Daniel Keyes - The Touch - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Touch

By Daniel Keyes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

When Karen Stark becomes pregnant, she and Barney are overjoyed. They've wanted a baby for so long. After an industrial accident, Barney unknowingly spreads radioactive dust into his neighborhood, into his home, and onto his wife's body. As frightened friends and neighbors become enemies, the dream of becoming parents turns into a nightmare...

Biographical Notes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014)
Born in Brooklyn in 1927, Daniel Keyes worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university lecturer. He published four other novels, but Flowers for Algernon, originally a short story, for which he won the Hugo Award, later expanded into the Nebula Award-winning novel and adapted as an Oscar-winning film (Charly, 1968) remains his best-known work. Daniel Keyes had a Master's degree in English and American literature and was a Professor of English and Creative writing. He died in 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473215412
  • Publication date: 30 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
W&N

The Minds of Billy Milligan

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes

Billy Milligan was a man tormented by twenty-four distinct personalities battling for supremacy over his body - a battle that culminated when he awoke in jail, arrested for the kidnap and rape of three women. In a landmark trial, Billy was acquitted of his crimes by reason of insanity caused by multiple personality disorder - the first such court decision in history. Among the twenty-four are: Philip, a petty criminal; Kevin, who dealt drugs; April, whose only ambition was to kill Billy's stepfather; Adalana, the shy, affection-starved lesbian who 'used' Billy's body in the rapes that led to his arrest; David, the eight-year-old 'keeper of the pain'; and the Teacher, the sum of all Billy's alter egos fused into one. In The Minds of Billy Milligan, Daniel Keyes brings to light the most remarkable and harrowing case of multiple personality ever recorded.'Fascinating' LA Times '[Keyes] has carried it off brilliantly, bringing not only a fine clarity but a special warmth and empathy' Washington Post

W&N

The Minds of Billy Milligan

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes

Billy Milligan was a man tormented by twenty-four distinct personalities battling for supremacy over his body - a battle that culminated when he awoke in jail, arrested for the kidnap and rape of three women. In a landmark trial, Billy was acquitted of his crimes by reason of insanity caused by multiple personality disorder - the first such court decision in history. Among the twenty-four are: Philip, a petty criminal; Kevin, who dealt drugs; April, whose only ambition was to kill Billy's stepfather; Adalana, the shy, affection-starved lesbian who 'used' Billy's body in the rapes that led to his arrest; David, the eight-year-old 'keeper of the pain'; and the Teacher, the sum of all Billy's alter egos fused into one. In The Minds of Billy Milligan, Daniel Keyes brings to light the most remarkable and harrowing case of multiple personality ever recorded.'Fascinating' LA Times '[Keyes] has carried it off brilliantly, bringing not only a fine clarity but a special warmth and empathy' Washington Post

Trapeze

The Craftsman

Sharon Bolton
Authors:
Sharon Bolton
Gateway

When the Green Star Calls

Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Gateway

The Nightmare People

Lawrence Watt-Evans
Authors:
Lawrence Watt-Evans

One night Ed Smith thought he was having a waking nightmare when he saw a monstrous face at his window, but in the morning his neighbors were missing. The people who later turned up were not quite right, and gradually Smith realized they not only weren't his neighbors, but weren't even human - they were the creatures he had seen . . .

Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

The thriller with the twists you'll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?KISS THE GIRLS A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out. AND MAKE THEM DIE... As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights.

W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Gateway

The Fifth Sally

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes

Sally Porter is a drab waitress, divorcee, and loner in the great city. But, though she is unaware of it, she is also four other, quite different people: Nola, the cold independent artist who has a studio in Greenwich Village; Derry, the happy-go-lucky tomboy; Bella, the sexpot with a talent for singing and dancing; and finally Jinx, the hate- filled killer. Whenever events put too much of a strain on Sally Porter, she feels a headache and a blackout coming on - and a new character takes over. If there is a man to be fascinated, she will become Bella. If there is an intellectual problem, she will become Nola. And - as happens in the opening scene of the novel - if there is a rapist to be dealt with, she becomes the vicious Jinx. It is the task of the wise and patient psychiatrist, Dr. Roger Ash - a man who nevertheless has severe problems of his own - to deal with this case of multiple personality and, through painstaking therapy, to try to fuse the four disparate personalities into "the fifth Sally."

Gollancz

Philip K. Dick's Electric Dreams: Volume 1

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Based on the stories contained in this volume, the ten-part anthology series, Philip K. Dick's Electric Dreams is written and executive produced by Emmy-nominated Ronald D. Moore (Battlestar Galactica, Outlander) and Michael Dinner (Justified, Masters of Sex), with Oscar nominated Bryan Cranston (Trumbo, Breaking Bad) both executive producing and appearing in the series.Each episode will be a sharp, thrilling standalone drama adapted and contemporised for global audiences by a creative team of British and American writers. The series will both illustrate Philip K. Dick's prophetic vision and celebrate the enduring appeal of the prized Sci-Fi novelist's work. Other guest stars include Janelle Morae, Anna paquin, Timothy Spall and Benedict Wong.The ten stories included are:THE HANGING STANGER, THE COMMUTER, THE FATHER-THING, EXHIBIT PIECE, IMPOSSIBLE PLANET, SALES PITCH, FOSTER YOU'RE DEAD, THE HOOD MAKER, HOLY QUARREL, IF THERE WERE NO BENNY CEMOLI, AUTOFAC and HUMAN IS

Gollancz

The Left Hand of Darkness

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin

Genly Ai is an ethnologist observing the people of the planet Gethen, a world perpetually in winter. The people there are androgynous, normally neuter, but they can become male ot female at the peak of their sexual cycle. They seem to Genly Ai alien, unsophisticated and confusing. But he is drawn into the complex politics of the planet and, during a long, tortuous journey across the ice with a politician who has fallen from favour and has been outcast, he loses his professional detachment and reaches a painful understanding of the true nature of Gethenians and, in a moving and memorable sequence, even finds love...

Gateway

The End of This Day's Business

Murray Constantine
Authors:
Murray Constantine

Set more than four thousand years in the future, The End of This Day's Business depicts a truly utopian way of life, a global society in which distinct national cultures are preserved but coexist without competitive nationalism, violence, or war. Women, characterised as the reasonable sex in this society, care for the earth and all it's creatures. Only one price must be paid for this harmony. It is the subjection of men, who, stripped of their history and deprived of any knowledge of women's sacred rights, complacently accept their 'natural' inferiority. The plot turns on the desire of one woman, Grania, an artist and leader, to teacher her son what is forbidden for men to know. Risking both their lives, she tells the story of when men dominated, especially of the twentieth-century rise of fascism, and the subsequent world transformation as life-loving women took over from death-loving men.

Gollancz

The Food of the Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Admiralty

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson's stories are classics from the golden age of science fiction and beyond. A master storyteller, Anderson wrote tales ranging from the immediate to the distant future, from Earth to far-flung galaxies, from hard science fiction to fantasy - all the elements stirred and blended as only Anderson could!ADMIRALTY is the fourth volume of The Collected Works of Poul Anderson and collects his best works from a writing career that spans over 50 years.This volume contains 23 stories including:Goat Song (Hugo and Nebula winner)Operation ChangelingThe Adventure of the Misplaced HoundDelenda EstLodestarThe PugilistMariusInside StraightPlus the revised version of 'Black Bodies' and an afterword by Poul Anderson discussing 'Eutopia'

Gateway

Call me Joe

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson wrote stories ranging throughout time and space, from the near future to the far future, tales set on Earth, other planets, and galaxies distant... sometimes with a bit of time travel added to the brew.Call me Joe is the first of a multi-volume compendium of Poul Anderson's best works from a writing career that spans over 50 years and contains 26 stories, including: "Call Me Joe""Enough Rope""Starfog""The Helping Hand""The Man Who Came Early""The Sharing of Flesh" (1969 Hugo winner)"Time Patrol""Tomorrow's Children""Wildcat"

Gateway

The Queen of Air and Darkness

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson
Gollancz

The First Men In The Moon

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

The Invisible Man

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

The War of the Worlds

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

'No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's...'So begins H. G. Wells' classic novel in which Martian lifeforms take over planet Earth. As the Martians emerge, they construct giant killing machines - armed with heatrays - that are impervious to attack. Advancing upon London they destroy everything in their path. Everything, except the few humans they collect in metal traps.Victorian England is a place in which the steam engine is state-of-the-art technology and powered flight is just a dream. Mankind is helpless against the killing machines from Mars, and soon the survivors are left living in a new stone age.

Gollancz

The Time Machine

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A Victorian scientist develops a time machine and travels to the year 802,171 AD. There he finds the meek, child-like Eloi who live in fear of the underground-dwelling Morlocks. When his time machine goes missing, the Traveller faces a fight to enter the Morlocks' domain and return to his own time.THE TIME MACHINE remains one of the cornerstones of science-fiction literature and has proved hugely influential.

Gollancz

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells