Tom Mangold and John Penycate - The Tunnels of Cu Chi - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780304367153
    • Publication date:13 Oct 2005

The Tunnels of Cu Chi

A Remarkable Story of War

By Tom Mangold and John Penycate

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The story of an extraordinary campaign in the Vietnam War - fought in a 200-mile labyrinth of underground tunnels and chambers.

The story of an extraordinary campaign in the Vietnam War - fought in a 200-mile labyrinth of underground tunnels and chambers.

The campaign in the tunnels of Cu Chi was fought with cunning and savagery between Viet Cong guerrillas and special teams of US infantrymen called 'Tunnel Rats'. The location: the 200-mile labyrinth of underground tunnels and secret chambers that the Viet Cong had dug around Saigon.

The Tunnel Rats were GIs of legendary skill and courage. Armed only with knives and pistols, they fought hand-to-hand against a cruel and ingenious enemy inside the booby-trapped blackness of the tunnels. For the Viet Cong the tunnel network became their battlefield, their barracks, their arms factories and their hospitals, as the ground above was pounded to dust by American shells and bombs.

Biographical Notes

Tom Mangold (Author)
Tom Mangold has been a senior investigative reporter and war correspondent for BBC TV News and Current Affairs for thirty years and has won numerous awards for his work. He is the author of four bestselling books (THE FILE ON THE TSAR, THE TUNNELS OF CU CHI, COLD WARRIOR and PLAGUE WARS). He is married and lives in West London.

John Penycate (Author)
John Penycate is a television and print journalist. He has reported regularly on-screen for BBC tv's The Money Programme and Panorama over the past twenty years from dozens of countries around the world, and interviewed major political and business leaders. Earlier, he was a globe-trotting Panorama producer. He has written articles for the national press, and co-wrote the non-fiction book Psychopath. He is a visiting lecturer at the journalism departments of London and Westminster Universities. He lives in London, and is active in institutes and societies concerned with the media and public affairs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780226019
  • Publication date: 31 Dec 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Gateway

The Word for World is Forest

Ursula K. Le Guin
Authors:
Ursula K. Le Guin
W&N

Worlds of Labour

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm

A landmark study in the history of working class labour organisations, WORLDS OF LABOUR is a sequel to the author's widely acclaimed LABOURING MEN.WORLDS OF LABOUR is a series of studies that considers the formation and evolution of working classes in the period between the late eighteenth century and the mid-twentieth, scrutinising their 'consciousness', ways of life and the movements they generated. The emphasis throughout the study is on the way labour organisations, policies and ideas were rooted in the everyday reality of working class life. In the process, leading Marxist historian Eric Hobsbawm reveals the daily struggles of working class militants, many of whom are still unknown to the modern world.The result is a book that is expansive in scope, but fluent and clear in detail. It will serve as a valuable source of reference to those with an academic interest in the subject, and as an inspiration to those who simply wish to discover the development of working class movements.

W&N

The Quarrel Of The Age

A.C. Grayling
Authors:
A.C. Grayling

The story of the life and work of England's greatest essayist and key figure in Regency England.William Hazlitt is England's greatest essayist. He was also a philosopher, a painter, a controversialist and a radical, whose critical writings about literature, the theatre and art were ardently admired in his day. He is the author of the first confessional autobiography of sexual passion, a biographer of Napoleon, a friend of, and profound influence upon, Keats, Stendhal, and Charles Lamb, a friend and later enemy of Coleridge, Wordsworth, and De Quincy, and a key figure in the intellectual life of Regency England. His life was lived against the backdrop of the French Revolution and subsequent Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars, with their associated political and literary radicalism in England.

Orion

The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison
W&N

The Inner Man

John Baxter
Authors:
John Baxter

An explosive and perceptive biography of the British novelist J.G. BallardTo many people, J.G. Ballard will always be the schoolboy in Steven Spielberg's movie Empire of the Sun, struggling to survive as an internee of the Japanese during World War II. Others remember him as the author of CRASH, a meditation on the eroticism of the automobile and the car crash, which also became a film and a cause celebre for its frank depiction of a fetish which, as this book reveals, was no literary conceit but a lifelong preoccupation.In this first biography, John Baxter draws on an admiration of and acquaintance with Ballard that began when they were writers for the same 1960s science fiction magazines. With the help of the few people whom he admitted to his often hermit-like existence, it illuminates the troubled reality behind the urbane and amiable facade of a man who was proud to describe himself as 'psychopathic'.

W&N

An Object of Beauty

Steve Martin
Authors:
Steve Martin
W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay
Orion

Trigger Time

Mick Flynn
Authors:
Mick Flynn
W&N

Revolutionaries

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm

A collection of essays which represent a lifetime's writing,lectures & thoughts on revolutionary modern political developments throughout Europe.

W&N

Uncommon People

Eric Hobsbawm
Authors:
Eric Hobsbawm
W&N

The Philosopher's Apprentice

James Morrow
Authors:
James Morrow
W&N

The Wind from the East

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

'This magnificent saga of shipwrecked lives grips from the first sentence and weaves parallel intrigues of memory and survivial, money and revenge, resolved only in the closing pages' IndependentIn a small seaside suburb two strangers arrive - Juan Olmedo, accompanied by his mentally disabled brother and his young niece, and Sara Gomez, an enigmatic woman in her fifties. Both have their reasons for fleeing the city. Sara's father had returned from the Civil war a broken man, unable to support his family. In desperation, her mother was forced to give up the young baby to her childless employer. Growing up amidst a background that would never truly be her own, Sara was forever caught between her love of the good life and her feelings of duty towards a family and a poverty that repelled her. Now Sara has more money than she had ever dreamed of, but her freedom has come at a price. Juan also has his reasons for wanting to start again. A doctor in the local ER unit, he is haunted by a tragedy in his family's past and by a secret sexual obsession that threatens the fragile equilibrium he has found in his new home. An emotional, sensual, sweeping epic saga for fans of Elena Ferrante and Maggie O'Farrell.

W&N

The Long Fall

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Gateway

The Forever War

Joe Haldeman
Authors:
Joe Haldeman

Private William Mandella is a reluctant hero in an interstellar war against an unknowable and unconquerable alien enemy. But his greatest test will be when he returns home. Relativity means that for every few months' tour of duty centuries have passed on Earth, isolating the combatants ever more from the world for whose future they are fighting.

W&N

The Frozen Heart

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes

From the Spanish Maggie O'Farrell, a sweeping epic about the Spanish Civil War. 'A classy blockbuster - a layered saga of family life, rivalry and redemption' GUARDIAN In the small town of Torrelodones on the outskirts of Madrid, a funeral is taking place. Julio Carrión González, a man of tremendous wealth and influence in Madrid, has come home to be buried. But as the family stand by the graveside, his son Alvaro notices the arrival of a stranger -- a young and attractive woman. No one appears to know who she is, or why she is there. Alvaro's questions only deepen when the family inherits an enormous amount of money that is a surprise even to them. In his father's study Alvaro discovers an old folder with letters sent to his father in Russia between 1941 and 1943, faded photos of people he never met and a locked grey metal box. The woman is Raquel Fernández Perea, the daughter of Spaniards who fled during the Civil War. One episode in her past has marked her for ever -- the only time she saw her grandfather cry. Her fate, and that of the family, now hangs on the secrets of Julio's past.From the provincial heartlands of Spain to the battlefields of Russia, THE FROZEN HEART is a mesmerising journey through a war that tore families apart, pitted fathers against sons, brothers against brothers, wives against husbands. Against such a past, where do faith and loyalty lie?

W&N

Kissinger's Year: 1973

Alistair Horne
Authors:
Alistair Horne

The life of Henry Kissinger seen through one seminal year - 1973.1973 was a seminal year in world history. The outbreak of the 'Yom Kippur War' took both Israel and the US by surprise, the Vietnam War finally ended, it was the year of détente with the Soviet Union, but the US executive was in a state of collapse following Watergate, and the year ended with the Muslim-initiated energy crisis, which brought the Western world to the brink of economic disaster - a story of deepest relevance today.This book is the biography of Kissinger - the first he has authorised - viewed through the events of this crucial year. A story of his extraordinarily imaginative aims, his near successes, and, as he admits, his ultimate failures.

W&N

The Cry Of The Sloth

Sam Savage
Authors:
Sam Savage
W&N

The Crimson Rooms

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

Evelyn is struggling to come to terms with the loss of her brother in the Great War, and to make her own way in the world - when a woman arrives with her brother's illegitimate child...Living at home with her mother, aunt, and grandmother, Evelyn is still haunted by the death of her younger brother James in the First World War. She is also determined to make a career for herself as one of the first female lawyers. So when the doorbell rings late one night and a woman appears, claiming to have mothered James's child, her world is turned upside down. Evelyn distrusts Meredith at first, but also finds that this new arrival challenges her work-obsessed lifestyle. So far her legal career has not set the world alight. But then two cases arise that make Evelyn realise perhaps she can make a difference. The first concerns a woman called Leah Marchant whose children have been taken away from her simply because she is poor. The second, Stephen Wheeler, has been charged with murdering his own wife. It is clear that Wheeler is innocent but he won't talk. In the meantime, Meredith makes an earth-shattering accusation about James - and Evelyn falls in love with a man engaged to be married. With the Wheeler case coming to a head, and her heart in limbo, Evelyn takes matters into her own hands...

W&N

The Lighted Rooms

Richard Mason
Authors:
Richard Mason