Ann Widdecombe - Father Figure - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409139157
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2011

Father Figure

By Ann Widdecombe

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes, a controversional novel about modern fatherhood. 'Authentic, distressing and unexpectedly touching' Jane Shilling, EVENING STANDARD

Ann Widdecombe's controversial novel about the position of men in today's society.

Jason Kirk is a 32-year-old teacher who believes he is happily married until he returns home one day to find that his wife has left him, taking their two young children with her. Suddenly Jason finds the role of father denied to him as he is separated from his children and reduced to the role of visitor.

The law is weighted against him and his wife produces a series of excuses to withhold contact with Jake, eight, and Leah, three. Jason, who had wanted to bring his children up to maturity on a daily basis, not only has to face the pain of this loss but endures the misery of persecution by the Child Support Agency. He discovers he is not alone and that among his friends and colleagues, there are others enduring the same situation.

FATHER FIGURE is an enthralling, thought-provoking novel of modern fatherhood.

Biographical Notes

Tory MP for Maidstone. In John Major's Government she was Home Office Minister under Michael Howard. Shadow Home Secretary 1997-2001. Unmarried and a Roman Catholic convert. Has been writing since at school where she won essay prizes. Now writing third novel.

Find out more at www.annwiddecombe.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780226842
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

It's 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt

A story about love, loss and finding hope-against all odds.Rob Coates can't believe his luck. There is Anna, his incredible wife, and most precious of all, Jack, their son, who makes every day an extraordinary adventure. Rob feels like he's won the lottery of life. Or rather-he did. Until the day it all changes when Anna becomes convinced there is something wrong with Jack.Now Rob sleepwalks through his days, unable to bridge the gulf that separates him from his wife, his son and the business of living. But he's determined to come to terms with what's happened-and find a way back to life, and forgiveness.We Own the Sky will resonate with anyone who has ever suffered loss or experienced great love. Luke Allnutt shows that the journey from hope to despair and back is never as simple as we think, and that even the most thoroughly broken heart can learn to beat again.(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

W&N

Pirates of the Levant

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne
Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
W&N

The Eye of the Reindeer

Eva Weaver
Authors:
Eva Weaver
Trapeze

The Whitstable High Tide Swimming Club: Part One: Diving In

Katie May
Authors:
Katie May

'Warm, wise and funny' Rachael Lucas. Part One of a brand new summery story about sea, sunshine and second chances * * * * * In the gorgeous seaside town of Whitstable, brokenhearted Deb begins to swim each day and gathers a new group of friends around her. But can the magic of sea heal the hurt of the past? Or will family ties drag her underwater again? A heart-warming, funny and poignant story of romance, friendship and second chances. It's also a song to the author's home town of Whitstable, where the sea is smooth, the shingle is painful on bare feet, and the air is full of possibilities.

Trapeze

Calling Major Tom

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

'I adored this book!' Ruth Hogan, The Keeper of Lost Things * * * * *AS FEATURED ON THE GUARDIAN - THE HEARTWARMING EBOOK BESTSELLER Forty-something Thomas is very happy to be on his own, far away from other people and their problems. But beneath his grumpy exterior lies a story and a sadness that is familiar to us all. And he's about to encounter a family who will change his view of the world... for good.* * * * *'An unashamedly feel-good story.' Miranda Dickinson'Sheer joy.' Lucy Diamond'A much-needed antidote for these worrying times.' Julie Cohen'A moving, funny, absorbing hot chocolate of a story.' Daniela Sacerdoti'Exactly what everyone needs right now.' Rachael Lucas'Believable, funny and a proper tear jerker - five stars' Tracy Bloom

Orion

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Orion

Weddings In Burracombe

Lilian Harry
Authors:
Lilian Harry

A heart-warming visit to the village of Burracombe where, whatever life might throw at you - strangers, surprises, love, change - you can always rely upon your neighbours and friends.Devon, 1954. The villagers of Burracombe pull together to help each other through the tough times but now it's summer, and a time to celebrate love and new life. Even so, there are still a few surprises to come...At Burracombe Barton, Hilary Napier is doing her best to keep the estate ticking along, all the while longing for a man she cannot have. She welcomes help from young Patsy Shillabeer - but Patsy is more headstrong than she first appears, and there's trouble brewing.And all is not well in the village school, where a strict new teacher appears to be making the lives of the little ones a misery. And almost everyone is missing their beloved teacher Stella, still in hospital after the accident that nearly killed her.As the first crocuses bring colour and the promise of change back to Burracombe, the villagers help each other through the hardships. For, while the course of true love never did run smooth for anyone, in Burracombe there are weddings to plan and it won't be long before everyone in this very special village comes together in a joyful celebration of love, life and the things that matter most.

