Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Shadow People

By Margaret St Clair
Authors:
Margaret St Clair
They had existed from time immemorial, hidden in a space warp far beneath the the surface of the Earth. Until now, their only form of nourishment had been a strange hallucinogenic grain. Now, they hungered for human flesh. The Earth was to be their stockyard and mankind their meat...
  • More
  • The Sorcerer's Widow

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    The great wizard Nabal's death offers many opportunities, both for those who knew him and those who did not. For young conmen Ezak and Kel, it means a chance to loot the wizard's estate... if they can win the confidence of Nabal's widow, Dorna. But Dorna has plans of her own. She means to leave the tiny village for a better life in the city. And all of Nabal's wizardly artifacts and talismans will pay for that new life - if she can only get them there intact!
    • More

    Sphero Nova

    By John Glasby, Berl Cameron
    Authors:
    John Glasby, Berl Cameron
    They came out of the star-strewn wilderness around Sol, these alien creatures. And their object was the vicious, total destruction of the Federation of Worlds.Earth was one of the last pf the planets to be attacked and here they were opposed by the Earth Council: six men who held the destinies of a hundred billion people in their hands.But in the end, there remained only one man out of the six to fight. Velga Dorne, Earth Councillor and Member of the Triumvirate of Worlds. And he himself was a hunted man. Death and terrible destruction followed him across the wastes of space in the search for the crazy, nightmare planet that had spawned these creatures. Fear and terror were his only companions. Until he reached the nameless planet of a still more insignificant sun and learned that there were others to join him in the struggle against the black, inhuman monsters. These were the Hheroni, scientists whose achievements had progressed along a slightly different path of research to humanity. And Astraea, the girl who went with him on the suicidal mission to where the Aliens originated: on a world that no one in their wildest dreams had thought possible to exist, one which even science said was impossible.
    • More

    Secrets of a Happy Marriage

    By Cathy Kelly
    Authors:
    Cathy Kelly
    The wonderful and heart-warming new novel full of secrets, lies and family ties from Sunday Times bestselling author, Cathy Kelly. Bess is hoping to show everyone just how happy her recent marriage is, but behind all the party-planning the cracks are beginning to show. Why is joining a family so difficult? Jojo, Bess's stepdaughter, has a point to make. Bess is not her mother, and she won't replace the one she's been missing every day for the last two years. And will she ever get the chance to become a mum herself?Cousin Cari is a fierce career-woman who isn't unnerved by anything - apart from facing the man who left her at the altar, and he's on the guestlist. Her job has been a safe place to hide ever since - but is it time to let love into her life again? Thanks to laughter, tears and one surprise appearance, the Brannigans might just discover the secrets of a happy marriage . . . But will they find out before it's too late?'Wise, warm, compassionate and full of characters I loved ... it's like having a great gossip with your best friends' Marian Keyes
    • More

    Split Heirs

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans, Esther Friesner
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans, Esther Friesner
    After the Gorgorian barbarians conquer the civilized kingdom of Hydrangea, their leader Gudge makes himself king, marries Hydrangean Princess Artemisia and settles down to a highly satisfactory life of drinking and debauchery. Royal triplets, separated at birth because of a Gorgorian superstition that multiple births suggest the mother's infidelity, receive very different upbringings. The only girl, Avena, is brought up in the palace as Prince Arbol, heir to the throne and a fearsome swordsman. One brother, Wulfrith, is raised by a shepherd; although a young ewe is his favorite companion, his size makes him a fearsome battler. The other brother, Dunwin, reared by the outlawed wizard Clootie, develops into a talented magician.War and wizardry, dark deeds and derring-do, matters of state and matters of the heart, and a dragon who thinks she's a sheep. . . . This modern fantasy is the ultimate saga of flashing swords, high magic, and hopeless dynamic confusion - an event fans of the genre will not want to miss.
    • More
  • The Sword of Bheleu

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    The sword that Garth had stolen from Dusarra marked him as the chosen of Bheleu, god of destruction, and gave him immense power. This power could only be used to destroy, and Garth wanted to build. He chose to refuse the god's gift. Bheleu did not intend to allow that.
    • More
  • The Seven Altars of Dusarra

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Garth of Ordunin had been set a new task by the Forgotten King: bring back to Skelleth whatever he found upon the altars of the seven temples of Dusarra. As he went about his blasphemous errand he learned more about the Dark Gods - and more about his own destiny!
    • More
  • The Spriggan Mirror

