Ward Moore - Bring The Jubilee - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Bring The Jubilee

By Ward Moore

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The definitive Alternate History story - the first to ask 'What if the South had won the Civil War?'

Trapped in 1877, a historian writes an account of an alternate history of America in which the South won the Civil War.

Living in this alternate timeline, he was determined to change events at Gettysburg. When he's offered the chance to return to that fateful turning point his actions change history as he knows it, leaving him in an all too familiar past.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857987645
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2001
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Gateway
Orion

The Sound of Her Voice

Nathan Blackwell
Authors:
Nathan Blackwell

Some murder cases you can't forget. No matter how hard you try.For Auckland Detective Matt Buchanan it's Samantha Coates: the innocent girl who disappeared on her way home from school twelve years ago.All the police found were her clothes discarded on a pristine stretch of New Zealand coastline, and the investigation quickly went cold.But when the body of another young woman turns up on the same beach many years later, it's all Buchanan needs to reopen both the case and his biggest obsession. As he pieces the terrible crimes together it becomes clear that Samantha Coates is the only mistake the killers made. And Buchanan must follow the sound of her voice to make them pay for it.The Sound of her Voice is an authentic, gritty, character-led police procedural by an elite former detective - for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart Macbride, and Joseph Knox.

Orion

A Child's Game

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

You Can Take Her Home Now

Anna Jefferson
Authors:
Anna Jefferson

Trapeze

Bonnie and Stan

Anna Stuart
Authors:
Anna Stuart
Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

THIRTY MILLION READERS WORLDWIDE. INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN CHAPTER.'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin
Gateway

Hespira

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

THE TALES OF HENGHIS HAPTHORNHenghis Hapthorn is the foremost penetrator of mysteries and uncoverer of secrets in a decadent, far-future Old Earth, one age before Jack Vance's Dying Earth. A superb rationalist, he has long disdained the notion that the universe has an alternative organizing principle: magic. But now a new age is dawning, overturning the very foundations of Hapthorn's existence, and he must struggle to survive in a world where all the rules are changing.HESPIRAHapthorn decides to leave Old Earth, seeking to solve the mystery of Hespira, an ungainly off-world woman who has lost her memory. The investigation takes him down The Spray to the rank-obsessed world of Ikkibal and the rustic Shannery, where he unravels Hespira's role in a deadly feud between aristocrats. But behind the scenes an unseen antagonist is plotting the discriminator's destruction.

Gateway

The Spiral Labyrinth

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gateway

Majestrum

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gateway

Doomsday Morning

C.L. Moore
Authors:
C.L. Moore

Comus, the communications network/police force, has spread its web of power all across an America paralyzed by the after-effects of limited nuclear war. But in California, resistance is building against the dictatorship of Comus and Andrew Raleigh, president for life. For now Raleigh is dying and the powers of Comus are fading. It's the perfect time for the Californian revolutionaries to activate the secret weapon that alone can destroy America's totalitarian system and re-establish democracy.Yet Comus too has powers at its disposal, chief among them Howard Rohan. A washed-up actor until Comus offers him a second chance, Rohan will head a troupe of players touring in the heart of rebel territory.Howard Rohan, double agent, caught between the orders of Comus and rebels demands. Which side will he choose? Who will he play false - himself, or the entire country?

Gateway

Fury

Henry Kuttner
Authors:
Henry Kuttner

The Earth is long dead, blasted apart, and the human survivors who settled on Venus live in huge citadels beneath the Venusian seas in an atrophying, class-ridden society ruled by the Immortals - genetic mutations who live a thousand years or more. Sam Reed was born an immortal, born to rule those with a normal life-span, but his deranged father had him mutilated as a baby so that he wouldn't know of his heritage. And Sam grew up on the wrong side of the tracks and the law, thinking of the Immortals as his enemies. Then he reached the age of eighty, understood what had happened to him and went looking for revenge - and changed his decaying world forever.Fury is a powerful, dark and compelling novel that explores the sensual, bloody and urgent nature of humankind's striving.

Orion

My Mother's Daughter

Ann O'Loughlin
Authors:
Ann O'Loughlin
Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

Gateway

The Meaning of Luff and Other Stories

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

In Old Earth's penultimate age, the corpulent master criminal Luff Imbry moves through the halfworld like a full-fleshed shark. Thief, forger, confidence man, and sometimes go-between, he maps out his illicit operations with exquisite care then carries them out with courage and panache. But, often, things don't go as Luff planned, and he must call upon a talent for improvisation and a ruthless will to survive.This collection brings together seven short stories and novelettes previously published in Postscripts, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, and the anthology Forbidden Planets, plus two novellas formerly only available in limited editions. It offers Luff Imbry in all his moods and guises.Finalist for the 2014 Endeavour Award.

Gateway

Template

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gollancz

The Snow

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

The new Adam Roberts novel is a story of global apocalypse, old hatreds and new beginnings. It is his best novel to date.And this is how the world will end ...'The snow started falling on the sixth of September, soft noiseless flakes filling the sky like a swarm of white moths, or like static interference on your TV screen - whichever metaphor, nature or technology, you find the more evocative. Snow everywhere, all through the air, with that distinctive sense of hurrying that a vigorous snowfall brings with it. Everything in a rush, busy-busy snowflakes. And, simultaneously, paradoxically, everything is hushed, calm, as quiet as cancer, as white as death.And at the beginning people were happy.'But the snow doesn't stop. It falls and falls and falls. Until it lies three miles thick across the whole of the earth. Six billion people have died. Perhaps 150,000 survive. But those 150,000 need help, they need support, they need organising, governing.And so the lies begin. Lies about how the snow started. Lies about who is to blame. Lies about who is left. Lies about what really lies beneath.

Gateway

The Compleat Guth Bandar

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gateway

The Other

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes

Meet Luff Imbry, an insidiously clever confidence man ...He likes good wine, good food, and good stolen goods, and he always maintains the upper hand. When a business rival gets the drop on him, he finds himself abandoned on Fulda--a far-off, isolated world with a history of its own. Unable to blend in and furious for revenge, Imbry has to rely on his infamous criminal wit to survive Fulda's crusade to extinguish The Other. Hailed as the heir apparent to Jack Vance, Matthew Hughes brings us this speculative, richly imagined exploration of society on the far edges of extreme. A central character in Black Brillion, Luff Imbry is at last front and center in Hughes's latest rollercoaster adventure through a far-future universe.

Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood

At forty-three Jeff Winston is tired of his low-paid, unrewarding job, tired of the long silences at the breakfast table with his wife, saddened by the thought of no children to comfort his old age. But he hopes for better things, for happiness, maybe tomorrow ... But a sudden, fatal heart attack puts paid to that. Until Jeff wakes up in his eighteen-year-old body, all his memories of the next twenty-five years intact. If he applies those memories, he can be rich in this new chance at life and can become one of the most powerful men in America. Until he dies at forty-three and wakes up in his eighteen-year-old body again ...