John Gribbin - Schrodinger's Kittens - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781857994025
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2003

Schrodinger's Kittens

And The Search For Reality

By John Gribbin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Accessible exploration of one of the most exciting areas of scientific inquiry - the nature of light.

Accessible exploration of one of the most exciting areas of scientific inquiry - the nature of light.

Following on from his bestseller, SCHRODINGER'S CAT, John Gribbin presents the recent dramatic improvements in experimental techniques that have enabled physicists to formulate and test new theories about the nature of light. He describes these theories not in terms of hard-to-imagine entities like spinning subnuclear particles, but in terms of the fate of two small cats, separated at a tender age and carried to opposite ends of the universe. In this way Gribbin introduces the reader to such new developments as quantum cryptography, through which unbreakable codes can be made, and goes on to possible future developments such as the idea that the ¿entanglement' of quantum particles could be a way to build a STAR TREK style teleportation machine.

Biographical Notes

John Gribbin has a Ph.D in Astrophysics from the University of Cambridge and is now Visiting Fellow at the University of Sussex. His books have been translated into many languages and have won awards both in Britain and the United States. He is a consultant to the New Scientist.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780225999
  • Publication date: 31 Dec 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
W&N

Human Errors

Nathan H. Lents
Authors:
Nathan H. Lents
W&N

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived

Adam Rutherford
Authors:
Adam Rutherford
W&N

Almost Everyone's Guide to Science

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin

John Gribbin is one of the few science writers who is equally comfortable writing about biology as he is about physics, and this beginner's guide will take the reader through the basics and the fundamental issues of the crucial areas of modern science, from the birth of the universe through to the evolution of our own species, the nature of human behaviour and the workings of our minds.Crucially, the book will not only provide an overview of the central areas in a single volume, but will also explain how the areas link up, what evolutionary theory has to say about how we think, how sub-atomic particles came into being in the Big Bang and atoms in stars.

W&N

Spies of the Balkans

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst

Salonika, 1940. To the bustle of tavernas and the smell of hashish, a secret war is taking shape. In the backrooms of barbers, envelopes change hands, and in the Club de Salonique the air is thick with whispers.Costa Zannis is the city's dashing chief detective - a man with contacts high and low, in the Balkans and beyond. And as unknown ships and British 'travel writers' trickle through the port, he is a man very much in demand. Having helped defeat Italy in the highlands of Macedonia, Zannis returns to a city holding its breath. Mussolini's forces have retreated - for now - but German sights are fixed firmly on the region. And as the situation in Germany worsens, Zannis becomes involved in an audacious plot - smuggling Jews to Istanbul, through the back door of Europe. The British hear he can penetrate the continent's closed borders, and soon Zannis is embroiled in the resistance, and in a reckless love affair that could jeopardise everything. With a remarkable cast of operatives, SPIES OF THE BALKANS is a brilliant espionage novel from Alan Furst.

W&N

How to Create the Perfect Wife

Wendy Moore
Authors:
Wendy Moore
Orion

Trust Your Eyes

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
W&N

Summer Lies

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink

From the author of the internationally acclaimed and bestselling novel, THE READER, a mesmerising collection of stories about about love in all its guises.A conversation between strangers on a long-haul flight will change lives for ever; one night in Baden-Baden will threaten to tear a couple apart; a meeting with an ex-lover will give a divorcee a second chance; holiday lovers will struggle in the harsh reality of daily routine...As Schlink's characters navigate their lives, we discover the many faces of love: the small betrayals, hidden truths and abiding affections. In Schlink's trademark spare prose, we come face to face with the desires and jealousies that define our daily lives, with the fragility of happiness and with the abiding possibility of hope. Tender yet unsentimental, achingly personal yet utterly universal, SUMMER LIES asks what it means to love, to deceive and, ultimately, to be human.

Gateway

Innervisions

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin

Because of the length of time that a voyage takes, knowledge of the purpose and nature of the universe often becomes lost to the succeeding generations of starship occupants. Through the experiences of a woman, and the people she encounters in a journey, the truth of their existence is revealed.

Orion

The Blood Gospel

James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
Authors:
James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell

A modern gothic thriller, perfect for fans of Dan Brown's THE DA VINCI CODESent to explore a subterranean temple revealed after a devastating earthquake in Israel, a trio of experts discover the mummified remains of a crucified girl. But as they excavate, a brutal attack sets them on the run and they're thrust in to a race to recover what was once preserved in the sarcophagus. A book rumoured to have been written by Christ's own hand.Hunted by a force of ancient evil, Dr Erin Granger and her two companions must follow the trail back thousands of years, to a time when ungodly beasts hunted the dark spaces of the world. And here they stumble across a secret sect within the Vatican, one whose existence was painted by Rembrandt himself. A shadowy order known simply as The Sanguines.

Gateway

The Sixth Winter

John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Authors:
John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill

Frank Rhind was lucky. He saw the Ice Dancer and lived. The town of Hays died. And still they didn't believe Dr. William Stovin's warnings. For very many years climatologists had been predicting a change in the world's climate but they always believed that the process would take centuries. Now there was a reason to believe differently. Stovin had staked his career and credibility on trying to persuade the U.S. National Science Council to act, but 15,000 years of warmth had lulled mankind into thinking that climatic history was over. Already it was too late. The new Ice Age had begun.One by one the great northern cities - Chicago, Oslo, Montreal, Moscow, Leningrad - came under siege. Some fell and were evacuated, sending their young, old and sick to crowded areas further south. Crops and animals were destroyed. Governments drew lines of catastrophe across their national maps. Doomsday prophets were in full cry. Technological man was overwhelmed. The world had changed.Some time in the year future the next Ice Age will be triggered off. It could happen in a thousand years' time, or in a century from now. Or it could, quite literally, happen next winter. This book is fiction only because the events described have not yet happened. But it is not science fiction because all the science in the book is fact. When the year arrives that we see the sixth winter resembling 1792 within the space of a decade or so, then the Ice Age will be with us in a matter of weeks - and it will develop very much as described here.

Gateway

Brother Esau

John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Authors:
John Gribbin, Douglas Orgill
Gateway

Ragnarok

John Gribbin, D.G. Compton
Authors:
John Gribbin, D.G. Compton
Gateway

Reunion

John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Authors:
John Gribbin, Marcus Chown

It is over a thousand years since the events of Double Planet, when a group of cosmonauts crashed a comet into the Moon, thereby bringing a potential life-supporting atmosphere to that desolate planet.Tugela is a young girl who has grown up in the austere post-technological society that has settled there in that time, a society dominate by the all-powerful City and its insidious cult of the Eye. As the comets stopped coming, and the atmosphere became increasingly thin, the Priests' power grew with the claim that only their rituals could bring the comets back.But a revolution is brewing among the Moon colony that aims to smash both the City and the poisonous stranglehold of superstition that has been holding it back for so long. Within this violent struggle, Tugela has a vital role to play. When she stumbles into a secret vital to the cause, she soon realises her destiny lies far beyond her homeland, beyond the deadly Forbidden Zone, perhaps even beyond the Moon itself...

Gateway

Father to the Man

John Gribbin
Authors:
John Gribbin
Gateway

Double Planet

John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
Authors:
John Gribbin, Marcus Chown
W&N

James Wong's Homegrown Revolution

James Wong
Authors:
James Wong
Orion

The Devil Colony

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins
W&N

When the Thrill is Gone

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

The economy has hit the PI business hard, and Leonid McGill is getting job offers only from the criminals he's worked so hard to leave behind. So how can he say no to the beautiful young woman who walks into his office with a stack of cash? She's an artist, she tells him, who's escaped poverty via marriage to a rich collector. A rich collector with two ex-wives whose deaths are shrouded in mystery. She says she fears for her life, and needs Leonid's help. Though Leonid knows better than to believe every word, this isn't a job he can afford to turn away.Meanwhile, Leonid's personal life grows ever more chequered: his favourite stepson, Twill, drops out of school for mysteriously lucrative pursuits; his wife takes a new lover, infuriating the old one and endangering the whole family; and Leonid's girlfriend, Aura, is back but intent on some serious conversations ... Is the client at his door who she seems and - if his family's misadventures don't kill him first - will sorting out the woman's crooked tale bring Leonid straight to death's door?

W&N

Restoration London

Liza Picard
Authors:
Liza Picard

'A joy of a book ... It radiates throughout that quality so essential in a good historian: infinite curiosity' ObserverHow did you clean your teeth in the 1660s? What make-up did you wear? What pets did you keep?Making use of every possible contemporary source, Liza Picard presents an engrossing picture of how life in London was really lived in an age of Samuel Pepys, the libertine court of Charles II and the Great Fire of London. The topics covered include houses and streets, gardens and parks, cooking, clothes and jewellery, cosmetics, hairdressing, housework, laundry and shopping, medicine and dentistry, sex education, hobbies, etiquette, law and crime, religion and popular belief. The London of 350 years ago is brought (and sometimes horrifyingly) to life.

W&N

The Kappillan of Malta

Nicholas Monsarrat
Authors:
Nicholas Monsarrat