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Every wizard in Ethshar knew that if you needed something special, something difficult to find, that Gresh the Supplier was the man to see. He was expensive, but always delivered. So when the Wizards' Guild finally got fed up with the little green nuisances that called themselves "spriggans," the Guild hired Gresh to fetch them the magic mirror that created the troublesome imps. The wizards thought finding it looked impossible. Gresh thought his methods would do the job. But no one had asked the spriggans what they thought!
    • More
  • The Spell of the Black Dagger

    By Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Authors:
    Lawrence Watt-Evans
    Tabaea was an ordinary thief, sneaking and prowling and stealing for a living. Then one night while burgling a house, she witnessed a wizard teaching his apprentice a spell - the creation of a magic dagger.Tabaea decided to try the magic for herself. But even though she could feel the power rising around her as she went through the steps of the ritual, something had clearly gone wrong. The apprentice's dagger had glowed; it had resisted attempts to pick it up; and there had been a blinding flash at the end of the ceremony.But Tabaea's dagger didn't do any of those things. And it wouldn't free her from bonds, or heal her wounds - it didn't seem to be magical at all. It just turned black.Then, by chance, Tabaea discovered that her dagger indeed had its own kind of unusal magic - a dark, powerful magic that promised invincibility to its bearer.But magic can be dangerous even in the hands of an expert - and for Tabaea, magic and power could spell disaster . . .
    • More

    Slow Bullets

    By Alastair Reynolds
    Authors:
    Alastair Reynolds
    From the author of the Revelation Space series comes an interstellar adventure of war, identity, betrayal, and the preservation of civilization itself.A vast conflict, one that has encompassed hundreds of worlds and solar systems, appears to be finally at an end. A conscripted soldier is beginning to consider her life after the war and the family she has left behind. But for Scur - and for humanity - peace is not to be.On the brink of the ceasefire, Scur is captured by a renegade war criminal, and left for dead in the ruins of a bunker. She revives aboard a prisoner transport vessel. Something has gone terribly wrong with the ship.Passengers - combatants from both sides of the war - are waking up from hibernation far too soon. Their memories, embedded in bullets, are the only links to a world which is no longer recognizable. And Scur will be reacquainted with her old enemy, but with much higher stakes than just her own life.
    • More

    Sharp Ends

    By Joe Abercrombie
    Authors:
    Joe Abercrombie
    The Union army may be full of bastards, but there's only one who thinks he can save the day single-handed when the Gurkish come calling: the incomparable Colonel Sand dan Glokta.Curnden Craw and his dozen are out to recover a mysterious item from beyond the Crinna. Only one small problem: no one seems to know what the item is.Shevedieh, the self-styled best thief in Styria, lurches from disaster to catastrophe alongside her best friend and greatest enemy, Javre, Lioness of Hoskopp.And after years of bloodshed, the idealistic chieftain Bethod is desperate to bring peace to the North. There's only one obstacle left - his own lunatic champion, the most feared man in the North: the Bloody-Nine . . .Sharp Ends combines previously published, award-winning tales with exclusive new short stories. Violence explodes, treachery abounds, and the words are as deadly as the weapons in this rogue's gallery of side-shows, back-stories, and sharp endings from the world of the First Law.
    • More

    Shtum

    By Jem Lester
    Authors:
    Jem Lester
    'WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH, MAKE YOU CRY, AND MAKE YOU THINK' Graeme SimsionInspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning to get along. Not to be missed by readers who loved JoJo Moyes and David Nicholls. 'Heart-wrenching and thought-provoking' Woman & HomeTen-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own.He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin.He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine.Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life.'Fiercely funny ... an unforgettable first novel' The Times'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEPWhat readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester:'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list''This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.''I cried my heart out.''A gripping and emotional story.''Brilliant humour.'
    • More

    The Shape of Desire

    By Sharon Shinn
    Authors:
    Sharon Shinn
    For fifteen years, Maria Devane has been desperately, passionately in love with Dante Romano. But Maria knows that Dante can never give everything of himself back - at least not all the time. Every month, Dante shifts shape, becoming a wild animal. He can't choose when he shifts, the transition is often abrupt, and as he gets older the time he spends in human form is gradually decreasing.Maria has kept his secret since the beginning, knowing that their love is worth the danger. But when a string of brutal attacks occurs in local parks while Dante is in animal form, Maria is forced to consider whether the lies she's been telling about her life have turned into lies she's telling herself . . .
    • More