Ann Widdecombe - An Act of Peace - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139164
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2011

An Act of Peace

By Ann Widdecombe

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Enthralling post-war sequel to Ann Widdecombe's second novel, AN ACT OF TREACHERY

Enthralling post-war sequel to Ann Widdecombe's second novel, AN ACT OF TREACHERY

Klaus-Pierre is the love-child of a young Frenchwoman and a senior, married German officer. Klaus-Pierre never knew his father, who was killed before he was born, and his mother was rejected by her family of patriots and resistance workers.

Cared for by his German family, Klaus-Pierre is loved and happy - but as he grows up in a Europe where old enemies are learning to cooperate, he tries to make his own 'Act of Peace' with his French relatives. The result is a horrifying confrontation between the two families when they meet accidentally in Provence.

Meanwhile, Klaus-Pierre is struggling with another quest to come to terms with his roots, as he tries to find out just what kind of man his father really was...

Biographical Notes

Tory MP for Maidstone. In John Major's Government she was Home Office Minister under Michael Howard. Shadow Home Secretary 1997-2001. Unmarried and a Roman Catholic convert. Has been writing since at school where she won essay prizes. Now writing third novel.

Find out more at www.annwiddecombe.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780226835
  • Publication date: 28 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: W&N
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part One: Diving In

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May

This is Part One is a brand new serial from Katie May.In the gorgeous seaside town of Whitstable, brokenhearted Deb begins to swim each day and gathers a new group of friends around her. But can the magic of sea heal the hurt of the past? Or will family ties drag her underwater again?A heart-warming, funny and poignant story of romance, friendship and second chances. It's also a song to the author's home town of Whitstable, where the sea is smooth, the shingle is painful on bare feet, and the air is full of possibilities.

Orion

Together

Julie Cohen
Authors:
Julie Cohen
Orion

Shtum

Jem Lester
Authors:
Jem Lester
Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

'I adored this book!' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things A gorgeous, laugh-out-loud story of friendship, family and forgiveness. The perfect book club read for fans of A Man Called Ove, A Boy Made of Blocks and The Rosie Project.A man who has given up on the world. A family who show him how to live.Forty-something Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his grumpy exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world... for good.'An unashamedly feel-good story.' Miranda Dickinson'Sheer joy.' Lucy Diamond'A much-needed antidote for these worrying times.' Julie Cohen'A moving, funny, absorbing hot chocolate of a story.' Daniela Sacerdoti'Exactly what everyone needs right now.' Rachael LucasWHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT CALLING MAJOR TOM'A delightfully quirky book!''Brilliant!''Wonderful and life affirming''Totally unforgettable'

W&N

An Act of Treachery

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe

AN ACT OF TREACHERY was the second novel by high-profile former MP Ann Widdecombe, whose debut novel, THE CLEMATIS TREE, silenced critics to become a bestseller in 2000.Catherine Dessin, a young French girl living in Paris during the occupation, falls for an older, married German officer. The novel examines the tensions this causes within her family of patriots and resistance workers. Meanwhile Klaus, the German officer, who is Oxford educated and a professed Anglophile, faces his own moral dilemma as he comes to realise, through his love for Catherine and a tragedy in his own family, the true nature of the regime he is serving.

W&N

Father Figure

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe
W&N

Strictly Ann

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe
W&N

The Clematis Tree

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe

Annie Sanders

Annie Sanders is two people. Annie Ashworth and Meg Sanders are television and print journalists who have written an array of non-fiction books and novels together while managing to remain the best of friends. Both live in Stratford-Upon-Avon with their families.

Arturo Perez-Reverte

Arturo Perez Reverte lives near Madrid. Originally a war correspondent, he now writes fiction full time. His novels include THE FLANDERS PANEL, THE CLUB DUMAS, THE FENCING MASTER, THE SEVILLE COMMUNION, THE NAUTICAL CHART, THE QUEEN OF THE SOUTH and the bestselling CAPTAIN ALATRISTE series. In 2003 he was elected to the Spanish Royal Academy. His website can be visited at www.perez-reverte.com

B.W. Jones

Brandon Jones is a sculptor and musician who lives in Hawaii. ALL WOMAN AND SPRINGTIME is his first novel.

