Walter Mosley - A Little Yellow Dog - Orion Publishing Group

A Little Yellow Dog

Easy Rawlins 5

By Walter Mosley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The fifth Easy Rawlins novel by Walter Mosley - 'simply the best crime writer around today' Guardian

November 1963: Easy's settled into a steady gig as a school custodian. It's a quiet, simple existence - but a few moments of ecstasy with a sexy teacher will change all that. When the lady vanishes, Easy's stuck with a couple of corpses, the cops on his back, and a little yellow dog who's nobody's best friend. With his not-so-simple past snapping at his heels, and with enemies old and new looking to get even, Easy must kiss his careful little life good-bye - and step closer to the edge . . .

Biographical Notes

Walter Mosley is one of America's best loved authors. He is the author of the internationally bestselling Easy Rawlins series, and his novels include DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS, which was made into the acclaimed film of the same name starring Denzel Washington and Don Cheadle. His books have been translated into 23 languages and have sold more than 3.5 million copies to date. He lives in New York City.

www.waltermosley.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474608596
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Walter Mosley's Easy Rawlins novels are a series of perfectly balanced concoctions of lust, violence, politics and race . . . Mosley hits his typically inspired stride, once again demonstrating how, in American life, private drama and public tragedy often feed off one another — Sunday Times
When I had finished reading A Little Yellow Dog, I went out and got all four of Walter Mosley's previous Easy Rawlins novels and read them straight through . . . To write five novels about a character as interesting and complex as Easy and never to flag, never to miss a beat, is pretty amazing — Guardian
A thriller with everything and more: great writing with depth and feeling, twisting plot, brilliant dialogue and wonderful characters — Tribune
Mosley's combination of superior plotting, precise dialogue and the ability to convey the atmosphere of the times are as effective as in the previous four Easy Rawlins novels — The Times
Orion

For Better and Worse

Margot Hunt
Authors:
Margot Hunt
Gateway

Out of his Mind

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Spirit Box

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Rachel's in trouble. She's a ticking bomb. A couple of co-workers bullied her into stealing a radical new drug from their employer, and now it's lodged inside her. They're watching her like hawks and her time's running out. John Bishop runs security for the company. As a father who once lost a teenaged daughter to an accidental overdose, his drive to hunt down the thieves and rescue their victim grows more intense with every lost minute. He can never bring his own kid back. But he can save someone else's.Which is fine until the company realises that if the swallowed package bursts and Rachel dies, their secrets are kept safe and their problem goes away. Though Bishop's on the trail, he's an easy man to cut loose and discredit. But now he's Rachel's only hope. Either the package will burst, or the boys will cut her open to get it. They're so convinced it will make them rich that they'll kill anyone who tries to take her, and hunt down anyone who succeeds.It can't end well. For somebody.

Gateway

White Bizango

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Rescued from the morgue and a bizarre and unpleasant end, Louisiana detective John Lafcadio owes his life to the Cult Crime Co-ordinators. Known also as the Voodoo Cops, their job is to dispel superstition and nail crimes of ignorance.There's a growing need for their services. A new kind of predator is on the loose. When the middle classes began to adopt vodoun as a lifestyle fad, their doors were opened to a ruthless white male with a command of the religion's darker practical secrets.Hunting down Lafcadio's would-be killer will be no easy task. His victims are also his protectors. And how can Lafcadio hope to identify a man whose eyes he once stared into, but whose face he can't remember?

Gateway

The Painted Bride

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Red, Red Robin

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Nightmare, with Angel

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Rain

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Follower

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Boat House

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

A dark love story, and a disturbing tale of a divided soul.In the days leading to the fall of the Soviet empire, a young woman with a deadly secret slips unnoticed into the West. And when Alina Petrovna first appears in Three Oaks Bay it's clear that her frail, luminous beauty is likely to cause some ripples in the surface calm of the peaceful resort town.For Pete McCarthy, the boatyard worker who gives her shelter, she's an enigma. A complex, well-meaning young woman with a difficult past. Someone whose mystery deepens as the season gets under way, and the deaths by drowning begin...

