Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Mountain Between Us

By Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Idris Elba and Kate WinsletOn a stormy winter night, two strangers wait for a flight at the Salt Lake City airport. Ashley Knox is an attractive, successful writer, who is flying East for her much anticipated wedding. Dr Ben Payne has just wrapped up a medical conference and is also eager to return home to Jacksonville, Florida for a slate of surgeries he has scheduled for the following day. When the last outgoing flight is cancelled due to a broken de-icer and a forthcoming storm, Ben finds a charter plane that can take him around the weather front. And when the pilot says the single engine prop plane can fit one more, Ben offers the seat to Ashley. Then the unthinkable happens. The pilot has a heart attack mid-flight and the plane crashes into the High Uintas Wilderness - one of the largest stretches of harsh and remote land in the United States. Ben, who has broken ribs, and Ashley, who suffers a terrible leg fracture, along with the pilot's dog, are faced with an incredibly harrowing battle to survive. Ben records messages to his beloved wife on a small tape recorder; seeing his devotion, Ashley wonders if she has rushed into her engagement. As the days on the mountains become weeks, their survival becomes increasingly perilous. How will they make it out of the wilderness and if they do, how will this experience change them?
  • More

Edith & Oliver

By Michèle Forbes
Authors:
Michèle Forbes
Edith was born into a different world. But her rebellious nature brought her to the seedy glamour of the music hall, where she plays the piano by night. Oliver is an illusionist of moderate repute. But he is a man of ambition. He wants to tour the world, to pioneer ground-breaking illusions. History and fate have other ideas. When Edith and Oliver meet they fall headlong in love. But their children arrive as the world begins to change, as cinemas crowd the high street and the draw of the music hall wanes. What follows is a struggle: against the entropy of marriage, against the march of time, and against Oliver's flaws - flaws that may cost them everything.
  • More

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

By Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
The wonderful and heart-warming new novel full of secrets, lies and family ties from Sunday Times bestselling author, Cathy Kelly. Bess is hoping to show everyone just how happy her recent marriage is, but behind all the party-planning the cracks are beginning to show. Why is joining a family so difficult? Jojo, Bess's stepdaughter, has a point to make. Bess is not her mother, and she won't replace the one she's been missing every day for the last two years. And will she ever get the chance to become a mum herself?Cousin Cari is a fierce career-woman who isn't unnerved by anything - apart from facing the man who left her at the altar, and he's on the guestlist. Her job has been a safe place to hide ever since - but is it time to let love into her life again? Thanks to laughter, tears and one surprise appearance, the Brannigans might just discover the secrets of a happy marriage . . . But will they find out before it's too late?'Wise, warm, compassionate and full of characters I loved ... it's like having a great gossip with your best friends' Marian Keyes
  • More

History of Wolves

By Emily Fridlund
Authors:
Emily Fridlund
How far would you go to belong?Fourteen-year-old Linda lives with her parents in an ex-commune beside a lake in the beautiful, austere backwoods of northern Minnesota. The other girls at school call Linda 'Freak', or 'Commie'. Her parents mostly leave her to her own devices, whilst the other inhabitants have grown up and moved on. So when the perfect family - mother, father and their little boy, Paul - move into the cabin across the lake, Linda insinuates her way into their orbit. She begins to babysit Paul and feels welcome, that she finally has a place to belong. Yet something isn't right. Drawn into secrets she doesn't understand, Linda must make a choice. But how can a girl with no real knowledge of the world understand what the consequences will be?
  • More

The Turning Tide

By Brooke Magnanti
Authors:
Brooke Magnanti
Erykah Macdonald has a nice life, the kind you're supposed to want. But on her twentieth wedding anniversary, she's about to cross a line. Several hundred miles away in the shallow waters of a Hebridean island, a body is found and it's clear this is no accidental death.Erykah has to make an irreversible choice - she's used to living with secrets but there are far worse secrets about to emerge. From a morgue in the Highlands to the powerplays in Westminster, a net is tightening. And those that find themselves caught will kill to get out.Erykah must decide what she's capable of. She should be scared - but sometimes, crossing the line is the first step to freedom...
  • More

Under the Harrow

By Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
'It's like Broadchurch written by Elena Ferrante. I've been telling all my friends to read it - the highest compliment' Claire MessudWhen Nora takes the train from London to visit her sister in the countryside, she expects to find her waiting at the station, or at home cooking dinner. But when she walks into Rachel's familiar house, what she finds is entirely different: her sister has been the victim of a brutal murder. Stunned and adrift, Nora finds she can't return to her former life. An unsolved assault in the past has shaken her faith in the police, and she can't trust them to find her sister's killer. Haunted by the murder and the secrets that surround it, Nora is under the harrow: distressed and in danger. As Nora's fear turns to obsession, she becomes as unrecognizable as the sister her investigation uncovers. A riveting psychological thriller and a haunting exploration of the fierce love between two sisters, the distortions of grief, and the terrifying power of the past, Under the Harrow marks the debut of an extraordinary new writer.
  • More

The Death of an Owl

By Paul Torday, Piers Torday
Authors:
Paul Torday, Piers Torday
Andrew Landford, MP is driving home one night along a dark country lane when a barn owl flies into his windscreen. It is an accident, nothing more. But Andrew sits on a parliamentary committee concerned with the protection of endangered species, and the death of the owl threatens to destroy his hopes of reaching No. 10. Also in the car is Andrew's old Oxford friend and political adviser, Charles Fryerne. Will they be able to keep the crime under wraps, or will circumstances conspire against them? 'A pleasure to read' Daily Express'Skeweringly accurate' Evening Standard'A compelling blend of morality and satire' Sunday Mirror'Witty and well-crafted - a delightful gothic fantasy' Guardian
  • More

Farewell to Burracombe

By Lilian Harry
Authors:
Lilian Harry
The day that Hilary and David have been waiting for has finally arrived and as the church bells ring out for the arrival of the bride, everyone's fingers are crossed for the day to go without a hitch. The festivities set the tone for the year ahead and there's more love in the air in Burracombe as planning continues for both Dottie and Joe's and Frances and James's nuptials. There's nothing like a wedding to bring the village together.Times are changing in Burracombe and as young and old embark on new adventures it's time to say goodbye. But with friends like these, a goodbye is rarely for ever, so instead we'll say a very fond farewell.Return to Burracombe in Lilian's next book, A Child in Burracombe, a prequel to the series that will show you where it all began...
  • More

The Inheritance

By Katie Agnew
Authors:
Katie Agnew
"I can still recall how cold the pearls felt on my bare neck as Mr Fitzroy secured the clasp and how heavy they were. I also remember that they were far, far too long for me. But, oh how mesmerising I found those pearls..."Tilly Beaumont was a legend in Hollywood's golden era, her days were full of glamour and adventure but now her health is failing and she's ready to tell her story. From her hospital bed, Tilly sends her granddaughter, Sophia, letters with stories about her life, about old family secrets and a beautiful necklace made of incredible pearls. If Sophia will listen, she could unlock the story of generations of remarkable women and find that this necklace has changed the lives of all who have worn it. The only problem? No one knows where it is.Sophia must decide if she's ready to take on the search for something so perfect it can change a life. Wouldn't a girl do anything to hold that in her hands?
  • More

Shtum

By Jem Lester
Authors:
Jem Lester
'WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH, MAKE YOU CRY, AND MAKE YOU THINK' Graeme SimsionInspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning to get along. Not to be missed by readers who loved JoJo Moyes and David Nicholls. 'Heart-wrenching and thought-provoking' Woman & HomeTen-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEPWhat readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list''This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.''I cried my heart out.''A gripping and emotional story.''Brilliant humour.'
  • More

Kipps

By H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Orphaned at an early age, raised by his aunt and uncle, and apprenticed for seven years to a draper, Artie Kipps is stunned to discover upon reading a newspaper advertisement that he is the grandson of a wealthy gentleman and the inheritor of his fortune. Thrown dramatically into the upper classes, he struggles desperately to learn the etiquette and rules of polite society. But as he soon discovers, becoming a `true gentleman' is neither as easy nor as desirable as it at first appears...
  • More

The History Of Mr Polly

By H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
Mr Polly is an ordinary middle-aged man who is tired of his wife's nagging and his dreary job as the owner of a regional gentleman's outfitters. Faced with the threat of bankruptcy, he concludes that the only way to escape his frustrating existence is by burning his shop to the ground and killing himself. Unexpected events, however, conspire to lead the bewildered Mr Polly to a bright new future - after he saves a life, fakes his death, and escapes to a world of heroism and hope.
  • More

H. G. Wells: The Social Novels

By H.G. Wells
Authors:
H.G. Wells
DISCOVER A DIFFERENT SIDE TO H. G. WELLS . . . H.G. Wells's social tales caused a sensation when they were first published in the early twentieth century. Piercingly funny, yet sympathetic, and containing a cast of colourful characters, they have drawn comparisons to the works of Dickens and Evelyn Waugh.From the hapless Kipps, who is plunged into a world of high society, the rules of which he fails to understand, to Mr Polly, the draper, desperate to escape his shop and nagging wife, to Ann Veronica, a young woman rebelling against her father's stern patriarchal rule, these satires of Edwardian mores are both horribly funny and provoke questions about the class system and opportunities for social reform. The social novels include LOVE AND MR LEWISHAM (1900), KIPPS (1905), ANN VERONICA (1909), TONO-BUNGAY (1909) and THE HISTORY OF MR POLLY (1910).
  • More