Sven Hassel - Comrades of War - Orion Publishing Group

Comrades of War

By Sven Hassel

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A sobering depiction of war's brutalities, and the violence and inhumanity that the history books leave out, now relaunched with a stunning new look.

There were not so much people as animals. Sometimes small and frightened, huddling together in cattle cars, wounds gaping, tongues swelling even as they licked the moist frost from the walls...

Grievously wounded - having survived the operating table and the perilous journey West on a freezing freight train - Sven Hassel and his comrades find themselves behind the lines in a Hamburg hospital.

The Reich is a hotbed of lies, betrayal and propaganda. Disgusted by the Nazi cause, the comrades drink themselves into oblivion, visit brothels where women dance naked on saloon tables and reach for home comforts before they return to the dreaded Russian Front. Because Hitler's war must go on...

COMRADES OF WAR is a gritty portrayal of war's harsh realities and the fear and fanaticism at the heart of The Third Reich.

Sven Hassel's unflinching narrative is based on his own experiences in the German Army. He began writing his first novel, LEGION OF THE DAMNED in a prisoner of war camp at the end of the Second World War.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1917 in Fredensborg, Denmark, Sven Hassel joined the merchant navy at the age of 14. He did his compulsory year's military service in the Danish forces in 1936 and then, facing unemployment, joined the German army. He served throughout the Second World War on all fronts except North Africa. When the war ended in 1945 he was transferred between Russian, American and French prison camps, and upon returning to Denmark, was sentenced to 10 years in prison for treason. He began writing LEGION OF THE DAMNED during his time as a prisoner of war. His 14 Second World War books, which draw on his own encounters and experiences as a soldier, have sold over 53 million copies worldwide and have been published in more than 50 countries. He peacefully passed away in Barcelona in 2012, where he had resided since 1964.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780228129
  • Publication date: 29 May 2014
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: W&N
Gollancz

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Tomi Adeyemi, Kendare Blake and Samantha Shannon.All hail the Girl King Sisters Lu and Min have always known their places as princesses of the empire. Lu is destined to become the first female emperor, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow. When their father declares their male cousin heir instead, his betrayal throws both their lives into chaos. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu must flee the court in search of an ally. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. After years in hiding, Nok is forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved. Now they need an army to take back the throne. Left alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens. It's a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other . . .

Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
Trapeze

Part-Time Working Mummy

Rachaele Hambleton
Authors:
Rachaele Hambleton

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER Want to know the truth about what life is like as a mum and step-mum with a chaotic patchwork family?This book is everything I've been through that's made me who I am, plus the lessons I've learned from many mistakes. I hope that it will make you laugh as well as give you strength to keep going when times get tough. After all, we are all in this together...Rachaele, aka Part-Time Working MummyHundreds of thousands of fans flock to the PTWM page online and now, in this book, Rachaele shares her behind-the-scenes experiences with single parenthood, unexpected pregnancy, domestic violence, relationships, bullying and much more - spreading kindness amidst the craziness along the way!***** Readers are raving about this book *****'What can I say...amazing! The book is humbling, it's heart wrenching, it's funny and it's real life! The world needs more Rachaeles.''Thanks to Rachaele and this amazing book, I all of a sudden don't feel so bad about my parenting skills. A brave insight on Rachaele's life and how patchwork families can be amazing if you fill your home with love. A must have on your book shelf!''The most heart wrenching real book I've ever read, full of sadness, amazement and utter brilliance. Never has a book made me have a lump in my throat and burst into tears then have me in fits of laughter a few pages later... So real and so relatable.''I don't normally do reviews or books even but wow I couldn't put it down! Read it in one. A must read!''Straight-from-the-heart read - every mum needs to read this.'

Orion

What Fresh Hell

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Gollancz

Shadows of Self

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Fans of Robert Jordan and George RR Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy Of Law the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author returns to the world of Mistborn anda hunt for a mysterious assassin. The criminal elite of Elendel were invited to an auction - which became a massacre, when an unknown assailant slaughtered everyone in attendance. Now Wax and Wayne, both able to use magic, both lawmen from the rough and ungoverned frontier territories, are on the case. All the clues suggest the killer is a rogue kandra - a secretive, almost mythical, figure who acts from the shadows - called Bleeder . . . and that the governor is her next target. Bleeder, and the conspiracy behind the killings, has to be stopped . . . before the city is plunged into chaos.A brilliant adventure and a gripping story, Shadows of Self offers fans of The Alloy of Law everything they've been hoping for and, this being a Brandon Sanderson book, more, much more.

W&N

Wheels of Terror

Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago
Authors:
Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago

A graphic novel adaptation of Sven Hassel's classic war novel, WHEELS OF TERROR, illustrated by Jordy Diago.Stationed on the Eastern Front and now equipped with armoured vehicles, Sven Hassel and his comrades from the 27th Penal Regiment fight on remorselessly . . . All of them should be dead: life expectancy on the Front is measured in weeks. But Sven, Porta, the Old Un and the Legionnaire fight to the end, not for Germany, not for Hitler, but for survival.From the blistering cold to the horrors of tank warfare, WHEELS OF TERROR is a sobering depiction of war's brutalities, and the violence and inhumanity that the history books leave out.

W&N

The Commissar

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

O.G.P.U. Prison

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Blitzfreeze

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

The Bloody Road To Death

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

THE BLOODY ROAD TO DEATH depicts all the savagery of war punctuated with black humour, as Tiny, Porta and the rest of the men advance across Europe.The Russian Officer falls forward and I sink my teeth into his throat. Blood runs down over my face but I don't notice it. I am fighting for my life.The 27th Penal Regiment are veterans of the frontline.But when Hitler's war takes them through Greece, Yugoslavia and Albania, they are entirely unprepared for what awaits them. And when the water rations run out, they are willing to commit murder just for a drink.

W&N

Court Martial

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Reign of Hell

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

Liquidate Paris

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

LIQUIDATE PARIS shows the eruption of the Second World War in its most brutal and cruel phase, as allied troops advance upon Paris and the penal regiment retreat.I had a grenade in my hand. So, no doubt, did the English private. I tore out the pin with my teeth. Lay there and counted. Twenty-one, twenty-two, twenty-three, twenty-four...It is Hitler's last chance to save the Third Reich...Millions of Allied troops have landed in Normandy.The orders are clear: Sven and his comrades, hardened by a savage war that has led them from the bloody steppes of the Russian Front, to the slopes of Monte Cassino, are ordered to withdraw to Strasbourg and destroy Paris on the way...

W&N

Monte Cassino

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

SS General

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

W&N

Legion of the Damned

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

March Battalion

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

Danger was forgotten, death was forgotten, the war was forgotten. They only knew they had to kill... The figures in khaki were no longer soldiers, no longer men. Sven Hassel and his comrades are once more hurled into the ferocity of the frontline.The Eastern Front is a sight of unprecedented destruction. The soldiers there - the tank battalions of Hitler's penal regiments - are considered expendable by the German high command. Treated like animals, they learn to live like animals, to fight like beasts. The only other option is to die a bloody death... This is a gripping testament to the soldiers sacrificed on the Russian Front.

W&N

Wheels of Terror

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
W&N

The Sven Hassel Collection

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.