Margaret St Clair - The Green Queen - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Green Queen

By Margaret St Clair

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

Bonnar had created the Green Queen thoughtlessly - all part of a day's work. But when his brain-child became a full-grown Frankenstein's monster, embodied in the girl he loved, Bonnar was terrified. For now she threatened to shatter the whole carefully balanced social structure of Viridis - as well to undermine that radioactive world's atomic shield!

Only Bonnar could end the holocaust and turn the all-too-grim reality back to the illusion he had originally intended. But to do that he had to destroy the girl he loved - or be destroyed by her.

Biographical Notes

Margaret St Clair (1911-1995)
Margaret St Clair was an American science fiction writer who wrote mostly under her own name, but published a number of titles under the pseudonyms Idris Seabright and Wilton Hazzard. Born in Hutchinson, Kansas, St Clair had no siblings and recalled her childhood as 'rather a lonely and bookish one'. She graduated from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1932 and in 1934 she earned a Master of Arts in Greek Classics. Her sf career began with 'Rocket to Limbo' for Fantastic Adventures in November 1946 and by 1950 she had published about 30 more stories. From the outset of her career, St. Clair was aware of her unusual role as a woman writing in a male-dominated field. An article she wrote for Writer's Digest in 1947, about selling stories to the science fiction market, begins: 'Why is science fiction fun to write? At first blush, it doesn't seem attractive, particularly for a woman.' A lifelong supporter of the American Friends Service Committee, she spent her final years at Friends House in Santa Rosa, California. She died in 1995.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214521
  • Publication date: 30 Mar 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gateway

The Games of Neith

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Sign of the Labrys

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Message from the Eocene

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Agent of the Unknown

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

The Dolphins of Altair

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Before the dawn of man . . .. . . there was a covenant between the land and the sea people - a covenant long forgotten by those who stayed on shore, but indelibly etched in the minds of others - the dolphins of Altair.Now the covenant had been broken. Dolphins were being wantonly sacrificed in the name of scientific research, their waters increasingly polluted, their number dangerously diminished. They had to find allies and strike back. Allies willing to sever their own earthly bonds for the sake of their sea brothers - willing, if necessary, to execute the destruction of the whole human race . . .

Gateway

The Shadow People

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

The Dancers of Noyo

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Like so many others before him, reluctant Sam MacGregor was sent on a pilgrimage for the Grail Vision by the Dancers: androids grown from the cells of one man, with the powers of hypnotism and illusion - androids who held the tribes of the Republic of California in thrall. But soon Sam began to doubt his own identity, for he experienced, in close succession, extra-lives in different corridors of time and space.And he count not know whom his search would destroy: the Dancers . . . or himself.

Gateway

Three Worlds of Futurity

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
Gateway

Change the Sky and Other Stories

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Change the Sky is a collection in which you will find:- A man who has spent his life searching for the world of his dreams and got exactly what he wanted- A women who found the people around her so boring she changed them- A righteous minister who preached an old-fashioned Christmas and started an energy crisis - 2000 years in the future

Gateway

The Best of Margaret St Clair

Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair

Margaret St Clair is best known for her shorter science fiction and fantasy, much of the latter written under the pen name of Idris Seabright. She has a remarkably ironic sense of humor, and many of her stories have social or philosophical themes. Contents:Idris' Pig (1964)The Gardener (1949)Child of Void (1949)Hathor's Pets (1950)The Pillows (1950)The Listening Child (1950)Brightness Falls from the Air (1951)The Man Who Sold Rope to the Gnoles (1951)The Causes (1952)An Egg a Month from All Over (1952)Prott (1953)New Ritual (1953)Brenda (1954)Short in the Chest (1954)Horrer Howce (1956)The Wines of Earth (1957)The Invested Libido (1958)The Nuse Man (1960)An Old-Fashioned Bird Christmas (1961)Wryneck, Draw Me (1980)

Gollancz

Luna

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Gollancz

Rig

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

A fast-moving, filmic and violent SF thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Campbell. A meeting of The Road and Rogue Trooper. Barricade introduced artificial lifeform, Kenstibec. Steeple saw him reduced to the level of humanity. Now Kenstibec must fight his way to the home of the man who created him and the other Ficials. The man who tipped the world into war and sealed humanity's fate. Can Kenstibec win a future back for man?Jon Wallace has written a series of short, high-action yet thoughtful SF thrillers. Controversial yet full of dark humour these are rewarding SF thrillers that echo the pleasures of noir and bring a sharp new perspective to British SF.

Orion

The City of Mirrors

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

In life I was a scientist called Fanning.Then, in a jungle in Bolivia, I died.I died, and then I was brought back to life... Prompted by a voice that lives in her blood, the fearsome warrior known as Alicia of Blades is drawn towards to one of the great cities of The Time Before. The ruined city of New York. Ruined but not empty. For this is the final refuge of Zero, the first and last of The Twelve. The one who must be destroyed if mankind is to have a future.What she finds is not what she's expecting. A journey into the past.To find out how it all began.And an opponent at once deadlier and more human than she could ever have imagined.The Passage - soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Gollancz

Into Everywhere

Paul McAuley
Authors:
Paul McAuley

The Jackaroo, those enigmatic aliens who claim to have come to help, gave humanity access to worlds littered with ruins and scraps of technology left by long-dead client races. But although people have found new uses for alien technology, that technology may have found its own uses for people.The dissolute scion of a powerful merchant family, and a woman living in seclusion with only her dog and her demons for company, have become infected by a copies of a powerful chunk of alien code. Driven to discover what it wants from them, they become caught up in a conflict between a policeman allied to the Jackaroo and the laminated brain of a scientific wizard, and a mystery that spans light years and centuries. Humanity is about to discover why the Jackaroo came to help us, and how that help is shaping the end of human history.

Gollancz

Radiant State

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins
Gollancz

A Quantum Mythology

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

Steeple

Jon Wallace
Authors:
Jon Wallace

Another high action SF dystopia perfect for fans of Richard Morgan and Alfred Bester alike. The follow-up to the acclaimed Barricade this another short, sharp and kinetic SF thrillerKenstibec is a Ficial - a genetically engineered artificial life form; tough, skilled, hard to kill. Or at least he was. He's lost the nanotech that constantly repaired him. Life just got real. Just like it is for the few remaining humans in this blighted world - the Reals; locked in a fight over a ruined world with the Ficials they created to make Utopia.And now Kenstibec must take a trip to the pinnicle of our failed civilisation. The Steeple is a one thousand storey tower that looms over the wreckage of London. It is worshipped, feared and haunted by attack droids and cannibals. And the location of a secret that just might save Kenstibec's life.The only way is up.

Gollancz

Glorious Angels

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson

Justina Robson (acclaimed author of NATURAL HISTORY, LIVING NEXT DOOR TO THE GOD OF LOVE and the QUANTUM GRAVITY series) is back with a cutting edge novel of science, adventure and ideas.On a world where science and magic are hard to tell apart a stranger arrives in a remote town with news of political turmoil to come. And a young woman learns that she must free herself from the role she has accepted.Always vivid, always full of stunning ideas and imagery, Justina Robson is the Clarke Award-winning author of some of our most exciting, yet philosophical SF. A new novel from her is a major event in the SF calendar.

Gollancz

Robot Overlords

Mark Stay
Authors:
Mark Stay

To find his father, one boy must defy an empire...Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. They have one rule:STAY IN YOUR HOMESStep outside and you get one warning before you're vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That's if the vast Cube doesn't incinerate you first.But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father - an RAF pilot who fought in the war - is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots' curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS.This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.