Walter Mosley - White Butterfly - Orion Publishing Group

White Butterfly

Easy Rawlins 3

By Walter Mosley

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The third Easy Rawlins novel by Walter Mosley - 'simply the best crime writer around today' Guardian

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 1993 GOLDEN DAGGER AWARD

'In the crime field this is unquestionably the novel of the year' Literary Review
'Perhaps the most important black literary figure to appear on the scene since James Baldwin's death' Guardian

The police don't show up on Easy Rawlins's doorstep until the third girl dies. It's Los Angeles, 1956, and it takes more than one murdered black girl before the cops get interested. Now they need Easy. As he says: "I was worth a precinct full of detectives when the cops needed the word in the ghetto." But Easy turns them down. He's married now, a father -- and his detective days are over. Then a white college coed dies the same brutal death, and the cops put the heat on Easy: If he doesn't help, his best friend is headed for jail. So Easy's back, walking the midnight streets of Watts and the darker, twisted avenues of a cunning killer's mind...

Biographical Notes

Walter Mosley is one of America's best loved authors. He is the author of the internationally bestselling Easy Rawlins series, and his novels include DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS, which was made into the acclaimed film of the same name starring Denzel Washington and Don Cheadle. His books have been translated into 23 languages and have sold more than 3.5 million copies to date. He lives in New York City.

www.waltermosley.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781474608657
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
A cracking read - Chandler brought up to date - with detective Easy Rawlins treading even meaner streets than Philip Marlowe did — Daily Express
Taking the hard-boiled tradition of Raymond Chandler and transporting it to the streets of Watts and South Central, Mosley has written a sequence of rich and compelling thrillers which say more about racism in America than almost any contemporary novel you care to mention — Independent on Sunday
An excellent craftsman, Mosley's finely tuned sentences and masterful handling of the traditional techniques of the novel distinguish him as perhaps the most important black literary figure to appear on the scene since James Baldwin's death — Guardian
What sets these books apart from other suspense novels is, of course, the protagonist, Easy Rawlins. Rawlins is not your ordinary mystery hero. A black man coping with crime, racism and his own personal demons - though not necessarily in that order - he is a very complicated, personable and likeable character — New York Times
Good-time girls, corrupt politicians, trigger-happy psychopaths and other crime novel fixtures are all in place. But Walter Mosley's writing hums with the particular rhythms and blues of the black American experience. What makes these books special is their vivid portrayal of life in the side streets where Philip Marlowe seldom ventured — Time
In the crime field this is unquestionably the novel of the year. But Mosley is already outstripping the genre. Stay with him while you can — Literary Review
Rawlins moves intimately through Los Angeles' menacing mid-fifties black low-life, accumulating threats, violence, clues and the disintegration of his marriage, Mosley captures the era with masterful dialogue, subtle social comment and a total command of place and time. Even Clinton can be right — The Times
Gateway

Out of his Mind

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Spirit Box

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Rachel's in trouble. She's a ticking bomb. A couple of co-workers bullied her into stealing a radical new drug from their employer, and now it's lodged inside her. They're watching her like hawks and her time's running out. John Bishop runs security for the company. As a father who once lost a teenaged daughter to an accidental overdose, his drive to hunt down the thieves and rescue their victim grows more intense with every lost minute. He can never bring his own kid back. But he can save someone else's.Which is fine until the company realises that if the swallowed package bursts and Rachel dies, their secrets are kept safe and their problem goes away. Though Bishop's on the trail, he's an easy man to cut loose and discredit. But now he's Rachel's only hope. Either the package will burst, or the boys will cut her open to get it. They're so convinced it will make them rich that they'll kill anyone who tries to take her, and hunt down anyone who succeeds.It can't end well. For somebody.

Gateway

White Bizango

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Rescued from the morgue and a bizarre and unpleasant end, Louisiana detective John Lafcadio owes his life to the Cult Crime Co-ordinators. Known also as the Voodoo Cops, their job is to dispel superstition and nail crimes of ignorance.There's a growing need for their services. A new kind of predator is on the loose. When the middle classes began to adopt vodoun as a lifestyle fad, their doors were opened to a ruthless white male with a command of the religion's darker practical secrets.Hunting down Lafcadio's would-be killer will be no easy task. His victims are also his protectors. And how can Lafcadio hope to identify a man whose eyes he once stared into, but whose face he can't remember?

Gateway

The Painted Bride

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Red, Red Robin

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

When Ruth Lasseter hires an escort to cover for a workplace affair, she lets a deeply disturbed young man into her life. Though she survives the consequence, she's left with the lingering suspicion that he hasn't simply disappeared. He's still out there, taking out his problems on other woman just like her.There was a moment when Ruth had her chance to stop him for good. But she didn't take it.Now she sees that closure-for both of them-lies on the other side of that line.

Gateway

Nightmare, with Angel

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Rain

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Follower

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

The Boat House

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Valley of Lights

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Unquiet Land

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn
Gateway

Chimera

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Seven Dials

The Upside

Abdel Sellou
Authors:
Abdel Sellou
Orion

The Golden Tresses of the Dead

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Flavia de Luce, the twelve-year-old chemist and amateur detective is eager to turn professional. She and her father's valet, Dogger, have founded a detective agency, Arthur Dogger & Associates, and unexpectedly cut into their first case during the revelry at her sister Ophelia's wedding reception.After an eventful ceremony with a missing best man and spontaneous ventriloquist act, spirits are high as Feely and her new husband head for the towering and beautifully iced wedding cake. But as Feely slices into the first piece, a scream rings out - the bridal cake contains a severed human finger. Delighted, Flavia wraps the finger in a napkin and whisks it away to her chemical laboratory. By studying the embalmed skin, the indentation of a ring, and the slope of the fingernail, she'll not only be able to determine the identity of the victim - but also point a finger at a killer.

Orion

To Catch a Killer

Emma Kavanagh
Authors:
Emma Kavanagh
Gollancz

Dark Forge

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Orion

For Better and Worse

Margot Hunt
Authors:
Margot Hunt
W&N

Five Days of Fog

Anna Freeman
Authors:
Anna Freeman
Orion

Phoenix

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

The first novel in the grittily authentic Karen Sharpe series.The 8th April 1996 was a bad day for Karen Sharpe, the eighth anniversary of something so deeply buried she had hoped to forget it ever happened. Each year she tries to cope in whatever way she can. Most years she turns to booze. But this year that wasn't going to work. Sometime after midnight Phil Leech, her DS and partner, is executed in a military style killing, whilst Fiona Mitchell, his pretty 21-year-old informant, ends up on a South Pennine moor with bullets through her face and chest. Karen had been due to meet both when drink and memories intervened, preventing her from getting there. As the investigation begins, odd details keep forcing Karen to examine her own unclear memories. As she follows her instincts, and some very disturbing clues embedded in her own secret history, she must confront her past and act quickly if she is to prevent the seed of destruction planted eight years before from wreaking devastating and brutal consequences.Why readers love John Connor:'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily ExpressFans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:Karen Sharpe1. Phoenix2. Playroom 3. A Child's Game 4. Falling5. Unsafe Standalone1. The Vanishing 2. The Ice House * Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Orion

The Playroom

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

Excellent second novel featuring Yorkshire Detective Constable Karen Sharpe.The daughter of a Bradford judge is kidnapped and a massive, round-the-clock investigation begins. Knowing the chances of Sophie Kenyon surviving will diminish dramatically after the first twenty-four hours, Detective Chief Superintendent John Munro begins to crack under the pressure of holding together an enquiry swamped with leads. Meanwhile, DC Karen Sharpe is pursuing her own single-handed enquiry into historic child abuse allegations: Pamela Mathews says a local MP raped her ten years before. The task of finding corroboration looks hopeless, but Sharpe keeps at it - anything rather than face up to her own tangled personal life, living with a man she doesn't love and caring for a child who thinks she is her aunt. The truth is more complex and frightening, leading back to still unresolved events from a year before.Karen's enquiry uncovers connections with the kidnapping, and, in an explosion of violence and bloodshed, Karen is left fighting not just to find Sophie, but to save herself.Why readers love John Connor:'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax.' Sunday Telegraph'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers.' Mirror'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace.' Irish Independent'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time.' Daily ExpressFans of Harlan Coben, David Baldacci and Linwood Barclay will love John Connor:Karen Sharpe1. Phoenix2. Playroom 3. A Child's Game 4. Falling5. Unsafe Standalone1. The Vanishing 2. The Ice House * Each John Connor novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *