Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Man Who Loved Mars

By Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
A rose-red city, half as old as time. Once it had been king city of a mighty empire and the center of the ancient faith - Gateway to the Gods, the old epics name it. Now it was dead, empty, deserted, only a dim ghost of its vanished splendor. Such was Ilionis. Lost city of Mars. A somber ruin, cold and lonely. But Ilionis was not forgotten. The old city held a valuable treasure. A treasure that brought Earthmen Ivo Tengren and scientist Keresny on a strange and difficult journey to the city's gates. A journey that was now ended. Ilionis had been found. The treasure was close by. And now an even stranger journey was about to begin.

The Gates of Eden

By Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Before the hyper-space vessels could go from planet to planet, stations had to be set up. And that meant manned spaceships cut off from Earth for decades.The explorer vessel Ariadne had gone toward galactic centre and was considered lost - until its call came in appealing for a xenobiologist.Their new world was all swamp. As far as could be seen, there was no intelligent species. Yes, this was alarming because all inhabitable planets so far discovered had thinking inhabitants.But the nature of that planet's "people" turned out to be an enigma that had to be solved. For their alien biology could spell doom to all the civilizations of the stars ... doom or a terrible unity!

Eric of Zanthodon

By Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
A hidden world lies beneath the shifting sands of the Sahara - the subterranean land of Zanthodon. A vast and varied terrain in which time stands still. Where dinosaurs, pirates, heroes, armies and princesses in peril collide in prehistoric surroundings.

Darya of the Bronze Age

By Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Under the trackless sands of the Sahara lies Zanthodon. That vast subterranean realm is the final homeland of the one-time masters of the world's surface - great dinosaurs, mighty jungles, and the living bands of primitive peoples from Neanderthals to Ancient Minoans and even Barbary Pirates!It was into the cruel hands of those feared corsairs that Eric Carstairs' beloved cave-maiden, Darya the Cro-Magnon princess, had fallen. It was his mission to save her, as well as to keep his caveman friends and his professor guide from the innumerable dangers spawned in the unmapped wilds of the Underground World

Phoenix in Obsidian

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
The second book of The Eternal Champion trilogy.As Erekose, the Eternal Champion, he slew the human race that had betrayed his ideals. And loved Ermizhad, the Eldren princessThe the voices called him and he was powerless to resist. As Fate's soldier, the Eternal One, his lot was to vanquish tyranny. Sent tumbling through the corridors of eternity, he found himself transformed. Now Urlik Skarsol - he is the Prince of the Southern Ice. To find his way home, Urlik Skarsol must take up the Black Sword, the monstrous weapon that demands blood - be it friend's or foe's - before his tortured soul can rest. Before the powers of Evil can be conquered. Before he can rediscover Ermizhad.Before he can know peace again ...

Kellory the Warlock

By Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Kellory -- the last of the Black Wolves, sole descendant of the Lost Kings of Illyrion. His fighting arm maimed, his homeland stolen, his tribe mercilessly slaughtered by the dread Thungoda Horde, he seeks revenge with the only weapon left to him -- sorcery. But the secret arts of witchcraft are not easily surrendered by the Brotherhood of Darkness... Across the Sea of Sand, with its plethora of terrifying spells and whispering spirits of the night, Kellory seeks the Grimoire of Yaohim -- the Book of Shadows -- for only within its enigmatic pages will he find the sacred magic that will vanquish his enemies, if he can decipher its mystery before it's too late.

Barbarians of Mars

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Michael Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns in the form of Michael Kane, a brilliant Earthman stranded on the treacherous deserts of Ancient Mars! In this sweeping, epic sword-and-planet adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kane and his blue giant companion Hool Haji must travel to the far reaches of the Red Planet to halt the hideous Green Death, an unstoppable disease that rots the mind as well as the body. From gorgeous Karnala, City of Green Mists, to the empty streets of tainted Cend-Amrid to the forgotten weird-science laboratories of the lost, highly advanced Yaksha culture, Masters of the Pit promises stunning locales, disgusting Martian creatures, and relentless action from the Nebula and World Fantasy Award-winning creator of Elric of Melniboné!

