Daniel Keyes - The Touch - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Touch

By Daniel Keyes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

When Karen Stark becomes pregnant, she and Barney are overjoyed. They've wanted a baby for so long. After an industrial accident, Barney unknowingly spreads radioactive dust into his neighborhood, into his home, and onto his wife's body. As frightened friends and neighbors become enemies, the dream of becoming parents turns into a nightmare...

Biographical Notes

Daniel Keyes (1927-2014)
Born in Brooklyn in 1927, Daniel Keyes worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university lecturer. He published four other novels, but Flowers for Algernon, originally a short story, for which he won the Hugo Award, later expanded into the Nebula Award-winning novel and adapted as an Oscar-winning film (Charly, 1968) remains his best-known work. Daniel Keyes had a Master's degree in English and American literature and was a Professor of English and Creative writing. He died in 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473215412
  • Publication date: 30 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
W&N

The Minds of Billy Milligan

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes

W&N

The Minds of Billy Milligan

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Orion

The Lost

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Gateway

The Fifth Sally

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

A great premise which sets up lots of twisty, paranoid intrigue. Top notch. - Mason Cross * * * Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of Sweet Little Lies, Friend Request and Follow You Home. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'A masterclass in pacing & such an original take on the serial killer thriller.' - Eva Dolan, author of This Is How It Ends* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Gollancz

The Left Hand of Darkness

Ursula K. LeGuin
Authors:
Ursula K. LeGuin

Genly Ai is an ethnologist observing the people of the planet Gethen, a world perpetually in winter. The people there are androgynous, normally neuter, but they can become male ot female at the peak of their sexual cycle. They seem to Genly Ai alien, unsophisticated and confusing. But he is drawn into the complex politics of the planet and, during a long, tortuous journey across the ice with a politician who has fallen from favour and has been outcast, he loses his professional detachment and reaches a painful understanding of the true nature of Gethenians and, in a moving and memorable sequence, even finds love...

Gollancz

The Island Of Doctor Moreau

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Edward Prendick is shipwrecked and finds himself stranded on an island in the Pacific. Here he meets the sinister Dr Moreau, a vivisectionst driven out of Britain in disgrace. And soon strange events cause Prendick to uncover the full horror of Dr Moreau's activities on the island.THE ISLAND OF DR MOREAU mixes discussion on the divide between humans and the animal kingdom and chilling macabre horror in an unrivalled fashion. Its question on how far science should go is one that rings true today as it did when it was first published.

Gateway

The Saturn Game

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson's stories are classics from the golden age of science fiction and beyond. A master storyteller, Anderson wrote tales ranging from the immediate to the distant future, from Earth to far-flung galaxies, from hard science fiction to fantasy - all the elements stirred and blended as only Anderson could!THE SATURN GAME is the third volume of The Collected Works of Poul Anderson and collects his best works from a writing career that spans over 50 years.This volume contains 18 stories including:The Saturn Game (Hugo and Nebula winner)Hunter's Moon (Hugo winner)No Truce with Kings (Hugo winner)Operation SalamanderSam HallThe Only Game in TownHiding PlaceA Tragedy of ErrorsPlus: seven limericks and two untitled songs!

Gateway

Admiralty

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson's stories are classics from the golden age of science fiction and beyond. A master storyteller, Anderson wrote tales ranging from the immediate to the distant future, from Earth to far-flung galaxies, from hard science fiction to fantasy - all the elements stirred and blended as only Anderson could!ADMIRALTY is the fourth volume of The Collected Works of Poul Anderson and collects his best works from a writing career that spans over 50 years.This volume contains 23 stories including:Goat Song (Hugo and Nebula winner)Operation ChangelingThe Adventure of the Misplaced HoundDelenda EstLodestarThe PugilistMariusInside StraightPlus the revised version of 'Black Bodies' and an afterword by Poul Anderson discussing 'Eutopia'

