Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books
  • The Liar

    By Steve Cavanagh
    Authors:
    Steve Cavanagh
    A must-read for fans of Lee Child, John Grisham and Michael Connelly. Combining gripping action and ingenious plotting, THE LIAR is the brilliant new legal thriller from the author of THE DEFENCE and THE PLEA.'Plotting that takes the breath away.' Ian Rankin'Steve is a fantastic thriller writer' Mark BillinghamIT TAKES ONE TO KNOW ONE...WHO IS DEADLIER ...Leonard Howell's worst nightmare has come true: his daughter Caroline has been kidnapped. Not content with relying on the cops, Howell calls the only man he trusts to get her back.... THE MAN WHO KNOWS THE TRUTH ...Eddie Flynn knows what it's like to lose a daughter and vows to bring Caroline home safe. Once a con artist, now a hotshot criminal attorney, Flynn is no stranger to the shady New York underworld.... OR THE ONE WHO BELIEVES A LIE?However, as he steps back into his old life, Flynn realizes that the rules of game have changed - and that he is being played. But who is pulling the strings? And is anyone in this twisted case telling the truth...?A missing girl, a desperate father and a case that threatens to destroy everyone involved - Eddie Flynn's got his work cut out in the thrilling new novel from the author of The Defence.
    • More

    Le Gavroche Cookbook

    By Michel Roux jr
    Authors:
    Michel Roux jr
    A slice of culinary history. Classic French from leading London restaurant Le Gavroche, created and run by the Roux family, now in its 50th year.Le Gavroche opened its doors in 1967 under Michel and Albert Roux. Half a century later, the Roux family is a name synonymous with quality French cooking and the highest standard of service. Michel Roux Jr, who has been chef de cuisine at Le Gavroche for over 25 years now, selects 200 of the most popular classic recipes from its kitchens.Michel Roux Jr worked with many of France's top chefs and as a personal chef to the President of France before taking over at Le Gavroche. This edition of his first book marks the restaurant's 50th year anniversary, showing how to create the atmosphere and cuisine of Le Gavroche at home, with advice on dining French style and how to select what to drink, from aperitif to sweet wine.
    • More

    The Last Debutante

    By Lesley Lokko
    Authors:
    Lesley Lokko
    A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. 1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset. As the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups. But the arrival of a German visitor one evening soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .
    • More
  • Life, The Universe And Everything

    By Douglas Adams
    Authors:
    Douglas Adams
    Only five individuals stand between the killer robots of Krikkit and their goal of the total annihilation of the universe. They are Arthur Dent, homeless Englishman currently marooned in the deep past; his friend Ford Prefect, temporarily insane to see if he likes it, also marooned; Slartibartfast, once of the planet builders of Magrathea; Zaphod Beeblebrox, ex-confidence trickster and part-time galactic president; and Trillian, the sexy space cadet who is torn between a persistent Thunder God and a very depressed Beeblebrox. In other words: we're doomed.
    • More
  • The Left Hand of Darkness

    By Ursula K. LeGuin
    Authors:
    Ursula K. LeGuin
    Genly Ai is an ethnologist observing the people of the planet Gethen, a world perpetually in winter. The people there are androgynous, normally neuter, but they can become male ot female at the peak of their sexual cycle. They seem to Genly Ai alien, unsophisticated and confusing. But he is drawn into the complex politics of the planet and, during a long, tortuous journey across the ice with a politician who has fallen from favour and has been outcast, he loses his professional detachment and reaches a painful understanding of the true nature of Gethenians and, in a moving and memorable sequence, even finds love...
    • More

    Lovemurder

    By Saul Black
    Authors:
    Saul Black
    • More
  • The London Stone

    By Sarah Pinborough
    Authors:
    Sarah Pinborough
    The prophecy has come to pass. The London Stone has been stolen and the Dark King rules the Nowhere. Only Mona and the new Seer dare to stand against him, leading an underground rebellion in the frozen wasteland . . . but what chance do they have, against both the Army of the Mad and Arnold Mather's soldiers? There is still hope: if they can recruit a banished race to their cause, maybe Fin and his friends can force a final battle against the Dark King. But that aid will be hard-won, through an almost impossible quest, and even then there are no guarantees.It will come down to three friends, standing together against all odds. And fulfilling their destinies, whatever the cost . . .
    • More
  • The Lure of the Basilisk

