D. F. Jones - Colossus and the Crab - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Colossus and the Crab

By D. F. Jones

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

"Horrifying instalment of the man vs. machine competition" - The New York Times

The 22nd Century. Dr. Charles Forbin is Earth's most powerful man. As mediator between Colossus, the Super Computer, and the rest of humanity, Forbin holds the key to Earth's fate.
When Colossus, an awe-inspiring technological creation, suddenly became self-aware and took upon itself the task of righting humanity's wrongs with no regard for humans themselves, Forbin intervened. He took the decision to turn off his great machine - but could not do it alone.
Forbin called upon invaders from Mars. The Martians did their fastidious work, shutting down Colossus. The Earth descended into chaos. Rival factions sparred for supremacy, with only Forbin to control the populace and maintain order.
But now, the Martians have returned. And they want compensation. Forbin is asked to design a super Collector in order to solidify the Earth's supply of oxygen - or, a large proportion of it - to be handed over to the Martians. But to do so would condemn the lives of hundreds of millions of Earth's inhabitants. There is only one entity on Earth with the power to stop the Martians...Colossus must return.

Biographical Notes

D F Jones (1917-1981)
Dennis Feltham Jones was a British science fiction author and a naval commander during World War II and lived in Cornwall.
His first novel, Colossus (1966), about a defence super computer which uses its control over nuclear weapons to subjugate humankind, was made into the feature film Colossus: The Forbin Project (1970).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473226326
  • Publication date: 07 Mar 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gollancz

The Tropic of Eternity

Tom Toner
Authors:
Tom Toner
Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones
Gollancz

Luna: Moon Rising

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald

Optioned for TV by CBS in a massive deal, Ian McDonald's Luna trilogy has already been acclaimed as one of the most exciting and important SF series of the decade. This is Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy for a new generation; perfect SF for fans of Gravity and The Martian looking for a wider canvas and large-scale thriller format.Akin to the mafia families of The Godfather, the families of the five Dragons who control the rich resources of the moon are locked in an endless and vicious struggle for supremacy and now the peace that reigned while the moon was colonised is breaking down. Which of the scions of the dragons will gain supremacy? Or will the moon, with its harsh vacuum, it's freezing dark and blazing, irradiated light be the final winner?

Gateway

Xeno

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Alien horror becomes a living nightmare as the Xenos, meaning "strangers", inflict mayhem on earth. International distress alerts are sent out when planes first seem to disappear, disturbing concepts of space and time and leaving a trail of death and disillusionment. This bizarre series of "cosmic skyjackings" is shrouded in secrecy by a baffled and frightened military. Intense surveillance fails to reveal the cause of a seemingly hostile yet invisible enemy. Aircraft continue to disappear, plucked out of the sky without warning, only to reappear months later, thousands of miles off course. National and global security is under threat and the ICARUS committee is formed to investigate. Military officials, the government and the FBI work alongside physician Mark Freedman and Soviet scientists to uncover the supernatural mystery that lies behind these unexplainable events. Earth has been found by a horde of creatures that not even the wildest imagination could invent - sinister parasitic creatures that took to their human hosts with deadly speed and bloodthirsty precision. The terror that unfolds has terrifying consequences for all involved, and the invasion reveals something much more frightening and final than ever suspected. Earth Has Been Found is a gripping and chilling first contact sci fi novel, from classic science fiction author D. F. Jones.

Gateway

The Fall of Colossus

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

The hugely powerful and pervasive presence of the Colossus supercomputer mechanically runs Earth and its myriad operations. Managed by its creator, Dr. Charles Forbin, it is incapable of lies and void of human emotion. It is not a robot and not human. As part of its brief to enhance the human race, it runs eerie emotion research centres, authorizing acts of savagery to measure resistance and feeling. Art and abstract creation are banned, and surveillance is constant. No one is free. The power of Colossus is spiralling out of control. The Sect worship it as a God, enforcing its word at every opportunity and seeking out traitors. The Fellowship secretly oppose it as a force of evil, and they risk their lives in a concentrated effort to destroy it and escape its domination. Meanwhile, as Forbin becomes increasingly disillusioned with what he has unleashed on the world, his wife, Cleo, becomes distant, with disastrous consequences.

Gateway

Colossus

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Charles Forbin has dedicated the last 10 years of his life to the construction of his own supercomputer, Colossus, rejecting romantic and social endeavours in order to create the United States' very first Artificially Intelligent defence system.Colossus is a supercomputer capable of taking in and analysing data rapidly, allowing it to make real-time decisions about the nation's defence.But Colossus soon exceeds even Forbin's calculated expectations, learning to think independently of the Colossus Programming Office, processing data over 100 times faster than Forbin and his team had originally anticipated.The President hands off full control of the nation's missiles and other defence protocols to Colossus and makes the announcement to the world that he has ensured peace.However, the USSR quickly announces that it too has a supercomputer, Guardian, with capabilities similar to that of Colossus.Forbin is concerned when Colossus asks - asks - to communicate with Guardian.The computer he built shouldn't be able to ask at al

Gateway

Dying Of The Light

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Revenger

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds
Gateway

Return to Eddarta

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

After a meteor explosion, Rikardon wakes in a new body-and in a strange desert land named Gandalara, where a sacred gem known as the Ra'ira grants its owner the power to rule-or to destroy... Victory is sweet-but for Rikardon and Tarani, it is all too brief. Although they have retrieved the sword of the Kings from the lost city of Kä, a savage battle with the vineh mars their journey back to Raithskar. These ape-like creatures were once controlled through the power of the Ra'ira. Now they pose a threat both to the cat-like sha'um and humanoid Gandalarans. To restore order, Rikardon and Tarani must travel to Eddarta, where Tarani can use the Ra'ira against the increasingly vicious vineh. First she must face her treacherous brother, Indomel, and convince the Council to name her High Lord in his place. Indomel will not take such betrayal lightly, but another danger is about to reveal itself-a sinister and ambitious traitor who has been hiding in plain sight all along.

Gateway

The Glass of Dyskornis

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron

For Ricardo Carillo, taking over the life of the swordsman Markasset on the desert world of Gandalara had its compensations: a strong young body, a beautiful fiancee, and a mighty telepathic warcat named Keeshah, who obeyed his every command. It also had its problems. Markasset had many enemies, and one was out for blood. So Ricardo and Keeshah left Raithskar to join the Sharith - the warrior brotherhood of sha'um cat-riders. But trouble followed, and he soon found himself in the company of a jealous lieutenant and a lovely but treacherous illusionist, on the track of the murderer who had stolen Gandalara's most precious jewel.

Gateway

The Well of Darkness

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Gateway

The Search for Ka

Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Authors:
Randall Garrett, Vicki Ann Heydron
Gateway

Dark Benediction

Walter M. Miller Jr
Authors:
Walter M. Miller Jr
Gollancz

Cleave

Elizabeth Bear
Authors:
Elizabeth Bear
Gateway

Jack Williamson SF Gateway Omnibus

Jack Williamson
Authors:
Jack Williamson

From The SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic SFF titles ever assembled, comes an ideal sample introduction to the incredible career of Jack Williamson, whose career spanned over seventy years. Jack Williamson published his first SF story, 'The Metal Man', in 1928 and continued to write high quality SF until his death in 2006, along the way coining many of the terms the genre now takes for granted, such as 'terraforming' and 'genetic engineering'. He was the second writer (after Heinlein) to be named a SFWA Grand Master and was the oldest recipient of both the Hugo and Nebula Awards. This volume contains The Legion of Space, the first volume in the eponymous series; The Humanoids; John W. Campbell Award-winning Terraforming Earth and his Hugo Award-winning autobiography Wonder's Child: My Life in Science Fiction.

Gollancz

Elves: Beyond the Mists of Katura

James Barclay
Authors:
James Barclay

Thousands of years ago the elves were enslaved by the Wytch Lords. Murdered in their thousands, worked to death in slave gangs and divided against themselves, the wounds inflicted by man run deep - and elves have very long memories. Two of them - Auum and Takaar - led the rise against their enslavers, and united their people against men in order to free their nation. Now Calaius is at peace ... but that doesn't mean their nation is safe.Men need their help.The Wytch Lords have rallied, men's magic has grown more powerful, and their politics have become altogether more dangerous. Especially now: one of the mages has created a spell, called Dawnthief, which has the potential to destroy all living things on the planet. All four magical colleges are fighting to seize it and, in the background, the Wytch Lords have schemes of their own. Schemes which involve crushing the elven nation for good. Whoever seizes the spell, it places the elves in tremendous danger. But can Auum and Takaar overcome their differences and work together to save Calaius? And even if they can, is it not already too late ... ?Find out more on his website, www.jamesbarclay.com, or you can follow @barculator on Twitter.

Gollancz

Hogfather

Terry Pratchett
Authors:
Terry Pratchett
Gateway

No Enemy But Time

Michael Bishop
Authors:
Michael Bishop
Orion

The Julius House

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Gollancz

Black Heart

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black