Buy Fiction, Non-Fiction Books, Novels, illustrated, ebooks, audiobooks, The Orion Publishing Group

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

Let’s Talk about Death (over Dinner)

By Michael Hebb
Authors:
Michael Hebb
For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed co-founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation. 'These are the conversations that will help us to evolve' Arianna HuffingtonOf the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death - and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner - an organisation that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, 'We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve.'Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations - not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner-tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful - ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.'With wisdom and grace, Michael Hebb shows us how to have the essential conversations we dread, fear - or just don't know how to have. These conversations, like this book, are expansive, filled with hope, and make us more courageous, connected, and honest' Esther Perel, New York Times bestselling author of Mating in Captivity and The State of Affairs
  • More

Listening to the Animals: Becoming The Supervet

By Noel Fitzpatrick
Authors:
Noel Fitzpatrick
THE NO.1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER. A powerful, heart-warming and inspiring memoir from the UK's most famous and beloved vet, Professor Noel Fitzpatrick - star of the Channel 4 series The Supervet.Growing up on the family farm in Ballyfin, Ireland, Noel's childhood was spent tending to the cattle and sheep, the hay and silage, the tractors and land, his beloved sheepdog Pirate providing solace from the bullies that plagued him at school. It was this bond with Pirate, and a fateful night spent desperately trying to save a newborn lamb, that inspired Noel to enter the world of veterinary science - and set him on the path to becoming The Supervet.Now, in this long-awaited memoir, Noel recounts this often-surprising journey that sees him leaving behind a farm animal practice in rural Ireland to set up Fitzpatrick Referrals in Surrey, one of the most advanced small animal specialist centres in the world. We meet the animals that paved the way, from calving cows and corralling bullocks to talkative parrots and bionic cats and dogs. Noel has listened to the many lessons that the animals in his care have taught him, and especially the times he has shared with his beloved Keira, the scruffy Border Terrier who has been by Noel's side as he's dealt with the unbelievable highs and crushing lows of his extraordinary career. As heart-warming and life-affirming as the TV show with which he made his name, Listening to the Animals is a story of love, hope and compassion, and about rejoicing in the bond between humans and animals that makes us the very best we can be.

Lenin the Dictator

By Victor Sebestyen
Authors:
Victor Sebestyen
'A fresh, powerful portrait of Lenin' Anne Applebaum, author of Red Famine'Richly readable ... An enthralling but appalling story' Francis Wheen, author of Karl MarxThe cold, one-dimensional figure of Lenin the political fanatic is only a partial truth. Drawing on extensive material that has only recently become available, Sebestyen's gripping biography casts an intriguing new light on the character behind the politics.In reality, Lenin was a man who loved nature as much as he loved making revolution, and his closest relationships were with women. He built a state based on terror. But he was a highly emotional man given to furious rages and deep passions. While never ignoring the politics, Sebestyen examines Lenin's inner life, his relationship with his wife and his long love affair with Inessa Armand, the most romantic and beguiling of Bolsheviks. These two women were as significant as the men - Stalin or Trotsky - who created the world's first Communist state with him.
  • More
  • The Lost

    By Mari Hannah
    Authors:
    Mari Hannah
    'Nobody understands the many faces of cops better than Mari Hannah.' Val McDermid'Mari Hannah writes with a sharp eye and a dark heart.' Peter James'Thrilling, exciting and kept me on the edge of my seat.' Angela Marsons*****************'He was her child. The only one she'd ever have. It would kill her to learn that he was missing.'Alex arrives home from holiday to find that her ten-year-old son Daniel has disappeared.It's the first case together for Northumbria CID officers David Stone and Frankie Oliver. Stone has returned to his roots with fifteen years' experience in the Met, whereas Oliver is local, a third generation copper with a lot to prove, and a secret that's holding her back.But as the investigation unfolds, they realise the family's betrayal goes deeper than anyone suspected. This isn't just a missing persons case. Stone and Oliver are hunting a killer. *****************Why readers love award-winning expert author, Mari Hannah:'A blistering start to Hannah's new detective series, The Lost pitches her fearless coppers into a case which will explode one family's seemingly perfect life. Mari Hannah is a consummate storyteller and her books genuine must reads for any serious crime fan.' Eva Dolan'Mari Hannah writes with compassion, humour and a firm grasp of character and plot. Her Kate Daniels series has already won her many fans, and this new series, featuring DS Frankie Oliver and DI David Stone, should win her many more. The Lost is a truly absorbing novel, full of twists and turns, all illuminated by Hannah's suspenseful and thrilling writing.' Peter Robinson'A complex and unsettling story, which keeps you gripped until the end.' Amazon reviewer,5 stars'I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting. The plotting is superb with plenty of unexpected and audacious twists and turns which drew me in and didn't let go. I'm already looking forward to the sequel.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars
    • More

    A Life in Parts

    By Bryan Cranston
    Authors:
    Bryan Cranston
    With BREAKING BAD, Bryan Cranston created moments that had the world on the edge of their seats and coined catchphrases that became famous all over the globe. Now, at last, we can learn of the man behind one of TV's most successful programmes ever. Bryan Cranston's profile has skyrocketed, due to his portrayal of chemistry teacher turned drug manufacturer Walter White, for five seasons in the award-winning BREAKING BAD.For the first time readers can discover how he beat off competition from Matthew Broderick and Steve Zahn for the role, to stories about the cast and life after Walter. Told with honesty and intrigue this will be Bryan's first - and - definitive autobiography. It is the ultimate book for the fans of BREAKING BAD.
    • More

    The Little Book of Kindness

    By Bernadette Russell
    Authors:
    Bernadette Russell
    The Little Book of Kindness will teach you how to be kind to yourself, to strangers, to those you love, to the world - every day, at every opportunity. Prompted by the seeming hopelessness of the world around her, Bernadette Russell undertook a pledge to be kind to a stranger every day for a year. The experience left her wanting to inspire others. The Little Book of Kindness is packed with fun ideas, practical tips and interactive exercises that encourage you to 'be kind' in every area of life - online, to strangers, to the environment, in your community, to yourself - and change the world, one act of kindness at a time.
    • More
  • The Little Ghost Girl

    By Maggie Hartley
    Authors:
    Maggie Hartley
    An abused little girl desperate for someone to love her, and the foster carer who refused to give up on her. A heartbreaking true story by Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.*****Abused, starved and neglected. Ruth was a little ghost of a girl when she arrived into foster mother Maggie Hartley's care. As soon as Ruth arrived on her doorstep, it was clear to foster carer Maggie Hartley that Ruth had seen and experienced things that no 11-year-old should have to. Pale, frail and withdrawn, Ruth had been conditioned to 'see no evil, speak no evil'. Raised by a cruel stepmother and father, Ruth had been abused, underfed and ignored, while her half-siblings lived a life of luxury. Ruth is in desperate need of help, but can Maggie get through to her and unlock the harrowing secret she carries? With no one left in the world to love Ruth, it's up to Maggie to help her find her voice; to be a ghost no more, and bring those who've harmed her to justice.An uplifting and ultimately redemptive read, perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis.
    • More

    The Last Diaries

    By Alan Clark
    Authors:
    Alan Clark
    'With his Diaries, he has written himself into the life of our times with a panache and candour that ranks him next to Boswell or Pepys' The TimesThe first two volumes of Alan Clark's were irresistible, irreverent, infamous, outrageous. This last volume is a fitting finale to the work of a man who has been described as 'the best diarist of his century'. The third volume begins in 1991 with Alan Clark contemplating quitting as an MP. Life at Saltwood Castle, his home, hangs heavy; then comes the Scott inquiry and the Matrix Churchill affair. Publication of the first volume of the Diaries leads 'the coven', a family of former girlfriends, to sell their story to the NEWS OF THE WORLD. This volume follows his attempts to return to Westminster, an affair that threatens his marriage, and closes with the tragedy of his final months when he is diagnosed with a brain tumour, but keeps his diary until he can no longer focus on the page.

    Last Flight of the Luftwaffe

    By Adrian Weir
    Authors:
    Adrian Weir
    The account of one of the most extraordinary stories to come from the closing days of the Second World War.Desperate times drive determined men to desperate measures. In April 1945, their cause already clearly lost, an ill-assorted, ill-equipped group of Luftwaffe crew decided on one final 'death or glory' kamikaze mission - their trage an incoming USAAF Eighth Air Force bomber formation, their only weapons their aircraft.Adrian Weir has researched this remarkable flight to retell it minute by minute: a hopeless gesture of immense courage, thrilling as the reader flies in the cockpit with the German pilots towards the unstoppable aircarft of the Mighty Eighth. Including accounts from the survivors of the mission, this is one of the most extraordinary stories to come from the closing days of the Second World War.
    • More
    1