Leila Aboulela - The Kindness of Enemies - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474600118
    • Publication date:13 Aug 2015

The Kindness of Enemies

By Leila Aboulela

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH, a sweeping new novel from the three times Orange Prize longlisted, Scottish Book Award and Caine Prize winner Leila Aboulela.

The new novel from three times Orange Prize longlisted Leila Aboulela

Natasha Wilson knows how difficult it is to fit in. Born to a Russian mother and a Muslim father, she feels adrift in Scotland and longs for a place which really feels like home.

Then she meets Oz, a charismatic and passionate student at the university where Natasha teaches. As their bond deepens, stories from Natasha's research come to life - tales of forbidden love and intrigue in the court of the Tsar.

But when Oz is suspected of radicalism, Natasha's own work and background suddenly come under the spotlight. As suspicions grow around her, and friends and colleagues back away, Natasha stands to lose the life she has fought to build.

Biographical Notes

Leila Aboulela was born in Cairo and grew up in Khartoum. All three of her previous novels, The Translator, Minaret and Lyrics Alley, were longlisted for the Orange Prize. Lyrics Alley won Novel of the Year at the Scottish Book Awards and was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, while Aboulela's collection of short fiction, Coloured Lights, won the Caine Prize. She lives in Aberdeen.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474600927
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: W&N
The passages are arresting in their descriptiveness, with beautiful pockets of calm in which the spiritual journey, as advocated by Shamil's Sufi teacher, is explored. — THE INDEPENDENT
The reader flicks back and forth through time, gleaning pleasure and enlightenment through each of the doorways as they go, finishing with a head filled with different nuances on questions politicians demand we reflect upon. — i newspaper
Aboulela's graceful writing style makes for a pleasurable read. — INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY
One of Aboulela's aims - apart from telling a fascinating story with the verve and assurance of a natural novelist - is surely to present a sympathetic picture of Islam to a western readership more accustomed to being what, for devout Muslims, is a distorted and reprehensible version of their faith. — THE SCOTSMAN
[A] treat - a novel that recreates the fascinating story of the rebel of the Caucasus, Imam Shamil, a 19th-century warrior who battled to defend his home against the invading Russians and united the Muslims of the region under his iconic leadership. Weaving the story of his relationship with a Georgian princess he kidnapped into a more contemporary story of mistaken terrorism, we learn much about the nature of loss, the legacy of exile and the meaning of home at a time in our world when all three are high in our minds — Mariella Frostrup, GUARDIAN, Best Books of 2015
An often intriguing story, politically relevant and historically fascinating — THE HERALD
Orion

Wrecked

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Orion

I See Through You

Daisy McNally
Authors:
Daisy McNally

There is more than one way to stay close to someone... if you're prepared to do whatever it takes. Skye meets the feckless but handsome Johnny Strachan in the Alps where she reluctantly falls into a heady love affair. At home, Johnny has promised to call her, this is just the beginning after all. But when Skye hears nothing from him, it seems it's actually the end. Broken by his treatment of her and unable to return to her former self, Skye finds another way back into Johnny's life and the people in it. When she meets Anna, Johnny's best friend, she soon discovers that Anna has always been in love with Johnny, and always been taken for granted by him. Then the women decide that enough is enough, and set out together to right a few wrongs... A twisty tale of deceit and obsession, where female friendship turns out to be the thing worth fighting for.

Gollancz

An American Story

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Trapeze

Reader I Married Me

Sophie Tanner
Authors:
Sophie Tanner

Why wish away your life waiting for 'the one' when YOU are, in fact, the oneChloe Usher has just broken up with the love of her life. All her friends urge her to find another man before she disappears down the slippery slope to spinsterhood. One evening, after a particularly messy date and several gins, she realises she doesn't need an 'other half' to complete her. She is enough, just as she is. In an instinctive act of self-love, she announces that she is going to marry herself! The news goes viral and, in the sober light of day, Chloe finds herself thrust firmly into the public eye; suddenly she's the spokesperson for all the single ladies out there. The reactions from her friends and family are mixed, with some thinking she's completely lost the plot. Planning her wedding takes Chloe on a bumpy journey of self-discovery, showing the world that if you can't love yourself, how in the hell you gonna love somebody else?!

Orion

A Wartime Promise

Ruby Reynolds
Authors:
Ruby Reynolds
W&N

Neon in Daylight

Hermione Hoby
Authors:
Hermione Hoby

W&N

The Wrong Heaven

Amy Bonnaffons
Authors:
Amy Bonnaffons

In The Wrong Heaven, Amy Bonnaffons draws us into a delightfully strange universe, in which her conflicted characters seek to solve their sexual and spiritual dilemmas in all the wrong places. The title story's heroine reckons with grief while arguing with loquacious Jesus and Mary lawn ornaments that come to life when she plugs them in. In "Horse," we enter a world in which women transform themselves into animals through a series of medical injections. In "Alternate," a young woman convinces herself that all she needs to revive a stagnant relationship is the perfect poster of the Dalai Lama.

Orion

Violet's Children

Maureen Lee
Authors:
Maureen Lee

Beginning in 1950s Liverpool, VIOLET'S CHILDREN is a warm and nostalgicstory of a young woman who must adopt her sister's children after tragedy strikes.

Orion

Anarchy

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVThe world is different now. There are no rules, no governments, and no guarantees that you'll be saved.Rival factions have taken over, fighting each other for survival with no loyalty to anyone but their own. At 21, Hayden has taken over Blackwing and is one of the youngest leaders in the area. In protecting his camp from starvation, raids from other factions and the threat of being kidnapped, he has enough to worry about before he finds Grace. The daughter of the head of the rival camp Greystone, she is slow to trust anyone, much less the leader of those she has been trained to kill. This is danger. This is chaos. This is anarchy.

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

The brand-new feel-good story from bestseller Veronica Henry - a perfect mix of family, friends and delicious food.What's the secret ingredient to your happiness?Laura Griffin is preparing for an empty nest. The thought of Number 11 Lark Hill falling silent - a home usually bustling with noise, people and the fragrant smells of something cooking on the Aga - seems impossible. Laura hopes it will mean more time for herself, and more time with her husband, Dom.But when an exposed secret shakes their marriage, Laura suddenly feels as though her family is shrinking around her. Feeling lost, she turns to her greatest comfort: her grandmother's recipe box, a treasured collection dating back to the Second World War. Everyone has always adored Laura's jams and chutneys, piled their sandwiches high with her pickles . . . Inspired by a bit of the old Blitz spirit, Laura has an idea that gives her a fresh sense of purpose. Full of fierce determination, Laura starts carving her own path. But even the bravest woman needs the people who love her. And now, they need her in return . . .*****Your favourite authors love A Family Recipe:'An utter delight' Jill Mansell'Truly blissful escapism' Lucy Diamond'A heart-warming, triumphant story combined with Veronica's sublime writing - the perfect mix!' Cathy Bramley'A delicious treat of a book' Milly Johnson

Orion

The Lido

Libby Page
Authors:
Libby Page
Gollancz

The House of Binding Thorns

Aliette de Bodard
Authors:
Aliette de Bodard
Orion

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Gollancz

The Fall of Dragons

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.1984, EnglandSomeone is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows in the village of Heathcote. What's more, the perpetrator knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community fears she's been kidnapped.But as the villagers search for Anna, it's their own darkest secrets they're desperate to keep hidden...Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.*******Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS:'A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' - DAILY MAIL'I can see why it has been compared to THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP as it has such a warm but heartbreaking feel to it' - Kate, Amazon reviewer'A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken' - WRITING.IE'Explores ideas of loneliness and longing' - THE i NEWSPAPER

Orion

Nights of Rain and Stars

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

Maeve Binchy at her very best - the superb novel of one summer, and four people whose lives are irrevocably changed. In a Greek taverna, high over the small village of Aghia Anna, four people meet for the first time: Fiona, an Irish nurse, Thomas, a Californian academic; Elsa, a German television presenter; and David a shy English boy. Along with Andreas, the old man who runs the taverna, they become close to each other after witnessing a tragedy when a pleasure steamer catches fire in the harbour. NIGHTS OF RAIN AND STARS is the story of one summer when Fiona, Thomas, Elsa and David all have to face the particular life crisis which first made them leave their homes and end up in Greece. With the help of Vonni, a middle-aged Irishwoman who lives in the village and is now a near native, they each find a solution - although not necessarily the one they anticipated...