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    The overman named Garth sought immortal fame. The oracle told him to serve the Forgotten King to get that fame. But this King sent Garth after a basilisk whose gaze could turn men to stone. What sane use could anyone have for a monster like that?
    • More

    Luna: Wolf Moon

    By Ian McDonald
    Authors:
    Ian McDonald
    Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed.The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna, are under the protection of the powerful Asamoahs, while Robson, still reeling from witnessing his parent's violent deaths, is now a ward - virtually a hostage - of Mackenzie Metals. And the last appointed heir, Lucas, has vanished from the surface of the moon.Only Lady Sun, dowager of Taiyang, suspects that Lucas Corta is not dead, and - more to the point - that he is still a major player in the game. After all, Lucas always was a schemer, and even in death, he would go to any lengths to take back everything and build a new Corta Helio, more powerful than before. But Corta Helio needs allies, and to find them, the fleeing son undertakes an audacious, impossible journey - to Earth.In an unstable lunar environment, the shifting loyalties and political machinations of each family reach the zenith of their most fertile plots as outright war between the families erupts.
    • More

    The Lady of the Lake

    By Andrzej Sapkowski
    Authors:
    Andrzej Sapkowski
    After walking through a portal in the Tower of the Swallow, thus narrowly escaping death, the Witcher girl, Ciri, finds herself in a completely different world... a world of the Elves. She is trapped with no way out. Time does not seem to exist and there are no obvious borders or portals to cross back into her home world. But this is Ciri, the child of prophecy, and she will not be defeated. She knows she must escape to finally rejoin the Witcher, Geralt, and his companions - and also to try to conquer her worst nightmare. Leo Bonhart, the man who chased, wounded and tortured Ciri, is still on her trail. And the world is still at war.
    • More

    Lizzie Loves Healthy Family Food

    By Lizzie King
    Authors:
    Lizzie King
    'Not only is she a brilliant cook, but she fundamentally knows what is good and what is bad in food.'Thomasina MiersLIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is the cookbook every health-conscious parent needs in their life.Nutritional health coach and mum of three Lizzie King knows how tough it can be to feed a family, fast, and keep them healthy: lack of time, fussy eaters and weaning babies can make any alternative to cooking from scratch seem tempting.LIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is here to help. Every recipe is quick-to-make, delicious, bursting with flavour and all the vitamins and minerals you and your children need to stay healthy. Every meal is free from refined sugar and gluten, and is instead packed with as much good stuff as possible.With an eye on cutting down prep time and making one meal work for everyone, LIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is the busy parent's dream. You'll also find Lizzie's invaluable ten-step guide to cracking fussy eaters, nutritional information on what children need when and why, and a handy shopping list for your store cupboard staples. No longer will you stare blankly into the fridge wondering what to cook your kids next! Complete with over 100 wholesome and delicious recipes, helpful meal plans and practical short cuts, LIZZIE LOVES HEALTHY FAMILY FOOD is the only cookbook you and your family need to eat well, and be well, for life.
    • More

    Lines in the Sand

    By A.A. Gill
    Authors:
    A.A. Gill
    'By miles the most brilliant journalist of our age' Lynn Barber'A golden writer' Andrew MarrA. A. Gill was rightly hailed as one of the greatest journalists of our time. This selection of some of his recent pieces, which he made himself before his untimely death, spans the last five years from all corners of the world. It shows him at his most perceptive, brilliant and funny.His subjects range from the controversial - fur - to the heartfelt - a fantastic crystallisation of what it means to be European. He tackles life drawing, designs his own tweed, considers boyhood through the prism of the Museum of Childhood, and spends a day at Donald Trump's university. In his final two articles he wrote with characteristic wit and courage about his cancer diagnosis - 'the full English - and the limits of the NHS. But more than any other subject, a recurring theme emerges in the overwhelming story of our times: the refugee crisis. In the last few years A. A. Gill wrote with compassion and anger about the refugees' story, giving us both its human face and its appalling context. The resulting articles are journalism at its finest and fiercest.
    • More

    Lenin the Dictator

    By Victor Sebestyen
    Authors:
    Victor Sebestyen
    • More