Ward Moore - Bring The Jubilee - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Bring The Jubilee

By Ward Moore

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The definitive Alternate History story - the first to ask 'What if the South had won the Civil War?'

Trapped in 1877, a historian writes an account of an alternate history of America in which the South won the Civil War.

Living in this alternate timeline, he was determined to change events at Gettysburg. When he's offered the chance to return to that fateful turning point his actions change history as he knows it, leaving him in an all too familiar past.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857987645
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2001
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Gateway
W&N

The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter

'Grab a box of tissues because this beautiful story will make you cry' Amazon reviewer, 5 starsA surprising and emotional story starring an unforgettable heroine, for fans of Together, The Summer of Impossible Things and The Time Traveler's Wife When Rachel and Aidan fell in love, they thought it was forever.She was a brilliant, high-flying scientist. He was her loving and supportive husband.Now she's gone, and Aidan must carry on and raise their daughter alone.But Rachel has left behind her life's work, a gift of love to see them through the dark days after her death.A gift called iRachel.If you liked Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine or The Summer of Impossible Things, you'll love The After Wife"I found The After Wife thought-provoking, compelling and strangely real - I loved it. And it kept me reading into the early hours several nights in row!" Isabel Ashdown "The healing power of love transcends death - This was such a beautifully written, emotionally compelling book. I loved it." Rachael Lucas "Absorbing, moving and insightful." Ann Morgan "A wonderful, moving novel about family, love, and loss - and how, we can often find in the past what we need in the present. I adored this book - it's fresh, beautiful, profound and at times funny, it made me cry, but also made me smile." Sue Watson "An original moving story about what it means to be human... and what it means to truly love. All the feels!" Tracy BuchananWHY READERS ARE GIVING THE AFTER WIFE FIVE STARS: "I laughed, cried and enjoyed every page. When is the sequel out?" - Amazon Reviewer, 5* "A proper tear jerker. One of those books that lingers long after you've read it." - Amazon Reviewer, 5*"This is a powerful and moving book but also a real page-turner." - Amazon Reviewer, 5*"It's at once funny, pacy and very moving. Have some tissues ready..." - Amazon Reviewer, 5*

Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

When a car crashes into a garage on an ordinary street, the attending officer is shocked to look inside the damaged building and discover a woman imprisoned within. As the remains of several other victims are found in the attached house, police believe they have finally identified the Red River Killer - a man who has been abducting women for nearly twenty years and taunting the police with notes about his crimes. But now the main suspect, John Blythe, is on the run.As the manhunt for Blythe intensifies, DI Will Turner finds himself fighting to stay involved in the investigation. The Red River killings hold a personal significance to him and he must be the one to find the killer, although he's determined to keep this from his fellow officers at all costs.A page turning psychological thriller and a dark police procedural, the new novel from CWA Dagger winner Steve Mosby, explores the blurred lines between truth and fiction.

W&N

The Woman on the Stairs

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink

From the author of the internationally bestselling classic THE READER, a tale of obsession, possession and a mystery painting. For decades the painting was believed to be lost. But, just as mysteriously as it disappeared, it reappears, an anonymous donation to a gallery in Sydney. The art world is stunned but so are the three men who loved the woman in the painting, the woman on the stairs. One by one they track her down to an isolated cottage in Australia. Here they must try to untangle the lies and betrayals of their shared past - but time is running out. The Woman on the Stairs is an intricately-crafted, poignant and beguiling novel about creativity and love, about the effects of time passing and the regrets that haunt us all.

Brian Aldiss

Brian W. Aldiss (1925 - 2017)Brian Wilson Aldiss was born in 1925. He was a highly decorated science fiction author who achieved the rare feat of acceptance as a writer of real significance by the literary establishment in his lifetime. As well as his many award-winning novels he has been a hugely important anthologist and editor in the field. He also wrote the pre-eminent history of the genre (with David Wingrove), Billion Year Spree (later expanded and revised as Trillion Year Spree). He died in 2017 the day after his 92nd birthday.

Britta Rostlund

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for over fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

Brooke Magnanti

Brooke Magnanti received a Ph.D. in Forensic Pathology from the University of Sheffield, where she studied in the Medico Legal Centre and specialised in the identification of decomposed human remains. She later worked for the NHS in child health research and cancer epidemiology, before being revealed in 2009 as the anonymous author of the award-winning blog Belle de Jour and bestselling Secret Diary of a Call Girl series of books. She lives on the West Coast of Scotland with her husband and hardly ever sees dead people any more.

Bryan Appleyard

Born in 1951, Bryan Appleyard attended King's College, Cambridge. He was Financial News Editor and Deputy Arts Editor at THE TIMES from 1976 to 1984. He writes for numerous publications including VANITY FAIR, THE NEW YORK TIMES, THE SPECTATOR and THE SUNDAY TIMES, where he is a special feature writer, commentator, reviewer and columnist.

Charlaine Harris

CHARLAINE HARRIS is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty-five years. Born and raised in the Mississippi Delta, she is the author of the Aurora Teagarden mysteries, basis for the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Aurora Teagarden original movies; the Midnight, Texas series, now a brand-new TV series; the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series, basis for the HBO show True Blood; the Lily Bard mysteries; the Harper Connelly mysteries; and the co-author of the graphic novel trilogy Cemetery Girl. Harris now lives in Texas with her husband and two rescue dogs.

Edna O'Brien

Since her debut novel THE COUNTRY GIRLS, Edna O'Brien has written over twenty works of fiction along with a biography of James Joyce and Lord Byron. She is the recipient of many awards including the Irish Pen Lifetime Achievement Award, the American National Art's Gold Medal and the Ulysses Medal. Born and raised in the west of Ireland she has lived in London for many years.

Joseph Boyden

Joseph Boyden is the author of a collection of stories. he is a regular contributor to a number of magazines in Canada. He divides his time between Ontario and Louisiana, where he teaches English at the University of New Orleans.http://www.josephboyden.com/

Julia Gregson

Julia Gregson's novel East of the Sun was chosen for the Richard and Judy TV Book Club and became a Sunday Times bestseller in the UK. Previously a journalist for the Sydney Morning Herald, The Times, Good Housekeeping, and Rolling Stone in the USA, Julia is married and lives in Monmouth. To find out more about Julia and her books, visit her website www.juliagregson.net or follow her on Twitter at @juliagregson

Justina Robson

Justina Robson is an Arthur C. Clarke shortlisted author of ten SFF novels, including the highly regarded Quantum Gravity series, and was one of the first writers to win amazon.co.uk's Writer's Bursary in 2000. Based in Leeds, she's been shortlisted for multiple international awards and is a sought-after creative writing teacher who has taught at the Arvon Foundation. A graduate of the Clarion West workshops in Seattle (1996) she has been invited to teach there also, though she hasn't made it yet for various practical reasons. She acted as a judge for the Arthur C Clarke awards on behalf of the Science Fiction Foundation in 2006. Her most recently published novel is Glorious Angels, shortlisted for the British Science Fiction Association Best Novel 2015. You can learn more at justinarobson.co.uk or by following @JustinaRobson on Twitter.

Keith Laumer

Keith Laumer (1925-1993)John Keith Laumer was an American science fiction author born in Syracuse, New York. Prior to his career as a writer, Laumer was an officer in the United States Air Force. After war service, he spent a year at the University of Stockholm, and then took two bachelor's degrees in science and architecture at the University of Illinois. His first story, Greylorn, was published in 1959, but he returned to the Air Force the following year, only becoming a full-time writer in 1965. Laumer was extremely prolific and produced three major series and two minor ones, along with a number of independent novels. After 1973, however, illness meant that he published more sparingly. He died in 1993.

Ken Grimwood

KEN GRIMWOOD (1944-2003) was a radio journalist in California. He was the author of Breakthrough, Elise, The Voice Outside and Into the Deep. He won the World Fantasy Award for Replay.

Kerry Reichs

Kerry Reichs is a native of Charlotte, North Carolina. She is a graduate of Oberlin College, Duke University School of Law and Sanford Institute of Public Policy. Kerry practiced law in Washington, DC for six years prior to settling down to write novels. She currently lives in DC and Los Angeles. Kerry has been a maid of honour five times, a bridesmaid five times and a reader twice. She has never been married.

Kunal Basu

Kunal Basu was born in Calcutta but has spent much of his adult life in Canada and the USA. He currently teaches at Oxford and McGill universities.http://www.kunalbasu.com/https://twitter.com/kunalbasu100

Larry Dixon

Larry Dixon is both a fantasy artist and author who studied at The North Carolina School of the Arts and The Savannah College of Art & Design. He married Mercedes Lackey, with whom he collaborated on a number of novels, in 1992. They live in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and run a sanctuary for birds of prey and an aviary for exotic birds.

Leo Tolstoy

Leo Tolstoy is the author of many books, including ANNA KARENINA.