Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Rather Be the Devil

By Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Some cases never leave you.For John Rebus, forty years may have passed, but the death of beautiful, promiscuous Maria Turquand still preys on his mind. Murdered in her hotel room on the night a famous rock star and his entourage were staying there, Maria's killer has never been found.Meanwhile, the dark heart of Edinburgh remains up for grabs. A young pretender, Darryl Christie, may have staked his claim, but a vicious attack leaves him weakened and vulnerable, and an inquiry into a major money laundering scheme threatens his position. Has old-time crime boss Big Ger Cafferty really given up the ghost, or is he biding his time until Edinburgh is once more ripe for the picking?In a tale of twisted power, deep-rooted corruption and bitter rivalries, Rather be the Devil showcases Rankin and Rebus at their unstoppable best.
  • More

Robert Ludlum's The Janson Equation

By Robert Ludlum, Douglas Corleone
Authors:
Robert Ludlum, Douglas Corleone
US Senator James Wyckoff hires former government agents turned private security consultants Janson and Kincaid to locate his teenage son Gregory. Gregory's girlfriend Lynell, a translator, has been found dead in a Seoul hotel, and Gregory has fled the city. But Senator Wyckoff insists his son is innocent, suggesting that Lynell may have been killed because of something she overheard at a recent international conference. And when Janson and Kincaid realise they're being hunted by an assassin, they suspect that the crime, and the cover-up, were orchestrated by a shadowy unit of the US State Department as part of a larger plot to provoke violence between North and South Korea.
  • More

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Ascendancy

By Robert Ludlum, Eric Van Lustbader
Authors:
Robert Ludlum, Eric Van Lustbader
Jason Bourne is back in the forthcoming major motion picture starring Matt Damon and Alicia Vikander. Go back to where it all began for Bourne in his original adventures. 'Watch your back 007 - Bourne is out to get you' - Sunday TimesJason Bourne is working as a 'blacksmith' - hired by high-level government ministers fearful of assassination attempts. He is paid to impersonate these men at meetings in places of uncertain security around the globe, but when armed gunmen storm one such meeting, they're target is not the minister he impersonates, but Bourne himself. Kidnapped and transported to an underground bunker, Bourne finds himself face-to-face with a well-known terrorist who demands that Bourne carry out a special mission for him - one, that if completed, will have dire consequences for the entire world.
  • More
  • The Reversal

    By Michael Connelly
    Authors:
    Michael Connelly
    Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch together take on a seemingly unwinnable case in blistering legal thriller from Number One bestseller Michael Connelly.When defence lawyer Mickey Haller is invited by the Los Angeles County District Attorney to prosecute a case for him, he knows something strange is going on. Mickey's one of the best American legal brains in the business, and to switch sides likes this would be akin to asking a fox to guard the hen-house. But the high-profile case of Jason Jessup, a convicted child killer who spent almost 25 years on death row before DNA evidence freed him, is an intriguing one . . .Eager for the publicity and drawn to the challenge, Mickey takes the case, with LAPD Detective Harry Bosch on board as his lead investigator. But as a new trial date is set, it starts to look like he's been set up. Mickey and Harry are going to have to dig deep into the past and find the truth about what really happened to the victim all those years ago in this nail-biting courtroom drama.
    • More

    Rasputin's Shadow

    By Raymond Khoury
    Authors:
    Raymond Khoury
    From the bestselling author of THE LAST TEMPLAR, an action-packed adventure thriller of an ancient mystery and its deadly impact on the present.Siberia, 1916. A mine turns into a bloodbath when its miners attack each other, savagely and ferociously. Minutes later, two men - a horrified scientist and infamous Russian mystic Rasputin - hit a detonator, blowing up the mine to conceal all evidence of the carnage.New York, present day. FBI agent Sean Reilly is tasked with a new, disturbing case. A Russian embassy attaché seems to have committed suicide by jumping out of a fourth-floor window. The apartment's owners have gone missing, while a faceless killer roams New York City, leaving a trail of death in his wake.Reilly's investigation uncovers a deadly search for a mysterious device whose origins reach back to the darkest days of the Cold War and to Imperial Russia and which, in the wrong hands, could have a devastating impact on the modern world.
    • More

    Red Winter

    By Dan Smith
    Authors:
    Dan Smith
    The chilling, sophisticated new historical thriller from the acclaimed writer of THE CHILD THIEF.Russia, 1920. Kolya has deserted his Red Army unit and returns home to bury his brother and reunite with his wife and sons. But he finds the village silent and empty. The men have been massacred in the forest. The women and children have disappeared. In this remote, rural community the folk tales mothers tell their children by candlelight take on powerful significance and the terrifying legend of The Deathless One begins to feel very real. Kolya sets out on a journey through dense, haunting forests and across vast plains as bitter winter sets in, in the desperate hope he will find his family. But there are very dark things in his past - and there's someone, or something, on his trail...
    • More
  • Real Murders

    By Charlaine Harris
    Authors:
    Charlaine Harris
    The first Aurora Teagarden mystery, from the bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse MysteriesLawrenceton, Georgia, may be a growing suburb of Atlanta, but it's still a small town at heart. Librarian Aurora 'Roe' Teagarden grew up there, and she knows more than enough about her fellow townsfolk - including which ones share her interest in the darker side of human nature.With these fellow crime buffs, Roe belongs to a club called Real Murders, which meets once a month to analyse famous cases. It's a harmless pastime - until the night she finds a member dead, killed in a manner that eerily resembles the very crime the club was about to discuss. And as other brutal copycat killings follow, Roe finds herself having to uncover the person behind the terrifying game that is casting all the members of Real Murders - herself included - as prime suspects - or potential victims.
    • More

    The Rat on Fire

    By George V. Higgins
    Authors:
    George V. Higgins
    'Higgins...has arranged the conventions of the crime novel into something new: oblique, bleak and often graveyard funny' THE SUNDAY TIMESWhen the tenants of Jerry Fein's dilapidated buildings refuse to pay the rent on account of the rats, Jerry drafts in arsonist Leo Proctor to take care of the problem. After all, the place is insured and the fire marshall's back is turned, so what could go wrong?
    • More
  • A Red Herring Without Mustard

    By Alan Bradley
    Authors:
    Alan Bradley
    Welcome to Bishop's Lacey. A murder every country mileFor eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, a visit to a Gypsy fortune-teller is just a bit of fun - until the old woman claims to see a vision of Flavia's mother, who died when Flavia was a baby. When the Gypsy is brutally attacked, Flavia wonders if her appearance in the village has stirred up memories of a tragic event from the past.Flavia starts down a dark and twisting road to discover the truth - but when a corpse is found in the grounds of Buckshaw, the de Luce family seat, it seems as if the heart of the mystery is disturbingly close to home. Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries: 'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday 'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries: 1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie 2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag 3. A Red Herring Without Mustard 4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows 5. Speaking From Among the Bones 6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches 7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust 8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd 9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries. * Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *
    • More
  • Rain Gods

    By James Lee Burke
    Authors:
    James Lee Burke
    One of the greatest American crime writers is back with Hackberry Holland: a sheriff with a haunted past on the hunt for a deranged killer.Hackberry Holland is a man haunted by a chequered and traumatic past. A former POW from the Korean War, he has left everything behind to become sheriff of a dried-out, broken-down border town in south Texas. But Hack soon finds himself dealing with more than just his own demons when nine dead prostitutes are dug up behind a run-down church. The search for justice - and revenge - pits Hack against hired guns, drug dealers who operate on both sides of the border, and a psychotic killer known as The Preacher. Praise for one of the great American crime writers, James Lee Burke:'James Lee Burke is the heavyweight champ, a great American novelist whose work, taken individually or as a whole, is unsurpassed.' Michael Connelly'A gorgeous prose stylist.' Stephen King'Richly deserves to be described now as one of the finest crime writers America has ever produced.' Daily MailFans of Dennis Lehane, Michael Connelly and Don Winslow will love James Lee Burke: Hackberry Holland Series1. Lay Down My Sword and Shield 2. Rain Gods 3. Feast Day of Fools 4. House of the Rising Sun Dave Robicheaux Series1. The Neon Rain 2. Heaven's Prisoners 3. Black Cherry Blues 4. A Morning for Flamingos 5. A Stained White Radiance 6. In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead 7. Dixie City Jam 8. Burning Angel 9. Cadillac Jukebox 10. Sunset Limited 11. Purple Cane Road 12. Jolie Blon's Bounce 13. Last Car to Elysian Fields 14. Crusader's Cross 15. Pegasus Descending 16. The Tin Roof Blowdown 17. Swan Peak 18. The Glass Rainbow 19. Creole Belle 20. Light of the World 21. Robicheaux Billy Bob Holland Series1. Cimarron Rose 2. Heartwood 3. Bitterroot 4. In The Moon of Red Ponies * Each James Lee Burke novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *As Holland frantically tries to end the cycle of killings and bring justice to the dead girls, he discovers just how dark the deepest corners of the human heart can get, and how redemption can come in the form of a woman's love...
    • More
    1