reduced to a Stone Age existence. The narrator, obsessively looking through the futuroscope, focuses upon the plight of a single family in their struggles to survive and fend off the many enemies, both animal and human, that surround them. When one of their number is kidnapped by a band of gypsies, we can only wonder at her fate in this brave new world of the distant future. Gripping, horrifying, touching, and fascinating, The Pleasures of a Futuroscope shows that Lord Dunsany retained his literary powers undiminished to the end of his life.

Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Modern man's most persistent and powerful dream is about to come true. He is ready to travel through time. And who better to take the leap than Mark Elverson, a man with an inoperable heart condition? The far future can only be an improvement for him ... or can it?

Gollancz

From Divergent Suns

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

Gollancz

Ancestral Night

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood
Gateway

In The Heart Or In The Head

George Turner
Authors:
George Turner
Gollancz

Before Mars

Emma Newman
Authors:
Emma Newman
Gateway

Doomsday Morning

C.L. Moore
Authors:
C.L. Moore
Gateway

Fury

Henry Kuttner
Authors:
Henry Kuttner
Gollancz

Shadow Captain

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

'A swashbuckling thriller - Pirates of the Caribbean meets Firefly - that nevertheless combines the author's trademark hard SF with effective, coming-of-age characterisation' GUARDIAN'A blindingly clever imagining of our solar system in the far flung future' SUNReturning to the universe of Revenger, award-winning author Alastair Reynolds delivers another thrilling tale set among the stars.Two sisters ran away from home to join the crew of a spaceship. They took on pirates, faced down monsters and survived massacres . . . and now they're in charge. Captaining a fearsome ship of their own, adventures are theirs for the taking - and there's hoards to loot and treasures to find in the darkest reaches of space. But the rules are also more relaxed out on the fringes, as they're about to discover . . .'A rollicking adventure yarn with action, abduction, fights, properly scary hazards, very grisly torture and even ghosts of a sort' DAILY TELEGRAPH'By far the most enjoyable book Reynolds has ever written' SFX

Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Gateway

Beloved Son

George Turner
Authors:
George Turner

Forty years after his starship escapes from an apocalyptic Earth, Commander Albert Raft and his crew return to a much younger and violent Earth society that wants to embrace Raft as a god because of his telepathic powers.

Gollancz

By the Pricking of Her Thumb

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Private Investigator Alma is caught up in another impossible murder. One of the world's four richest people may be dead - but nobody is sure which one. Hired to discover the truth behind the increasingly bizarre behaviour of the ultra-rich, Alma must juggle treating her terminally ill lover with a case which may not have a victim.Inspired by the films of Kubrick, this stand-alone novel returns to the near-future of THE REAL-TOWN MURDERS, and puts Alma on a path to a world she can barely understand. Witty, moving and with a mystery deep at its heart, this novel again shows Adam Roberts' mastery of the form.

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

'Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author' Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone Now includes exclusive new content!****************************** ASHA IS A DRAGON SLAYERSince she was a young princess, Asha has killed to protect her father's kingdom. She longs to atone for the terrible deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.But no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked.So now she plans to slay the most powerful dragon of all. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy, leading a rebellion she can't possibly be a part of . . . THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war. For fans of Madeline Miller, Katherine Arden, Laini Taylor and Tomi Adeyemi. **********************************'An accomplished fantasy novel . . . I'll definitely be looking out for the next one' Joanne Harris'The most simply thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author . . . your soul has been waiting for a story this beautiful' Tomi Adeyemi'It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. And a kickass princess . . . a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! Elspeth Cooper'The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast . . . Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms, and the Shattered Realms series will devour this' YABooksCentral

Gollancz

Count Zero

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

They set a Slamhound on Turner's trail in New Delhi, slotted it to his pheromones and the colour of his hair.When the Maas Biolabs and Hosaka zaibatsus fight it out for world domination, computer cowboys like Turner and Count Zero are just foot soldiers in the great game: useful but ultimately expendable. When Turner wakes up in Mexico - in a new body with a beautiful woman beside him - his corporate masters let him recuperate for a while, then reactivate his memory for a mission even more dangerous than the one that nearly killed him: the head designer from Maas Biolabs says he wants to defect to Hosaka, and it's Turner's job to deliver him safely. Count Zero is a rustbelt data-hustler totally unprepared for what comes his way when the designer's defection triggers war in cyberspace. With voodoo gods in the Net and angels in the software, he can only hope that the megacorps and the super-rich have their virtual hands too full to notice the amateur hacker with the black market kit trying desperately to stay alive . . .

Gollancz

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

The sky above the port was the colour of television, tuned to a dead channel.William Gibson revolutionised science fiction in his 1984 debut Neuromancer. The writer who gave us the matrix and coined the term 'cyberspace' produced a first novel that won the Hugo, Nebula and Philip K. Dick Awards, and lit the fuse on the Cyberpunk movement. More than three decades later, Gibson's text is as stylish as ever, his noir narrative still glitters like chrome in the shadows and his depictions of the rise and abuse of corporate power look more prescient every day. Part thriller, part warning, Neuromancer is a timeless classic of modern SF and one of the 20th century's most potent and compelling visions of the future.

Gateway

Feersum Endjinn

Iain M. Banks
Authors:
Iain M. Banks

Count Sessine is about to die for the very last time ... Chief Scientist Gadfium is about to receive the mysterious message she has been waiting for from the Plain of Sliding Stones...And Bascule the Teller, in search of an ant, is about to enter the chaos of the crypt...And everything is about to change...For this is the time of the Encroachment and, although the dimming sun still shines on the vast, towering walls of Serehfa Fastness, the end is close at hand. The King knows it, his closest advisers know it, yet still they prosecute the war against the clan Engineers with increasing savagery.The crypt knows it too; so an emissary has been sent, an emissary who holds the key to all their futures.

Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES!An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.