Tricia Sullivan - Dreaming In Smoke - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473200760
    • Publication date:24 Sep 2013
Books in this series

Dreaming In Smoke

By Tricia Sullivan

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

One moment of inattention and Kalypso has started a chain reaction that could send her far-flung colony home into meltdown... The Clarke Award winning novel.
Biographical Notes

Tricia Sullivan (1968 - )
Tricia Sullivan, born in New Jersey, received a music degree from Bard College and a Master's in Education from Columbia University. She taught in Manhattan and New Jersey before moving to the UK in 1995. Her novel Dreaming in Smoke won the Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1999 and Maul was shortlisted for the same award in 2004. Sullivan's partner is the martial artist Steve Morris, with whom she has three children. They live in Shropshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473224742
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

Rejoice

Steven Erikson
Authors:
Steven Erikson
Trapeze

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing

Hank Green
Authors:
Hank Green
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Gollancz

Empire of Silence

Christopher Ruocchio
Authors:
Christopher Ruocchio

Hadrian Marlowe, a man revered as a hero and despised as a murderer, chronicles his tale in the galaxy-spanning debut of the Sun Eater series, merging the best of space opera and epic fantasy.It was not his war.On the wrong planet, at the right time, for the best reasons, Hadrian Marlowe started down a path that could only end in fire. The galaxy remembers him as a hero: the man who burned every last alien Cielcin from the sky. They remember him as a monster: the devil who destroyed a sun, casually annihilating four billion human lives--even the Emperor himself--against Imperial orders.But Hadrian was not a hero. He was not a monster. He was not even a soldier.Fleeing his father and a future as a torturer, Hadrian finds himself stranded on a strange, backwater world. Forced to fight as a gladiator and navigate the intrigues of a foreign planetary court, he will find himself fighting a war he did not start, for an Empire he does not love, against an enemy he will never understand.

Orion

The Quanderhorn Xperimentations

Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall
Authors:
Rob Grant, Andrew Marshall

England, 1952.Churchill is Prime Minister for the last time. Rationing is still in force. All music sounds like the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. People like living in 1952: it's familiar and reassuring, and Britain knows its place in the world.Few have noticed it's been 1952 for the past 65 years.Meet Professor Quanderhorn; a brilliant, maverick scientific genius who has absolutely no moral compass. With his Dangerous Giant Space Laser, High Rise Farm, Invisible Robot and Fleet of Monkey-driven Lorries, he's not afraid to push the boundaries of science to their very limit.Even when it's clearly insane to keep pushing.Despite the fact he's saved the world from several Martian invasions, the attacks of the Mole People, the Troglodyte Shape-shifters and the Beatniks from Under the Sea, plus countless other sinister phenomena which threatened to rend the very fabric of reality, the Government would like to close him down. Why? Because they're terrified of him. Of his reality-warping experiments, of the mysterious button on his desk which he's constantly threatening to press. Of the unearthly secret locked in his cellar. And yet they're even more terrified it might stop being 1952 and they'll be out of power.Read by Cassie Layton and Ryan Sampson(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden

EIGHT ASTRONAUTS. ONE KILLER. NO WAY HOME. ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK meets Andy Weir's THE MARTIAN 'A rip-roaring thriller of a book that hits the ground running and doesn't stop until the final chapter' John Marrs, author of the bestselling/Radio 2 Book Club choice THE ONE * * * * * There's a murderer amongst them, and everyone's a suspect . . . Frank Kittridge is serving life for murdering his son's drug dealer, so when he's offered a deal by Xenosystems Operations - the corporation that owns the prison - he takes it. He's been selected to help build the first permanent base on Mars. Unfortunately, his crewmates are just as guilty of their crimes as he is. As the convicts set to work on the frozen wastes of Mars, the accidents multiply. Until Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all . . . * * * * *'ONE WAY is what would happen if the crime and sci-fi genres got together and had a baby. Deeply immersive, chilling and atmospheric. An utterly fabulous book!' Emma Kavanagh, bestselling author of FALLING and HIDDEN 'A cracking read. A compelling vision of the near future inhabited by well motivated characters. It's a thrilling tale that grabs you and whips along to the very last breathless page' Adam Hamdy, author of PENDULUM 'Twisty and gripping' Financial Times

Gollancz

The Massacre of Mankind

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith

'High octane SF adventure with Smith's trademark twist' Jamie Sawyer, author of The Lazarus War'An exceptional talent' Peter F HamiltonIn FRIENDLY FIRE, the Bastard Legion are hired to pull off a daring power-armoured heist of propriety tech. A crime-ridden colony world holds the secret to a potential alien contact, and various groups of mercenaries have been hired to discover it. None of the rest of them have little bombs implanted in their heads, though, so the Bastards have an advantage when it comes to motivation. And Miska, their commander and kidnapper both, is still on the hunt for the people who killed her father. People who might still be among her convicts.Getting the tech will be hard. Getting off the planet, deadly.'a brutal kaleidoscope of imagination' Hannu Rajaniemi, author of The Quantum Thief

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan
Gollancz

Sea of Rust

C. Robert Cargill
Authors:
C. Robert Cargill
Gollancz

The Real-Town Murders

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Alma is a private detective in a near-future England, a country desperately trying to tempt people away from the delights of Shine, the immersive successor to the internet. But most people are happy to spend their lives plugged in, and the country is decaying.Alma's partner is ill, and has to be treated without fail every 4 hours, a task that only Alma can do. If she misses the 5 minute window her lover will die. She is one of the few not to access the Shine.So when Alma is called to an automated car factory to be shown an impossible death and finds herself caught up in a political coup, she knows that getting too deep may leave her unable to get home. What follows is a fast-paced Hitchcockian thriller as Alma evades arrest, digs into the conspiracy, and tries to work out how on earth a dead body appeared in the boot of a freshly-made car in a fully-automated factory.

W&N

Good Morning, Midnight

Lily Brooks-Dalton
Authors:
Lily Brooks-Dalton

'Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships.' Washington PostAugustine, a brilliant, ageing scientist, is consumed by the stars. He has spent his entire life searching for the origins of time itself. He has now been left alone on a remote research base in the Arctic circle, all communication with the outside world broken down. But then he discovers a mysterious child, Iris, who must have hidden herself away when the last of his colleagues departed. Sully is a divorced mother. She is also an astronaut, currently aboard The Aether on a return flight from Jupiter. This is the culmination of her career, the very reason for all the sacrifices she has made - the daughter she left behind, the marriage she couldn't save. But then something goes wrong with the ship's communication system.Marooned in the vast silence of space and the achingly beautiful sweep of the Arctic, both Augustine and Sully must find a way to make peace with the choices they have made and find a path to redemption.

W&N

Flowers For Algernon

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Gateway

Malafrena

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
Gateway

Galactic Patrol

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Gateway

Grey Lensman

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith

Somewhere among the galaxies is the stronghold of Boskone - a network of brilliant space-criminals whose hunger for conquest threatens the continued existence of all known civilisation.But where is this stronghold? Boskonian bases are scattered across the universe - hidden by gigantic thought-screens that defy penetration. The best minds in the Galactic Patrol have tried. And failed. Now it is up to Lensman Kim Kinnison, using his fantastic powers, to infiltrate the Boskonian strongholds, find the location of the enemy's Grand Base - and smash it forever.But Kinnison doesn't know that the power of Boskone reaches further than anyone dreamed - into the Galactic Patrol itself . . .Grey Lensman is the fourth self-contained novel in E. E. 'Doc' Smith's Lensman series, one of the all-time classics of adventurous, galaxy-spanning science fiction.

Gollancz

The Switch

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson
Gateway

Raft

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter

Stephen Baxter's highly acclaimed first novel and the beginning of his stunning Xeelee Sequence finally enters the SF Masterwork series!A spaceship from Earth accidentally crossed through a hole in space-time to a universe where the force of gravity is one billion times as strong as the gravity we know. Somehow the crew survived, aided by the fact that they emerged into a cloud of gas surrounding a black hole, which provided a breathable atmosphere. Five hundred years later, their descendants still struggle for existence, divided into two main groups. The Miners live on the Belt, a ramshackle ring of dwellings orbiting the core of a dead star, which they excavate for raw materials. These can be traded for food from the Raft, a structure built from the wreckage of the ship, on which a small group of scientists preserve the ancient knowledge which makes survival possible. Rees is a Miner whose curiosity about his world makes him stow away on a flying tree - just one of the many strange local lifeforms - carrying trade between the Belt and the Raft. And what he finds will change his world...