Eric Hobsbawm - Revolutionaries - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Revolutionaries

By Eric Hobsbawm

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A collection of essays concerning revolution and social upheaval.

A collection of essays which represent a lifetime's writing,lectures & thoughts on revolutionary modern political developments throughout Europe.

Biographical Notes

Born in Alexandria in 1917, Eric Hobsbawm was educated in Vienna, Berlin, London and Cambridge. A Fellow of the British Academy and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, he taught for most of his career at Birkbeck College, University of London, where he was Emeritus Professor of Economic and Social History. He is best known for his trilogy of studies on the long 19th century (The Age of Revolution: Europe 1789-1848, The Age of Capital: 1848-1875 and The Age of Empire: 1875-1914). He died in London in October 2012 at the age of ninety-five.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780220529
  • Publication date: 12 May 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
W&N

Syria's Secret Library

Mike Thomson
Authors:
Mike Thomson
W&N

The Book of Unexplained Mysteries

Will Pearson
Authors:
Will Pearson
Orion

Where Love Grows

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley
Orion

Home to Appleby Farm

Cathy Bramley
Authors:
Cathy Bramley

W&N

Daughters of the Winter Queen

Nancy Goldstone
Authors:
Nancy Goldstone
W&N

The Globotics Upheaval

Richard Baldwin
Authors:
Richard Baldwin
Orion Spring

Look Young, Live Longer

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold

Re-programme your mind and build the confidence and motivation you need.In this straightforward, no-nonsense seven-step programme, expert clinical hypnotherapist Glenn Harrold shows you how to re-programme your mind and build the confidence and motivation you need to improve your life - for good.Containing real solutions to real life, Look Young Live Longer includes straightforward, easy-to-follow tools, techniques and guidance on:- Setting weight goals and how to achieve them- Making an exercise plan and improving your health- Boosting your self-esteem and banishing negativity- Establishing healthy sleep patterns - Maintaining positive relationships- Coping with day-to-day stressIt's time to make a lasting change. Become the healthier, fitter and younger you.

W&N

Written in History

Simon Sebag Montefiore
Authors:
Simon Sebag Montefiore
W&N

The Mesmerist

Wendy Moore
Authors:
Wendy Moore

Medicine, in the early 1800s, was a brutal business. Operations were performed without anaesthesia while conventional treatment relied on leeches, cupping and toxic potions. The most surgeons could offer by way of pain relief was a large swig of brandy. Onto this scene came John Elliotson, the dazzling new hope of the medical world. Charismatic and ambitious, Elliotson was determined to transform medicine from a hodge-podge of archaic remedies into a practice informed by the latest science. In this aim he was backed by Thomas Wakley, founder of the new magazine, theLancet, and a campaigner against corruption and malpractice.Then, in the summer of 1837, a French visitor - the self-styled Baron Jules Denis Dupotet - arrived in London to promote an exotic new idea: mesmerism. The mesmerism mania would take the nation by storm but would ultimately split the two friends, and the medical world, asunder - throwing into focus fundamental questions about the fine line between medicine and quackery, between science and superstition.

W&N

Intercept

Gordon Corera
Authors:
Gordon Corera
W&N

The Romanovs

Simon Sebag Montefiore
Authors:
Simon Sebag Montefiore

The Romanovs were the most successful dynasty of modern times, ruling a sixth of the world's surface. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality into the world's greatest empire? And how did they lose it all?This is the intimate story of twenty tsars and tsarinas, some touched by genius, some by madness, but all inspired by holy autocracy and imperial ambition. Montefiore's gripping chronicle reveals their secret world of unlimited power and ruthless empire-building, overshadowed by palace conspiracy, family rivalries, sexual decadence and wild extravagance, and peopled by a cast of adventurers, courtesans, revolutionaries and poets, from Ivan the Terrible to Tolstoy, from Queen Victoria to Lenin.To rule Russia was both imperial-sacred mission and poisoned chalice: six tsars were murdered and all the Romanovs lived under constant threat to their lives. Peter the Great tortured his own son to death while making Russia an empire, and dominated his court with a dining club notable for compulsory drunkenness, naked dwarfs and fancy dress. Catherine the Great overthrew her own husband - who was murdered soon afterwards - loved her young male favourites, conquered Ukraine and fascinated Europe. Paul was strangled by courtiers backed by his own son, Alexander I, who faced Napoleon's invasion and the burning of Moscow, then went on to take Paris. Alexander II liberated the serfs, survived five assassination attempts, and wrote perhaps the most explicit love letters ever written by a ruler. THE ROMANOVS climaxes with a fresh, unforgettable portrayal of Nicholas and Alexandra, the rise and murder of Rasputin, war and revolution - and the harrowing massacre of the entire family.Written with dazzling literary flair, drawing on new archival research, THE ROMANOVS is at once an enthralling story of triumph and tragedy, love and death, a universal study of power, and an essential portrait of the empire that still defines Russia today.

W&N

Labouring Men

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm

The topics covered in this book can be divided into four broad groups: studies of labour conditions up to the middle of the nineteenth century; studies in the 'new trade unionism' of 1889 to 1914; studies in the late nineteenth-century revival of Socialism in Britain; and more general topics covering a wider chronological span. The common factor in this wide-ranging work is that, unlike much other work of labour history, it concentrates on the working classes as such, and on the economic and technical conditions which allowed labour movements to be effective or which prevented their effectiveness.This work is notable not only for its clarity and incisiveness, but also for the richness and variety of the material, which ranges from Marx to Methodism and from labour traditions to the machine breakers.

W&N

Worlds of Labour

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm
W&N

Death To The French

C. S. Forester
Authors:
C. S. Forester
Orion

The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison

The 5:2 Diet is transforming lives worldwide. Thousands are losing weight, improving their health and saving money.Now, The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book makes this lifestyle easier than ever, with recipes that make food on your Fast Days a pleasure. It's packed with easy, delicious dishes, from Great Start Breakfasts to International Favourites, Comfort Food, Super Soups, and even Sweet Treats.This down-to-earth guide by The 5:2 Diet Book author Kate Harrison mixes great recipes with all the humour, money-saving tips and practical advice that made the first book a bestseller. It also explains the science and incredible health benefits of this simple, inspiring approach. This cookbook focuses on fresh, delicious and fast home cooking, with meals that taste nothing like 'diet' food. It includes:. More than 85 recipes, all calorie counted, with dozens more ideas for adapting them to suit your life and budget;. 5:2 Lives: inspirational stories and honest food diaries from real dieters, who share the secrets of their success;. 5:2 Know-How: tips on everything from store cupboard suppers, time-saving gadgets and fitting 5:2 around family life and holidays;. How to 5:2: an updated, easy-to-follow guide to how, and why, you can begin this life-changing plan right now.The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book is the only cookbook you'll ever need to help you lose weight, boost your brain and change your attitude to food forever.

W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'FarrellIn a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

W&N

Rome

Robert Hughes
Authors:
Robert Hughes
W&N

Hombre

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

A classic tale of the American west from the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author.John Russell has been raised as an Apache. Now he's on his way to live as a white man. But when the stagecoach passengers learn who he is, they want nothing to do with him. That is, until outlaws ride down on them and they must rely on Russell's guns and his ability to lead them out of the desert. He can't ride with them, but they must walk with him or die...

W&N

Low Level Hell

Hugh Mills, Robert Anderson
Authors:
Hugh Mills, Robert Anderson

'The best 'bird's eye view' of the helicopter war in Vietnam in print today ... Mills has captured the realities of a select group of aviators who shot craps with death on every mission' R.S. Maxham, Director, US Army Aviation MuseumThe aeroscouts of the 1st Infantry Division have three words emblazoned on their unit patch: Low Level Hell. It was the perfect concise defininition of what those intrepid aviators experienced as they ranged the skies of Vietnam from the Cambodian border to the Iron Triangle. The Outcasts, as they were known, flew low and slow. They were the aerial eyes of the division in search of the enemy. Too often for longevity's sake they found the Viet Cong and the fight was on. These young pilots, who were usually 19 to 22 years old, invented the book as they went along.

W&N

King Charles II

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

Following a youth of poverty and bitter exile after his father's execution, the ousted king first challenged, then made his magnificent escape from, Cromwell's troops before he was eventually restored to his throne in triumph in 1660.Spanning his life both before and after the Restoration, Antonia Fraser's lively and fascinating biography captures all the vitality of the man and the expansiveness of the age.