Lawrence Watt-Evans - The Cyborg and the Sorcerers - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Cyborg and the Sorcerers

By Lawrence Watt-Evans

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

The cyborg code-named "Slant" was sent out as an Independent Reconnaissance Unit during an interstellar war between Earth and its colonies. The fighting ended three hundred years ago, but Slant's computer does not admit this - he is compelled to carry on as if the war were still raging.

Then he comes across a planet where his sensors register "gravitational anomalies." The computer interprets these as enemy weapons research.

The local inhabitants call the anomalies "magic."

Biographical Notes

Lawrence Watt-Evans (1954- )
Lawrence Watt-Evans is the working name of American science fiction and fantasy writer Lawrence Watt Evans. He was born in Arlington, Massachusetts, as the fourth of six children and studied at Bedford High School and Princeton University, although he left the latter without a degree. Watt-Evans began publishing sf in 1975 with "Paranoid Fantasy #1" for American Athiest. He has constructed several scripts for Marvel Comics and has been moderately prolific as a short story writer, with "Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers" (Asimov's, July 1987) won a 1988 Hugo.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214262
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner

'Marvellous . . . a space opera of surpassing gracefulness, depth, complexity, and well, all-round weirdness' LocusPerfect for fans of Iain M. Banks and Peter F. Hamilton.It is the 147th century. The mighty era of Homo Sapiens is at an end.In the Westerly Provinces of the Old World, the hunt is on for the young queen Arabis, and the beast that holds her captive. In the brutal hominid Investiture, revolution has come. The warlord Cunctus, having seized the Vulgar worlds, invites every Prism to pick a side. In the Firmament, once the kingdom of the Immortal Amaranthine, all ships converge on the foundry of Gliese. The grandest battle in the history of mammalian kind has begun.Perception, ancient machine spirit, must take back its mortal remains in a contest for the Firmament itself. Ghaldezuel, now the Grand Marshal of Cunctus' new empire, must travel to the deepest lagoon in the Investiture, a place where monsters dwell. Captain Maril, lost amongst the Hedron Stars, finds himself caught between colossal powers the likes of which he'd never dreamt.And for Aaron the Long-Life, he who has waited so very, very long for his revenge, things are only getting started . . .'Among the most significant works of science fiction released in recent years. Granted, you've got to give it your all, but give it that and you'll get all that and more besides back' TOR.COM [The Promise of the Child]

Gollancz

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Gateway

Lost Aeons

Berl Cameron, Denis Hughes
Authors:
Berl Cameron, Denis Hughes
Gateway

Purple Islands

Dee Carter, Denis Hughes
Authors:
Dee Carter, Denis Hughes

To leave the earth in a vessel designed to ride the emptiness of outer space would certainly demand of its crew the very highest qualities of courage and determination. But if the journey was to be a one-way trip with the objective of establishing an offshoot of humanity on a distant world, then every mortal quality would have to be considerably strengthened. Such was the project launched by Doctor Helenus Smith. He selected his crew with apparently small regard for the obvious essentials, his motivations for doing so kept close to his chest. The trouble began when a nameless world interposed itself on their course, appearing from nowhere, and upon which they were unexpectedly forced to land . . .

Gateway

Pre-Gargantua

Neil Charles, Denis Hughes
Authors:
Neil Charles, Denis Hughes

Man is established on Kliron XIV, a dark, bleak, barren little globe used solely as a base for spatial patrol ships. Life on Kliron is no bed of roses, but it is only when faced by perils that seem at first too incredible to believe that the best - and worst - is revealed in men. Here in Kliron XIV just such a peril materialises. For the first time in their lives men find themselves confronted by an enemy against which no weapon can prevail. Worse even than the Master Entity, the Gargantua are its slaves, evil Flowers of Darkness that bloom where no life can exist . . .

Gateway

Valley of Terror

Russell Rey, Denis Hughes
Authors:
Russell Rey, Denis Hughes

Spatial Body 232: Zone K, because of its valuable strategic position as a satellite of Zennor, was the goal set by the exploratory expeditions from the Earth controlled ports of Zennor itself. A base on 232 offered many advantages for defence of the spaceways, and establishing a settlement there was a must lest rival races in the Galaxy gain a foothold on it first. But though successive ships blasted off with the avowed intent of claiming the cheerless grey satellite none had ever been heard of again, save one whose crew had returned to report fantastic storms of unknown origin. It was not until Tony Wayne and John Reece crash-landed their ship on 232 that they learnt its incredible secrets - and found there a fellow whose story was akin to a nightmare . . .

Gateway

Wildeblood's Empire: Daedalus Mission 3

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Gateway

The City of the Sun: Daedalus Mission 4

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford

The fourth landing of the Daedalus Mission confronts Alex and his companions with a colonial culture seemingly modeled on a classic Utopian dream, but all of its inhabitants are infected with a mysterious alien parasite, and they no longer seem entirely human. Are they being controlled by the parasite, or has the parasite merely enabled them to transform themselves? Can the visitors from Earth avoid infection themselves, and what will the consequences be if they cannot? For once, the risks of the contact seem potentially far greater than any possible reward - but that still leaves the visitors with the necessity of passing judgment and deciding what to do, in an exceedingly awkward situation.

Gateway

Promised Land: Hooded Swan 3

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Gateway

The Paradise Game: Hooded Swan 4

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Gateway

The Fenris Device: Hooded Swan 5

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Gateway

Swan Song: Hooded Swan 6

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford

In a galactic culture that extends from quasi-Utopian worlds such as New Alexandria to vermin-infested slums like Old Earth, the Star-Pilots have become the great heroes of the day. Grainger has become a legend in his own time, flying the prototype vessel of a new starship.... Having escaped from his contract with Charlot, Grainger is hounded by the Caradoc Commpany, who wants to extract everything from his brain about his former employer. But Charlot has other plans, and Grainger suddenly finds himself back on the Hooded Swan, leading a rescue mission for the Swan's sister ship in the bizarre Nightingale Nebula. This last voyage proves costlier than the previous ones, as Grainger must risk not only his life - but his very soul!

Orion

Clash of Empires

Ben Kane
Authors:
Ben Kane

'A triumph!' Harry Sidebottom | 'Exceptional' Anthony Riches'One of our generation's most ambitious and engaging writers' Manda ScottWHEN A NEW EMPIRE RISES, AN OLD ONE MUST FALLAfter sixteen years of bloody war, Hannibal Barca is on the verge of defeat. On the plains of Zama, Felix and his brother Antonius stand in the formidable Roman legions, ready to deliver the decisive blow. Victory will establish Rome as the pre-eminent power in the ancient world. Meanwhile, young senator Flamininus is set on becoming one of the Republic's greatest military commanders with his eyes on the as-yet-unconquered Macedon and Greece. But in the north of Greece, Philip V of Macedon has his own agenda. He is determined to restore his kingdom to its former glory but needs a strong army to help him do it. Young Demetrios dreams of fighting in the phalanx but is just a poor oarsman. Thirsty, hungry, burnt by the unforgiving Mediterranean sun, dreams are his only sustenance, until a chance encounter changes everything.Flamininus will stop at nothing to bring Philip V to heel. The Roman wolf has tasted blood, and it wants more. But the sun of Macedon will not set without a final blaze of glory. The gripping first novel in a new series from the master of historical fiction

Gateway

Halcyon Drift: Hooded Swan 1

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford

In a galactic culture that extends from quasi-Utopian worlds like New Alexandria to vermin-infested slums like Old Earth, starship pilots have become the great romantic heroes of the day. When Star-Pilot Grainger is rescued from a shipwreck, he finds himself pressed into reluctant service to fly the Hooded Swan, the prototype of a new kind of interstellar ship. He's also picked up an alien parasite that's determined to share his brain. Under these dire circumstances, can Grainger possibly stay out of trouble? Not a chance!

Gateway

Rhapsody in Black: Hooded Swan 2

Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford

In the culture of the galaxy, the Star-Pilots of the starships that link the cosmos together have become the great heroes of the day. Grainger, who has become a legend in his own lifetime, is drafted to fly the prototype (the Hooded Swan) of a new ship that could revolutionize space travel. The members of the ultra-ascetic Church of the Exclusive Reward have colonized a number of marginal worlds to exclude themselves from galactic society. On Rhapsody, church members lead a completely subterranean existence. Even closed societies have their rebels, however, so when a major scientific discovery emerges from the caves of the dark planet, everything there falls apart. If Grainger can secure a share in the coming bonanza, he could buy back his freedom from Titus Charlot. Before he can do that, however, he has to find some way of just staying alive . . .

Gateway

Beyond Zoaster

Neil Charles, Denis Hughes
Authors:
Neil Charles, Denis Hughes
Gateway

Asteroid Forma

Rand Le Page, Denis Hughes
Authors:
Rand Le Page, Denis Hughes
Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings
Gollancz

Austral

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley
Gollancz

Black Man

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

One hundred years from now, and against all the odds, Earth has found a new stability; the political order has reached some sort of balance, and the new colony on Mars is growing. But the fraught years of the 21st century have left an uneasy legacy ...Genetically engineered alpha males, designed to fight the century's wars have no wars to fight and are surplus to requirements. And a man bred and designed to fight is a dangerous man to have around in peacetime. Many of them have left for Mars but now one has come back and killed everyone else on the shuttle he returned in.Only one man, a genengineered ex-soldier himself, can hunt him down and so begins a frenetic man-hunt and a battle survival. And a search for the truth about what was really done with the world's last soldiers.BLACK MAN is an unstoppable SF thriller but it is also a novel about predjudice, about the ramifications of playing with our genetic blue-print. It is about our capacity for violence but more worrying, our capacity for deceit and corruption.This is another landmark of modern SF from one of its most exciting and commercial authors.