Gateway

Valley of Lights

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn

Leah Frothen has returned home. But she can scarcely catch her breath before she is summoned by regent Darien Serlast, the man who made her a spy. Leah is reluctant to take on a new assignment, but Darien has dangled the perfect lure to draw her in...Leah finds she enjoys the challenges of opening a shop catering to foreign visitors, especially since it affords her the opportunity to get to know Mally, the child she abandoned five years ago.But when the regent asks her to spy on ambassadors from a visiting nation, Leah soon learns that everyone-her regent, her lover, and even her daughter-have secrets that could save the nation, but might very well break her heart.

Gateway

Chimera

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Seven Dials

The Upside

Abdel Sellou
Authors:
Abdel Sellou
Orion

The Golden Tresses of the Dead

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Flavia de Luce, the twelve-year-old chemist and amateur detective is eager to turn professional. She and her father's valet, Dogger, have founded a detective agency, Arthur Dogger & Associates, and unexpectedly cut into their first case during the revelry at her sister Ophelia's wedding reception.After an eventful ceremony with a missing best man and spontaneous ventriloquist act, spirits are high as Feely and her new husband head for the towering and beautifully iced wedding cake. But as Feely slices into the first piece, a scream rings out - the bridal cake contains a severed human finger. Delighted, Flavia wraps the finger in a napkin and whisks it away to her chemical laboratory. By studying the embalmed skin, the indentation of a ring, and the slope of the fingernail, she'll not only be able to determine the identity of the victim - but also point a finger at a killer.

Orion

To Catch a Killer

Emma Kavanagh
Authors:
Emma Kavanagh
Gollancz

Dark Forge

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
W&N

Five Days of Fog

Anna Freeman
Authors:
Anna Freeman

'Think Patrick Hamilton meets Peaky Blinders with a feminist twist' Metro 'A cinematic, rogueish, and utterly entertaining page-turner by the queen of feisty historical women. Goes down in one jewel-fisted slug' Abigail Tarttelin, author of DEAD GIRLS'A gripping, greasy, gritty thriller' Red 'An exceptional work of historical fiction' NetGalley'Based on the real-life, all-female gang, the Forty Elephants, FIVE DAYS OF FOG is told with verve and style' Bookseller'My mum always said, a fistful of rings is as good as a knuckleduster' As the Great Smog falls over London in 1952, Florrie Palmer has a choice to make. Will she stay with the Cutters, a gang of female criminals who have terrorized London for years and are led by her own mother? Or leave it all behind to make a safer, duller life with the man she loves? And what will she do if she's too crooked to go straight, and too good to go bad? Over the next five days, Florrie will have to find her own path and the courage to stumble along it - in a fog so thick that she can't see her own feet. Following the last days of a crumbling female gang in post-war London, this is a story of family, of love, of finding your way, and of deciphering a route through the greyest areas of morality.Praise for THE FAIR FIGHT:'The Fair Fight is a hugely exciting and entertaining novel, written with warmth, charm, authority and, above all, terrific flair. I loved it' Sarah Waters'This storming debut is fiction at its most absorbing. It'll be first in line for Freeman's next offering' Stylist'A brilliant, bold and unforgettable debut. Freeman transports us to a history we'd never have imagined and makes it viscerally real' Nathan Filer

Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Excellent second novel featuring Yorkshire Detective Constable Karen Sharpe.The daughter of a Bradford judge is kidnapped and a massive, round-the-clock investigation begins. Knowing the chances of Sophie Kenyon surviving will diminish dramatically after the first twenty-four hours, Detective Chief Superintendent John Munro begins to crack under the pressure of holding together an enquiry swamped with leads. Meanwhile, DC Karen Sharpe is pursuing her own single-handed enquiry into historic child abuse allegations: Pamela Mathews says a local MP raped her ten years before. The task of finding corroboration looks hopeless, but Sharpe keeps at it - anything rather than face up to her own tangled personal life, living with a man she doesn't love and caring for a child who thinks she is her aunt. The truth is more complex and frightening, leading back to still unresolved events from a year before.Karen's enquiry uncovers connections with the kidnapping, and, in an explosion of violence and bloodshed, Karen is left fighting not just to find Sophie, but to save herself.Why readers love John Connor:'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily ExpressFans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:Karen Sharpe1. Phoenix2. Playroom 3. A Child's Game 4. Falling5. Unsafe Standalone1. The Vanishing 2. The Ice House * Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *