Terry Goodkind - Faith of the Fallen - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752889757
    • Publication date:10 Jul 2008

Faith of the Fallen

By Terry Goodkind

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

The sixth volume in the landmark fantasy series re-issued in B format and with a striking new cover

SOUL OF THE FIRE saw the political machinations that have dogged the midlands reach new heights, as the Chimes ran free and threatened magic everywhere. As the novel ended, Kahlan has narrowly avoided death and now she and Richard Rahl, the Seeker, must strive again to save the world from the resurgent armies of the Emperor Jagang.

From the very first page, FAITH OF THE FALLEN pitches Richard and Kahlan into their most desperate fight yet - a fight where worlds once again hang in the balance. Richard must embark on a course of action that will leave his people feeling betrayed and vulnerable, and which will take both he and Kahlan away from the protection of the D'Haran armies. But he has no choice. Richard, who distrusts prophecy more than anyone, has had a vision. It is a vision he is compelled to follow.

Biographical Notes

Terry Goodkind's first novel, Wizard's First Rule, immediately established him as one of the world's bestselling authors. Each subsequent book in the Sword of Truth series sold better than the one before and some twenty million copies of books in the series have now been sold. He lives in the USA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473217836
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 784
  • Imprint: Gollancz
Gollancz

Blood upon the Sand

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu
Gollancz

The Stealers' War

Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt

Weyland has been at war. Invaded by a technologically advanced enemy, the cities sacked, and what fragile peace remained torn apart by a civil war.All anyone should want is a return to peace.But Jacob Carneham still wants his revenge; and if he can lure the invaders into the mountain he can have it. He can kill them all. If he does, there may never be peace again.If he doesn't, Weyland will never be free of the threat of invasion.The northern horse lords are planning an attack. A future Empress is fighting to save her daughter. Jacob's son is trying to restore peace and stability to Weyland, alongside the rightful King. And behind it all is a greater struggle, which may spell the end for them all . . .

Gollancz

Stranger of Tempest

Tom Lloyd
Authors:
Tom Lloyd

Lynx is a mercenary with a sense of honour; a dying breed in the Riven Kingdom. Failed by the nation he served and weary of the skirmishes that plague the continent's principalities, he walks the land in search of purpose. He wants for little so bodyguard work keeps his belly full and his mage-gun loaded. It might never bring a man fame or wealth, but he's not forced to rely on others or kill without cause. Little could compel Lynx to join a mercenary company, but he won't turn his back on a kidnapped girl. At least the job seems simple enough; the mercenaries less stupid and vicious than most he's met over the years. So long as there are no surprises or hidden agendas along the way, it should work out fine.

Gollancz

Gallow: Cold Redemption

Nathan Hawke
Authors:
Nathan Hawke

I fought against your people, and I have fought for them. I have killed, and I have murdered. I betrayed my kin and crippled my king. I led countless warriors to their deaths and fought to save one worthless life. I have stood against monsters and men and I cannot always tell the difference.Fate carried me away from your lands, from the woman and the family I love. Three hellish years but now, finally, I may return. I hope I will find them waiting for me. I hope they will remember me while all others forget. Let my own people believe me dead, lest they hunt me down. Let me return in the dark and in the shadows so no one will know.But hope is rare and fate is cruel. And if I have to, I will fight.

Gollancz

Charm

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

CHARM is a beautifully illustrated re-telling of the Cinderella story which takes all the much-loved elements of the classic fairytale (the handsome prince, the fairy godmother, the enchanted mouse, the beautiful girl and, of course, the iconic balls) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. This is fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN and more.This edition contains 15 original pen and ink illustrations by Les Edwards.

Gollancz

Songs of the Earth

Elspeth Cooper
Authors:
Elspeth Cooper

SONGS OF THE EARTH is the most compelling debut fantasy novel since Patrick Rothfuss first hit the shelves four years ago, with the stunning THE NAME OF THE WIND. Combining superb characterisation with an epic story, it is beautifully told and engaging from the very first word.Gair is under a death sentence. He can hear music - music with power - and in the Holy City that means only one thing: he's a witch, and he's going to be burnt at the stake. Even if he could escape, the Church Knights and their witchfinder would be hot on his heels while his burgeoning power threatesn to tear him apart from within.There is no hope . . . none, but a secretive order, themselves persecuted almost to destruction. If Gair can escape, if he can master his own growing, dangerous abilities, if he can find the Guardians of the Veil, then maybe he will be safe. Or maybe he'll discover that his fight has only just begun.

Gollancz

Shadow's Son

Jon Sprunk
Authors:
Jon Sprunk
Gollancz

The Pillars of Creation

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind

FAITH OF THE FALLEN took The Sword of Truth into a new decade and onto new heights of intense, thoughtful and meaningful fantasy while never losing sight of the need to tell a compelling and sweeping story.THE PILLARS OF CREATION continues that progression and is written so that new readers to the series can plunge into the richness of his world. Terry Goodkind investigates new depths in his characters and is working to change fantasy and to make The Sword of Truth the dominant fantasy series of the first decade of the new millennium. The new novel introduces a new character, Jennsen, and takes Richard and Kahlan to the ends of the earth as they attempts to track down an unstoppable demon before it kills them and lays waste to the world.

