Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Scale

By Geoffrey West
Authors:
Geoffrey West
Geoffrey West's research centres on a quest to find unifying principles and patterns connecting everything, from cells and ecosystems to cities, social networks and businesses.Why do organisms and ecosystems scale with size in a remarkably universal and systematic fashion?Is there a maximum size of cities? Of animals and plants? What about companies?Can scale show us how to create a more sustainable future?By applying the rigour of physics to questions of biology, visionary physicist Geoffrey West found that despite the riotous diversity in the sizes of mammals, they are all, to a large degree, scaled versions of each other. This speaks to everything from how long we can expect to live to how many hours of sleep we need. He then made the even bolder move of exploring his work's applicability to cities and to the business world. These investigations have led to powerful insights about the elemental natural laws that bind us together in profound ways, and how all complex systems are dancing to the same simple tune, however diverse and unrelated they may seem.
  • More

Signals

By Pippa Malmgren
Authors:
Pippa Malmgren
She predicted the financial crisis. She predicted Brexit. She predicted Trump. Now Dr Pippa Malmgren shares the signals that will protect you from the next surprise.Drawing on a wonderful range of examples - from magazine covers and supermarkets to public protests - SIGNALS is the fascinating story of the world economy told in the language of everyday objects, places and events. Malmgren explains why the size of chocolate bars, steaks and apartments are shrinking, and why the increasing near misses between America's spy planes and the fighter jets of China and Russia are no coincidence. Rising costs and inflation are breaking the social contract between citizens and their states, causing the rise of anti-establishment voting, the return of social unrest to emerging markets and resistance to mass immigration. If the only solution is innovation, then the key question is whether governments support efforts to invest in the economy of tomorrow. Written with refreshing clarity, SIGNALS shows us who is already building the future and how to be part of it.'Rather wonderful' FINANCIAL TIMES'It will make you feel smart' EVENING STANDARD
  • More

The Stealers' War

By Stephen Hunt
Authors:
Stephen Hunt
Weyland has been at war. Invaded by a technologically advanced enemy, the cities sacked, and what fragile peace remained torn apart by a civil war.All anyone should want is a return to peace.But Jacob Carneham still wants his revenge; and if he can lure the invaders into the mountain he can have it. He can kill them all. If he does, there may never be peace again.If he doesn't, Weyland will never be free of the threat of invasion.The northern horse lords are planning an attack. A future Empress is fighting to save her daughter. Jacob's son is trying to restore peace and stability to Weyland, alongside the rightful King. And behind it all is a greater struggle, which may spell the end for them all . . .
  • More

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

By Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss
The University, a renowned bastion of knowledge, attracts the brightest minds to unravel the mysteries of enlightened sciences like artificing and alchemy. Yet deep below its bustling halls lies a complex and cavernous maze of abandoned rooms and ancient passageways - and in the heart of it all lives Auri.Formerly a student at the University, now Auri spends her days tending the world around her. She has learned that some mysteries are best left settled and safe. No longer fooled by the sharp rationality so treasured by the University, Auri sees beyond the surface of things, into subtle dangers and hidden names.At once joyous and haunting, THE SLOW REGARD OF SILENT THINGS is a rich, atmospheric and lyrical tale, featuring one of the most beloved characters from Rothfuss' acclaimed fantasy series.
  • More

The Splintered Gods

By Stephen Deas
Authors:
Stephen Deas
Praised by the likes of Joe Abercrombie and Brent Weeks, Stephen Deas has made dragons his own.Captured by an unknown enemy and forced to wage war on his rivals, the Dragon Queen has found herself hated and feared by all the people of this new land. There is little they can do to hurt her while she has her dragon, but she cannot escape while the magic necklace she is forced to wear remains active - or it will throttle her. And the enemies of her new master are gathering for revenge ...Lost in a body that isn't his own, Berren - the Bloody Judge - continues his search for the man who stole his life. Accompanied by a single Adamantine soldier, they scrabble to survive in a world shaken by the Dragon Queen's attack and suspicious of all those who are strangers. But there is another power inside Berren, one which escapes when he is in danger and has the habit of disintegrating those around him. And that power has its own agenda ... One that will lead it to the Dragon Queen, and battle.The critics, fellow authors and readers alike are agreed - if you love dragons and epic fantasy, Stephen Deas is the writer for you. The man who brought dragons back to their full glory, might and terror.
  • More

Steelheart

By Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills. Nobody fights the Epics...nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.And David wants in. He wants Steelheart - the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David's father. For years, like the Reckoners, David's been studying, and planning - and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience. He's seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.
  • More

The Soddit

By Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts
Bingo Sac Grabbins is asked by the coughing wizard Gandef and some (oddly Welsh) dwarves to help them relieve the great dragon Smug of his gold.SF author and Tolkien scholar Adam Roberts has written a parody that is both hilarious and intelligent. With knowing digs at the fantasy genre in general and the mystique that has built around Middle Earth in particular this will make Tolkien's 21st century readers laugh in a way that BORED OF THE RINGS made his fans of 1969 laugh.
  • More

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion

By Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
The complete guide to the internationally bestselling Sookie Stackhouse TRUE BLOOD booksTHE SOOKIE STACKHOUSE COMPANION is a unique guide to Sookie Stackhouse and her dark fantasy Southern-Gothic world, as well as an in-depth look at the award-winning HBO series TRUE BLOOD.The book features a brand-new Sookie story and Charlaine's own map of Bon Temps, never before published, with every place of interest in the town, including Merlotte's bar and Sookie's home.Other treats include:* An introduction by Charlaine about the impact Sookie Stackhouse has had on her writing career, and the influence on the genre at large* A large section on the award-winning HBO series TRUE BLOOD* Detailed summaries of each novel and entries on every important character, event and setting in the series, in Sookie's voice.* An overview of Sookie's world, including information on the vampires, shapeshifter/wereanimal, and fairie factions* Interviews with Charlaine Harris and Alan Ball* A selection of favourite Bon Temps recipes
  • More

The Sweet Scent of Blood

By Suzanne McLeod
Authors:
Suzanne McLeod
THE SWEET SCENT OF BLOOD is the first book of SPELLCRACKERS.COM, a sexy, sassy new series guaranteed to spice up your reading life, and perfect for fans of Kim Harrison.Genevieve Taylor is a Sidhe, one of the noble fae, and she's unusual, even in present-day London where celebrity vampires, eccentric goblins and scheming lesser fae mix freely with the human population. Genny is a rising star at Spellcrackers.com, where she finds the `M' in magic - and that invariably leads to mischief, malice and - too often - murder. Spellcrackers.com is affiliated to the Witch Council, whose ancient tenets prohibit any contact with vampires. Genny also works as a volunteer at a clinic which treats victims of vampire attacks. Then there's her extra-curricular activity, extracting vulnerable fae lured by the local fang gangs. Genny certainly doesn't wants any closer involvement with the vampire community.But when Mr October, one of the hot calendar pin-up vamps, is accused of violently murdering his girlfriend, Genny's called on to repay an old debt and prove his innocence. And that means consorting with some of the sexiest vamps in London!
  • More

Strange Itineraries

By Tim Powers
Authors:
Tim Powers
Strange Itineraries takes you down haunted byways into the heart of Tim Powers country, where you will find turbulent ghosts, secretive immortals and mysterious Ether Bunnies. Containing Tim Powers' short fiction from 1982 to 2004, including his delightful collaborations with James P. Blaylock, Strange Itineraries will enchant you and lead you astray.

The Stone Giant

By James P. Blaylock
Authors:
James P. Blaylock
Theophile Escargot, cast out of Twombly Town for the crime of stealing his own pie, bade a midnight farewell to his unfeeling neighbours and set out on a journey to fabled Balumnia. There he would clash with the master of an elfin airship and a conniving, marble-stealing dwarf; battle to save Leta, a beautiful maid possessed by a malevolent witch; discover magical powers that could make him a hero; and unearth secrets of the legendary land itself.Return to the magical world of The Elfin Ship and The Disappearing Dwarf in this fabulous book.
1