Sam Peters - From Distant Stars - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473214781
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409175506
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018

From Distant Stars

By Sam Peters

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The sequel to FROM DARKEST SKIES, a high concept science fiction thriller

Inspector Keon has finally got over the death of his wife Alysha in a terrorist attack five years ago. The illegal AI copy of her - Liss - that he created to help him mourn has vanished, presumed destroyed. His life is back on track. But a deadly shooting in a police-guarded room in a high-security hospital threatens to ruin everything. Who got past the defences? Why did they kill the seemingly unimportant military officer who had been in a coma for weeks? And why did the scanners pick up the deceased man the next day on the other side of the planet, seemingly alive and well?

As Keon digs into the mysteries he begins to realise that the death was connected to a mysterious object, potentially alien, discovered buried in ice under the north pole. Someone has worked out what is hidden there, and what its discovery will mean for mankind. Someone who is willing to kill.

And another player has entered the game. Someone who seems to know more about Keon than is possible.

Someone who might be using Liss's information against him.

Or who might be Alysha, back from the dead.

Biographical Notes

Sam Peters is a mathematician, part-time gentle-person adventurer and occasional screenwriter who has seen faces glaze over at the words 'science fiction' once too often. Inspirations include Dennis Potter, Mary Doria Russell, Lynda La Plante, Neal Stephenson, and Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure. Has more hopes than regrets, more cats than children, watches a lot of violent contact sport and is an unrepentant closet goth.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214804
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Trapeze

I Heart Mermaids

Anastasia Catris
Authors:
Anastasia Catris

Unleash a life lived in colour with this enchanting mermaid colouring book. Let your imagination swim away with you as you colour in beautifully intricate line drawings of these mystical underwater creatures. De-stress and discover your creative side as you fill each page with colour. Be a mermaid and make waves!

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

A gripping YA crossover series from a spectacular new voice in the genre Destroyer. Death bringer. Dragon-slayer. I am more weapon than girl.Asha is a dragon-slayer. Reviled by the very people she's sworn to protect, she kills to atone for the wicked deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar. But protecting her father's kingdom is a lonely destiny: no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked. Even worse, to unite the fractured kingdom she must marry Jarek, the cruel commandant. As the wedding day approaches, Asha longs for freedom. Just when it seems her fate is sealed, the king offers her a way out: her freedom in exchange for the head of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy . . . THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war.

Seven Dials

Superstar Dogs

Julie Tottman
Authors:
Julie Tottman

*****Your pets can rival movie stars with these easy tricks from the trainer behind Harry Potter and Game of Thrones, Julie Tottman. Whether your dog is clever, cheeky, kooky or cuddly, this perfect gift for dog lovers everywhere reveals easy tricks to make them the envy of their friends. Trick-training is a simple and fun way to bond with your dog whilst keeping them stimulated and active, and there is no one better placed to show you how to do it than Julie. Over the last twenty years, Julie has been the animal trainer behind a whole host of major Hollywood blockbusters - from the Harry Potter franchise to Lassie, The Dark Knight, 102 Dalmations and, most recently, Game of Thrones. By breaking each trick down into easy step-by-step instructions, Julie shows you how to teach your pet a wide range of easy and fun tricks, catering for all shapes, sizes - and attention spans! Alongside lots of helpful tips and advice, you'll also find fun black and white illustrations and space to jot down when your pet has successfully performed each trick, meaning they'll be rivalling movie stars in no time.

Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan
Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
W&N

Where Poppies Blow

John Lewis-Stempel
Authors:
John Lewis-Stempel
Gollancz

Xeelee: Endurance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this selection of uncollected and unpublished stories, newly edited and placed in chronological reading order.From tales charting the earliest days of man's adventure to the stars to stories of Old Earth, four billion years in the future, the range and startling imagination of Baxter is always on display. As humanity rises and falls, ebbs and flows, one thing is always needed - the ability to endure.Contains eleven short stories and novellas.

Orion

Cruel Crown

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard

In a world divided by blood - Red or Silver - two women tell the stories no one else knows.For Coriane of House Jacos, love comes at a terrible cost. In a secret diary, she recounts her heady courtship with the heir to the Silver throne, Prince Tiberias, and the dangers that lurk at the heart of the royal court.Captain Farley is at the forefront of the Red rebellion. As she plans an attack on the Silver capital, she discovers a secret that could sway the balance of power for ever.Two gripping stories. One fight for justice.Red vs Silver.Contains an extract from GLASS SWORD, the second novel in the Red Queen series.

W&N

Connectography

Parag Khanna
Authors:
Parag Khanna
Orion

As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

Queen Song (A Red Queen Novella)

Victoria Aveyard
Authors:
Victoria Aveyard
Orion

The Sixth Extinction

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins

The NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author returns with a gripping, high-concept adventure thriller in the Sigma Force series - for fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton.A remote military research station in Utah sends out a frantic distress call, ending with a chilling final command: Kill us all! By the time help arrives every living thing for fifty miles has been annihilated. And blight is spreading.To halt the inevitable, Commander Gray Pierce and Sigma must unravel a threat that rises out of the distant past, to a time when Antarctica was green and life on Earth balanced on a knife edge. Following clues from an ancient map rescued from the lost Library of Alexandria, Sigma will discover the truth about an ancient continent, about a new form of death buried under miles of ice, and the coming extinction of mankind.

The Murder Room

The Joker in the Pack

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

When Helga Rolfe flies into Nassau to join her elderly millionaire husband, Herman, she finds plenty of bad news awaiting her. Crippled, suspicious Herman has long suspected she's been playing around since their marriage, and is proposing to write some nasty-looking terms into his will. Herman is right, of course - Helga's weakness is for handsome, sexy men like Harry Jackson, whom she meets on the beach the day she arrives. But Harry is not quite what she thinks - and because of him she suddenly finds herself in a nightmare world of blackmail, voodoo and violence ...'I always enjoy his books ... he just keeps me reading' George Macdonald Fraser

Gollancz

The Illustrated Eric

Terry Pratchett, Josh Kirby
Contributors:
Terry Pratchett, Josh Kirby
Gollancz

All Clear

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Traveling back in time, from Oxford circa 2060 into the thick of World War II, was a routine excursion for three British historians eager to study firsthand the heroism and horrors of the Dunkirk evacuation and the London Blitz. But getting marooned in war-torn 1940 England has turned Michael Davies, Merope Ward, and Polly Churchill from temporal tourists into besieged citizens struggling to survive Hitler's devastating onslaught. And now there's more to worry about than just getting back home: The impossibility of altering past events has always been a core belief of time-travel theory - but it may be tragically wrong. When discrepancies in the historical record begin cropping up, it suggests that one or all of the future visitors have somehow changed the past - and, ultimately, the outcome of the war.Award-winning author Connie Willis returns with a stunning, enormously entertaining novel of time travel, war, and the deeds - great and small - of ordinary people who shape history.

Orion

Michael Connelly - The Harry Bosch Collection (ebook)

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

In a city of a million tales, Detective Bosch reads those written in blood. Fourteen crime novels from bestseller Michael Connelly. 'Connelly is a crime writing genius' Independent on SundayContains: THE BLACK ECHO, THE BLACK ICE, THE CONCRETE BLONDE, THE LAST COYOTE, TRUNK MUSIC, ANGELS FLIGHT, A DARKNESS MORE THAN NIGHT, CITY OF BONES, LOST LIGHT, THE NARROWS, THE CLOSERS, ECHO PARK, THE OVERLOOK, NINE DRAGONS

Orion

The Bernie Rhodenbarr Mysteries

Lawrence Block
Authors:
Lawrence Block
Orion

The Maeve Binchy Collection

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
W&N

The Spies Of Warsaw

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst
W&N

The Foreign Correspondent

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst

The next great page-turner from the master of the noir spy novel.By 1939, thousands of Italian intellectuals, teachers and lawyers, journalists and scientists, had fled Mussolini's fascist government and found refuge in Paris. There, amidst the poverty and difficulty of émigré life, they joined the Italian resistance, founding an underground press that smuggled news and encouragement back to their lost homeland. In Paris, in the winter of 1939, a murder/suicide at a lovers' hotel hits the tabloid press. But this is not a romantic tragedy, it is the work of OVRA, Mussolini's fascist secret police, and meant to eliminate the editor of Liberazione, a clandestine newspaper published by Italian émigrés. Carlo Weisz, who has fled from Trieste and found work as a foreign correspondent for the Reuters bureau, becomes the new editor.Weisz is, at that moment, in Spain, reporting on the tragic end of the Spanish civil war, but, as soon as he returns to Paris, he is pursued by the French Surete, by agents of OVRA, and by officers of the British Secret Intelligence Service. In the desperate politics of Europe on the edge of war, a foreign correspondent is a pawn, worth surveillance, or blackmail, or murder.The Foreign Correspondent is the story of Carlo Weisz and a handful of anti-fascists -- the army officer known as Colonel Ferrara, who fights for a lost cause in Spain, Arturo Salamone, the shrewd leader of a resistance group in Paris, and the woman who becomes the love of his Weisz's life, herself involved in a doomed resistance underground in Berlin, at the heart of Hitler's Nazi empire.