Sven Hassel - Court Martial - Orion Publishing Group

Court Martial

By Sven Hassel

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

COURT MARTIAL is Sven Hassel's darkest novel and a shocking insight into the cruelty the Nazi regime inflicted on its own people. Now relaunched with a stunning new look.

'They beat me,' whispers the artillery officer, 'Smashed my teeth in, sent an electric current through me. They want me to confess to something I never did.'

Sven Hassel and his comrades are fighting on the Finnish front, facing an arctic winter more ferocious than anything they've ever known.

But if they survive, they face shipment to Torgau Prison - the centre of Hitler's penal system - where deserters, convicts and anyone showing anti-Nazi sentiments are imprisoned and punished.

This could mean arrest, court-martial and execution. Or it could mean torture and starvation.

COURT MARTIAL is Sven Hassel's darkest novel and a shocking insight into the cruelty the Nazi regime inflicted on its own people.

Biographical Notes

Born in 1917 in Fredensborg, Denmark, Sven Hassel joined the merchant navy at the age of 14. He did his compulsory year's military service in the Danish forces in 1936 and then, facing unemployment, joined the German army. He served throughout the Second World War on all fronts except North Africa. When the war ended in 1945 he was transferred between Russian, American and French prison camps, and upon returning to Denmark, was sentenced to 10 years in prison for treason. He began writing LEGION OF THE DAMNED during his time as a prisoner of war. His 14 Second World War books, which draw on his own encounters and experiences as a soldier, have sold over 53 million copies worldwide and have been published in more than 50 countries. He peacefully passed away in Barcelona in 2012, where he had resided since 1964.

http://www.svenhassel.net/

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780228136
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

The Chain

Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty
Authors:
Adrian McKinty, Adrian McKinty

W&N

Chanel's Riviera

Anne de Courcy
Authors:
Anne de Courcy
Gateway

Tales of War

Lord Dunsany
Authors:
Lord Dunsany

These artistic, subtle, little sketches of the war with a fairy-story elusiveness to them interpret, in a few pages, more than many books do. They tell of the soldiers' longings, his horror of war, the memories of springtime at home, and even descent to a delight in the work of the kaiser's barber.

Gateway

Jeweled Fire

Sharon Shinn
Authors:
Sharon Shinn
Gollancz

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron

Aranthur is a student. He showed a little magical talent, is studying at the local academy, and is nothing particularly special. Others are smarter. Others are more talented. Others are quicker to pick up techniques. But none of them are with him when he breaks his journey home for the holidays in an inn. None of them step in to help when a young woman is thrown off a passing stage coach into the deep snow at the side of the road. And none of them are drawn into a fight to protect her.One of the others might have realised she was manipulating him all along . . .A powerful story about beginnings, coming of age, and the way choosing to take one step towards violence can lead to a slippery and dangerous slope, this is an accomplished fantasy series driven by strong characters and fast-paced action.'A stirring, gritty and at times quite brutal epic fantasy' Tor.com'This series promises to be the standout epic fantasy for the ages' Fantasy Book Critic

Orion

An Italian Affair

Caroline Montague
Authors:
Caroline Montague

A sweeping tale of love, betrayal and war, set against the glorious Tuscan countryside. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Dinah Jeffries Love. War. Family. Betrayal.Italy, 1937. Alessandra Durante is grieving the loss of her husband when she discovers she has inherited her ancestral family seat, Villa Durante, deep in the Tuscan Hills. Longing for a new start, she moves from her home in London to Italy with her daughter Diana and sets about rebuilding her life. Under the threat of war, Alessandra's house becomes first a home and then a shelter to all those who need it. Then Davide, a young man who is hiding the truth about who he is, arrives, and Diana starts to find her heart going where her head knows it must not.Back home in Britain as war breaks out, Alessandra's son Robert, signs up to be a pilot, determined to play his part in freeing Italy from the grip of Fascism. His bravery marks him out as an asset to the Allies, and soon he is being sent deep undercover and further into danger than ever before.As war rages, the Durante family will love and lose, but will they survive the war...?

