John Ironmonger - Not Forgetting The Whale - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297608226
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409157991
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2015

Not Forgetting The Whale

By John Ironmonger

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From the author of THE NOTABLE BRAIN OF MAXIMILIAN PONDER and THE COINCIDENCE AUTHORITY, a book about humanity, love . . . and a whale. Includes reading-group notes.

If you were looking for the perfect escape, where would you go? This is the heartwarming story of one man who has given up hope and the village that gives it back to him.

When a young man washes up, naked, on the sands of St Piran in Cornwall, he is quickly rescued by the villagers. From the retired village doctor and the beachcomber, to the priest's flirtatious wife and the romantic novelist, they take this lost soul into their midst. But what the villagers don't know is that Joe Haak is a city analyst who has fled London, fearing he may - inadvertently - have caused a global financial collapse.

But is the end of the world really nigh? And what of the whale that lurks in the bay? Intimate, funny and heart-warming, Not Forgetting the Whale is a story about community, the best and worst in our nature, and the search for a place to call home.

'Fun, uplifting, charming' Financial Times

'A warm-hearted book crammed with ideas . . . very, very good' Emerald Street

'A tremendously enjoyable book' Independent on Sunday

Biographical Notes

John Ironmonger was born and grew up in East Africa. He has a doctorate in zoology, and was once an expert on freshwater leeches. He is the author of THE GOOD ZOO GUIDE and the novels THE NOTABLE BRAIN OF MAXIMILIAN PONDER, which was shortlisted for the 2012 Costa First Novel Prize and the GUARDIAN's NOT THE BOOKER PRIZE, and THE COINCIDENCE AUTHORITY. He was part of a world record team for speed reading Shakespeare and once drove across the Sahara in a £100 banger. He lives in rural Shropshire with his wife Sue and has two grown-up children. Follow him on Twitter @jwironmonger or visit his website http://notablebrain.blogspot.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780227986
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: W&N
a warm-hearted book crammed with interesting ideas. It's a book full of doomsday predictions with a Cityboy in a starring role that makes the world seem like a more hopeful place. It's also very, very good. — EMERALD STREET
This is a tremendously enjoyable book. And as the front pages crowd with headlines that grow ever more grim, Not Forgetting the Whale offers a very welcome alternative. — Marianne Levy, INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY
An intriguing and thought-provoking story — CANDIS
An exciting and moving read — ESSENTIALS
The lives of the residents in sleepy St Piran is changed when a man washes up, half drowned, on the shore of the Cornish seaside village. — THE TIMES
It's easy to see this simply as a modern interpretation of the story of Jonah and the whale, but this charming tale by John Ironmonger.. is considerably more complex.. it's a love story of sorts and, above all, it's about hte innate goodness of people and our connections with the wider world — PRESS ASSOCIATION
A gentle and uplifting tale of warding off apocalypse in a remote corner of Cornwall . . . charming — FINANCIAL TIMES
This book achieves what should be impossible: a heart-warming dystopia. Forget everything you know about apocalypses. This novel, set in Cornwall, will restore your faith in humanity. — ELLE UK
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

It's 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings
Orion

Untitled Vine 2 of 2

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Orion

The Year That Changed Everything

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Orion

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester

Join old university friends Jenna, Max, Angus, Bertie, Hugo and Sally as they set off for a wintry week of fun, fondue and frivolity on the glamorous Val d'Argent. On the agenda: flirting, drinking, dancing - and a bit of skiing along the way.But once they arrive they are soon waylaid by secret passions, ominous oligarchs, chairlift shenanigans and the sort of social climbing that requires more effort and planning than a solo ascent of Mont Blanc.Clip on your skis, dig out your salopettes, and get read for some fun on the slopes...

Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell

What if your child committed the ultimate crime?****************When a rural village school building collapses, only one child survives: Dog Evans.To his own mother and father, Dog becomes a daily reminder of their survivor's guilt. To the other parents he is a hated and feared emblem of their unbearable loss.Now, seven years after the tragedy, Dog's parents have abandoned him. And with no one to protect him, the broken community's desire for justice soon becomes unstoppable...Uncompromising and powerful, THE WRONG CHILD is a heartbreaking - but ultimately hopeful - portrayal of loss and grief in an unimaginable situation. A must-read for fans of THE BAD SEED by William March, WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN and WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE by Shirley Jackson.****************Praise for THE WRONG CHILD and Barry Gornell:'Genuinely gripping' - THE HERALD'Original and beautiful' - HELEN FITZGERALD, author of Viral, Dead Lovely and The Cry'Astonishing' - PSYCHOLOGIES'[An] uncompromising story of grief, anger, abandonment and decay' - SCOTS MAGAZINE'So visceral it seeps into your pores' - DAILY RECORD'Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic' - BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author of THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER

Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne

From international supermodel and actress Cara Delevingne comes a powerful debut novel about friendship, identity and the fact that appearances can be deceiving...*****FRIEND. LOVER. VICTIM. TRAITOR. WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, WHAT DO YOU SEE? Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music unites them, and they're excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake? What -­ or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? How did her friends fail to spot the warning signs?While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed. Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. *****'Impressive, with an absolute knockout twist' Cosmopolitan

W&N

Dinner at the Centre of the Earth

Nathan Englander
Authors:
Nathan Englander
W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert

'Completely enchanting... a gentle and unexpected love story whose characters are drawn with tenderness and touching honesty. I loved it. It deserves to fly off the shelves!'RUTH HOGAN, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGSMarguerite has been living a comfortable but dull existence in a suburban town with her straitlaced husband. When he dies, she realises that life has passed her by.Marcel has been in a loving relationship with Nora since they left Algeria sixty years before. Now that he has lost her, he has lost his way. Marguerite and Marcel come from two very different worlds - one rich, one poor. They never should have met. And yet their paths cross, and a connection forms...But will they manage to overcome the disapproval of their friends and families, as well as their own misgivings? 'This gorgeous, optimistic, often very funny love story is full of the joys and despairs of ageing, and written with a superb simplicity. It's perfect for the young-at-heart.' DAILY MAIL

Orion

A Question of Blood

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Perception

Terri Fleming
Authors:
Terri Fleming
Orion

Together

Julie Cohen
Authors:
Julie Cohen

W&N

Pirates of the Levant

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

The King's Gold

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

The Sun Over Breda

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte

The third in the bestselling Captain Alatriste series.Flanders, 1625. After his tussles with the Inquisition and the intrigue of the Spanish court, Captain Alatriste has returned to the mud and desperation of the long war in Flanders. This is Iñigo's first experience of war and the realities of hand to hand combat. It is on the battlefield that he will finally have the chance to become a man and prove his worth.The troops are weary and ill-nourished and the winter has been long. As Spain sinks ever further into depravity and corruption, the soldiers have not been paid and must survive by whatever ways they can. Mutiny is in the air, but the Spaniards are strong and their famous iron discipline has brought them many victories against the Calvinist forces of the heretics. Reputation, honour, and the glory of Spain will keep them in the fight, but for how long? Meanwhile, the Captain's trusted friend Quevedo's star is rising at court and he keeps Alatriste appraised of the machinations of his arch-enemy Luis de Alquézar and the notorious assassin with the black heart, Gualterio Malatesta.

W&N

Purity of Blood

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte
W&N

Captain Alatriste

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Authors:
Arturo Perez-Reverte