Gollancz

Soul of the Fire

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind

In the previous volume of this bestselling series of fantasy novels, our hero Richard Rahl, wielder of the Sword of Truth, and his lover Kahlan unwittingly released upon the New World a terror from the malign and wild magic of the Old World.The Chimes now run free in the Midlands and Richard and Kahlan, powerful in their own right, begin to see their own magic undermined, leaving the people of the New World vulnerable to the encroaching evil that Darken Rahl first unleashed in WIZARD'S FIRST RULE.

Gollancz

Temple Of The Winds

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind

A stunningly inventive breakthrough novel that takes the fantasy genre into a new dimension; this fourth novel in the Sword of Truth sequence takes the series on to much darker ground without losing any of its powerful magic and mystery, any of its gripping storytelling quality.

Gollancz

Blood of The Fold

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind

The envious and evil denizens of the Old World once more launch an attack on the sovreignty of the New World, threatening the security of humanity and all that Richard Cypher, Wielder of the Sword of Truth, holds dear.

Gollancz

Stone of Tears

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind

First rate epic fantasy from the man who deserves to become the Tolkien of his day. The young hero is just beginning to understand the magic he has at his command, and only under the tutelage of the Sisters of Light can he control the Gift to combat the dark powers still arrayed against him.

Gollancz

Wizard's First Rule

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind
Gollancz

Debt of Bones

Terry Goodkind
Authors:
Terry Goodkind

Carrie Ryan

Husband and wife Carrie Ryan & John Parke Davis have been in love with each other's writing (and with each other) since meeting in law school a decade ago. Carrie is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed and multi-award winning Forest of Hands and Teeth series. J.P. is an Assistant Federal Defender in the Western District of North Carolina as well as a published author of short fiction. Though they've been important parts of each other's writing for years, The Pirate Stream is their first full collaboration. J.P. and Carrie currently live in Charlotte, North Carolina, with their two ornery cats and one gullible dog. Visit Carrie's website at http://carrieryan.com, read her blogs at http://carrie-me.blogspot.co.uk and http://carrieryan.tumblr.com, follow her on Twitter @carrieryan and like her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarrieRyan.

John Hornor Jacobs

John Hornor Jacobs is the author of SOUTHERN GODS, short-listed for the Bram Stoker Award for First Novel, THIS DARK EARTH, from Simon & Schuster, and THE TWELVE-FINGERED BOY series of young adult novels from Carolrhoda Labs. He lives with his family in the South of America, where he is also a musician and graphic artist. Visit him at www.johnhornorjacobs.com.

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is the winner of 3 Hugos, 2 Nebulas, 1 World Fantasy Award, 4 Bram Stoker Awards, 6 Locus Awards, 2 British SF Awards, 1 British Fantasy Award, 3 Geffens, 1 International Horror Guild Award and 1 Mythopoeic. He's also a pretty nifty author of all kinds of cool stuff . . .

Rupert Degas

Rupert Degas has narrated over a hundred audiobooks. He has recorded a diverse range of authors, from Andy McNab, James Patterson, Wilbur Smith and Chris Ryan to children's authors such as Derek Landy, Darren Shan, Jamie Rix and Philip Pullman. He has narrated books by Patrick Rothfuss, Haruki Murakami, Mervyn Peake, Rose Tremain and Cormac McCarthy as well as recording classics from Kafka, Conan-Doyle, Lovecraft and Wilde. Rupert has lent his voice to numerous cartoons, including Mr Bean, Robotboy, Gumball, Thomas & Friends and Bob the Builder and has performed in over fifty radio productions for BBC Radio 4, including The Brightonomicon and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. He spent eighteen months in the West End performing in Stones in his Pockets and was in the original London cast of the smash-hit comedy The 39 Steps.

Terry Goodkind

Terry Goodkind's first novel, Wizard's First Rule, immediately established him as one of the world's bestselling authors. Each subsequent book in the Sword of Truth series sold better than the one before and some twenty million copies of books in the series have now been sold. He lives in the USA.

Ursula K. LeGuin

Ursula K. Le Guin is one of the finest writers of our time. Her books have attracted millions of devoted readers and won many awards, including the National Book Award, the Hugo and Nebula Awards and a Newbery Honor. Among her novels, The Left Hand of Darkness, The Dispossessed and the six books of Earthsea have attained undisputed classic status; and her recent series, the Annals of the Western Shore, has won her the PEN Center USA Children's literature award and the Nebula Award for best novel. In 2014 Ursula Le Guin was awarded the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. She lives in Portland, Oregon.Read more at http://sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/le_guin_ursula_k