Sam Peters - From Distant Stars - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473214781
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473214798
    • Publication date:07 Feb 2019
Books in this series

From Distant Stars

By Sam Peters

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The sequel to FROM DARKEST SKIES, a high concept science fiction thriller

Inspector Keon has finally got over the death of his wife Alysha in a terrorist attack five years ago. The illegal AI copy of her - Liss - that he created to help him mourn has vanished, presumed destroyed. His life is back on track. But a deadly shooting in a police-guarded room in a high-security hospital threatens to ruin everything. Who got past the defences? Why did they kill the seemingly unimportant military officer who had been in a coma for weeks? And why did the scanners pick up the deceased man the next day on the other side of the planet, seemingly alive and well?

As Keon digs into the mysteries he begins to realise that the death was connected to a mysterious object, potentially alien, discovered buried in ice under the north pole. Someone has worked out what is hidden there, and what its discovery will mean for mankind. Someone who is willing to kill.

And another player has entered the game. Someone who seems to know more about Keon than is possible.

Someone who might be using Liss's information against him.

Or who might be Alysha, back from the dead.

Biographical Notes

Sam Peters is a mathematician, part-time gentle-person adventurer and occasional screenwriter who has seen faces glaze over at the words 'science fiction' once too often. Inspirations include Dennis Potter, Mary Doria Russell, Lynda La Plante, Neal Stephenson, and Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure. Has more hopes than regrets, more cats than children, watches a lot of violent contact sport and is an unrepentant closet goth.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473214804
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gollancz
A true un-put-downable page turner. — POPULAR SCIENCE
An entertaining piece of high-concept science fiction. — FRIGHTFEST
A truly gripping novel with a mystery complex enough to keep me guessing to the end. — SF CROWSNEST
Gollancz

Episodes

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Orion

Fame Adjacent

Sarah Skilton
Authors:
Sarah Skilton

What if your best days, happened when you were eleven?It's not easy being the only cast member of a 1990s song-and-dance show who didn't become famous. Holly Danner has made her peace with her crowning moment happening when she was eleven and watching her childhood friends become world-famous. But when she finds out there's a 25th anniversary for the show and she wasn't invited, it's time to set the record straight. The only problem is she's in Internet Rehab and the only person who can get her there in time is Thom Parker, a handsome and infuriating patient who doesn't think she should confront her famous ex-friends. But it's finally Holly's time in the spotlight and nothing is going to stop her... FAME ADJACENT is a hilarious and feel-good story of love, friendship, and fame, as seen through the eyes of a girl who lived it - from the sidelines. Perfect for fans of Paige Toon and Giovanna Fletcher.

Gollancz

From Divergent Suns

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Gateway

Northwest of Earth

C.L. Moore
Authors:
C.L. Moore
Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood
Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Excellent second novel featuring Yorkshire Detective Constable Karen Sharpe.The daughter of a Bradford judge is kidnapped and a massive, round-the-clock investigation begins. Knowing the chances of Sophie surviving will diminish dramatically after the first twenty-four hours, Detective Chief Superintendent John Munro begins to crack under the pressure of holding together an enquiry swamped with leads. Meanwhile, DC Karen Sharpe is pursuing her own single-handed enquiry into historic child abuse allegations when an MP is accused of rape ten years before. The task of finding corroboration looks hopeless, but Sharpe keeps at it - anything rather than face up to her own tangled personal life. The truth is more complex and frightening, leading back to still unresolved events from a year before.Karen's enquiry uncovers connections with the kidnapping, and, in an explosion of violence and bloodshed, Karen is left fighting not just to find Sophie, but to save herself.

Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn
Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly
Trapeze

Reader I Married Me

Sophie Tanner
Authors:
Sophie Tanner
Orion

For the Missing

Lina Bengtsdotter
Authors:
Lina Bengtsdotter

'A thriller that lingers in the memory' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB'Dark Nordic noir' THE i 'A global bestseller' SUNDAY TIMES 'A first-class procedural' CRIME TIMEThe award-winning, international bestselling Swedish crime debut about a missing girl, and the detective who must return home and confront her darkest secrets in order to find her - for fans of MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I'M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell.She must find Annabelle. Before it's too late.THE MISSINGNora's daughter Annabelle has disappeared, last seen on her way home from a party.THE LOSTGullspång's inexperienced police are wilting under the national media spotlight - and its residents desperate for answers.THE CLOCK IS TICKINGStockholm DI Charlie Lager must return home to find Annabelle, and then get out of town as soon as she can. Before everyone discovers the truth about her . . .**********If you liked MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I'M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell, or THE MISSING by C.L. Taylor, you will love FOR THE MISSING.What real readers are saying about FOR THE MISSING:'Oh My Gosh! This is epic!''This is a great crime mystery''An interesting and fascinating read''Highly recommended''I am just amazed when a debut author presents a crime thriller in a fresh way''The tension grows and grows up to a stunning conclusion'

Gateway

Dreaming In Smoke

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan
Orion

The Lost

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Gollancz

From Darkest Skies

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

After a five year sabbatical following the tragic death of his wife and fellow agent Alysha, Keon Rause returns to the distant colony world of Magenta to resume service with the Magentan Intelligence Service. With him he brings an artificial recreation of his wife's personality, a simulacrum built from every digital trace she left behind. She has been constructed with one purpose - to discover the truth behind her own death - but Keon's relationship with her has grown into something more, something frighteningly dependent, something that verges on love.Cashing in old favours, Keon uses his return to the Service to take on a series of cases that allow him and the artificial Alysha to piece together his wife's last days. His investigations lead him inexorably along the same paths Alysha followed five years earlier, to a sinister and deadly group with an unhealthy fascination for the unknowable alien Masters; but as the wider world of Magenta is threatened with an imminent crisis, Keon finds himself in a dilemma: do his duty and stand with his team to expose a villainous crime, or sacrifice them all for the truth about his wife?

Orion

The Forever House

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

Gollancz

Neuromancer

William Gibson
Authors:
William Gibson

The sky above the port was the colour of television, tuned to a dead channel.William Gibson revolutionised science fiction in his 1984 debut Neuromancer. The writer who gave us the matrix and coined the term 'cyberspace' produced a first novel that won the Hugo, Nebula and Philip K. Dick Awards, and lit the fuse on the Cyberpunk movement. More than three decades later, Gibson's text is as stylish as ever, his noir narrative still glitters like chrome in the shadows and his depictions of the rise and abuse of corporate power look more prescient every day. Part thriller, part warning, Neuromancer is a timeless classic of modern SF and one of the 20th century's most potent and compelling visions of the future.

Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Gollancz

Earthquake Weather

Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers
Gateway

Xeelee: Vacuum Diagrams

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Return to the eon-spanning and universe-crossing conflict between humanity and the unknowable alien Xeelee in this collection of stories, available in ebook for the first time!Baxter's future history, known as the Xeelee sequence, is an exemplar of the form: it comprises his first four novels - Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring - and these marvellous linked stories, as well as those in the new collection XEELEE: ENDURANCE.Contains 21 short stories, all set in the XEELEE universe.

Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

BOOK 1 OF 3Welcome to Promise Falls. The small town with a big secret. David Harwood is asked to check up on his cousin Marla, who's not been herself since losing her baby nearly a year ago. But when he gets there, he finds blood on the door. Inside, Marla happily looks after a baby that isn't hers. She claims it was delivered 'by an angel', but David fears the worst. His suspicions come true when a woman's dead body is found - with her own baby missing - making Marla the only suspect in the investigation. But David knows no matter how troubled she is: Marla isn't a murderer. Is someone lurking in the shadows? And how far will David go to protect his family?***Praise for Linwood Barclay'Nothing is more satisfying than tucking into a new Linwood Barclay novel' Shari Lapena, author of The Couple Next Door'A suspense master' Stephen King'One of the best thriller writers in the world' Mark Billingham'Seamless, breathless and relentlessly paced' Mirror