Belle de Jour

Belle de Jour is the nom de plume of a former London call girl. Find Belle online at belledejour-uk.blogspot.com.

Brenda Reid

Brenda Reid was an award winning producer at the BBC before becoming Head of Drama at Anglia Television. She worked with, amongst others, Rose Tremain, Alan Bennett, Jilly Cooper, P.D. James, Fay Weldon and Lynda la Plante. She was also the executive producer of the popular series Ballykissangel. Brenda now divides her time between the Welsh borders, her children's houses in London and her village house in Crete.

Bryan Appleyard

Born in 1951, Bryan Appleyard attended King's College, Cambridge. He writes for numerous publications including VANITY FAIR, THE NEW YORK TIMES, THE SPECTATOR and THE SUNDAY TIMES.http://www.bryanappleyard.com/https://twitter.com/BryanAppleyardhttp://www.youtube.com/MrBryanappleyard

C.C. Humphreys

C.C. Humphreys was born in Toronto and grew up in Los Angeles and London. A third generation actor and writer on both sides of his family, he is married and lives on Salt Spring Island, Canada. www.cchumphreys.com

C. S. Forester

Cecil Scott Forester was born in 1899 in Cairo and educated in England. He went to Hollywood during the opening years of World War II to help write and produce 'propaganda' films that would convince U.S. filmgoers that the they should take the side of the British and Allies in the War, which led to such films as Eagle Squadron (1941). He is most famous for his celebrated Hornblower series. He died in 1966.

Carla Buckley

Carla Buckley was born in Washington, D.C. She has worked as an assistant press secretary for a U.S. senator, an analyst with the Smithsonian Institution, and a technical writer for a defense contractor. She lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with her husband, an environmental scientist, and their three children. She has been nominated for a Thriller Award as a Best First novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction.

Carol Drinkwater

Best known for her role as Helen Herriot in BBC Television's ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL (for which she was awarded THE VARIETY CLUB TELEVISION PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR AWARD), Carol Drinkwater has enjoyed a long and distinguished career as both an actress and writer. During her acting career she has worked in film, television and theatre. Her credits include working with Laurence Olivier at the National Theatre and Stanley Kubrick on A CLOCKWORK ORANGE. Carol is the author of six bestselling memoirs: THE OLIVE FARM, THE OLIVE SEASON, THE OLIVE HARVEST, THE OLIVE ROUTE, THE OLIVE TREE and RETURN TO THE OLICE FARM. Carol worked with UNESCO on a lavish documentary film series inspired by her two most recent books, THE OLIVE ROUTE and THE OLIVE TREE. The series is both travel and history based and will follow an Olive Heritage Trail around the Mediterranean Basin. The aim is to celebrate the cultural heritage of this sacred tree. The first transmissions will be in Canada in February and in Germany in April 2013.

Chris Wooding

Chris Wooding is a full time, award-winning novelist, a YA novelist, and a professional script writer for film and TV. He has travelled extensively, plays bass and guitar (and has recorded several albums) and his novels have been published all over the world.He has penned the Braided Path trilogy, a standalone novel (The Fade) and the Tales of the Ketty Jay series for Gollancz, all of which were critical and commercial successes.Chris Wooding lives in Kent, and you can learn more at www.chriswooding.com.

Elaine Crowley

Elaine Crowley was born in Dublin, and also lived in England, Egypt and Germany. She had a variety of occupations, including being an apprentice tailor and an Avon lady, doing a stint in ATS, and working in the personnel department of British Steel. In addition to numerous articles, Elaine wrote many successful novels and a collection of short stories.