W&N

Golden Boy

Abigail Tarttelin
Authors:
Abigail Tarttelin
Orion

The Last Tycoon

F. Scott Fitzgerald
Authors:
F. Scott Fitzgerald

A mesmerising and lavish story of Hollywood's Golden Age from the author of The Great Gatsby.1930s Hollywood. The depression has receded, the studios are booming, and the glitz and glamour are bewitching. But for Cecilia Brady, this is just life. That is, until she meets Monroe Stahr...Stahr is at the centre of it all. A genius production chief in the Golden Age of Hollywood. Cecilia is mesmerised. But Stahr's attentions are caught elsewhere - in the arms of a mysterious woman - and Cecilia watches as a passionate but doomed love affair unfolds.Little by little, Stahr loses his grasp on this fickle world. Fighting with his writers and declaring war on the Union bosses, he is saved from tragedy only by Fitzgerald's own death.Although THE LAST TYCOON will forever remain unfinished, it is a work of unrivalled potential, exposing a Hollywood we no longer know. One of stars in ascension, and the great picture men in free fall.

Orion

Strictly Ann

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe
Orion

Taken

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais
W&N

American Dervish

Ayad Akhtar
Authors:
Ayad Akhtar

A stirring and explosive debut novel about an American Muslim family's struggle with faith and belonging. Hayat Shah was captivated by Mina long before he met her: his mother's beautiful, brilliant friend is a family legend. When he learns that Mina is leaving Pakistan to live with the Shahs in America, Hayat is thrilled.Hayat's father is less enthusiastic. Ever wary of fundamentalism, he doesn't relish the idea of Mina's fervid devotion under his roof. What no one expects is that when Mina shows Hayat the beauty of the Quran, it will utterly transform him.Mina's real magic may be that the Shah household becomes a happy one. But when Mina catches the eye of a Jewish doctor and family friend, Hayat's jealousy is inflamed by the community's anti-Semitism - and he acts with catastrophic consequences for those he loves most.

Orion

The Sentry

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais

When you're in mortal danger who can you trust to watch over you? Joe Pike is THE SENTRY in this explosive novel.After the nightmare of Hurricane Katrina, Dru Rayne and her uncle relocated to Los Angeles. Five years later, their struggling restaurant faces a different danger. When Joe Pike witnesses Dru's uncle beaten by a neighbourhood gang, he offers his own brand of protection, but neither Dru nor her uncle want his help. And neither do the federal agents mysteriously watching their store . . .But Pike is falling for Dru, and won't back away whether she wants his help or not. As the violence escalates, Joe discovers Dru and her uncle are not who they seem - and now a vengeful, murderous force from their past is catching up with them...

W&N

The Clematis Tree

Ann Widdecombe
Authors:
Ann Widdecombe

'You want to go on reading, you want to know what happens; it isn't easy to put down' Ruth Rendell A powerful novel about a family, and how their lives are torn apart in a single, devastating moment.Mark and Claire seem an ideal couple. He is an accountant, she the daughter of a successful businessman. They live in a comfortable middle-class village in Surrey. Then, during a party for their daughter Pippa's baptism, their son Jeremy is knocked down on the road outside. It is their worst nightmare, something they thought could never happen, and the consequences will affect each one of them more than they could possibly imagine. What is Claire's guilty secret, and can her wealthy, self-made father help? Will Mark, desperate to escape, have the nerve to leave? And how will Pippa be affected by the turmoil that began on the day of her own christening?'A compelling story about the way a family copes with a catastrophe' THE TIMES'A delight, a very polished read' CATHOLIC HERALD'An accomplished first novel' TATLER'Humane, thoughtful' HARPERS AND QUEENS