Hurok of the Stone Age

By Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Beneath the vast and trackless Sahara there lies a cavern so immense the whole nations could be swallowed up within it. There reside in the eternal subterranean glow the last of the Cro-Magnons and their rivals the Neanderthals, lost remnants of ancient surface empires, and hordes of beasts and beings from all the ages of prehistory.Into this world, Zanthodon, penetrated the soldier-of-fortune Eric Carstairs - and immediately became embroiled in tremendous adventures!Hurok the Neanderthal had learned the meaning of friendship from Carstairs and in return would lead an expedition of cavemen to the dinosaur-guarded city of Zar where Carstairs had fallen captive to a sadistic queen and her scheming advisors.

The Walking Shadow

By Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Paul Heisenberg is mysteriously endowed with the ability to jump through time. Together with thousands of eventual followers, he begins a journey that eventually takes him a billion years into the future. The Earth has been devastated by war with an alien race, and the changes that have resulted from the degradation of the world's biosphere force him--and others--to rethink their own humanity. His pilgrim's progress through the coming time is beset by doubts, distractions, and temptations as various voices attempt to distract him from his determination to follow the process through to its end. He eventually witnesses the complete transformation of the Earth, and the evolution of a single omnipotent but mindless Gaean organism. Is intelligence itself just a brief candle, forever doomed to burn out? Or can Paul find some other alternative for his race.

War Games

By Brian Stableford
Authors:
Brian Stableford
Throughout the centuries that have passed since humans first ventured into interstellar space, they have been at war with the alien Veich. The human race has, in consequence, been fully militarized, its educational system being a form of military training--which includes, among other disciplines, the elimination of fear from the human psyche. Attitudes to the war have, however, been colored by the gradual discovery of relics revealing that it is echoing an earlier interstellar conflict whose antagonists have completely disappeared, victors and vanquished alike. On a neglected continent of an unimportant world, ex-sergeant Remy and other human and Veich deserters have joined forces to form a mercenary company that places its expert skills at the disposal of the dominant indigenes. This refuge from the greater war is, however, disrupted when archeologists on another world discover evidence that there might be significant relics of the earlier war buried in the inhospitable heart of the continent, where barbarian tribes are currently massing for a religious war. Remy has no alternative but to revert to working for his own race, knowing that whatever he enables them to find, or even if they find nothing at all, his own life will be in grave peril, and that nothing will ever be the same again....

Blades of Mars

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
Once before, physicist and warrior Michael Kane's experiments in matter transmission catapulted him across space and time to the verdant and war-torn Mars of the distant past, only to wrench him back home at his greatest moment. Now, desperate to return to the princess he loves and the kingdom he left behind, Kane throws himself once more into the ether, and finds himself again on Mars - but this time confronted with man-sized spiders, ancient mutated races, and a brutal civil war between the planet's familiar Blue Giants. Can it be that he's arrived thousands of years too late to find his beloved Shizala?The creator of Elric of Melniboné, Michael Moorcock remains one of the most honored science fiction and fantasy authors of all time. With Kane of Old Mars, Moorcock's Eternal Champion returns with interplanetary adventure in the best Edgar Rice Burroughs tradition.

Zanthodon

By Lin Carter
Authors:
Lin Carter
Beneath the trackless sands and shifting wastelands of the Sahara, there lies a world unknown to modern man, the underground land of Zanthodon. In its vast unmapped terrain are great jungles, strange seas and forbidding mountains, and there can be found many of the beings that have long since vanished from the surface of the earth: dinosaurs, flying monsters and primitive cavemen.

Warriors of Mars

By Michael Moorcock
Authors:
Michael Moorcock
That first visit to Mars had been a mistake. A miraculous journey out through the myriad miles of space and back, back through the millennia to a time before Man existed, it had been the chance result of a small-scale malfunction in an experimental matter transfer machine.But Michael Kane's first great adventure in a world where great mythic armies battled, where hugely bizarre creatures roamed and deeds of high heroism and dark treachery resounded, was but the start. For as he learned to control and use the machinery, he was to return to Mars again and again.Containing the complete Martian adventures of Michael Kane, of the proud Princess Shizala, her warrior brother and the darkly beautiful but evil Horguhl, are brought together in one volume.