Philip K. Dick - Valis - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780220390
    • Publication date:07 Jun 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575098367
    • Publication date:14 May 2010
Books in this series

Valis

By Philip K. Dick

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Classic science fiction from the master

It began with a blinding light, a divine revelation from a mysterious intelligence that called itself VALIS. And with that, the fabric of reality was ripped open and laid bare so that anything seemed possible, but nothing seemed quite right.

Part science fiction, part theological detective story in which God plays both the missing person and the perpetrator of the ultimate crime, VALIS is both disorienting and eerily funny, and a joy to read.

Biographical Notes

Philip K. Dick (1928-1982) was born in Chicago but lived in California for most of his life. He went to college at Berkeley for a year, ran a record store and had his own classical-music show on a local radio station. He published his first short story, 'Beyond Lies the Wub' in 1952. Among his many fine novels are THE MAN IN THE HIGH CASTLE, TIME OUT OF JOINT, DO ANDROIDS DREAM OF ELECTRIC SHEEP? and FLOW MY TEARS, THE POLICEMAN SAID.

For more information visit www.philipkdick.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857983395
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2001
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Gateway
One of the most original practitioners writing any kind of fiction, Dick made most of the European avant-garde seem like navel-gazers in a cul-de-sac — Sunday Times
My literary hero — Fay Weldon
For everyone lost in the endlessly multiplicating realities of the modern world, remember: Philip K. Dick got there first — Terry Gilliam
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking' - Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID / SHE SAID, on TATTLETALEThe new psychological thriller from Sarah J Naughton, author of TATTLETALE, for fans of Clare Mackintosh's LET ME LIE, Cara Hunter's CLOSE TO HOME and Lara Marshall's FRIEND REQUEST*************'Intelligent. Gripping. Colourful. Great setting. Absorbing characters.' - Jane Corry, bestselling author of MY HUSBAND'S WIFE and BLOOD SISTERSIt was meant to be the perfect honeymoon.A five-star resort in paradise.White sands, a private villa and world-class cuisine.A chance for newlyweds Asha and Ollie Graveney to recover from a recent tragedy, and enjoy the holiday of their dreams.Except someone has other plans...And paradise has turned into a nightmare.If you like Clare Mackintosh, BA Paris, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, Cara Hunter or Lisa Jewell then you will be utterly gripped by this dark, twisty tale************* "From the moment Asha and Ollie set off on honeymoon the cracks begin to show, as Naughton skilfully weaves three timelines into a chilling drama... As the tension rose, I turned the pages faster and faster - until the denouement hit me like a juggernaut." - Alison Belsham, author of THE TATTOO THIEF"I am sleep deprived having stayed awake desperate to find out what happened to Asha & Ollie in Vietnam. I wasn't disappointed, this is a very well setup ending, everyone is under suspicion with lots of clever red herrings." - Amazon reviewer, 5 stars Praise for Sarah J. Naughton's Tattletale: 'A perfect example of how a psychological thriller should be written - intricately plotted and full of shocking surprises.' Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'Like any great mystery, Tattletale would, at every twist, lead me to think I'd put the pieces together - only to turn the puzzle upside down.' Grazia'A twisty thriller that will leave you gasping your way through it as the story twists and turns.' Goodreads'This is a psychological thriller with a twist, and a very twisted heart. This story is what happens when two people from very broken beginnings are brought together. This story is what happens when fear eclipses the need for justice and fairness, when the strong and arrogant prey upon the weak. This book is one which deserves every bit of praise it is undoubtedly going to get.' Goodreads

Gollancz

The Man In The High Castle

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

Philip K. Dick's Electric Dreams: Volume 1

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Based on the stories contained in this volume, the ten-part anthology series, Philip K. Dick's Electric Dreams is written and executive produced by Emmy-nominated Ronald D. Moore (Battlestar Galactica, Outlander) and Michael Dinner (Justified, Masters of Sex), with Oscar nominated Bryan Cranston (Trumbo, Breaking Bad) both executive producing and appearing in the series.Each episode will be a sharp, thrilling standalone drama adapted and contemporised for global audiences by a creative team of British and American writers. The series will both illustrate Philip K. Dick's prophetic vision and celebrate the enduring appeal of the prized Sci-Fi novelist's work. Other guest stars include Janelle Morae, Anna paquin, Timothy Spall and Benedict Wong.The ten stories included are:THE HANGING STANGER, THE COMMUTER, THE FATHER-THING, EXHIBIT PIECE, IMPOSSIBLE PLANET, SALES PITCH, FOSTER YOU'RE DEAD, THE HOOD MAKER, HOLY QUARREL, IF THERE WERE NO BENNY CEMOLI, AUTOFAC and HUMAN IS

Gollancz

Blade Runner

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

As the eagerly-anticipated new film Blade Runner 2049 finally comes to the screen, rediscover the world of Blade Runner . . . World War Terminus had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn't 'retiring' them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal - the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill six Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard's world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit - and the threat of death for the hunter, rather than the hunted . . .

Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

When a car crashes into a garage on an ordinary street, the attending officer is shocked to look inside the damaged building and discover a woman imprisoned within. As the remains of several other victims are found in the attached house, police believe they have finally identified the Red River Killer - a man who has been abducting women for nearly twenty years and taunting the police with notes about his crimes. But now the main suspect, John Blythe, is on the run.As the manhunt for Blythe intensifies, DI Will Turner finds himself fighting to stay involved in the investigation. The Red River killings hold a personal significance to him and he must be the one to find the killer, although he's determined to keep this from his fellow officers at all costs.A page turning psychological thriller and a dark police procedural, the new novel from CWA Dagger winner Steve Mosby, explores the blurred lines between truth and fiction.

W&N

The Woman on the Stairs

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink
Gollancz

Nick and the Glimmung

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Nick and his family are forced to leave Earth in order for him to keep his cat, Horace - because all pets are now banned, as they use up badly needed resources. They settle on Plowman's Planet, where they discover a variety of strange and wonderful alien lifeforms.But not all of these weird lifeforms are benevolent - and the family is involved in a series of increasingly dangerous mishaps. Can Horace and Nick manage to outwit the Wub, the Werjes, the Trobes - and the most dangerous of all, the Glimmung?Philip K. Dick's only children's book, first published after his death, brings together many of his most famous alien creations in one gently humorous tale.

Gollancz

Humpty Dumpty In Oakland

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Mary and the Giant

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

We Can Remember It For You Wholesale

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Philip K. Dick was one of the masters of science fiction, and his short stories consistently broke new ground. His work has provided the inspiration for many successful films, including BLADE RUNNER, MINORITY REPORT, PAYCHECK and many more. Here are his final short works, including the story which was the inspiration for TOTAL RECALL. Also included is a selection of other astounding tales, often touching on Dick's most important themes. A man remembers killing his wife - but can he trust his memories? If you were to discover that you were an android, what experiments would you perform on yourself? A supercomputer decides to attack Northern California - can it be talked out of doing the job it was designed for? Can history rewrite itself? All of these questions will be asked as you enter the world of Philip K Dick's remarkable imagination.

Gateway

Minority Report

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

The Man Whose Teeth Were All Exactly Alike

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Beyond Lies The Wub

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

A matchless display of Philip K. Dick s quirky, humorous, idiosyncratically philosophical world view. With one exception, all the stories of this volume were written over a nine-month period between 1951 and 1952, when Dick was making his first impact as a writer.

Gateway

Second Variety

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

The stories within SECOND VARIETY were written between 1952 and 1955, while America was in the grip of McCarthyism.The concerns of the time are reflected in stories such as Second Variety, which tells of an endless war fought by ever more cunning and sophisticated robots, or Imposter where a man accused of being an alien spy finds his whole identity called into question.Using his marvellously varied, quirky and idiosyncratic style, Dick speaks up for ordinary people against militarism, paranoia and xenophobia.

Gateway

The Father-Thing

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

The Transmigration of Timothy Archer

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Episcopal bishop Timothy Archer is haunted by the suicides of his son and mistress and must cope with the implications of the discovery of a religious artefact. These events drive him into a quest for the identity of Christ.THE TRANSMIGRATION OF TIMOTHY ARCHER is Philip K Dick's last completed novel and a learned, moving investigation of the paradoxes of belief.

Gollancz

Puttering About in a Small Land

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gollancz

Voices from the Street

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick
Gateway

Ubik

Philip K. Dick
Authors:
Philip K. Dick

Glen Runciter is dead.Or is he?Someone died in the explosion orchestrated by his business rivals, but even as his funeral is scheduled, his mourning employees are receiving bewildering messages from their boss. And the world around them is warping and regressing in ways which suggest that their own time is running out.If it hasn't already.