Ann Widdecombe - Father Figure - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139157
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2011

Father Figure

By Ann Widdecombe

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes, a controversional novel about modern fatherhood. 'Authentic, distressing and unexpectedly touching' Jane Shilling, EVENING STANDARD

Ann Widdecombe's controversial novel about the position of men in today's society.

Jason Kirk is a 32-year-old teacher who believes he is happily married until he returns home one day to find that his wife has left him, taking their two young children with her. Suddenly Jason finds the role of father denied to him as he is separated from his children and reduced to the role of visitor.

The law is weighted against him and his wife produces a series of excuses to withhold contact with Jake, eight, and Leah, three. Jason, who had wanted to bring his children up to maturity on a daily basis, not only has to face the pain of this loss but endures the misery of persecution by the Child Support Agency. He discovers he is not alone and that among his friends and colleagues, there are others enduring the same situation.

FATHER FIGURE is an enthralling, thought-provoking novel of modern fatherhood.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780226842
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

The Colour of Lies

Lezanne Clannachan
Authors:
Lezanne Clannachan
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO PROTECT YOUR PRIVILEGED EXISTENCE?A Double Life is a razor-sharp take on privilege, wealth and class - The Secret History meets Big Little Lies and Leïla Slimani's Lullaby.Claire is a hardworking doctor living a simple, quiet life in London. She is also the daughter of the most notorious murder suspect in the country, though no one knows it.Nearly thirty years ago, while Claire and her infant brother slept upstairs, a brutal crime was committed in her family's townhouse. Her father's car was found abandoned near the English Channel the next morning, with bloodstains on the front seat. Her mother insisted she'd seen him in the house that night, but his powerful, privileged friends maintained his innocence. The first Lord accused of murder in more than a century, he has been missing ever since.When the police tell Claire they've found her father, her carefully calibrated existence begins to fracture. She doesn't know if she's the daughter of a murderer or a wronged man, but Claire will soon learn how far she'll go to finally find the truth.Praise for Flynn Berry and her first novel Under the Harrow:'Thrilling' NEW YORK TIMES'Berry transfixes the reader' GUARDIAN'The book's triumph is Nora's voice' THE SUNDAY TIMES'An exquisitely taut and intense debut' WASHINGTON POST'Like Broadchurch written by Elena Ferrante' CLAIRE MESSUD, AUTHOR OF THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS'Compulsively readable' ROSAMUND LUPTON, AUTHOR OF SISTER

Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
W&N

The White Devil

Domenic Stansberry
Authors:
Domenic Stansberry
Orion

The Last of Us

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings
Orion

My Mamma Mia Summer

Annie Robertson
Authors:
Annie Robertson

Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery

'Welcome to Our Life in a Day - a new game devised by Esme, for Tom,' she said, grinning. 'If you play it right, over the next couple of hours you'll revisit every significant moment from the ten years we've spent together. You'll experience every moment of us.'On their tenth anniversary, Esme and Tom play a game.Tom must pick twenty-four of the most significant moments from their time together - one for each hour in a day, from 12pm to 12am.The rules are simple, and this time Tom is determined to play by them.But no relationship is perfect.And every game must have a loser . . .

W&N

Little Eve

Catriona Ward
Authors:
Catriona Ward

Eve and Dinah are everything to one another, never parted day or night. They are raised among the Children, a community of strays and orphans ruled by a mysterious figure they call Uncle. All they know is the grey Isle of Altnaharra which sits in the black sea off the wildest coast of Scotland. Eve loves the free, savage life of the Isle and longs to inherit Uncle's power. She is untroubled save by her dreams; of soft arms and a woman singing. Dinah longs for something other.But the world is at war and cannot be kept at bay. As the solitude of Altnaharra is broken, Eve's faith and sanity fracture. In a great storm, in the depths of winter, as the old year dies, the locals discover a devastating scene on the Isle.Eve and Dinah's accounts of that night contradict and intertwine. As past and present converge, only one woman can be telling the truth. Who is guilty, who innocent?

W&N

I Want What I Want

Geoff Brown
Authors:
Geoff Brown
Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

THE HUNT IS ON FOR JAEGERRuth - his wife - has been kidnapped, and after a secret Nazi cache of uranium goes missing, it seems the enemy is on the move once more.That much uranium in enemy hands could devastate the world. It's up to Jaeger and his team to stop them before their worst fears are realised. But they are always one step ahead, pushing Jaeger to the limit of his endurance. The danger is real, and the people who hold Ruth have a score to settle. It's a race against time.And the clock is ticking . . .

W&N

The Map of Salt and Stars

Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
Authors:
Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar
Trapeze

Beautiful Liars

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter

"I saw you, and I knew instantly that I could grow old with you. We'd be future-proof." When Rachel and Aidan fell in love, they thought it was forever.She was a brilliant, high-flying scientist. He was her loving and supportive husband.Now she's gone, and Aidan must carry on and raise their daughter alone.But Rachel has left behind her life's work, a gift of love to see them through the dark days after her death.A gift called iRachel.The After Wife is an emotional story about love, loss, longing and belonging. For readers who loved The Time Traveller's Wife, Me Before You and The Lovely Bones.

Orion

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

A dark, twisty psychological thriller set in paradiseAmber wakes up in a Vietnamese hospital; she has been left for dead on the holiday of a lifetime after a night-time swim in the picturesque So Den caves.We flashback to her fairytale wedding with Ollie, where a mystery guest puts in motion a change of events that will lead to murder.Unable to come to terms with the police's version of events, Amber returns to the scene of the crime. She remembers that there was another couple during the night of the murder. And the killer is still out there...

Orion

Where the Missing Go

Emma Rowley
Authors:
Emma Rowley

'I absolutely loved this gripping thriller - one of my favourite books of this year' Goodreads reviewA gripping high-concept, twisty psychological thriller for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall, CLOSE TO HOME by Cara Hunter, and THE GUILTY WIFE by Elle Croft.*****************MY NAME IS KATE.I volunteer at a missing persons helpline - young people who have run away from home call me and I pass on messages to their loved ones, no questions asked.I don't get many phone calls, and those I do are usually short and vague, or pranks.But today a girl named Sophie called.I'm supposed to contact her parents to let them know their child is safe.The problem is, Sophie isn't safe.AND SOPHIE IS MY DAUGHTER.*****************If you like Clare Mackintosh, Katie Marsh, Kerry Fisher, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, Cara Hunter or Lisa Jewell then you will be utterly gripped by this psychological thriller with a massive twist you won't see coming.READERS LOVE WHERE THE MISSING GO:'A blinding thriller with a creepy edge.' Goodreads review'An amazingly gripping read, I found this book really hard to put down' Goodreads review'What a book!! My heart was pounding so often and so hard I was afraid of collapse' Goodreads review'An incredible thrill-ride of a read' Goodreads review

Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt

'Echoes of David Mitchell, Jodi Picoult and John Green' GRAZIA*****A story about love, loss and finding hope - against all odds.Rob Coates can't believe his luck. There is Anna, his incredible wife, and most precious of all, Jack, their son, who makes every day an extraordinary adventure. Rob feels like he's won the lottery of life. Or rather - he did. Until the day it all changes when Anna becomes convinced there is something wrong with Jack.Now Rob sleepwalks through his days, unable to bridge the gulf that separates him from his wife, his son and the business of living. But he's determined to come to terms with what's happened-and find a way back to life, and forgiveness.We Own the Sky will resonate with anyone who has ever suffered loss or experienced great love. Luke Allnutt shows that the journey from hope to despair and back is never as simple as we think, and that even the most thoroughly broken heart can learn to beat again.****Praise for We Own The Sky'A beautiful, hugely emotional story.' - The Sun'A heartbreaking read about love and loss.' - Bella Magazine'Prepare to have your heart wrenched by this emotion-drenched story.' - Sunday Mirror'This tender depiction of a father's love for his son is utterly heartbreaking and will stay with you long after the book has finished.' - The Express'Deeply affecting. A beautiful, remarkable book.' - Lucy Diamond, author of The Secrets of HappinessUtterly beautiful, heartbreaking and ultimately uplifting. - Rachael Lucas, author of The State of GraceWhat an incredible book this is - such gut-wrenching honesty and depth of emotion. Anyone who wishes David Nicholls would write faster needs to grab this with both hands. It's a truly stunning achievement. - Jill MansellBeautifully rendered and profoundly moving, We Own the Sky illustrates the lengths we'll go to for those we love. Luke Allnutt is a major new talent in fiction and his debut is not to be missed. - Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences*****What readers are saying about We Own The Sky:Emotional and moving. - 5* review, AmazonThis is a truly beautiful story told from the heart and written with such great feeling. - 5* review, AmazonI loved this book for its honesty, it's rawness and for its abundance of pure love. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it will, I know, stay with me for a very long time. - 5* review, AmazonWe Own The Sky by Luke Allnutt is a story about despair and fear, but it is also sprinkled throughout with hope and love - the love one has for their child and how far you would go for them. A stunning debut and should be on everyone's to-read list this year. - 5* review, Amazon

Orion

Valentine's Day at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe
Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
W&N

Sharp Objects

Gillian Flynn
Authors:
Gillian Flynn