Lawrence Watt-Evans - The Reign of the Brown Magician - Orion Publishing Group

The Reign of the Brown Magician

By Lawrence Watt-Evans

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

The dark force known as Shadow had been defeated, but its world-spanning web of power had survived. This incredible magical weapon was now held not by a prince or wizard, but by Pellinore Brown, a marketing consultant from Germantown, Maryland.

Pel Brown wished no one ill; he merely wanted his family back. But the Galactic Empire that had seen Shadow as a threat saw him as Shadow's heir, a menace to be destroyed as Shadow had been. And when the awesome magical might of Shadow's legacy was turned against the rayguns and spaceships of the Empire, entire planets were caught in the middle.

Pel Brown wished no one ill - but hundreds would die to put an end to ... THE REIGN OF THE BROWN MAGICIAN

Biographical Notes

Lawrence Watt-Evans (1954- )
Lawrence Watt-Evans is the working name of American science fiction and fantasy writer Lawrence Watt Evans. He was born in Arlington, Massachusetts, as the fourth of six children and studied at Bedford High School and Princeton University, although he left the latter without a degree. Watt-Evans began publishing sf in 1975 with "Paranoid Fantasy #1" for American Athiest. He has constructed several scripts for Marvel Comics and has been moderately prolific as a short story writer, with "Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers" (Asimov's, July 1987) won a 1988 Hugo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214255
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Dark Forge

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Gollancz

Dragon Heart

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins

For readers of Cormac McCarthy and Justin Cronin, this is the story of one family's battle for survival in a world where evil has already won. As they fight their way across a dying land, Shay and Cass will do anything to keep their daughter, Hope, alive. The family faces unimaginable dangers as they try to stay together, and stay alive, long enough to reach safety. But when the heart of a dragon starts to beat in Hope's chest, they fear they'll lose her to a battle they can't possibly help her win . . . Critically acclaimed author Peter Higgins has written a richly evocative post-apocalyptic fantasy novel about how, even in the darkest of times, we have so much to lose.

Seven Dials

Gene Eating

Giles Yeo
Authors:
Giles Yeo
Gollancz

The Blue Salt Road

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

An earthly nourris sits and singsAnd aye she sings, "Ba lilly wean,Little ken I my bairn's father,Far less the land that he staps in. (Child Ballad, no. 113)So begins a stunning tale of love, loss and revenge, against a powerful backdrop of adventure on the high seas, and drama on the land. The Blue Salt Road balances passion and loss, love and violence and draws on nature and folklore to weave a stunning modern mythology around a nameless, wild young man.Passion drew him to a new world, and trickery has kept him there - without his memories, separated from his own people. But as he finds his way in this dangerous new way of life, so he learns that his notions of home, and your people, might not be as fixed as he believed.Beautifully illustrated by Bonnie Helen Hawkins, this is a stunning and original modern fairytale.

Gollancz

The Dream Gatherer

Kristen Britain
Authors:
Kristen Britain

The Dream GathererDreams can be dangerous. A visit with the eccentric Berry sisters turns dangerous when an arcane device is discovered in their house that can summon dreamers through their dreams, and one of them is a nightmare.WishwindFinding peace during the Long War. Raised in an orphan camp, Green Rider Danalong has known only war and strife, until a shipwreck leaves him stranded on a mysterious island.Linked, on the Lake of SoulsA story of friendship within a story of friendship. In the sixth volume of the Green Rider series, Firebrand, a wounded Karigan G'ladheon asks her friend Estral to tell her a story to take her mind off her pain. This is that story.This collection includes illustrations, backstory on the creation of Green Rider by Kristen Britain, and a special introduction by award-winning science fiction and fantasy author, Julie E. Czerneda.

Gollancz

Empress of all Seasons

Emiko Jean
Authors:
Emiko Jean
Gollancz

The Books of Earthsea: The Complete Illustrated Edition

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
Orion Spring

Wicca

Harmony Nice
Authors:
Harmony Nice
Gateway

The Wizard and the War Machine

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans
Gollancz

The Caged Queen

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

WHAT WOULD YOU SACRIFICE FOR LOVE? DEATH-DEFYING, WORLD-ALTERING LOVE?Roa and her sister Essie were born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. It was a magic they cherished - until the terrible day Essie died and her soul was trapped in this world.Dax, the heir to the throne of Firgaard, was responsible. Roa swore she would never forgive him - yet when he came begging for her help to dethrone his cruel father, Roa made him a deal. She'd give him the army he needed if he made her queen.Now she is royalty, but an outlander; far from home and married to her enemy. And even after everything she has sacrificed, Dax's promises go unfulfilled. Roa's people still suffer.Then a chance to right every wrong arises - an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa can reclaim her sister for good. All she has to do is kill the king. . . The Caged Queen takes readers back to the lush, immersive world of The Last Namsara with a stunning story about the unbreakable bond between two sisters and the sacrifices we make for love.

Gollancz

Legion: The Many Lives of Stephen Leeds

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Graceling

Kristin Cashore
Authors:
Kristin Cashore

In a world where people born with an exceptional skill, known as a Grace, are feared and exploited, Katsa carries the burden of a skill even she despises: the Grace of killing. She lives under the command of her Uncle Randa, King of the Middluns, and is expected to carry out his dirty work, punishing and torturing anyone who displeases him. Breaking arms and cutting off fingers are her stock-in-trade. Finding life under his rule increasingly unbearable, Katsa forms an underground Council whose purpose is to combat the destructive behaviour of the seven kings - after all, the Middluns is only one of the Seven Kingdoms, each of them ruled by their own king and his personal agenda for power.When the Council hears that the King of Liend's father has been kidnapped Katsa investigates ... and stumbles across a mystery. Who would want to kidnap him, and why? And who was the extraordinary Graced fighter who challenged her fighting skills, for the first time, as she and the Council rushed the old man to saftey?Something dark and deadly is rising in the north and creeping across the continent, and behind it all lurks the shadowy figure of a one-eyed king ...

Gollancz

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Gateway

Journey to the Underground World

Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gateway

Jurgen

James Branch Cabell
Authors:
James Branch Cabell
Gollancz

Terry Pratchett's Discworld Diary 2019

Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium
Authors:
Terry Pratchett, The Discworld Emporium

The 2019 Discworld Quiz Diary contains everything you needed to know - and a few things you didn't - about modern literature's favourite flat earth.One part diary, one part quiz on the arcane practices of the funniest creation in modern fantasy, 100% Discworld goodness. With their trademark mix of cultural ephemera, background detail and hilarious one-liners, the Discworld diaries are back. This year: trivia. Do you know where the Discworld gods live? Do you know the name of the last continent? Do you know the name of the Discworld's worst engineer? Do you know what's in CMOT Dibbler's sausages? Put your knowledge to the test, and all will be revealed. Well, except the last one; nobody knows that, not even Dibbler. These and other gems of knowledge await you within. Make every day a Discworld day, with the 2019 Discworld Quiz Diary.

Gateway

The Nightmare People

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

One night Ed Smith thought he was having a waking nightmare when he saw a monstrous face at his window, but in the morning his neighbors were missing. The people who later turned up were not quite right, and gradually Smith realized they not only weren't his neighbors, but weren't even human - they were the creatures he had seen . . .

Gateway

The Spartacus File

Lawrence Watt-Evans, Carl Parlagreco
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans, Carl Parlagreco
Gollancz

The Grave Thief

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

For Isak, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come if he is to save the Land from its oppressors ...Scree has been wiped from the face of the Land in a brutal demonstration of intent. While those responsible scatter to work on the next step in their plan, the stakes are raised - all the way to the heavens - as the Gods themselves enter the fray.Returning home to a nation divided by fanaticism, Lord Isak is haunted both by the consequences of his actions in Scree and by visions of his own impending death. As the full extent of Azaer's schemes become clearer, he realises prophecy and zealotry must play their part in his battle-plans if there is to be any chance of surviving the coming years.As a white-eye, Isak has had to embrace the darker parts of his own soul, but now the savage religious fervour sweeping his nation must also be accepted and turned to purpose, in the name of survival.With the battle lines vague and allegiances uncertain, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come. Two figures oppose Isak and his allies: the greatest warrior in history, who dreams of empire and Godhood, and a newborn baby whose dreams have no limit.