Mil Millington - A Certain Chemistry - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780753820728
    • Publication date:26 Jan 2006

A Certain Chemistry

By Mil Millington

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Is this love or just oxytocin? The brilliant second novel by the bestselling author of Things my Girlfriend and I Have Argued About

Is this love or just oxytocin? The brilliant second novel by the bestselling author of Things my Girlfriend and I Have Argued About

Tom Cartwright is a ghost-writer: eking out a living in Edinburgh, he is always ready to assumethe persona of a struggling working mother-of-four, or a round-the-world yachtsman, or a 'sensual' aromatherapist - indeed anyone his agent asks him to be, so long as it brings in money. When he is offered the highly lucrative task of ghosting the autobiography of glamorous young soap star Georgina Nye, he and his girlfriend Sara are thrilled: Sara is a big fan of George's and Tom will finally be able to afford some new carpets for their house.

But soon things go awry when Tom finds himself drawn to George by forces outside his control (even though they are inside his own body). Does his relationship with Sara stand a chance in the face of this explosion of chemistry? Is this love or just oxytocin - and is there a difference?

Biographical Notes

Mil Millington is the creator of the cult website www.thingsmygirlfriendandIhavearguedabout.com and co-founder of www.theweekly.co.uk. He writes for various newspapers and magazines and was named by the Guardian as one of the top five debut novelist of 2002. Mil lives in the West Midlands with his girlfriend and their two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780221953
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli

A funny, warm debut novel bringing westernised Indian culture to the fore - perfect for fans of Bridget Jones's Diary and Bend it Like Beckham.Twenty-nine year-old Raina is still unmarried and battling her family's expectations for her future - they think that by now she should have been married in a dream Indian wedding. The pressure reaches new heights when her grandmother, Nani, decides to play matchmaker in order to find her the perfect arranged marriage. Eager not to disappoint her family, Raina goes along with the plan but when the love of her life returns - ex-boyfriend Dev - she's forced to confront her true feelings. As she tries to free herself from the cultural pressures she faces, Raina realises that sometimes you have to disappoint those closest to you in order to forge your own path.Read by Nina Wadia(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake
W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe

A STORY FOR OUR TROUBLED TIMES'Nineteen Eighty-Four crossed with Adrian Mole' Daily Mail'Scarily prophetic about news, freedom and truth' Antonia HodgsonEllis Dau dreams of the West - of London, New York and Ashford, Kent. But he is growing up in Kyrzbekistan, a secretive nation where revolution barely makes the news. A country where the newspapers peddle outright lies, and larger-than-life characters make promises they can't keep.Following his expulsion from school, Ellis is sent to work with his father. His father is editor of The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in their strange, strange land. And it is under threat.As Ellis navigates his collapsing, blacked-out city - and his feelings for the local oligarch's daughter - he realises that some things are worth fighting for. But can he save his family and the newspaper fuelled only by youth, grain spirit and unrequited love?

Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

It's 1984, and summer is scorching the ordinary English village of Heathcote.What's more, a mysterious figure is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows. Dubbed 'The Fox', he knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community believes The Fox is responsible.But as the residents scramble to solve the mystery of Anna's disappearance, little do they know it's their darkest secrets The Fox is really after...Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

Orion

The Last Debutante

Lesley Lokko
Authors:
Lesley Lokko
Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
W&N

Augustown

Kei Miller
Authors:
Kei Miller
Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James

Lizzie has an unfortunate knack for attracting bad luck, but this time she's hit the jackpot. Losing her heart to her boss at the radio station where she works leads directly to losing her job, and with no money in the bank she's forced to swallow her pride and return home to her parents. As if that wasn't bad enough, her mother finds her work at the local care home for the elderly, and it's there that Lizzie meets Mrs Dallimore. In her nineties, Mrs Dallimore also finds herself in a situation which she's reluctantly coming to terms with. Old age has finally caught up with her, and with her life drawing to a close she gives in to the temptation to relive the past by sharing it with Lizzie.She tells Lizzie of the day when, as a young girl, and shortly before the outbreak of World War II, she left her home in America to cross the Atlantic to England where she hoped to meet her English grandparents for the first time. At best she hoped for a family reconciliation, but before long her visit turned into so much more. As Lizzie listens to Mrs Dallimore's story, she begins to realize that she's not the only person to attract bad luck, or make mistakes, and maybe things aren't so bad for her after all . . .

Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

A prehistoric corpse entombed within an Arctic glacier, crying tears of blood.A jungle island overrun by rabid primates - escapees from a research laboratory's Hot Zone.A massive seaplane hidden beneath a mountain, packed with a Nazi cargo of mind-blowing evil.A penniless orphan kidnapped from an African slum, holding the key to the world's survival.Four terrifying journeys. One impossible path. Only one man to attempt it.Will Jaeger. The Hunter.

Orion

A Few of the Girls

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett

What if you had said yes . . . ?Eva and Jim are nineteen, and students at Cambridge, when their paths first cross in 1958. Jim is walking along a lane when a woman approaching him on a bicycle swerves to avoid a dog. What happens next will determine the rest of their lives. We follow three different versions of their future - together, and apart - as their love story takes on different incarnations and twists and turns to the conclusion in the present day.The Versions of Us is an outstanding debut novel about the choices we make and the different paths that our lives might follow. What if one small decision could change the rest of your life?

Orion

Chestnut Street

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
W&N

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple
Authors:
Maria Semple

'Like A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD written by Tina Fey' The 2013 Women's Prize shortlisted, NEW YORK TIMES bestseller.Bernadette Fox is notorious. To Elgie Branch, a Microsoft wunderkind, she's his hilarious, volatile, talented, troubled wife. To fellow mothers at the school gate, she's a menace. To design experts, she's a revolutionary architect. And to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, quite simply, mum. Then Bernadette disappears. And Bee must take a trip to the end of the earth to find her.WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE is a compulsively readable, irresistibly written, deeply touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter's place in the world.

W&N

The Diamond Chariot

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

A stunning and epic finale to the series, pitting Fandorin against both Ninjas and terrorists on the Trans-Siberian Express!The first of the interlinked plotlines is set in Russia during the Russo-Japanese War in 1905. Fandorin is charged with protecting the Trans-Siberian Railway from Japanese sabotage in a pacy adventure filled with double agents and ticking bombs.Then we travel back to the Japan of the late 1870s. This is the story of Fandorin's arrival and life in Yokohama, his first meeting with Masa and the martial arts education that came in so handy later. He investigates the death of a Russian ship-captain, fights for a woman, exposes double-agents in the Japanese police, fights against, and then with the ninjas, and becomes embroiled in a shocking finale that interweaves the two stories and ties up the series as a whole.

Orion

Seasons of My Life

Hannah Hauxwell
Authors:
Hannah Hauxwell

The classic and much-loved memoir by Hannah Hauxwell about life in remote Yorkshire in the 1970s.Hannah Hauxwell first came to the nation's attention on Yorkshire television's award-winning documentary TOO LONG A WINTER, when she captured the hearts and imaginations of millions who were captivated by her ability to single-handedly run her family's farm in an isolated area in Yorkshire. Since the age of 35, following the deaths of her parents and uncle, she lived a self-sufficient life without electricity or running water at Low Birk Hatt Farm. What most enchanted people about Hannah was that she survived sixty years of gruelling work and weather with unimpaired serenity and good humour. Her love of the countryside, her passion for animals and her appreciation of the right values make Hannah a remarkable woman and in this classic book she tells her unique and inspiring story. SEASONS OF MY LIFE is an enduring and affectionate look at rural life in a world where everything is changing.

Orion

Wycliffe and the House of Fear

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley
Orion

Wycliffe and the Four Jacks

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley

Wycliffe might be on holiday, but he still finds himself landed with a murder to solve...Writer David Cleeve lived exactly the way a bestselling novelist should live - in an opulent house set in a beautiful corner of Cornwall. But beneath the successful facade was a private nightmare. For at regular intervals a sinister and mysterious warning was delivered to him: a single playing card, the Jack of Diamonds. Then, one day, the card arrived torn in half - and that night a murder was committed.Chief Superintendent Wycliffe was on holiday in the area but, far from relaxing, he finds himself drawn into the investigation. Before long there is more than just a single mystery to solve. As Wycliffe investigates, he uncovers a double murder, arson, and a whole series of crimes stretching back over many years...