Chloe Mayer - The Boy Made of Snow - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474604796
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474604826
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017

The Boy Made of Snow

By Chloe Mayer

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

'A haunting and thrilling read' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat, perfect for fans of Atonement, Suite Francaise and A Place Called Winter.
While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front, battles of the heart.

In a sleepy English village in 1944, Annabel and her son Daniel live in the shadow of war. With her husband away, an increasingly isolated Annabel begins to lose her grip on reality.

When mother and son befriend Hans, a German PoW consigned to a nearby farm, their lives are suddenly filled with thrilling secrets.

To Annabel, Hans is an awakening from the darkness that has engulfed her since Daniel's birth. To her son, a solitary boy caught up in the magical world of fairy tales, he is perhaps a prince in disguise. But Hans has plans of his own and will soon set them into motion with devastating consequences.

'Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking' Rachel Rhys, author of Dangerous Crossing

Biographical Notes

Chloë Mayer is a journalist, whose work has been shortlisted for several awards, including newcomer of the year and reporter of the year. She has lived and worked in Tokyo and Los Angeles, and now lives in east London, not far from where she grew up. The Boy Made of Snow is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474604819
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: W&N
A testament to the power of stories, THE BOY MADE OF SNOW had me compulsively turning the pages to find out the fate of Daniel and his mother. A haunting and thrilling read. I absolutely loved it — Kate Hamer, author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT
An evocative and stunning debut from an exciting new writer — Jane Harris, author of GILLESPIE AND I
Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking — Rachel Rhys, author of DANGEROUS CROSSING
THE BOY MADE OF SNOW is an evocative and haunting story with moments of heart-breaking poignancy. This dark and compelling tale, of wartime austerity and one boy's vivid imagination and its devastating consequences, is an assured and beautifully written debut — Amanda Jennings, author of IN HER WAKE
Heartbreaking, chilling and beautifully written, THE BOY MADE OF SNOW will stay with me for a very long time — Laura Marshall, author of THE FRIEND REQUEST
There is much to admire in this ambitious debut, primarily Mayer's handling of Annabel's unsettling descent into a slothful haze — THE TIMES
Calling upon classic fairytales - in their original, not Disney-fied versions - this is a beautiful and evocative debut — STYLIST
The novel wins through on both the evocation of the period and the setting, brilliantly capturing the isolation of mother and son, making the awful inevitability of what follows extra affecting — Fanny Blake, DAILY MAIL
In 1944, a young boy obsessed with fairy tales, and his troubled mother, befriend a German POW - with heartbreaking results. Your jaw will drop at the dramatic events — GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
When a young mother falls for a German POW, she sets off a train of events that will shatter lives. The period and her son's imaginery world makes this special — WOMAN & HOME
This story is unlike anything I have ever read. Some books move you - and this is one of them. I absolutely loved it — THE SUN
A promising debut . . . every new chapter of the book starts with a quote from a famous fairy-tale, and the writer interestingly juxtaposes the stark reality of war with the fictional world. Annabelle's struggle with motherhood is depicted with delicacy and the story shines a light on how issues like postpartum depression and PTSD went unrecognized and unacknowledged for the longest time — Rabeea Saleem, BOOKRIOT
THE BOY MADE OF SNOW is exquisitely imagined, beautifully written and I was completely enthralled by it . . . It is chilling and poignant and at times, utterly heartbreaking. Daniel is a carefully crafted masterpiece, and his innocence shines through, even when his actions bring about the most tragic and horrendous consequences . . . An ambitious debut novel from an author who is obviously so very talented. I have no more words; it's brilliant and I recommended it highly. It's a marvel. — Anne Cater, Random Things Through my Letterbox
The characters are beautifully drawn, their emotion and feelings leaping from the page . . . The desperation of Annabelle, her inability to drag herself from the depth of depression and the need for Daniel to please her, to make her notice him and love him. It is something that will linger with the reader long after that last page has been turned and the book closed . . . It is hard to believe that this is a debut novel, so confident and assured is Mayer's writing. I cannot wait for her next novel — Amanda Duncan, mybookishblogspot
Absolutely captivating . . . Chloe Mayer written such an emotion filled debut that I struggled to put down. . . I felt I could see scenes playing out through the beautifully clear descriptive writing . . . I could not fault this book at all, it is flawless and wonderful, and I highly recommend it — The Quiet Knitter
A stunning debut from an exciting new author, with Meyer writing characters beautifully and using Daniel's love of fairytales to marvellous effect . . . excellent, complex characters help drive the story to an unforgettable conclusion — DORSET ECHO
A novel of motherhood, childhood, relationships, war and consequences but most of all imagination. This is a very accomplished first novel, both in its writing and narrative; a haunting tale with a chill at its heart, perfect for this time of year — Bookliterati.com
THE BOY MADE OF SNOW is a breathtaking, haunting, and heartbreaking story that will stay in your mind long after you turn the last page . . . If you buy one book this Christmas, make it this one. — Linda Green, BOOKS OF ALL KINDS
A stunnung debut from an exciting new author, with Meyer writing characters beautifully and using Daniel's love of fairytales to marvellous effect. — DAILY GAZETTE
Dark and compelling and will have you frantically turning the pages to discover the protagonists' fate — WEST ESSEX NEWS
A testament to the power of stories, THE BOY MADE OF SNOW had me compulsively turning the pages to find out the fate of Daniel and his mother. A haunting and thrilling read. I absolutely loved it
An evocative and stunning debut from an exciting new writer
Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking
THE BOY MADE OF SNOW is an evocative and haunting story with moments of heart-breaking poignancy. This dark and compelling tale, of wartime austerity and one boy's vivid imagination and its devastating consequences, is an assured and beautifully written debut
Heartbreaking, chilling and beautifully written, THE BOY MADE OF SNOW will stay with me for a very long time
There is much to admire in this ambitious debut, primarily Mayer's handling of Annabel's unsettling descent into a slothful haze
Calling upon classic fairytales - in their original, not Disney-fied versions - this is a beautiful and evocative debut
The novel wins through on both the evocation of the period and the setting, brilliantly capturing the isolation of mother and son, making the awful inevitability of what follows extra affecting
In 1944, a young boy obsessed with fairy tales, and his troubled mother, befriend a German POW - with heartbreaking results. Your jaw will drop at the dramatic events
When a young mother falls for a German POW, she sets off a train of events that will shatter lives. The period and her son's imaginery world makes this special
This story is unlike anything I have ever read. Some books move you - and this is one of them. I absolutely loved it
A promising debut . . . every new chapter of the book starts with a quote from a famous fairy-tale, and the writer interestingly juxtaposes the stark reality of war with the fictional world. Annabelle's struggle with motherhood is depicted with delicacy and the story shines a light on how issues like postpartum depression and PTSD went unrecognized and unacknowledged for the longest time
THE BOY MADE OF SNOW is exquisitely imagined, beautifully written and I was completely enthralled by it . . . It is chilling and poignant and at times, utterly heartbreaking. Daniel is a carefully crafted masterpiece, and his innocence shines through, even when his actions bring about the most tragic and horrendous consequences . . . An ambitious debut novel from an author who is obviously so very talented. I have no more words; it's brilliant and I recommended it highly. It's a marvel.
The characters are beautifully drawn, their emotion and feelings leaping from the page . . . The desperation of Annabelle, her inability to drag herself from the depth of depression and the need for Daniel to please her, to make her notice him and love him. It is something that will linger with the reader long after that last page has been turned and the book closed . . . It is hard to believe that this is a debut novel, so confident and assured is Mayer's writing. I cannot wait for her next novel
Absolutely captivating . . . Chloe Mayer written such an emotion filled debut that I struggled to put down. . . I felt I could see scenes playing out through the beautifully clear descriptive writing . . . I could not fault this book at all, it is flawless and wonderful, and I highly recommend it
A stunning debut from an exciting new author, with Meyer writing characters beautifully and using Daniel's love of fairytales to marvellous effect . . . excellent, complex characters help drive the story to an unforgettable conclusion
A novel of motherhood, childhood, relationships, war and consequences but most of all imagination. This is a very accomplished first novel, both in its writing and narrative; a haunting tale with a chill at its heart, perfect for this time of year
THE BOY MADE OF SNOW is a breathtaking, haunting, and heartbreaking story that will stay in your mind long after you turn the last page . . . If you buy one book this Christmas, make it this one.
A stunnung debut from an exciting new author, with Meyer writing characters beautifully and using Daniel's love of fairytales to marvellous effect.
Dark and compelling and will have you frantically turning the pages to discover the protagonists' fate