Ann Widdecombe - An Act of Treachery - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139140
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2011

An Act of Treachery

By Ann Widdecombe

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

AN ACT OF TREACHERY is the second novel by high-profile former MP Ann Widdecombe, whose debut novel, THE CLEMATIS TREE, become a bestseller in 2000.

'A tale of illicit love, hate and loss in occupied France . . . confirming [Ann Widdecombe] as an eloquent storyteller' GLASGOW HERALD

Catherine Dessin, a young French girl living in Paris during the occupation, falls for an older, married German officer. The novel examines the tensions this causes within her family of patriots and resistance workers.

Meanwhile Klaus, the German officer, who is Oxford educated and a professed Anglophile, faces his own moral dilemma as he comes to realise, through his love for Catherine and a tragedy in his own family, the true nature of the regime he is serving.

'A gripping read' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'Widdecombe is to be applauded for the range of her ambition within this book: the admirably large cast of characters is well-handled, their dilemmas are believable and the narrative makes for compulsive reading' THE TIMES

Biographical Notes

Tory MP for Maidstone. In John Major's Government she was Home Office Minister under Michael Howard. Shadow Home Secretary 1997-2001. Unmarried and a Roman Catholic convert. Has been writing since at school where she won essay prizes. Now writing third novel.

Find out more at www.annwiddecombe.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780226828
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

March 1939Christa is the only child of middle-class parents, living a protected life in the London suburbs. She longs for adventure and to break free from the life expected of her. Estelle is the headstrong daughter of a heroine of the Resistance - a woman who disappeared during the Great War, supposedly killed while she was helping two airmen to escape. One of those airmen was Christa's father. But when Estelle goes looking for answers about the mother she never really knew, she finds something unexpected. An intense friendship grows between the two young women and Estelle invites Crista to spend the summer at De Eikenhove, the family farm in Belgium. During that long hot summer, passions run high. Christa meets Estelle's two brothers - steady, dependable golden-haired Pieter and his tempestuous brooding brother Robbe. When war breaks out Christa is forced to return home, but not before she has done something she will regret for the rest of her life. Christa returns to England a changed woman. As the conflict escalates, Estelle decides to follow in her mother's footsteps and joins the Resistance. But what she doesn't know is that her mother was betrayed by someone close to them at De Eikenhove, and that person may betray them once more...(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi
Orion

Where the Missing Go

Emma Rowley
Authors:
Emma Rowley
Orion

The Year that Changed Everything

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton

Welcome to the dark decadence of Dhonielle Clayton's sharp tale of beauty, obsession and magic. . . 'A whip-smart writer with grand, grand talents' - Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist'Breathtakingly beautiful and deeply unsettling' - Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author I AM A BELLE. I CONTROL BEAUTY. In the opulent world of Orléans, the people are born grey and damned, and only a Belle's powers can make them beautiful. Camellia Beauregard wants to be the favourite Belle - the one chosen by the queen to tend to the royal family. But once Camellia and her Belle sisters arrive at court, it becomes clear that being the favourite is not everything she always dreamed it would be. Behind the gilded palace walls live dark secrets, and Camellia soon learns that her powers may be far greater - and far darker - than she ever imagined. When the queen asks Camellia to break the rules she lives by to save the ailing princess, she faces an impossible decision: protect herself and the way of the Belles, or risk her own life, and change the world forever.

Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester

Join old university friends Jenna, Max, Angus, Bertie, Hugo and Sally as they set off for a wintry week of fun, fondue and frivolity on the glamorous Val d'Argent. On the agenda: flirting, drinking, dancing - and a bit of skiing along the way.But once they arrive they are soon waylaid by secret passions, ominous oligarchs, chairlift shenanigans and the sort of social climbing that requires more effort and planning than a solo ascent of Mont Blanc.Clip on your skis, dig out your salopettes, and get ready for some fun on the slopes...

Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

The Guilty Wife

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Orion

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s DublinHandsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work and lost as to how to look after his four children. Broken-hearted, he's tempted to look for the answer at the bottom of a beer glass, and it takes another calamity for him to realise help sometimes comes from the strangest places.With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin who comes to the rescue. Nora's well-ordered life is turned upside down by this brood of children to keep fed, schooled and out of trouble. But underneath the bustle of daily life, they all cherish secret dreams, some of which threaten to tear the family apart.With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again, rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while her older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. But when he takes to the stage, it's the start of a journey that will take him far from home, and right to the kind of trouble he thought he'd outran.A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer

'THE BOY MADE OF SNOW had me compulsively turning the pages to find out the fate of Daniel and his mother. A haunting and thrilling read. I absolutely loved it' Kate Hamer, author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT'An evocative and stunning debut' Jane Harris, author of GILLESPIE AND I'Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking' Rachel Rhys, author of DANGEROUS CROSSING'A beautiful and evocative debut' STYLIST'Affecting' DAILY MAIL In a sleepy English village in 1944, Annabel and her son Daniel live in the shadow of war. With her husband away, an increasingly isolated Annabel begins to lose her grip on reality.When mother and son befriend Hans, a German PoW consigned to a nearby farm, their lives are suddenly filled with thrilling secrets. To Annabel, Hans is an awakening from the darkness that has engulfed her since Daniel's birth. To her son, a solitary boy caught up in the magical world of fairy tales, he is perhaps a prince in disguise. But Hans has plans of his own and will soon set them into motion with devastating consequences.

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

A gripping YA crossover series from a spectacular new voice in the genreDestroyer. Death bringer. Dragon-slayer. I am more weapon than girl.Asha is a dragon-slayer. Reviled by the very people she's sworn to protect, she kills to atone for the wicked deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar. But protecting her father's kingdom is a lonely destiny: no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked. So to unite the fractured kingdom she must marry Jarek, her father's cruel commandant. As the wedding day approaches, Asha longs for freedom. Just when it seems her fate is sealed, the king offers her a way out: her freedom in exchange for the head of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy . . . THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war.

W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

'Completely enchanting... a gentle and unexpected love story whose characters are drawn with tenderness and touching honesty. I loved it. It deserves to fly off the shelves!'RUTH HOGAN, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS'I enjoyed it very much, a really charming love story' CATHY HOPKINS, author of THE KICKING THE BUCKET LISTMarguerite has been living a comfortable but dull existence in a suburban town with her straitlaced husband. When he dies, she realises that life has passed her by.Marcel has been in a loving relationship with Nora since they left Algeria sixty years before. Now that he has lost her, he has lost his way. Marguerite and Marcel come from two very different worlds - one rich, one poor. They never should have met. And yet their paths cross, and a connection forms...But will they manage to overcome the disapproval of their friends and families, as well as their own misgivings? 'This gorgeous, optimistic, often very funny love story is full of the joys and despairs of ageing, and written with a superb simplicity. It's perfect for the young-at-heart.' DAILY MAIL

Orion

Hot Mess

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.1984, EnglandSomeone is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows in the village of Heathcote. What's more, the perpetrator knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community fears she's been kidnapped.But as the villagers search for Anna, it's their own darkest secrets they're desperate to keep hidden...Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.*******Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS:'A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' - DAILY MAIL'I can see why it has been compared to THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP as it has such a warm but heartbreaking feel to it' - Kate, Amazon reviewer'A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken' - WRITING.IE'Explores ideas of loneliness and longing' - THE i NEWSPAPER

Orion

One Summer in Venice

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino