Michael Moorcock - Behold The Man - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Behold The Man

By Michael Moorcock

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A daring and explosive take on the crucifixion by one of England's most respected SF writers

Meet Karl Glogauer, time traveller and unlikely Messiah. When he finds himself in Palestine in the year 29AD he is shocked to meet the man known as Jesus Christ - a drooling idiot, hiding in the shadows of the carpenter's shop in Nazareth. But if he is not capable of fulfilling his historical role, then who will take his place?

Biographical Notes

Michael Moorcock (1939-)
Michael Moorcock is one of the most important figures in British SF and Fantasy literature. The author of many literary novels and stories in practically every genre, his novels have won and been shortlisted for numerous awards including the Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Whitbread and Guardian Fiction Prize. In 1999, he was given the World Fantasy Life Achievement Award; in 2001, he was inducted into the SF Hall of Fame; and in 2007, he was named a SFWA Grandmaster. Michael Moorcock is also a musician who has performed since the seventies with his own band, the Deep Fix; and, as a member of the prog rock band, Hawkwind, won a gold disc. His tenure as editor of New Worlds magazine in the sixties and seventies is seen as the high watermark of SF editorship in the UK, and was crucial in the development of the SF New Wave. Michael Moorcock's literary creations include Hawkmoon, Corum, Von Bek, Jerry Cornelius and, of course, his most famous character, Elric. He has been compared to, among others, Balzac, Dumas, Dickens, James Joyce, Ian Fleming, J.R.R. Tolkien and Robert E. Howard. Although born in London, he now splits his time between homes in Texas and Paris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857988482
  • Publication date: 11 Nov 1999
  • Page count: 128
  • Imprint: Gateway
Gateway

The Shores of Death

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Dragon in the Sword

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Sundered Worlds

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Dorian Hawkmoon... Corum Jhaelen Irsei... Elric of Melniboné. Over the years, Michael Moorcock has captivated readers with his unending versions of the Eternal Champion, the timeless warrior who serves the Cosmic Balance in the ongoing battle that rages between Law and Chaos through the many planes and levels of the multiverse. But what is the multiverse and what are its origins? In this essential novel, Michael Moorcock provides readers these critical answers.World War Three has come and gone, and humankind has survived its brutal past to assume its place among the stars. Yet their existence is endangered nonetheless, as their entire universe is threatening to collapse. All their hopes rest on the shoulders of Count Renark von Bek, a nobleman of extraordinary psychic abilities and carefully guarded secrets.Aided by his companions, von Bek will delve into the Sundered Worlds, a mysterious galaxy outside the space-time continuum that has materialized on the edges of known space. Inside this roving galaxy, they will uncover the secrets of the multiverse and embark upon a last desperate gamble to save humankind.But as they will soon discover, even survival comes laden with danger, as the solutions to their dilemma may also hold the final keys to their destruction

Gateway

Phoenix in Obsidian

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The second book of The Eternal Champion trilogy.As Erekose, the Eternal Champion, he slew the human race that had betrayed his ideals. And loved Ermizhad, the Eldren princessThe the voices called him and he was powerless to resist. As Fate's soldier, the Eternal One, his lot was to vanquish tyranny. Sent tumbling through the corridors of eternity, he found himself transformed. Now Urlik Skarsol - he is the Prince of the Southern Ice. To find his way home, Urlik Skarsol must take up the Black Sword, the monstrous weapon that demands blood - be it friend's or foe's - before his tortured soul can rest. Before the powers of Evil can be conquered. Before he can rediscover Ermizhad.Before he can know peace again ...

Gateway

Barbarians of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Michael Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns in the form of Michael Kane, a brilliant Earthman stranded on the treacherous deserts of Ancient Mars! In this sweeping, epic sword-and-planet adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kane and his blue giant companion Hool Haji must travel to the far reaches of the Red Planet to halt the hideous Green Death, an unstoppable disease that rots the mind as well as the body. From gorgeous Karnala, City of Green Mists, to the empty streets of tainted Cend-Amrid to the forgotten weird-science laboratories of the lost, highly advanced Yaksha culture, Masters of the Pit promises stunning locales, disgusting Martian creatures, and relentless action from the Nebula and World Fantasy Award-winning creator of Elric of Melniboné!

Gateway

Blades of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

Warriors of Mars

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Steel Tsar

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Warlord of the Air

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

It is 1973, and the stately airships of the Great Powers hold benign sway over a peaceful world. The balance of power is maintained by the British Empire - a most equitable and just Empire, ruled by the beloved King Edward VIII. A new world order, with peace and prosperity for all under the law. Yet, moved by the politics of envy and perverse utopianism, not all of the Empire's citizens support the marvelous equilibrium.Flung from the North East Frontier of 1902 into this world of the future, Captain Oswald Bastable is forced to question his most cherished ideals, discovering to his horror that he has become a nomad of the time streams, eternally doomed to travel the wayward currents of a chaotic multiverse.The first in the trilogy, The Warlord of the Air sees Bastable fall in with the anarchists of this imperial society and set in train a course of events more devastating than he could ever have imagined.

Gateway

The Land Leviathan

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Black Corridor

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Ice Schooner

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The world lay frozen under a thousand feet of ice. Only in the Eight Cities of the Matto Grosso did men still live, hunting the wary ice whales for meat and oil, and following the creed of the Ice Mother which foretold the end of all life in ultimate cold.But legend told of a city far to the north - fabled New York - whose towers rose above the ice, whose crypts held the forgotten lore that might bring warmth to Earth once again. In the best ice ship in the Eight Cities, Konrad Arflane embarked on the impossible voyable to New York - an odyssey of incredible peril and adventure with a shattering discovery at the journey's end...

Gateway

The Eternal Champion

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

The first book of The Eternal Champion trilogy.Erekose is the Eternal Champion: pulled by the tides of chance through a thousand worlds and ages. In his lonely search for peace and justice all he can trust are his own courage and enduring passion. Across magical landscapes, fantastic worlds without end, he strides - eternal hero, eternal warrior, eternal lover - forever defying destiny and lifting his brave sword against the cruel, cold logic of the Multiverse...

Gateway

The Winds of Limbo

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

The Wrecks of Time

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gateway

Fantasy: The 101 Best Books

Michael Moorcock, James Cawthorn
Authors:
Michael Moorcock, James Cawthorn
Gollancz

Mother London

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

King of the City

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Gollancz

London Bone and Other Stories

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock

Mysterious fossils found deep under London's streets create a whole new 'heritage' industry - but what does selling London's history mean for the city? In these remarkable stories Moorcock explores the parts of London most of us will never see, and creates a patchwork of tales which build up to a portrait of the whole city.

Gollancz

The Whispering Swarm

Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock