Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Last Debutante

By Lesley Lokko
Authors:
Lesley Lokko
A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. 1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset, and as the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups. But the arrival one evening of a distinctly German visitor soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .
  • More

Landline

By Rainbow Rowell
Authors:
Rainbow Rowell
The captivating, quirky and heartwarming new novel from the bestselling author of ELEANOR & PARK.Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it's been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and he still loves her - but that almost seems besides the point now. Two days before they're supposed to visit Neal's family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells him that she can't go. She's a TV writer, and something's come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her - he is always a little upset with her - but she doesn't expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she's finally done it. If she's ruined everything.That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It's not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she's been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts...Is that what she's supposed to do?Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?
  • More

Larkswood

By Valerie Mendes
Authors:
Valerie Mendes
In the tradition of THE FORSYTE SAGA, a sweeping historical novel that spans three generations, telling the dark secrets of a family torn apart.Larkswood House. The very name suggests birdsong, peace and elegance. It is home to the Hamilton children - Edward, Cynthia and Harriet - who enjoy the freedom and excitement of privilege. But in the glorious summer of 1896, with absent parents and a departed governess, disaster strikes the family, leaving it cruelly divided.More than forty years later, on the eve of the Second World War, Louisa Hamilton, newly presented at court but struck down with glandular fever, is sent to Larkswood to recuperate. There, for the first time, she meets her grandfather, Edward, home after decades in India.But as Louisa begins to fall under the spell of Larkswood, she realises it holds the key to the mystery that shattered her family two generations before. Will she find the courage to unravel the dark secrets of the past? And can Larkswood ever become home to happiness again?
  • More

A Little Bit of Summer

By Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin
The stories of three women's lives are tied together as they grapple with the thorny issue of love.Ciara spends her third wedding anniversary alone, wondering if she will ever mend her broken heart.Seven years into a relationship, Katy isn't looking for someone - until he appears.Lara, still getting over a broken marriage, is trying not to fall for a much younger man...For a bouquet of sunshine, romance - and surprises - pick A LITTLE BIT OF SUMMER. The perfect holiday read.

Love Like Water

By Meme McDonald
Authors:
Meme McDonald
She stole a look at the man in the driver's seat. Sometimes, Jay seemed as familiar as her own self. Other times he was as different as another language.Cathy arrives in Alice Springs from cattle country, looking for a new way to live. But new is a serious challenge for a girl who's used to being measured by her actions, not her feelings. Feelings are slippery, like water. Hard to hold onto.Jay is working for the local radio station, far from his own saltwater people, wary of this no-water country. He's searching for something, trying to survive.Margie is a wild city girl, up for a good time, confronted by a world she's never known and a friend she can't always understand.When lives collide at the heart of the country, no one stays unchanged.

Lost Souls

By Michael Collins
Authors:
Michael Collins
'The thinking man's John Grisham' New StatesmanThe body of a small girl, dressed as an angel, is discovered late one night in a pile of autumn leaves at the side of the road. At first it looks like a hit and run - after all, it's Halloween night and the streets have been full of children trick or treating. But how did a 3-year-old come to be alone on the dark streets at such a late hour?Lawrence, the policeman sent to investigate, finds himself under increasing pressure when it becomes clear that the chief suspect is the town's star quarterback. In the ensuing cover-up, Lawrence finds himself a pawn in the power games between the local mayor, the suspect's family, and an investigator with some personal scores to settle.
  • More
1