Gateway

Call me Joe

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson

Poul Anderson wrote stories ranging throughout time and space, from the near future to the far future, tales set on Earth, other planets, and galaxies distant... sometimes with a bit of time travel added to the brew.Call me Joe is the first of a multi-volume compendium of Poul Anderson's best works from a writing career that spans over 50 years and contains 26 stories, including: "Call Me Joe""Enough Rope""Starfog""The Helping Hand""The Man Who Came Early""The Sharing of Flesh" (1969 Hugo winner)"Time Patrol""Tomorrow's Children""Wildcat"

Gateway

The Queen of Air and Darkness

Poul Anderson
Authors:
Poul Anderson
Gollancz

Starship Troopers

Robert A. Heinlein
Authors:
Robert A. Heinlein

'The historians can't seem to settle whether to call this one 'The Third Space War' (or the fourth), or whether 'The First Interstellar War' fits it better. We just call it 'The Bug War'. Everything up to then and still later were 'incidents', 'patrols' or 'police actions'. However, you are just as dead if you buy the farm in an 'incident' as you are if you buy it in a declared war.'5,000 years in the future, humanity faces total extermination. Our one defence: highly-trained soldiers who scour the metal-strewn blackness of space to hunt down a terrifying enemy: an insect life-form known only as 'Bugs.'This is the story of trooper Johnny Rico, from his idealistic enlistment in the infantry of the future through his rigorous training to the command of his own platoon. And his destiny is a war that will span the galaxy.

Gollancz

Crosstalk

Connie Willis
Authors:
Connie Willis

Briddey is about to get exactly what she thinks she wants . . .Briddey is a high-powered exec in the mobile phone industry, overseeing new products from concept ('anything to beat the new apple phone') to delivery. And she works with her wonderful partner, Trent. They've been together for six magical weeks, in a whirlwind of flowers, dinners, laughter and now comes the icing on the cake: not a weekend away or a proposal but something even better. An EDD. A procedure which will let them sense each other's feelings. Trent doesn't just want to tell her how much he loves her - he wants her to feel it.Everything is perfect.The trouble is, Briddey can't breathe a word of it to anyone (difficult, when the whole office is guessing) until she's had two minutes to call her family. And they're hounding her about the latest family drama, but when they find out about the EDD - which they will - they'll drop everything to interrogate her. And it might just be easier to have the procedure now and explain later.The race is on: not just for new, cutting-edge technology, but also for a shred of privacy in a public world and - for Briddey - a chance for love at the heart of it all.This is a brilliant, heart-warming romantic comedy from one of the wittiest and wisest of our authors. Written with a light touch and a smile, we're swept up in Briddey's romance - and into the difficulties of a world just one technological step away from our own, as technology and social media blur (or indeed remove) the line between personal and public.

Gollancz

The First Men In The Moon

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Published over 100 years ago, this is one of Wells's greatest novels, and the only one of his scientific romances to embrace space travel.Thanks to the discovery of an anti-gravity metal, Cavorite, two Victorian Englishmen travel to the Moon, where they encounter the extraordinary underground world of the Selenites, insect-like aliens living in a rigidly organised hive society.

Gollancz

The Invisible Man

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gollancz

The War of the Worlds

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

'No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man's...'So begins H. G. Wells' classic novel in which Martian lifeforms take over planet Earth. As the Martians emerge, they construct giant killing machines - armed with heatrays - that are impervious to attack. Advancing upon London they destroy everything in their path. Everything, except the few humans they collect in metal traps.Victorian England is a place in which the steam engine is state-of-the-art technology and powered flight is just a dream. Mankind is helpless against the killing machines from Mars, and soon the survivors are left living in a new stone age.

Gollancz

The Food of the Gods

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Two scientists develop a foodstuff that causes unparalleled growth in animals and humans. The results of their experimentation lead to chaos and unforseen consequences throughout the land.THE FOOD OF THE GODS deals with many issues which are still present in science today and is a both witty and disturbing tale.

Gollancz

The Time Machine

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A Victorian scientist develops a time machine and travels to the year 802,171 AD. There he finds the meek, child-like Eloi who live in fear of the underground-dwelling Morlocks. When his time machine goes missing, the Traveller faces a fight to enter the Morlocks' domain and return to his own time.THE TIME MACHINE remains one of the cornerstones of science-fiction literature and has proved hugely influential.

Gollancz

Flowers For Algernon

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes