Britta Rostlund - Waiting For Monsieur Bellivier - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474605489
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169703
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017

Waiting For Monsieur Bellivier

By Britta Rostlund

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

A chance encounter can change everything . . .
For fans of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, The Little Paris Bookshop and The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair, a tale of two mysteries, set in the shadow of Montmartre.

'An absolute delight to read . . . Paris is brought to life on the pages of this exquisite book' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Are you waiting for Monsieur Bellivier, madame?'

Helena Folasadu should of course say no. She doesn't know the man talking to her, she doesn't know Monsieur Bellivier, and she certainly isn't waiting for him. But, bored of life, and sparked by a whim, she says yes.

Mancebo, a Tunisian shopkeeper, lives a quiet life manning his grocery on a street leading to the Sacré-Cour. But one day he is approached by a woman asking whether he will spy on her boyfriend, who lives in the apartment across the street. To his surprise, Mancebo agrees.

As Helena and Mancebo's missions overlap, they realise that the City of Light harbours more secrets in its cafés and courtyards than its inhabitants and visitors could possibly suspect...

For fans of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, The Little Paris Bookshop and The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair, a tale of two mysteries, set in the shadow of Montmartre.

What readers are saying about Waiting for Monsieur Bellivier:

'Gripping and extremely interesting . . . A book about identify, finding yourself and the importance of surrounding yourself with people and taking a chance on life. I adored every page' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'An intriguing little mystery' Books on the 747

'The book's unique concept will keep you hooked' Popsugar

'Written with feeling and verve, the compounding mysteries of Waiting for Monsieur Bellivier propel you through the book (and Paris, filled with creative characters and reflections on life) and will leave you guessing until the end' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

'An unexpected twisty gem of a story' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

'A charming book based on a brilliantly imaginative concept. The characters are vividly portrayed and are a real driving force for this story where nothing much seems to happen, but where the slow pace nevertheless had me gripped throughout. I would advise you to go into this book expecting little beyond an answer to the question, 'Are you waiting for Monsieur Bellivier?', and let it surprise you' Goodreads reviewer, 4 stars

Biographical Notes

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for over fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474605458
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: W&N