Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books
  • The Lure of the Basilisk

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    The overman named Garth sought immortal fame. The oracle told him to serve the Forgotten King to get that fame. But this King sent Garth after a basilisk whose gaze could turn men to stone. What sane use could anyone have for a monster like that?
    • More
  • The London Stone

    By Sarah Pinborough
    Authors:
    Sarah Pinborough
    The prophecy has come to pass. The London Stone has been stolen and the Dark King rules the Nowhere. Only Mona and the new Seer dare to stand against him, leading an underground rebellion in the frozen wasteland . . . but what chance do they have, against both the Army of the Mad and Arnold Mather's soldiers? There is still hope: if they can recruit a banished race to their cause, maybe Fin and his friends can force a final battle against the Dark King. But that aid will be hard-won, through an almost impossible quest, and even then there are no guarantees.It will come down to three friends, standing together against all odds. And fulfilling their destinies, whatever the cost . . .
    • More

    Luna: Wolf Moon

    By Ian McDonald
    Authors:
    Ian McDonald
    Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed.The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna, are under the protection of the powerful Asamoahs, while Robson, still reeling from witnessing his parent's violent deaths, is now a ward - virtually a hostage - of Mackenzie Metals. And the last appointed heir, Lucas, has vanished from the surface of the moon.Only Lady Sun, dowager of Taiyang, suspects that Lucas Corta is not dead, and - more to the point - that he is still a major player in the game. After all, Lucas always was a schemer, and even in death, he would go to any lengths to take back everything and build a new Corta Helio, more powerful than before. But Corta Helio needs allies, and to find them, the fleeing son undertakes an audacious, impossible journey - to Earth.In an unstable lunar environment, the shifting loyalties and political machinations of each family reach the zenith of their most fertile plots as outright war between the families erupts.
    • More

    The Lady of the Lake

    By Andrzej Sapkowski
    Authors:
    Andrzej Sapkowski
    After walking through a portal in the Tower of the Swallow, thus narrowly escaping death, the Witcher girl, Ciri, finds herself in a completely different world... a world of the Elves. She is trapped with no way out. Time does not seem to exist and there are no obvious borders or portals to cross back into her home world. But this is Ciri, the child of prophecy, and she will not be defeated. She knows she must escape to finally rejoin the Witcher, Geralt, and his companions - and also to try to conquer her worst nightmare. Leo Bonhart, the man who chased, wounded and tortured Ciri, is still on her trail. And the world is still at war.
    • More

    Lizzie Loves Healthy Family Food

    By Lizzie King
    Authors:
    Lizzie King
    'Not only is she a brilliant cook, but she fundamentally knows what is good and what is bad in food.'Thomasina MiersLIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is the cookbook every health-conscious parent needs in their life.Nutritional health coach and mum of three Lizzie King knows how tough it can be to feed a family, fast, and keep them healthy: lack of time, fussy eaters and weaning babies can make any alternative to cooking from scratch seem tempting.LIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is here to help. Every recipe is quick-to-make, delicious, bursting with flavour and all the vitamins and minerals you and your children need to stay healthy. Every meal is free from refined sugar and gluten, and is instead packed with as much good stuff as possible.With an eye on cutting down prep time and making one meal work for everyone, LIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is the busy parent's dream. You'll also find Lizzie's invaluable ten-step guide to cracking fussy eaters, nutritional information on what children need when and why, and a handy shopping list for your store cupboard staples. No longer will you stare blankly into the fridge wondering what to cook your kids next! Complete with over 100 wholesome and delicious recipes, helpful meal plans and practical short cuts, LIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is the only cookbook you and your family need to eat well, and be well, for life.
    • More

    Lenin the Dictator

    By Victor Sebestyen
    Authors:
    Victor Sebestyen
    • More

    Lines in the Sand

    By A.A. Gill
    Authors:
    A.A. Gill
    'By miles the most brilliant journalist of our age' Lynn Barber'A golden writer' Andrew MarrA. A. Gill was rightly hailed as one of the greatest journalists of our time. This selection of some of his recent pieces, which he made himself before his untimely death, spans the last five years from all corners of the world. It shows him at his most perceptive, brilliant and funny.His subjects range from the controversial - fur - to the heartfelt - a fantastic crystallisation of what it means to be European. He tackles life drawing, designs his own tweed, considers boyhood through the prism of the Museum of Childhood, and spends a day at Donald Trump's university. In his final two articles he wrote with characteristic wit and courage about his cancer diagnosis - 'the full English - and the limits of the NHS. But more than any other subject, a recurring theme emerges in the overwhelming story of our times: the refugee crisis. In the last few years A. A. Gill wrote with compassion and anger about the refugees' story, giving us both its human face and its appalling context. The resulting articles are journalism at its finest and fiercest.
    • More

    L'art de la Simplicité (The English Edition)

    By Dominique Loreau
    Authors:
    Dominique Loreau
    If simplicity is an art, then Dominique Loreau is a master. Having lived in Japan for many years and inspired by oriental philosophy, Dominique Loreau discovered the beauty of a life well lived through the art of simplicity. Her lifestyle rests on the principle of 'less is more', and imbues all areas of existence, from the material to the spiritual. She captured her philosophy in the ground-breaking L'art de la Simplicité, which was an massive bestseller in her native France and is now available in the English language for the first time. Simplify your home, empty your wardrobe, abandon compulsive purchases, eat more frugally but better, take care of your body and mind. From the art of feeling well in your home to the art of feeling well in your body, this compelling and elegant book will transform your life and take you on an empowering journey to happiness. You will feel energised, more confident and free. You will discover the essence of being truly alive and how to live a more centred life. One full of real pleasure, clarity and satisfaction.
    • More

    Love And Mr Lewisham

    By H.G. Wells
    Authors:
    H.G. Wells
    Mr Lewisham, a young and highly ambitious schoolmaster, falls in love with Ethel Henderson, a young lady visiting his Sussex village. When Ethel returns to London they promise to keep in touch but as time passes their letters go astray. A few years later, we are re-introduced to Mr Lewisham, now a student at the Normal School of Science in London. Having searched in vain for Ethel, his life revolves around study and a flirtation with fellow student Alice. But just as things are all set with Alice, he runs into Ethel at a séance he has attended out of curiosity. There he realises that Ethel is the niece of a charlatan 'medium', and closely involved in his dealings. His memories of their time in Sussex wrestle in his mind with his feelings of disgust for all things spiritual, as his love for Ethel forces him to reconsider his political and scientific beliefs.
    • More

    Lemmy

    By Mick Wall
    Authors:
    Mick Wall
    • More

    The Little Ghost Girl

    By Maggie Hartley
    Authors:
    Maggie Hartley
    Ruth was a ghost of a girl when she arrived into foster mother Maggie Hartley's care. Pale, frail and withdrawn, it was clear to Maggie that Ruth had seen and experienced things that no 11-year-old should have to, that she's been conditioned to 'see no evil, speak no evil'. Ruth is in desperate need of help, but can Maggie get through to her and unlock the harrowing secret she carries? Through love, reassurance and patience, Maggie starts to unravel Ruth's painful past - a past defined by cruelty and abuse by the very people who should have protected her. Raised by a cruel stepmother and her father after her own mum abandoned her, Ruth was abused, underfed and ignored, while her half-siblings lived a life of luxury. It's up to Maggie to help Ruth find her voice; to be a ghost no more, and bring those who've harmed her to justice.
    • More

    Limbo

    By Bernard Wolfe
    Authors:
    Bernard Wolfe
    In the aftermath of an atomic war, a new international movement of pacifism has arisen. Multitudes of young men have chosen to curb their aggressive instincts through voluntary amputation - disarmament in its most literal sense. Those who have undergone this procedure are highly esteemed in the new society. But they have a problem - their prosthetics require a rare metal to function, and international tensions are rising over which countries get the right to mine it . . .
    • More

    The Last Debutante

    By Lesley Lokko
    Authors:
    Lesley Lokko
    A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. 1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset, and as the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups. But the arrival one evening of a distinctly German visitor soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .
    • More