H.G. Wells - Men Like Gods - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Men Like Gods

By H.G. Wells

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An SF Gateway eBook: bringing the classics to the future.

In the summer of 1921, a disenchanted journalist escapes the rat race for a drive in the country. But Mr. Barnstaple's trip exceeds his expectations when he and other motorists are swept 3,000 years into the future. The inadvertent time travelers arrive in a world that corresponds exactly to Barnstaple's ideals: a utopian state, free of crime, poverty, war, disease, and bigotry. Unfettered by the constraints of government and organized religion, the citizens lead rich, meaningful lives, passed in pursuit of their creative fancies. Barnstaple's traveling companions, however, quickly contrive a scheme to remake the utopia in the image of their twentieth-century world.

Biographical Notes

H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, Kent in 1866. After working as a draper's apprentice and pupil-teacher, he won a scholarship to the Normal School of Science in 1884, studying under T. H. Huxley. He was awarded a first-class honours degree in biology and resumed teaching but had to retire after a kick from an ill-natured pupil afflicted his kidneys. He worked in poverty in London as a crammer while experimenting in journalism and stories. It was with THE TIME MACHINE (1895) that he had his real breakthrough.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473216907
  • Publication date: 30 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

A murder mystery set on the frozen red wastes of Mars.Eight astronautsOne killerNo way home+++WE STAND AT THE DAWN OF A NEW ERAFrank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer. So when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the company that runs the prison - he takes it, even though it means swapping one life sentence for another.THERE HAS NEVER BEEN A BETTER TIME TO BE ALIVE He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is - and he'll have to learn to trust them if they're to succeed.THE FUTURE OF SPACE TRAVEL IS IN SAFE HANDSAs the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . .XENOSYSTEMS OPERATIONS: MAKING DREAMS A REALITYThere's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect.

Gollancz

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio
Orion

You Don't Know Me

Brooke Magnanti
Authors:
Brooke Magnanti

'Hugely impressive' Russel McLean******** You don't know me . . . but your husband does. When a mummified body is found in a quiet town in Scotland, forensic pathologist Harriet Hitchin IDs the woman as call girl Miriam Goldstein. Police quickly lock onto a suspect, but Harriet thinks they are wrong - she must ignore her gut instinct, and risk losing the trail of a killer, or ignore the police and risk her own life.As the investigation ensues, shockwaves from the body's discovery ripple out - former friend, Denise, knows it's only a matter of time before her own past is discovered. Miri's former clients are praying their involvement with her doesn't come to light. And the killer is also in shock - but not for the reasons you'd imagine . . . With taut pace and a twisted sense of humour, You Don't Know Me is a sexy thriller from someone who knows exactly what it means to live a double life - perfect for fans of Katerina Diamond and Joy Ellis. ********What readers are saying about Brooke Magnanti . . .'Hugely impressive . . . Brooke writes the kind of women we want to see in crime fiction' Russel McLean'Rewarding and engaging' Huffington Post'A helter-skelter of a book' Guardian 'Lively and entertaining . . . When her victims are laid out on that slab, her unspeakably detailed descriptions are good enough to put the wind up Patricia Cornwell' Times'One of the most compulsively readable crime novels of 2017 - 5*' Amazon reader'Whip-smart thriller with surprises - 5*' Amazon reader'A thriller that steps outside the genre' Amazon reader

W&N

Pax Romana

Adrian Goldsworthy
Authors:
Adrian Goldsworthy
W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
Gollancz

The Shape Of Things To Come

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When a diplomat dies in the 1930s, he leaves behind a book of 'dream visions' he has been experiencing, detailing events that will occur on Earth for the next two hundred years. This fictional 'account of the future' (similar to LAST AND FIRST MEN by Olaf Stapledon) proved prescient in many ways, as Wells predicts events such as the Second World War, the rise of chemical warfare and climate change.

Gateway

The Sea-Lady

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

The Sea-Lady concerns a mermaid who comes to shore, ostensibly with the intention of joining genteel society but who really desires to seduce Chatteris, a man she once encountered near Tonga.

Gateway

The World Set Free

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

In "The World Set Free," H.G. Wells takes a science fictional look at the future, where if world peace is to be attained through labour internationalism, it will have to be at the price of complete social and economic reconstruction. But first comes a phase of revolution - violent, very bloody, and prolonged, which in the end may fail to achieve anything but social destruction . . . "The World Set Free" is a vision of highly educated and highly favoured leading and ruling men, voluntarily setting themselves to the task of reshaping the world.

Gateway

The Dream

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The Holy Terror

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

When Cook's newborn baby entered the world, he had nothing but hope for its future. However, it was immediately clear that this was no ordinary child - it's murderous screams seemed a dark portent. As it grew, things only got worse, and the child's mother began to despair. The new parents hoped their child would grow out of it, but soon came to realise that its inauspicious beginnings were only a sign of things to come.

Gateway

All Aboard for Ararat

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

Babes in the Darkling Wood

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Stella has the world at her feet - good looks, brains, and a place at Cambridge University. Together with her admirer Gemini, she becomes interested in the work and mind of a psycho-therapist with exciting new ideas. However, when tragedy encroaches on their lives they soon come to realise that intellectualism brings little comfort or solace. Babes in the Darkling Wood is a powerful tale of fluctuating fortunes that presents an interesting dialogue of contemporary developments in psychoanalytical theory.

Gateway

You Can't Be Too Careful

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

A satirical novel of one Englishman, a Mr. Edward Albert Tewler, from cradle to grave.

Gateway

The Sleeper Awakes

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

In the Days of the Comet

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The War in the Air

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Following the development of massive airships, naïve Londoner Bert Smallways becomes accidentally involved in a German plot to invade America by air and reduce New York to rubble. But although bombers devastate the city, they cannot overwhelm the country, and their attack leads not to victory but to the beginning of a new and horrific age for humanity. And so dawns the era of Total War, in which brutal aerial bombardments reduce the great cultures of the twentieth century to nothing. As civilization collapses around the Englishman, now stranded in a ruined America, he clings to only one hope - that he might return to London, and marry the woman he loves.

Gateway

Mr Blettsworthy on Rampole Island

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Gateway

The King Who was a King

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

"The King Who Was a King - The Book of a Film" is a fascinating treatise on the development of film written by H. G. Wells and first published in 1929. Writing at the when cinema was beginning to explode, Wells explores the emerging industry's history, future, and the elements of contemporary film.

Gateway

The Autocracy of Mr Parham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr Parham is a traditional academic disappointed with the social trends of his time. Sir Bussy Woodcock is an intelligent but unrefined self-made millionaire. The pair happen to meet one day and form an unlikely relationship; Sir Bussy interested to learn something of culture and Mr Parham looking for funding for a high-quality periodical

W&N

Love And Mr Lewisham

H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells

Mr Lewisham, a young and highly ambitious schoolmaster, falls in love with Ethel Henderson, a young lady visiting his Sussex village. When Ethel returns to London they promise to keep in touch but as time passes their letters go astray. A few years later, we are re-introduced to Mr Lewisham, now a student at the Normal School of Science in London. Having searched in vain for Ethel, his life revolves around study and a flirtation with fellow student Alice. But just as things are all set with Alice, he runs into Ethel at a séance he has attended out of curiosity. There he realises that Ethel is the niece of a charlatan 'medium', and closely involved in his dealings. His memories of their time in Sussex wrestle in his mind with his feelings of disgust for all things spiritual, as his love for Ethel forces him to reconsider his political and scientific beliefs.