Ann Widdecombe - An Act of Treachery - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139140
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2011

An Act of Treachery

By Ann Widdecombe

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

AN ACT OF TREACHERY is the second novel by high-profile former MP Ann Widdecombe, whose debut novel, THE CLEMATIS TREE, become a bestseller in 2000.

'A tale of illicit love, hate and loss in occupied France . . . confirming [Ann Widdecombe] as an eloquent storyteller' GLASGOW HERALD

Catherine Dessin, a young French girl living in Paris during the occupation, falls for an older, married German officer. The novel examines the tensions this causes within her family of patriots and resistance workers.

Meanwhile Klaus, the German officer, who is Oxford educated and a professed Anglophile, faces his own moral dilemma as he comes to realise, through his love for Catherine and a tragedy in his own family, the true nature of the regime he is serving.

'A gripping read' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'Widdecombe is to be applauded for the range of her ambition within this book: the admirably large cast of characters is well-handled, their dilemmas are believable and the narrative makes for compulsive reading' THE TIMES

Biographical Notes

Tory MP for Maidstone. In John Major's Government she was Home Office Minister under Michael Howard. Shadow Home Secretary 1997-2001. Unmarried and a Roman Catholic convert. Has been writing since at school where she won essay prizes. Now writing third novel.

Find out more at www.annwiddecombe.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780226828
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

With This Man

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas

Jesse Ward is back in the newest novel in the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling This Man series!Life is good for Jesse 'The Lord' Ward. Perfect, actually. He still has the charm, he's in great shape, and he still reduces his wife, Ava, to a pool of desire with a mere look. He's in full control, just how he likes it.But Jesse's perfect world falls apart when a terrible accident lands Ava in hospital with a life-threatening head injury. Devastated and angry, he feels like his entire existence hangs in the balance. He cannot survive without this woman's love. So when she finally comes around, his shaking world begins to level out. But his nightmare doesn't end there. It's only just begun. Because his wife can't remember the last sixteen years of her life. That's all of him. All of their time together. He is a stranger to her.Now Jesse must do whatever it takes to find her memories . . . and help her fall madly, passionately in love with him all over again.

W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

It's 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

Orion

Chocolat

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

When an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, arrives in the French village of Lansquenet and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church, Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock - especially as it is the beginning of Lent, the traditional season of self-denial.As passions flare and the conflict escalates, the whole community takes sides. Can the solemnity of the Church compare with the sinful pleasure of a chocolate truffle?(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly

A family gathering, a moment of celebration, a time to come together - and fall apart... Recently married Bess should be blissfully happy, but as she plans a party for her husband, the cracks are beginning to show. Jojo, Bess's stepdaughter, has a point to make: Bess has swept into her father's life but she won't ever replace Jojo's late beloved mother. Cousin Cari is a strong career-woman who isn't unnerved by anything - apart from facing the man who left her at the altar - and he's on the guest list. As the party brings them all together, can the Brannigans discover the secrets of a happy marriage before it is too late?Everyone loves Cathy Kelly:'Wise, warm, compassionate and full of characters I loved ... it's like having a great gossip with your best friends' Marian Keyes'This top-notch storyteller once again cuts to the quick of modern women's lives and their relationships' Woman & Home'Entertaining, moving and as vivid as a screenplay' Irish Independent 'A heart-warming story about family, love and loss' The Lady'Love, laughter, tears and understanding are the perfect ingredients for a fabulous read' Sun'An involving, heart-warming read about family, friends, love and disappointment' Fanny Blake Sunday Express Magazine

Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne

From international supermodel and actress Cara Delevingne comes a powerful debut novel about friendship, identity and the fact that appearances can be deceiving...*****'Impressive, with an absolute knockout twist' Cosmopolitan'A riveting page-turner of a thriller...a book with dark passion and heart' The Herald'May well become the most influentialthing Delevingne has ever done' The Edit'With dark twists and turns, this is a great read' Closer'Smart, twisty, poignant and engaging' **** Heat'A fizzing coming-of-age tale with dark themes' Glamour'Bold, brave and fierce...[Delevingne's] ability to empathise with some of the deeper struggles youngsters face is impressive' Independent'Captures the rhythms and textures of teenage lives' Metro'A great read' Bella'Engaging' Daily Telegraph*****FRIEND. LOVER. VICTIM. TRAITOR. WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, WHAT DO YOU SEE? Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music unites them, and they're excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake? What -­ or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? How did her friends fail to spot the warning signs?While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed. Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. * * * * * What readers have to say about Mirror Mirror: 'Super twisty - read this in one night.' Amazon'Loved this - read the whole thing in one day! Amazon'Loved this book - such a gripping read with an amazing twist I did not see coming.' Amazon

W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

Orion

Together

Julie Cohen
Authors:
Julie Cohen
W&N

Father Figure

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe

Ann Widdecombe's controversial novel about the position of men in today's society.Jason Kirk is a 32-year-old teacher who believes he is happily married until he returns home one day to find that his wife has left him, taking their two young children with her. Suddenly Jason finds the role of father denied to him as he is separated from his children and reduced to the role of visitor. The law is weighted against him and his wife produces a series of excuses to withhold contact with Jake, eight, and Leah, three. Jason, who had wanted to bring his children up to maturity on a daily basis, not only has to face the pain of this loss but endures the misery of persecution by the Child Support Agency. He discovers he is not alone and that among his friends and colleagues, there are others enduring the same situation.FATHER FIGURE is an enthralling, thought-provoking novel of modern fatherhood.

Orion

Strictly Ann

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe
Orion

An Act of Peace

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe
Orion

At Home in Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read
Orion

The School At Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

Nothing can be kept secret for long in Thrush Green...For many years, Dorothy Watson and Agnes Fogerty have taught in the school at Thrush Green, so their imminent retirement provokes rumour and speculation. Who will take Miss Watson's place as head teacher? As for replacing little Miss Fogerty, it seems impossible to imagine.There are other issues too. Will Winnie Bailey's eccentric nephew move into the schoolhouse? Who is the strange young man lurking outside The Fuchsia Bush? And what will become of Miss Fogerty's stray cat?The changing seasons reflect the changing face of Thrush Green as old and new friends learn to live happily together.

Orion

Village Centenary

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read
Orion

Battles at Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

The peace of the Cotswold village of Thrush Green is about to be disturbed...Children's voices ring out from the school playground; in the distance there is the gentle hum of a lawnmower; and all around the village, birdsong can be heard. But despite all evidence to the contrary, in the village of Thrush Green feelings are running high... The rector has a plan for the neglected churchyard which doesn't meet with universal approval; there is a clash of personalities at the local school; and someone has returned to the village after an absence of fifty years. Before long, the tranquillity of the Cotswold village is shattered.

Orion

Gossip from Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

Change is afoot in the beautiful Cotswold village of Thrush Green...As the early sunshine begins to warm Thrush Green, it looks as if it is going to be a golden summer. But in this apparently sleepy village, there is a flurry of activity.As Molly Curdle prepares for her new baby, rumour has it that a retirement is planned, and the village schoolteacher is about to make an important decision. And as Thrush Green's vicar sits down to write his sermon, he has no idea of the potential disaster which is unfolding...All is not as idyllic as it seems for the unsuspecting villagers, for change is never far away.

W&N

The Olive Route

Carol Drinkwater
Authors:
Carol Drinkwater
W&N

The Clematis Tree

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe