Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Tattletale

By Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
The sensational psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh, CJ Taylor and BA Paris.'I thoroughly enjoyed Tattletale, sympathetic characters and neck breaking twists - highly recommended.' Jenny BlackhurstOne day changes Jody's life forever. She has shut herself down, haunted by her memories and unable to trust anyone. But then she meets Abe, the perfect stranger next door and suddenly life seems full of possibility and hope.One day changes Mags's life forever. After years of estrangement from her family, Mags receives a shocking phone call. Her brother Abe is in hospital and no-one knows what happened to him. She meets his fiancé Jody, and gradually pieces together the ruins of the life she left behind. But the pieces don't quite seem to fit...Packed with twists and turns, this gripping psychological thriller will make you question whether we can ever really trust the ones we love.'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'A well-crafted tale of love, obsession and murder - beautifully written and brilliantly twisted.' Ava Marsh, author of EXPOSURE'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking.' Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID/SHE SAID
  • More

Titans of History

By Simon Sebag Montefiore
Authors:
Simon Sebag Montefiore
NEW EDITION - FEATURING UPDATED INTRODUCTION AND NEW CHAPTERS The giant characters of history - from Mozart to Michelangelo, Shakespeare to Einstein, Henry VIII to Hitler, Catherine the Great to Margaret Thatcher, Jesus Christ to Genghis Khan ­- lived lives of astonishing drama and adventure, debauchery and slaughter, but they also formed our world and will shape our future. In this eclectic and surprising collection of short and entertaining life stories, Simon Sebag Montefiore introduces his choice of kings, empresses, sultans and conquerors, as well as prophets, explorers, artists, actresses, courtesans and psychopaths. From the ancient times, via crusades and world wars, up to the 21st century, this accessible history introduces readers to the titans who changed the world: the characters we should all know, and the stories we should never forget.
  • More
  • Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd

    By Alan Bradley
    Authors:
    Alan Bradley
    'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite.' Mail on SundayCURIOUSITY WON'T KILL THIS CAT...Twelve-year-old Flavia de Luce is back at Buckshaw at last, but her homecoming is overshadowed by news of her father's illness.Forbidden from visiting Colonel de Luce in hospital, Flavia busies herself in the village, but she soon makes a macabre discover: the corpse of a reclusive woodcarver hanging upside down on the back of a door, in a house empty but for a curiously uncurious cat.While the local constabulary are stumped, Flavia is soon piecing together a puzzle that connects a death by murderous gulls on a desolate island, a local woman said to be a witch, and a beloved children's author who terrified his own son - plus, of course, a certain tortoise-shell cat ...
    • More

    Together

    By Julie Cohen
    Authors:
    Julie Cohen
    • More

    Tell It To The Skies

    By Erica James
    Authors:
    Erica James
    *Includes an exclusive extract of Erica's moving and life-affirming new novel, publishing in 2018!*Set in the beautiful city of Venice, a captivating novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at the Lake.Venice has been Lydia's home for many years, a place where she has found peace and fulfilment. Then one day she glimpses a young man's face in the crowd that threatens to change everything. He's a heart-stopping reminder of a dreadful secret she believed she had banished to the past...As a young child, Lydia and her sister were sent to live with grandparents they'd never even met before. It was a cruel and loveless new world for them and it forced Lydia to grow up fast. She learned to keep secrets and to trust sparingly, and through it all she was shadowed by grief and guilt.Now, twenty-eight years later, Lydia is persuaded to leave behind the safe new life she has created for herself and return to England to face the past. And maybe her future.The perfect escapist read for fans of Santa Montefiore and Katie Fforde.
    • More

    Three By Laumer

    By Keith Laumer
    Authors:
    Keith Laumer
    Enter the worlds of Keith Laumer. From the adventures of self-aware superheavy battle tanks to the intricacies of galactic diplomacy via the clash of parallel worlds, Laumer's imagination knew few bounds.In Worlds of the Imperium, an American diplomat finds himself kidnapped by agents of the British Empire, which rules over a parallel world.James Retief travels the stars, resolving conflicts and avoiding cultural clashes, while battling the endless bureaucracy of the Corps Diplomatique Terrestrienne in Retief: Envoy to New Worlds.In Bolo, Laumer explores what happens when mankind's most advanced weapons of war become self aware. These are the opening volumes to three classic series, collected in one exciting, thrill-a-minute omnibus.
    • More

    Today Will Be Different

    By Maria Semple
    Authors:
    Maria Semple
    Eleanor Flood knows she's a mess. But today will be different. Today she will shower and put on real clothes. She will attend her yoga class after dropping her son, Timby, off at school. She'll see an old friend for lunch. She won't swear. She will initiate sex with her husband, Joe. But before she can put her modest plan into action - life happens.For today is the day Timby has decided to pretend to be ill to weasel his way into his mother's company. It's also the day surgeon Joe has chosen to tell his receptionist - but not Eleanor - that he's on vacation. And just when it seems that things can't go more awry, a former colleague produces a relic from the past - a graphic memoir with pages telling of family secrets long buried and a sister to whom Eleanor never speaks.
    • More

    Too Young to be a Mum

    By Maggie Hartley
    Authors:
    Maggie Hartley
    When sixteen-year-old Jess arrives on foster carer Maggie Hartley's doorstep with her newborn son Jimmy, she has nowhere else to go.Arriving straight from the hospital having just given birth, Jess is like a rabbit caught in the headlights. Scared, alone, and practically a child herself, she is overwhelmed with the responsibility of caring for a newborn without the support of a loving family or her beloved boyfriend. With social services threatening to take baby Jimmy into care, Jess knows that Maggie is her only chance of keeping her son.Maggie can see that Jess loves her boyfriend and wants to be a good mother to her son. Can Maggie help Jess learn to become a mum? Will the family ever be allowed to live together?
    • More

    A Twist of the Knife

    By Becky Masterman
    Authors:
    Becky Masterman
    'Wow! An absolute pleasure. Chilling, smart, funny, and what a voice she has' GILLIAN FLYNNBlown away. What else can I tell you? Brigid Quinn is a heroine to cheer for, and Masterman writes like an angel who has seen far too many ungodly things - LINWOOD BARCLAYBrigid Quinn is tough, determined, steely and sharper than sharp. As an ex-agent of the FBI she has seen it all, and survived. But nothing can cut her closer to the bone than family... When Brigid gets a call from her mother saying her father is in hospital with pneumonia, she decides to check on her former colleague Laura Coleman who is living nearby. Having saved Brigid's life, Laura is now working on an 'innocence project', investigating cold cases. And one in particular seems to have caught her attention. Fifteen years before, Marcus Creighton was accused of killing his wife and three children. Now the state governor has signed the warrant for his execution.Worried that her friend is getting in too deep, Brigid promises to help. But what if her instincts are betraying her?
    • More

    The Takeshi Kovacs Collection

    Richard Morgan blazed onto the SF scene in 2002 with ALTERED CARBON, which won the Philip K. Dick award and is now in production to be released as a ten-episode series by Netflix. ALTERED CARBON is the first in the Takeshi Kovacs trilogy, which continues with BROKEN ANGELS and WOKEN FURIES. These three brilliant, crime noir SF novels are the perfect introduction to Richard's work, or a welcome reminder of his power as a writer, and now available in a beautiful box set. Richard has also written two computer games (CRYSIS 2 and SYNDICATE), and the BLACK WIDOWcomics for MARVEL.
    • More

    This Much is True

    By Jane Sanderson
    Authors:
    Jane Sanderson
    The twisty, gripping novel about a shocking secret at the heart of a family, and a mother desperate to keep it hidden - perfect for fans of Kathryn Hughes' The Letter and Amanda Prowse's My Husband's Wife.After decades in a deeply unhappy marriage, Annie Doyle can barely bring herself to care that her husband Vince is finally about to die.But as the family gathers to see out his final days, Vince utters a single word that will change everyone's lives completely: 'Martha.'Who is Martha? And why is Annie so quick to dismiss the mention of her name?As Annie's long-held secrets start to emerge, the lives of everyone she holds dear will be changed forever...If you like Kathryn Hughes, Jodi Picoult, Amanda Prowse, Katie Marsh, Kerry Fisher, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott or Camilla Way then you will be gripped by this emotional, twisty story.*******PRAISE FOR THIS MUCH IS TRUE:'What I loved most about this book was the characters' - EMMA CURTIS, author of One Little Mistake'Shades of Joanna Trollope... But it turns into something much more mysterious' - DAILY MAIL'This is a very special book and I greatly recommend it!' - JC, Amazon reviewer'Hugely enjoyable, with a wonderful twist at the end, that I never saw coming' - BREW & BOOKS REVIEW'I simply could not put my kindle away whilst reading this beautiful book' Joanne, Amazon reviewer'A stunningly good read' Caroline, Amazon reviewer'A brilliant and unforgettable novel' P, Amazon reviewer
    • More

    Triplanetary

    By E.E. 'Doc' Smith
    Authors:
    E.E. 'Doc' Smith
    The Arisians, benevolent humanoids who have declared themselves Guardians of Civilization, war with the Eddoreans, shapeless, malevolent beings, hungry for power at any price. They fight on both physical and mental levels, wielding weaponry of inconceivable destructiveness.And their battleground is a tiny planet in a remote galaxy: Earth. The swamping of Atlantis, the fall of Rome, the wars that wrack the world and blaze through space - all may seem historical accidents to the men involved, but each in reality is a move in a save universe-wide power struggle . . .
    • More

    Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Five

    By Christian Cameron
    Authors:
    Christian Cameron
    The latest instalment of the Tom Swan adventures - the fast-paced serialised novel set in the turbulent Europe of the fifteenth century.Available exclusively in eBook.
    • More