Ray Bradbury - Something Wicked This Way Comes - Orion Publishing Group

Something Wicked This Way Comes

By Ray Bradbury

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Ray Bradbury's extraordinary tale of childhood dreams and supernatural agency in small-town America.

It's the week before Hallowe'en, and Cooger and Dark's Pandemonium Shadow Show has come to Green Town, Illinois. The siren song of the calliope entices all with promises of youth regained and dreams fulfilled . . .

And as two boys trembling on the brink of manhood set out to explore the mysteries of the dark carnival's smoke, mazes and mirrors, they will also discover the true price of innermost wishes . . .

Biographical Notes

Ray Bradbury (1920-2012)
Ray Douglas Bradbury, an American fantasy, science fiction, horror and mystery fiction writer, wrote more than 500 short stories, novels, plays, screenplays, television scripts and poems during his prolific career. Lauded as one of America's most elegant and poetic writers, acclaimed by many to be the inventor of dark fantasy, he won many major awards, including the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement and being named a Nebula Grandmaster. Bradbury is perhaps best known for his dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451 (1953) and for other science fiction and horror stories gathered together as The Martian Chronicles (1950) and The Illustrated Man (1951). He passed away in 2012, at the age of 91.

For more information see www.sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/bradbury_ray

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473212046
  • Publication date: 08 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton
Gollancz

The Fallen Kingdom

Elizabeth May
Authors:
Elizabeth May
Orion

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

The thriller with the twists you'll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?KISS THE GIRLS A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out. AND MAKE THEM DIE... As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights.Read by Damian Lynch and Victoria Fox(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Strange Weather

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill
Trapeze

Stranger Fillings

The Muffin Brothers
Authors:
The Muffin Brothers

When a young boy goes missing, a small town uncovers a mystery involving secret recipes, supernatural whisking forces and one strange ingredient...In this 80s-tastic cookbook, the Muffin Brothers bring you an out-of-this-world collection of delicious and disturbing edible treats.Whip up a psychokinetic storm with recipes such as Elle's Special Dip, Joyce's Alphabet Soup, Mike's Secret Crush and Barb's Scone Missing. Each crumb is sure to vanish without a trace.

Orion

The Witches of New York

Ami McKay
Authors:
Ami McKay

Those averse to magic need not apply... 1880 Witches Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St Clair have opened a tea shop in Manhattan specialising in cures, palmistry and potions. When an enchanting woman called Beatrice joins the witches as an apprentice, she soon proves indispensable, but her new life is marred by strange occurrences. She sees things no one else can see. She hears voices no one else can hear. Has she been touched by magic or is she simply losing her mind? Amidst the witches' tug-of-war over how best to nurture her gifts, Beatrice disappears. But was it by choice or by force? In a time when women were corseted, confined and committed for merely speaking their minds, is anyone really safe?

Gollancz

Heart-Shaped Box

Joe Hill
Authors:
Joe Hill

'Buy my stepfather's ghost' read the e-mail.So Jude did.He bought it, in the shape of the dead man's suit, delivered in a heart-shaped box, because he wanted it: because his fans ate up that kind of story. It was perfect for his collection: the genuine skulls and the bones, the real honest-to-God snuff movie, the occult books and all the rest of the paraphanalia that goes along with his kind of hard/goth rock.But the rest of his collection doesn't make the house feel cold. The bones don't make the dogs bark; the movie doesn't make Jude feel as if he's being watched. And none of the artefacts bring a vengeful old ghost with black scribbles over his eyes out of the shadows to chase Jude out of his home, and make him run for his life ...

Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

A scavenger robot wanders in the wasteland created by a war that has destroyed humanity in this evocative post-apocalyptic robot western from the critically acclaimed author, screenwriter, and noted film critic. Humankind is extinct. Wiped out in a global uprising by the very machines made to serve them. Now the world is controlled by One World Intelligences - vast mainframes that have assimilated the minds of millions of robots. But not all robots are willing to cede their individuality, and Brittle - a loner and scavenger, focused solely on survival - is one of the holdouts. Only, individuality comes at a price, and after a near-deadly encounter with another AI, Brittle is forced to seek sanctuary. Not easy when an OWI has decided to lay siege to the nearest safe city. Critically damaged, Brittle has to hold it together long enough to find the essential rare parts to make repairs - but as a robot's CPU gradually deteriorates, all their old memories resurface. For Brittle, that means one haunting memory in particular . . .Sea of Rust boldly imagines a future in which no hope should remain, and yet a humanlike AI strives to find purpose among the ruins.

Orion

The Dark Room

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore
Orion

The Poison Artist

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore

'I haven't read anything so terrifying since Red Dragon' Stephen KingImagine an updated Vertigo: darker, more scary but just as hypnotically seductive. A dark psychological crime thriller for fans of Dennis Lehane's Shutter Island.Selected for BBC Radio 2 Book Club with Simon Mayo.Toxicologist Caleb Maddox has two puzzles to solve. What connects the series of dead bodies found floating in San Francisco Bay? And why is Emmeline, the strange and beautiful woman he met in a secluded bar, so secretive about her past? One thing is certain: finding the the answers could be the last thing Caleb ever does.Everyone is talking about The Poison Artist - a gripping psychological thriller:'Incredibly suspenseful' Lee Child'A magnificent, thoroughly unnerving psychological thriller' Justin Cronin'I haven't read anything so terrifying since Red Dragon' Stephen King'As dark and intoxicating as the bars where the mystery begins' Sunday Mirror'As satisfying as it is deeply unsettling...highly recommended' Guardian Don't miss Jonathan Moore's latest thriller The Dark Room. Out Now

W&N

Two Eerie Tales of Suspense

Paul Torday
Authors:
Paul Torday
Gollancz

Dreams and Shadows

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill

In the debut novel DREAMS AND SHADOWS, screenwriter and noted film critic C. Robert Cargill takes us beyond the veil, through the lives of Ewan and Colby, young men whose spirits have been enmeshed with the otherworld from a young age. This brilliantly crafted narrative - part Neil Gaiman, part Guillermo Del Toro, part William Burroughs - follows the boys from their star-crossed adolescences to their haunted adulthoods. Cargill's tour-de-force takes us inside the Limestone Kingdom, a parallel universe where whisky swilling genies and foul mouthed wizards argue over the state of the metaphysical realm. Having left the spirit world and returned to the human world, Ewan and Colby discover that the creatures from this previous life have not forgotten them, and that fate can never be sidestepped. With sensitivity and hopeful examination, Cargill illuminates a supernatural culture that all too eerily resembles our own. Set in a richly imagined and constructed world, complete with its own richly detailed history and mythology, DREAMS AND SHADOWS is a deeply engaging story about two extraordinary boys becoming men.

W&N

The White Devil

Justin Evans
Authors:
Justin Evans
Orion

Dark Matter

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
W&N

A Dark Matter

Peter Straub
Authors:
Peter Straub

Forty years ago, Spenser Mallon led a group of young students to witness a brutal, ritual murder. The survivors never recovered. Now, it seems, he's back...It is the 1960s and the charismatic and cunning Spenser Mallon is a campus guru, attracting the devotion and demanding sexual favours of his young acolytes. After he invites his most fervent followers to attend a secret ritual in a local meadow, the only thing that remains is a gruesomely dismembered body - and the shattered souls of all who were present.Years later, one man attempts to understand what happened to his wife and his friends by writing a book about this horrible night, and it's through this process that they begin to examine the unspeakable events that have bound them in ways they cannot fathom, but that have haunted every one of them throughout their lives. As each of the old friends tries to come to grips with the darkness of the past, they find themselves face to face with the evil triggered so many years earlier...

Gollancz

Ghost Story

Peter Straub
Authors:
Peter Straub

Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson (1926-2001) was born in Pennsylvania of Scandinavian stock. He started publishing science fiction in 1947 and became one the great figures in the genre, serving as President of the Science Fiction Writers of America, winning multiple Hugo and Nebula awards, and was named a SFWA Grand Master. He collaborated regularly with wife, Karen, and their daughter is married to noted SF writer Greg Bear. Poul Anderson died in July 2001.

Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury wrote more than 500 short stories, novels, plays, screenplays, television scripts and poems. Lauded as one of America's most elegant and poetic writers, acclaimed by many to be the inventer of dark fantasy, he won many major awards, including the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement and being named a Nebula Grandmaster.

Sarah Pinborough

Sarah Pinborough lives in Milton Keynes where she works as a full time, award-winning, writer and script-writer. Her published work, almost all of which is optioned for TV or film adaptation, includes the stunning novella The Language of Dying, THE DOG FACED GODS series, THE HIDDEN KINGDOM series, THE NOWHERE CHRONICLES (as Sarah Silverwood) and two standalone novels: The Death House and 13 Minutes. For more information visit www.sarahpinborough.com, or follow @SarahPinborough on twitter.

Sharon Shinn

Sharon Shinn is an American novelist whose stories combine aspects of fantasy, science fiction and romance. She has published more than a dozen novels for adult and young readers and her works include the Shifting Circle Series, the Samaria Series, the Twelve Houses Series and a rewriting of Jane Eyre, Jenna Starborn. She works as a journalist in St Louis, Missouri and is a graduate of Northwestern University.