Walter Mosley - The Man In My Basement - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Man In My Basement

By Walter Mosley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hailed as a masterpiece - the finest work yet by an American novelist of the first rank - this is the mysterious story of a young black man who agrees to an unusual bargain to save the home that has belonged to his family for generations.

The man at Charles Blakey's door has a proposition almost too strange for words. The stranger offers him $50,000 in cash to spend the summer in Charles's basement, and Charles cannot even begin to guess why. The beautiful house has been in the Blakey family for generations, but Charles has just lost his job and is behind on his mortgage payments. The money would be welcome. But Charles Blakey is black and Anniston Bennet is white, and it is clear that the stranger wants more than a basement view.
There is something deeper and darker about his request, and Charles does not need any more trouble. But financial necessity leaves him no choice. Once Anniston Bennet is installed in his basement, Charles is cast into a role he never dreamed of. Anniston has some very particular requests for his landlord, and try as he might, Charles cannot avoid being lured into Bennet's strange world. At first he resists, but soon he is tempted--tempted to understand a set of codes that has always eluded him, tempted by the opportunity to understand the secret ways of white folks.

Charles's summer with a man in his basement turns into an exploration of inconceivable worlds of power and manipulation, and unimagined realms of humanity. Walter Mosley pierces long-hidden veins of justice and morality with startling insight into the deepest mysteries of human nature

Biographical Notes

Walter Mosley is one of America's best loved authors. He is the author of the internationally bestselling Easy Rawlins series, and his novels include DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS, which was made into the acclaimed film of the same name starring Denzel Washington and Don Cheadle. His books have been translated into 23 languages and have sold more than 3.5 million copies to date. He lives in New York City.

www.waltermosley.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474608602
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Will hold readers rapt; it is Mosley's most philosophical novel to date — Publishers Weekly
This is fine, provocative writing from the prolific Mosley, whose gifts extend well beyond his excellent mysteries — Booklist
Mosley makes this such a lucid, sinuous book that its big issues are handled with idiosyncratic grace — New York Times
A meditation . . . on black and white, past and present, good and evil, crime and punishment, fathers and sons, men and women, friendship, ambition and shiftlessness — Washington Post
A subtle sense of humor that leavens the philosophical enquiry . . . a special talent for touching upon these sticky questions of evil and responsibility without getting stuck in them — New Yorker
Gollancz

The October Man

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch

A brand new stand-alone novella in the Rivers of London series!Tobias Winter has been assigned to the Abteilung KDA - the Department for Complex and Unspecific Matters. Despite the intriguing department name, as Winter explains, dealing with the strange and the supernatural is 'actually 90% paperwork'. But this is a story about the other 10% of the job: the life-threatening danger part. This is a tale about the Queen of the Harvest, the October Man, and the little-known time the vineyard around Trier started to eat people . . .Winter may be P. C. Peter Grant's German counterpart, but surviving this investigation is entirely down to him...(p) 2019 Orion Publishing Group

Gateway

White Bizango

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Orion

The Hollow Man

John Dickson Carr
Authors:
John Dickson Carr
Gateway

The Painted Bride

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Red, Red Robin

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Nightmare, with Angel

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Trapeze

You Die Next

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

A group of urban explorers stumble into a murderer's kill room in a derelict film studio. Terrified, they run, thinking they are safe. Then a message appears on their video channel: Who dies next?As DI Dominic Bell and his team investigate the series of murders in hidden locations across London, they fail to find the connection between the victims. The only person who can help is Clementine Starke, an academic researching adult thrillseekers. However, Clementine is haunted by dark and violent obsessions, including her former relationship with DI Dominic Bell. As the body count rises, Clementine Starke and DI Dominic Bell form an uneasy alliance to hunt the killer. But as they close in on their prey, and things turn personal, Clementine has to decide which side of the law she's really on.A cat-and-mouse thriller for fans of Mark Billingham, Sarah Hilary and Rachel Abbott that unfolds in a number of terrifying hidden locations across London. Readers who enjoyed Thomas Harris's Hannibal series will be thrilled by the deadly relationship between DI Dominic Bell and Clementine Starke.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Gateway

Rain

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Follower

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Boat House

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Orion

Shadows of Athens

JM Alvey
Authors:
JM Alvey

The Persian War is over and an unaccustomed decade of peace has come to ancient Athens. Philocles, an aspiring comic playwright, is making his living as a writer for hire; but this year is the highlight of his career - he has a play in the drama competition at the prestigious Dionysia Festival. The last thing he wants to find on his doorstep the day before is a body with its throat cut.Just who is this dead man? Is it just a robbery gone wrong? With the play that could make his name on the horizon, Philocles must find out who this man is, why he has been murdered - and why the corpse was in his doorway. He soon realises that he has been caught up in something far bigger than he could have imagined, and there are players in this game who don't want him looking any further...(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Orion

The Lies We Tell

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay
Gateway

Oktober

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

An apparently fatal incident occurs when schoolteacher Jim Harper is skiing near a small research station owned by the giant multinational Risinger-Genoud. Even treatment with their new, untried and experimental superdrug cannot save his life.Or so it seems. For Jim Harper, though left for dead, has survived. But in the long haul back to health and sanity, he begins to realise that something terrible has happened to him. Now the only way in which he can unravel the mystery in his mind is to go back to the point where it began to develop - back to Risinger-Genoud and their Oktober programme. And Risinger Genoud are going to be very interested to see him.Oktober is a frightening journey into a world of greed and lies, a world in which the cover-up is not only a way of life, but something planned ahead of time. Step by horrifying step, Jim Harper unravels what has been done to him, and then designs the perfect act of vengeance, an act that teeters on the brink of madness...

Gateway

Valley of Lights

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn
Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
Gateway

Chimera

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Seven Dials

The Upside

Abdel Sellou
Authors:
Abdel Sellou
Orion

The Man Who Came Uptown

George Pelecanos
Authors:
George Pelecanos
Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay