John Gribbin - Schrodinger's Kittens - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781857994025
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2003

Schrodinger's Kittens

And The Search For Reality

By John Gribbin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Accessible exploration of one of the most exciting areas of scientific inquiry - the nature of light.

Accessible exploration of one of the most exciting areas of scientific inquiry - the nature of light.

Following on from his bestseller, SCHRODINGER'S CAT, John Gribbin presents the recent dramatic improvements in experimental techniques that have enabled physicists to formulate and test new theories about the nature of light. He describes these theories not in terms of hard-to-imagine entities like spinning subnuclear particles, but in terms of the fate of two small cats, separated at a tender age and carried to opposite ends of the universe. In this way Gribbin introduces the reader to such new developments as quantum cryptography, through which unbreakable codes can be made, and goes on to possible future developments such as the idea that the ¿entanglement' of quantum particles could be a way to build a STAR TREK style teleportation machine.

Biographical Notes

John Gribbin has a Ph.D in Astrophysics from the University of Cambridge and is now Visiting Fellow at the University of Sussex. His books have been translated into many languages and have won awards both in Britain and the United States. He is a consultant to the New Scientist.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780225999
  • Publication date: 31 Dec 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

Human Errors

Nathan H. Lents
Authors:
Nathan H. Lents

We like to think of ourselves as highly evolved creatures. But if we are evolution's greatest creation, why are we so badly designed? We have retinas that face backward, the stump of a tail, and way too many bones in our wrists. We must find vitamins and nutrients in our diets that other animals simply make for themselves. Millions of us can't reproduce successfully without help from modern science. We have nerves that take bizarre paths, muscles that attach to nothing, and lymph nodes that do more harm than good. And that's just the beginning of the story.As biologist Nathan H. Lents explains, our evolutionary history is a litany of mistakes, each more entertaining and enlightening than the last. As we will discover, by exploring human shortcomings, we can peer into our past, because each of our flaws tells a story about our species' evolutionary history.A rollicking, deeply informative tour of our four-billion-year-long evolutionary saga, Human Errors both celebrates our imperfections - for our mutations are, in their own way, a testament to our species' greatness - and offers an unconventional accounting of the cost of our success.Read by L.J. Ganser(p) Tantor Media 2018

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

If the truth doesn't get him - the lies will.'Two Kinds of Truth is as brilliant as anything Connelly has written. A super-gripping thriller' Evening Standard* * * * *Harry Bosch works cold cases, helping out the under-funded San Fernando police department. When a double murder at a local pharmacy is called in, Bosch is the most seasoned detective on the scene.But with experience, come the ghosts of long-forgotten crimes. A death row inmate claims Bosch framed him, and that new DNA evidence proves it. The LAPD investigators say the case is watertight, leaving Bosch out in the wilderness to clear his name and keep a sadistic killer behind bars.There's only one person he can trust to help prove his innocence: Mickey Haller, The Lincoln Lawyer...As both cases tangle around him, Bosch learns there are two kinds of truth: the kind that won't die and the kind that kills.* * * * *CRIME FICTION DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN BOSCH.'One of the world's greatest crime writers' Daily Mail'Harry Bosch: one of the finest minds in crime fiction' Evening Standard'Crime thriller writing of the highest order' Guardian'A master of the genre' Stephen King'Harry Bosch: one of the most iconic protagonists in crime fiction' Irish Times 'A crime writing genius' Independent on Sunday'Michael Connelly's detective Harry Bosch has been in 19 novels of exceptional quality' The Times'America's greatest living crime writer' Daily Express

W&N

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived

Adam Rutherford
Authors:
Adam Rutherford
W&N

Almost Everyone's Guide to Science

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin

John Gribbin is one of the few science writers who is equally comfortable writing about biology as he is about physics, and this beginner's guide will take the reader through the basics and the fundamental issues of the crucial areas of modern science, from the birth of the universe through to the evolution of our own species, the nature of human behaviour and the workings of our minds.Crucially, the book will not only provide an overview of the central areas in a single volume, but will also explain how the areas link up, what evolutionary theory has to say about how we think, how sub-atomic particles came into being in the Big Bang and atoms in stars.

W&N

The Nature of Sex

Dr Carin Bondar
Authors:
Dr Carin Bondar
Orion

The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison
Gateway

Innervisions

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin
Orion

The Blood Gospel

James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
Authors:
James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
Gateway

The Sixth Winter

John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Authors:
John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Gateway

Brother Esau

John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Authors:
John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Gateway

Ragnarok

John Gribbin, D.G. Compton
Authors:
John Gribbin, D.G. Compton

The day of ice and fire, that brings in its wake devastation to the world. Dr Robert Graham, noted nuclear physicist, has campaigned hard and long for disarmament. Now his patience is at an end. With an ill-assorted handful of desperate, like-minded 'terrorists', he plans to hold the human race to ransom. His bargaining power is terrifying - nothing short of Ragnarok itself. The world governments must listen - or the countdown to nuclear winter has already begun . . .

Gateway

Reunion

John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Authors:
John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Gateway

Father to the Man

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin

Nobel Prize-winning scientist Richard Lee has stirred up fanatical religious hatred with his controversial theory that chimpanzees and humans may have shared a common ancestor as little as three million years ago. When this hatred loses him both his reputation and his beloved colleague Marjorie, Lee retreats into hiding with his experiments and with Adam, an apelike creature thought by some to be Lee's own deformed love-child, or even a kind of Frankenstein's monster.But Adam is growing up, and the astonishing secret of his genetic parentage cannot remain secret forever, especially once investigative journalist Louise Henderson scents a story in the remote Norfolk village where Lee has gone to earth.

Orion

The Devil Colony

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins

Could the founding of America be based on a lie? The truth is hidden within the ruins of a cursed lost colony... An exhilarating Sigma Force thriller.In the Rocky Mountains, a horrible massacre ensues. Bodies are found purposefully positioned to form two symbols. One man recognises the warning behind the gruesome murders: Painter Crowe, director of SIGMA, has seen these symbols before and knows the deaths were a personal threat. One of the victims was his beloved cousin.Crowe joins forces with Commander Grayson Pierce to penetrate the shadowy heart of a dark cabal that has been manipulating American history. But can he discover the truth before it destroys all he holds dear? The truth lies hidden within the ruins of a cursed lost colony - a place known only as The Devil Colony.

Gateway

Double Planet

John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Authors:
John Gribbin, Marcus Chown

The Dragon, an enormous comet, is on a trajectory that will bring it perilously close to an Earth that is still suffering from the scars of a nuclear incident, and from the problems of the Greenhouse Effect. For the optimists - those that remain - it is a sign of change for the better; for others, the comet foreshadows humanity's final doom.But to Francis Reese and the hard-pressed astronauts of the depleted space programme, the Dragon presents a third outrageous, yet irresistible possibility - the transformation of a barren world into a new home for the beleaguered peoples of Earth.

Orion

Trust Your Eyes

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
W&N

Scream of Eagles

Robert K Wilcox
Authors:
Robert K Wilcox

The real Top Gun - the dramatic account of the US Navy's fighter pilots and how they took back the skies over VietnamIn the darkest days of the Vietnam War, the US Navy's kill ratio had fallen to 2:1 - a deadly decline in pilot combat effectiveness. To improve the odds, a corps of hardened fighter pilots founded the Fighter Weapons School, a.k.a. Top Gun. Utilising actual enemy fighter planes in brutally realistic dogfights, the Top Gun instructors dueled with their students and each other to achieve a lethal new level of fighting expertise. The training paid off and the Top Gunners dominated the skies over Vietnam.This gripping account takes you inside the cockpit for an adventure more explosive than any fiction, in the dramatic true story of the legendary military school that has created the most dangerous fighter pilots the world had ever seen.

W&N

The Inner Man

John Baxter
Authors:
John Baxter
W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'FarrellIn a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

Orion

Trigger Time

Mick Flynn
Authors:
Mick Flynn