Orion

Dark Sacred Night

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

*THE FIRST EVER BOSCH & BALLARD THRILLER: THE NEW BLOCKBUSTER FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER*At the end of a long, dark night Detectives Renée Ballard and Harry Bosch cross paths for the very first time.* * * * *Detective Renée Ballard works the graveyard shift and returns to Hollywood Station in the early hours to find a stranger rifling through old files.The intruder is none other than legendary LAPD detective Harry Bosch, hunting for leads in an unsolved case that has got under his skin.Ballard escorts him out but - curious to know what he was searching for - soon becomes obsessed by the murder of Daisy Clayton. Was she the first victim of a serial killer who still stalks the streets?For Bosch, the case is more than personal: it may be all he has left.But in a city where crime never sleeps, even detectives have a dark side...* * * * *CRIME DOESN'T COME BETTER THAN CONNELLY.'One of the world's greatest crime writers' Daily Mail'A master of the genre' Stephen King'A superb natural storyteller' Lee Child'Novels of exceptional quality'The Times'Genuine modern classics' Independent on Sunday'Crime thriller writing of the highest order' Guardian'One of the great storytellers of crime fiction' Sunday Telegraph'America's greatest living crime writer' Express'No one writes a better modern thriller than Connelly' Evening Standard

W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Orion

Evie's Victory

Kitty Danton
Authors:
Kitty Danton
W&N

Pearl Harbor

Craig Nelson
Authors:
Craig Nelson

On 7 December 1941, an armada of 354 Japanese warplanes launched a surprise attack on the United States, killing 2,403 people and forcing America's entry into the Second World War. With vivid prose and astonishing detail, Craig Nelson combines thrilling historical drama with individual concerns and experiences, following an ensemble of sailors, soldiers, pilots, diplomats, admirals, generals, the emperor and the president.Unmatched in breadth and depth, Pearl Harbor: From Infamy to Greatness in a portrait of the terror, chaos, violence and tragedy of the attack that would prove to be a turning point of the war.

Gollancz

Wild Embrace: A Psy-Changeling Collection

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

The Ice House

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Gollancz

Shards of Hope

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
W&N

Wheels of Terror

Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago
Authors:
Sven Hassel, Jordy Diago
Orion

Broken Promise

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Gollancz

Archangel's Enigma

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Naasir is the most feral of the powerful group of vampires and angels known as the Seven, his loyalty pledged to the Archangel Raphael. When rumors surface of a plot to murder the former Archangel of Persia, now lost in the Sleep of the Ancients, Naasir is dispatched to find him. For only he possesses the tracking skills required-those more common to predatory animals than to man.Enlisted to accompany Naasir, Andromeda, a young angelic scholar with dangerous secrets, is fascinated by his nature-at once playful and brilliant, sensual and brutal. As they race to find the Sleeping archangel before it's too late, Naasir will force her to question all she knows . . . and tempt her to walk into the magnificent, feral darkness of his world. But first they must survive an enemy vicious enough to shatter the greatest taboo of the angelic race and plunge the world into a screaming nightmare . . .

W&N

The Commissar

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel

A shocking insight into the brutalities faced by ordinary soldiers and the atrocities committed in the name of survival.Dispassionately we stared at the bloody scene. It had become an everyday sight. The 27th Penal Regiment care nothing for Hitler's war. They fight only to stay alive. But then they uncover the Soviet Army's biggest secret. A Russian commissar has hidden 30 million dollars of gold somewhere behind enemy lines. In a madcap scheme, Porta brokers a deal with the commissar: free passage for the Russians in return for a share of the gold. To find it, Sven and his comrades must be prepared to lie, steal and go behind the lines of the deadly Russian army...

W&N

O.G.P.U. Prison

Sven Hassel
Authors:
Sven Hassel
Gollancz

Blood Games

Chloe Neill
Authors:
Chloe Neill
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin